Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Gamo Cone Pellet Trap, Collapsible, 100 Paper Targets

    Gamo Cone Pellet Trap, Collapsible, 100 Paper Targets
    Review entered on 2009-10-29 00:49:20

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2009-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Rugged, handles lead pellets up to 1000 fps. The 100 included targets are a heavy stock, and hits make a nice clean, highly visible hole. Wall mount on the back lets it easily be mounted on a Wall, Post, Fence, etc. Does a good job catching pellets. Well made, and collapses easily so it can fit into my range bag easily.
    Things I would have changed:This is great as is, excellent size for most indoor shooting. I'd like to see a larger version for outdoor distance shots.
    What others should know:It is smaller than I expected, much smaller.

    Product: Crosman NightStalker

    Crosman NightStalker Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-11-03 23:21:27

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jason from USA on 2009-11-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I didn't expect much, but it grouped better than I expected. It has been a great plinker, and the ultimate mouser once I put a red dot on it. Haven't shot a bull pup style before but I really like it; very stable. Pellets mostly stay in the cartridges allowing you to preload and take them with you (without them all falling out).
    Things I would have changed:Oh where to start. Sights are interesting, but not that great. The opening cover to load the pellet cartridge is really poorly done, sticks, does not slide evenly... but seems to work. The Plastic body feels like plastic, looks like plastic and has no texturing. This makes the nicely styled gun look and feel cheap (By contrast, look at the fine Polymer body on the IZH-Baikal MP-514K, not at all cheap looking). I really wish it would not fire after the last pellet has been shot. While I'd change all these things, they are only improvements to a gun where everything works fairly well. (How about a PCP version?)
    What others should know:AirSource dependency adds cost to the enjoyment of this rifle.

    Product: IZH-Baikal MP-514K

    IZH-Baikal MP-514K Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-11-15 15:53:50

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jason from USA on 2009-11-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Built like a tank, and very nice engineering. The plastic body is textured, and feels very high quality, no cheap plastic look. The over lever cocking mechanism makes cocking extremely easy, even for youths. Short bull pup style hold is very steady, feels good to hold and shoot. Higher accuracy than I expected, easily hitting necco wafers (cheap shatter blast targets) at 10-15 yards, a good plinking range.
    Things I would have changed:Pellets fall out of the 8 shot clip, so you cannot easily preload and shove them in your pocket for later. I wish the 8 shot clip was more like the Umarex style, which securely holds the pellets in place. (When loaded in the rifle, pellets are held in the clip and do not fall out.) The red barrel tip is cheesy, but a little paint can take care of that.
    What others should know:No clear indication of pellet count, and no stop when empty. Dry firing can damage it, so you need to keep count. This rifle is unique, and very fun to shoot. Highly recommended.

    Product: Walther CP99 CO2 Gun + Laser

    Walther CP99 CO2 Gun + Laser Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-05-21 15:01:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jason from USA on 2010-05-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The look is as real as any quality reproduction. The feel is even better, with heft and comfort of the real firearm. The CO2 in the grip and the release are well integrated. Accuracy with single stage trigger is good and more importantly, consistent. Laser is easily dialed in to zero, and holds position very well. I can do 8-shot groups about the size of a quarter at 10 yards. I get about 50-60 good shots per cartridge.
    Things I would have changed:It would be great to have blowback to cock it for single stage shooting. The CP99 Compact does this, that feature would make this pistol perfect. The sights match pretty closely to the real firearm, which is not a target pistol; meant for close quarters defensive or offensive use. The sights are well suited to that level of accuracy, but not at all suitable for precision bulldoze shooting.
    What others should know:Double stage is hard, kills accuracy. Single stage is however, very good. Some people seem confused, this pistol has no blowback, so semi-auto is only with the lousy double action. For single action, it must be cocked with every shot. Laser is low power, good indoors and shade, but not easily visible in sunlight. It is a joy to shoot, highly recommended.

