Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Daisy Avanti 853CM

    Daisy Avanti 853CM Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-03-30 18:33:46

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2010-03-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The stock fits me well with the addition of the provided spacers. The rifle has nice balance with what I consider just enough muzzle heaviness. Cocking the rifle is smooth and required less effort than I expected. While the trigger has a fair amount of take up the release is crisp and very consistant, again much better than I expected. I also liked the inclusion of the 5rd clips as that fits into the training I expect to use the rifle for. I very much like the adjustable front sling attachment. It seems like a small matter but for me it's what made the deal. Proper use of a sling makes a HUGE difference in a shooter's score and attention to this detail is greatly appreciated! As reported elsewhere the rifle is accurate way beyond it's price point. All in all a very pleasing and shootable rifle. Well done!!
    Things I would have changed:I like heavy rifles so I wouldn't mind another pound of weight, an easy fix. As much as I like the fact that 5rd clips are included, they require a bit of practice to index them properly. However it could be that I'm an old guy and can't see the index marks ;-). A touch of paint will fix that.
    What others should know:I purchased this rifle as a means to increase my training time. I compete in the CMP Rimfire Sporter matches and I find this rifle to be very much like the rimfire rifles I shoot at those matches. The rules don't permit "trick" target rifles with light, perfect triggers. As I mentioned above the trigger has a bit of take up but is actually a far better trigger than many rimfire rifles. I can't imagine a more perfect choice for a trainer for the CMP Rimfire matches.

    Product: Daisy Avanti 853CM

    Daisy Avanti 853CM Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-04-21 19:38:18

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2010-04-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like the weight and balance of this rifle, being a touch muzzle heavy. The stock is a good fit for me (I'm 5'8") after adding the included spacers and I especially like the shape of the grip. I'm very pleased with the adjustable sling attachment. Nice to see it included as the proper use of the sling can greatly improve a shooters score. Target sights are like jewels to me. I've spent crazy amounts of money for target sights. The sights that come with this rifle are modest but do the job very well. It's tempting to replace them with expensive German equipment but my 10m scores shows that it would be a vain indulgence. I find the trigger to be quite good. It has a fair amount of take up but is smooth and even with a crisp release. Best of all it is very consistant in it's nature. It's better than many .22 rimfires I've used. Finally, this is a very accurate rifle. It's every bit as accurate as present in any of the reviews. A splendid rifle at a great price.
    Things I would have changed:I'd like a two-stage trigger. I'd like to see more visable indexing marks on the 5 shot magazines.
    What others should know:I'm really very pleased with this rifle. I'd been tap-dancing around an air gun for training for several years. I compete in small bore events and with the range an hour away I just wasn't getting enough shooting in. The recent discount on this rifle proved irresistable. I'm so glad I purchased this rifle. Not only am I training more but I'm finding I really enjoy the entire air rifle idea. Rather than moping about the house through the long Cleveland winters, I expect I'll go out and find some 10m matches!!

    Product: IZH 53M Air pistol

    IZH-Baikal IZH 53M Air pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-12-26 19:14:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2013-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really like this pistol, the price, solid construction, trigger and accuracy make it a good deal. I have been looking for a good starter target pistol and after much thought and research, bouncing around in a $40 to $200 budget, I decided on the 53M. Built like a tank and finished like one too. That's OK as it didn't take much to smooth things out. Right out of the box it's great for the money and there's great potential sleeping in this pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Tractor Factory #4 (tee-hee) should lube it up for performace not just storage before shipping. I'd like to see IZH bring back the trigger adjustment screw as there's a nice 2-stage trigger all ready and waiting in there. An option between the current grip and the old match style grip would be nice. I can't help but feel the pistol would be a better 10m pistol with a more agressive grip. This is all small stuff and easily fixed.
    What others should know:There's much concern about the lack of a safety but this pistol belongs on an organized and well run firing line. In a competition situation a safety is just one more thing to cause trouble and cost points. MHO. Out of the box it did shoot very much to the left (well it is the product of left wing Marxist stooges, right?) but after proper lube and a trigger job it shoots more middle of the road. A little Germanic finish work and Prussian discpline and this pistol will make sweet music!

    Product: H&N Sport .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Sport .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2014-03-02 12:02:39

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2014-03-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The H&N Sport's performance in my IZH 46, IZH 53 and Avanti CM853 is so close to the performance of the H&R Finale Match Rifle that I wonder if I need to spend the extra $$? For competitions I expect I will just for peace-of-mind but for training I've found my pellet.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:Try them, you'll like them.

    Product: RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2014-04-04 10:44:48

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2014-04-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A very fine pellet for the money. After 500 pellets through 2 pistols and 4 rifles I have to say I'm pleased. I like to shoot 20-30 pellets a day and these keep the cost down with very gratifying results.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top