Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump

Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump Air rifle
Review entered on 2009-03-14 14:51:30

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Jimmy from USA on 2009-03-14
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: JJF in Oklahoma. I researched PCP guns for months before deciding on the Benjamin Discovery. I purchased the combo with scope and pump, it provided the best value for my dollar. As an old retired Soldier I have to make every dollar count. I installed the scope and pumped the Discovery up to 2000 psi. I fired 3 shots from my rifle vise on a 4x4 piece of cardboard with a Beeman target in the center at 50 yards. I adjusted the scope to the center of the low right 1/2 inch group. I refired and my next 3 shots were three 10's. No flyers. My next target of opportunity was a Grackle at appx 50 yards. One shot 1 bird down. Sounds like a fishermans story but 2 more birds followed the first. Three 1 shot kills after zeroing the Leapers scope. I fired about 20 pellets before the power began to fall off even though the pressure was still at 1000 psi. I repumped the rifle to 2000 psi and succeeded in downing 3 more birds, all at appx 50 yards. I really like this rifle. As an old retired Soldier I really like rifles and this one is a good value. Lots of power.

Things I would have changed: I don't care for the plastic trigger however it is set at about 5 pounds with little or no creep. An adjustable trigger like the one on my HW50S would be nice. Loading pellets is difficult, a 5 shot clip like the one on my Daisy 853C would be nice. A rubber recoil pad would be nice instead of plastic to keep the rifle from slipping around while on the shoulder. I will order a Benjamin Maurader as soon as they become available.

What others should know: This is a good starter PCP gun. My Discovery does not like the pointed field tip pellets. The Crosman Premier hollow point pellets that came with the rifle are very accurate. My rifle has nice wood. I had to remove the rear sight to install the Leapers scope. This rifle is loud as a conventional 22 long rifle gun when fired between buildings.

Air Venturi Breech Seal, Fits Beeman R-Series and HW Air Rifles

Air Venturi Breech Seal, Fits Beeman R-Series and HW Air Rifles
Review entered on 2012-05-19 12:37:18

5.0 5.0

3.0 3.0

By Jimmy from USA on 2012-05-19
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: It did what it is designed to do....it sealed the breech.

Things I would have changed: Get rid of Smart Post. It only cost $2 dollars more to get 2 day shipping.

What others should know: Don't use "Smart Post" because it is shiped via pony express riding donkey's. It took 15 days to get my seal. It could have been dropped in an envelope and mailed for 47 cents but they put it in a 1 foot square box and mailed it.

Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle

Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2012-05-19 16:49:49

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Jimmy from USA on 2012-05-19
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.01 rating

Things I liked: My Marauder looks great. First thing I did was install a Leaper 3x9 scope and zero at 25 yards. Accuracy is great between 1000 and 2000 psi. It takes appx 200 pumps from 0 to 2600 psi. After 40 shots the pressure was 1500 psi. The pressure setting are factory and have not been changed. However the pressure left in the tube bleds off over night down to 1000 psi. It will consistently put 3 out of 5 shots touching and 2 fliers to make a 1 inch group size at 40 yards. The trigger is still factory and so is the pressure spring. It is hard to believe this Marauder is so quiet. It was so quiet that I flinched due to the hammer drop noise. After getting used to the trigger and sound I have concluded the rifle is excellent. I have a Discovery rifle also but this Marauder is 100 times the rifle. Clips are easy to load and all 7 work flawlessly. Premier hollow point 15.4 grain pellets seem to group the best. I have not chronographed the Marauder yet but will in the near future.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Get One You will love it! Oh and a good deal on the new hand pump would help too. At 66 plus this pump wears me out!

Benjamin Marauder Rifle Mag, 22 Cal, 10rds

Benjamin Marauder Rifle Mag, 22 Cal, 10rds
Review entered on 2012-05-19 16:55:20

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Jimmy from USA on 2012-05-19
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: They work!

Things I would have changed: nothing

What others should know: I bought 6 additional magazines. I normally shoot 40 to 60 rounds per day at my back yard range.

Navigation