Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Gamo Rocker Pellet Trap Resets with "center" shot!

    Gamo Rocker Pellet Trap Resets with  inchcenter inch shot!
    Review entered on 2008-05-04 13:21:27

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2008-05-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Sturdy. Targets of reasonable size for practice at around 20 yd. Reset when center target is hit. Small enough to bring anywhere. A few hundred rounds from my Gamo Whisper (.177, lead, 1000 fps nominal) at 20 yards have done no damage whatsoever. I wonder if those seeing damage were using harder lead free pellets?
    Things I would have changed:Lighten the springs a bit so my lower powered guns (under 400fps) can lock up and reset the targets reliably.
    What others should know:Pellets sometimes adhere to the targets, and are difficult to scrape off. A little oil helps to prevent this.

    Product: RWS HyperMAX .177 Cal, 5.2 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 100ct

    RWS HyperMAX .177 Cal, 5.2 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 100ct
    Review entered on 2009-06-02 12:46:06

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2009-06-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I wanted a lead free pellet for use in the back yard, where my daughter plays and our guinea pigs graze. These fit the bill, and I like them better than other non-lead pellets I've tried. The pellets are impressively uniform. Good surface finish, no irregularities, consistent fit in the chamber from pellet to pellet. The packaging prevents the pellets from contacting each other or anything hard (perhaps a bit excessive!).
    Things I would have changed:I wish they could bring the price down. Is it just a matter of sales volume? Or perhaps the harder (non-lead) alloy wears out dies faster?
    What others should know:These pellets have good accuracy potential at subsonic velocities, e.g. in CO2 pistols. My Crosman 357-6 likes them. In higher powered guns like my Gamo Whisper, they will go supersonic (crack!). This leads to huge groups (maybe 2-3" at 20yd), but interestingly they do not keyhole as I expected them to.

    Product: Air Venturi Williams 64 Peep Sight

    Air Venturi Williams 64 Peep Sight
    Review entered on 2010-04-05 13:14:52

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2010-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I've always liked iron sights, but this is my first peep sight, installed on a Benjamin 392. I find this sight both quicker and more precise than a notch. It is easy to install, solidly built, and holds its settings.
    Things I would have changed:Extend the lower end of the adjustment range (see below). Add an adjustment screw to control the windage more precisely.
    What others should know:Like several others, I found it necessary to file the inside corner of the up-down adjustable piece. Otherwise it shoots too high at 20yd. At 10m, the pellet is still moving upward to the sight line, and I think the sights could be zeroed without filing.

    Product: Leapers Golden Image 4X32 AO Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1" Tube, Weaver Rings

    UTG Leapers Golden Image 4X32 AO Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1 inch Tube, Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2010-04-05 13:23:08

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2010-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This scope is a super value. Best optics I've seen at this price. Crystal clear, bright, decent coatings, and a sunshade to reduce stray light. The AO is, in my opinion, more useful for airgunners than a zoom. Moreover, I think fixed power with mil-dot reticle are a great choice for getting repeatable results. The range markings on the AO ring appear to be well-calibrated. The scope seems quite stable on my Gamo Whisper (original model .177, spring piston). Shot a ragged 1-hole, 5 shot group at 20 yd with it the other day.
    Things I would have changed:The markings on the adjustments could be better designed to aid repeatability, and this would not cost much in manufacturing. As it is, if I want to adjust holdover or windage for a particular situation, the only way to return to where I started is to remember how many clicks I moved each direction. But then, that's what the mil dot is for so I can't complain much.
    What others should know:To someone who is used to (for example) a Leupold VX-whatever scope, this scope is beefy --- neither lightweight nor trim considering its modest aperture. But then, what do you want for under $40?

    Product: Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct

    Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct
    Review entered on 2010-04-05 15:58:38

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2010-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I first tried these in my Gamo Whisper, and found them to be as accurate as any other pellet in that gun. I've since found that all my airguns like them. Even my old Daisy 880 shoots better with boxed 7.9 gr Premiers, which I was not expecting. I've used these pellets to great effect in small game, dropping gophers and English sparrows.
    Things I would have changed:I'd like to see a softer lead (these pellets have antimony in them, which hardens them). Perhaps that would allow some expansion in small game.

    Product: Daisy Shatterblast Refill Disks, 60 pack

    Daisy Shatterblast Refill Disks, 60 pack
    Review entered on 2012-06-28 00:33:07

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Charles from USA on 2012-06-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lots of fun, and bright orange. They shatter spectacularly, and are a good size for plinking with an air pistol. Difficult to stop until I am out of Shatterblast, pellets, CO2, or daylight.
    Things I would have changed:(1) The price. Shatterblast refills cost more per target than the (similar, but larger) clay targets used for shotgun sports. Still, I buy them! (2) Until they begin to degrade (takes months in our dry Montana climate), the shards are hard, and a bit sharp (bare feet: ouch).
    What others should know:Keep shooting the broken bits until they're really small. It saves money, and it's more challenging :)

    Product: Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct

    Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct
    Review entered on 2014-02-07 14:33:56

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2014-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Super consistent pellets. Box after box, same point of impact. Round nose penetrates small game. Packaging is nice, keeps them from being damaged.
    What others should know:These are the most accurate pellets I've found for my Gamo Whisper. I go through a lot of them doing rifle practice in the winter and pest control in the spring. When combined with a powerful air gun, this is a fine .177 pellet for gophers.

    Product: Crosman Silicone Chamber Oil

    Crosman Silicone Chamber Oil
    Review entered on 2014-02-07 14:39:15

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2014-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Inexpensive, works well.
    What others should know: My break-barrel springer was croaking a bit when I cocked it, and point of impact was stringing vertically. I coaxed two drops of Crosman Silicone Chamber Oil into the transfer port, let the gun rest on its butt overnight, put a few dozen rounds through, and now the noise is gone and my groups have tightened up again. Simple solution, and one little tube is a lifetime supply for a guy with a modest airgun collection.

    Product: Beeman P17 Kit

    Beeman P17 Kit Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-08-10 14:44:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2014-08-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nowhere can you find a pistol this good for $50. Very accurate. Scoped and rested, I get consistent 0.5" groups, c2c @10m with Crosman Competition wadcutters.
    Things I would have changed:The red dot sight is not worth the extra $5. Tried real hard to get consistent results with it, and eventually threw it out. The front sight has a rounded profile, which does not provide an ideal sight picture. The grip has a little sharp flash from the molding process, though this is easily removed.
    What others should know:Just finished putting 500 rounds through this pistol. It is a keeper. Fiber optic sights are nice for visibility. I achieved a better sight picture by building it up the front sight with JB Weld and filing down to a square post. Used a black sharpie to match the original color. I also did some sanding to improve the grip. So, after a couple hours work, the pistol is just about perfect.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top