    Product: AirForce Talon SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc Tank

    AirForce Talon SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc Tank Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-11-22 00:12:02

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2010-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.6666700839996343 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I didn't like the Tactical look at first, but it grew on me. I like it now. Tanks are small, can easily carry a spare Switch power sources easily, go from Compressed Air to CO2 in seconds Adjustable power wheel allows low power indoor to 10meter to high powered hunting; and it works great. Lots of rails to mount whatever you want, or use as a sling attachment Breech knob can be used from right or left hand Easy to access rear feed breech; allows longer/heavier pellet use if wanted It is fairly quiet, not as silent as a Marauder, but it's quiet enough to be backyard friendly Modular design allows upgrading to a longer barrel for more power Comes with a Walter Lothar barrel as standard, nice. Front handgrip looks simple, but is very comfortable to use and well placed Excellent open sights are available The hold and short length lend themselves to making this rifle an excellent natural pointer. It is surprisingly short, but not uncomfortable. Trigger pull is crisp, no question about when it is going to let go. Can store in a smaller case like a take down rifle
    Things I would have changed:I would prefer Weaver style rails over the dovetail, but that's just preference Pistol grip is marginal quality, seams needed to be sanded down to be flush on mine. I wish it took a standard AR style pistol grip, so it could be customized easier. It doesn't. The trigger arm is very thin metal, seems like a weak link in a great rifle, if you mash triggers, this is a weak looking one. A thicker arm would be welcome. Trigger shoe is cheap plastic, it works fairly well, but I replaced mine with an aftermarket one for a better feel. Should have been standard. The collar where the tank attaches to the rifle is not very strong, seems easily damaged. I've seen more rugged connections for similar air systems on high end Paintball guns, this should have a stronger attach point. No air pressure gauge, hard to tell how much air you have left. Add one. The hammer slap noise is pretty loud, but does not carry far. Wish it were damped as it seems louder than the actual report. Safety is positioned in the trigger guard (which I love) but is too stiff to flick with your shooting finger. I wish it were 'flickable' with one finger.
    What others should know:The compressed air tank CANNOT be refilled on the rifle. It must be removed, which means lots of screwing and unscrewing the tanks. This increases the possibility of cross threading the tank and rifle. Not a major concern, but something to be aware of. The POI can shift based on what tank you have on, so if you have a spare... the rifle POI can differ between your main and spare tanks. Some worse than others. I have two tanks, and I DO see a POI shift, but it is not major under 40 yards. In cold weather, the gun is cold. The metal body is very cold to the touch, didn't realize how much 'warmer' a wood stock feels until taking this out on a frosty morning. I was worried that loading through this breech would be difficult, it is not. The TalonSS, even with a very short barrel, is very very accurate. I was doing 50 yard shots very consistently. The versatility is really impressive. I enjoy shooting low power CO2 in my basement 10m range, and high pressure compressed air outside with much higher power. I don't know of any other rifle that can change like this in mere minutes. The Tank Ping noise is normal, don't be alarmed. The butt stock on the tank is just a flat metal piece with a little rubber on it, but it works just fine. I can't say I like it, but it works well enough to not complain.

    Product: IZH 61 multi shot air rifle

    IZH-Baikal IZH 61 multi shot air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-11-26 11:30:25

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2011-11-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Extremely consistent accuracy shot to shot, ragged holes at 10 meters every time. East cocking, clip auto advances, easy to tell how many shots remaining. Open sights are reasonable, but the rifle really needs a good target sight or scope to show it's accuracy. This is amazingly accurate, and a pure joy to shoot. The plastic doesn't feel cheap like some others, it feels like the plastic used on the new crop of firearms, nothing cheap about it.
    Things I would have changed:There is no safety, so once cocked it is ready to shoot. I'd add a safety. There is no stop after the last pellet has been shot, and shooting dry can/will damage it. I wish there was a stop to prevent you from shooting after the last pellet is gone from the clip.
    What others should know:It's a springer, but with a sidelever so no worry about barrel droop. It isn't that powerful, mostly a 10m and plinking rifle. Accuracy and consistency is simply amazing. No need to make multiple holes in a target, they'll all go into the same ragged hole.

    Product: Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock

    Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-02-21 19:56:31

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jason from USA on 2012-02-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The looks caught be on this, and my inner child called out to get one. I love multipump rifles for their varying power, and my 30 year old multipump died so I was in the market for another. This just so happened to come out at the same time and I couldn't resist trying it. I was immediately surprised at how well it shot. The sights were close to zero, but it grouped very well. Once dialed in, it has kept zero well and it is a joy to shoot. I haven't shot BB's through it, but it shoots pellets just fine. Looks like an M4, but doesn't feel like one. It feels like a plastic toy, but not necessarily cheap. The plastic is nice, but it's all plastic. Pales in comparison to the airsoft replica types, but then again - this is under $80. It feels pretty good, looks good and shoots better than expected.
    Things I would have changed:I'd love a version that felt more like a real M4. As much as I like multipumps, it would be nice to have a CO2 version, I don't care about semi auto or the like, but a CO2 version would be nice for a quick plinking session. I suspect this is aimed at the youth market, because it has a very short pull even with the stock fully extended. I'd like a wider adjustment capability.
    What others should know:Fun, it's very fun. I know it's essentially a 760 (with rifled barrel) but it is a whole lot funner to shoot.

    Product: Crosman MTR77 NP Air Rifle, Carry Handle

    Crosman MTR77 NP Air Rifle, Carry Handle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-07-12 13:32:51

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jason from USA on 2013-07-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Pros: Material feels like a composite, not cheap plastic. Rifle is styled nicely, full size and has quite a lot of heft to it which feels good and steady when shooting. Power is surprising, more penetration in targets than I expected, should handle small pests without issue. Wants to group, I have the horizontal dialed in on the open sights, but elevation is proving a more of a challenge, might be me or the rifle or both, I'm not sure. As noted elsewhere, it is quite hard to cock, but seems to be easing up the more I shoot. The safety is in front of the trigger, which is the best location in my opinion. So far, I'm quite enjoying this rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Forearm: The cut through under the forearm grip where the break barrel swings down has very sharp edges. They can be uncomfortable on your forward hand, I may sand the edges a little to round them off. Front Sight Tool: The front sight tool fits in the removable magazine, but that's best used to store pellets. The buttstock is hollow, so there was plenty of room to make an insert to hold the front sight tool, that would've been a nice touch, but they didn't. They could've also put it into the pistol grip, but didn't do that either, just a suggestion not an issue. Carry Handle: The carry handle is the composite material, not metal, metal would've been better, but it works alright and the sight adjustment has positive clicks so it's not that bad. Front Sight: I'm struggling to dial in elevation, I am getting very very consistent side to side shot placement, but vertical has a wider spread than I'd like. Perhaps that is myself adjusting to the peep sight, or the rifle - most likely a combination of both. Front Rifle Sling: I tried to add my leather rifle sling (old military issue) and it would not fit through the front rifle sling slot, the slot is too wide enough but too thin. I then tried another webbing rifle sling, and again, the front rifle sling slot was too thin. Come on Crosman, reallY? The only one I could get through was a cheapo nylon webbing one with very thin webbing. Finally, the largest change I'd make... is to launch it in a .22 cal.
    What others should know:Nice rifle, feels good to hold and shoot. Difficult to cock, so some people may have trouble. Horizontal shot to shot placement is very consistent, but I'm seeing a much larger vertical spread. My groups look like vertical lines of dots on the targets. I haven't been able to dial in the front sight consistently yet for elevation, but horizontal is dead on. More shooting as it breaks in and settles should help the vertical spread to settle down as well. If/When that happens, I'll bump up my accuracy rating. So far my shots have been at 20 and 30 yards only, nothing real far until I get the elevation dialed in.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top