Date: 24/6/2017 2:1
0

Customer Reviews by Tanstaafl from USA

Umarex Universal Steel BB Speedloader

Umarex Universal Steel BB Speedloader
Review entered on 2013-02-07 14:19:15

3.0 3.0

2.0 2.0

By Tanstaafl from USA on 2013-02-07
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.52 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The Umarex speed-loader does make it easier to load magazines more quickly, BUT - it's not exactly precision made. It's just a $10 molded plastic item, after all.

Things I would have changed: Make the plunger shaft from metal, or at least sturdier plastic. I'm concerned about breaking it, considering the amount of force required to push BB's through the device.

What others should know: If you have an Umarex semi-auto BB repeater with a removable magazine (especially if you have more than one magazine) get this speed-loader. It's certainly worth ten dollars, just for the convenience.

H&K USP CO2 BB Pistol

Heckler & Koch H&K USP CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2013-12-02 14:42:57

2.0 2.0

2.0 2.0

3.0 3.0

By Tanstaafl from USA on 2013-12-02
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I like the realistic size and detailing. I like that the magazine releases cleanly and that it holds both the CO2 and BBs. I like the three-dot 'combat' sights.

Things I would have changed: I don't like that the gun has so few metal parts; it's mostly plastic. I especially don't like the annoying 'rattle' that my gun has, which sounds as though something is loose or broken inside it. So far this hasn't seemed to affect its operation, the gun feeds and fires, but it certainly detracts from its realism. Your experience may be different. Maybe I just got a 'lemon'.

What others should know: I have yet to find any way to attach accessories to the rail. None of my lights or lasers will fit. Maybe the rail is just 'for show' and not meant to be functional. Thanks to the review by Brett and the photos by another uncredited customer, I was able to remove the plastic 'slide' and as I did so, a BB fell out. Somehow a BB had become lodged within the working parts and it required partial disassembly to remove it. There's still a lot of noise being made by the fake plastic hammer and the loose fit between the striker and the pin it pivots upon. I plan to try applying some 'gun grease' to that area to see if that will reduce the noise. Otherwise, I suppose I'll have to go a bit further than merely 'field stripping' it and attempt a more thorough repair. All of this is a tad disappointing. I know it's only a sub $50 dollar BB repeater, but I had really hoped for a little better quality from Umarex.

Legends C96 CO2 BB Pistol

Legends C96 CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2013-12-10 22:09:16

2.0 2.0

1.0 1.0

2.0 2.0

By Tanstaafl from USA on 2013-12-10
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: At a glance, it looks a lot like the Mauser broom-handle pistols you see in the movies. Actually, it looks more like the M712 Schnellfeuer, with its detachable magazine.

Things I would have changed: For $100 dollar replica pistol, there's an awful lot of plastic. The barrel shroud is plastic, so that includes the front sight. Overall, the impression I got upon taking it out of the box was that the quality is rather disappointing. Umarex really could have done better. I have to wonder if they rushed this to market to make it available in time for the 2013 Christmas shopping season.

What others should know: Sorry, but I think I'd recommend that others give this one a miss -- unless they've just gotta have a Mauser C96 replica in their collection -- then of course, you can probably find a spring airsoft model for less than $20.

Tanfoglio Limited Custom CO2 Pistol

Tanfoglio Limited Custom CO2 Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2015-10-09 15:00:35

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

3.0 3.0

By Tanstaafl from USA on 2015-10-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: All metal construction; very accurate replica of Eric Grauffel's 'race gun'. It's a pleasure to shoot, and surprisingly accurate for a smooth-bored BB repeater with 'blow-back'. It's field-strippable (with a little effort taken to smooth some of the die-cast edges inside the slide). The grips seem to mimic the dimensions of the firearm, so it may be possible to install aftermarket grips. The recoil adds to the realism and probably enhances its use as a firearm proficiency training tool. The 'drop-free' magazines work well and having two makes for faster reloads.

Things I would have changed: The quality control could stand some improvement. Specifically, the slide to frame fit on the unit I received was compromised by a very rough edge on one side of the frame, which resulted in poor slide action during the 'blow-back' cycle until I smoothed the edge with fine grit emery paper. The magazines, which contain the CO2 cartridges as well as the BBs, are all metal and seem unnecessarily heavy. Perhaps this was done intentionally in order to bring the weight of the gun closer to that of the actual firearm, or to achieve better balance. Regardless, the magazines appear over-built and overweight. Spare magazines could probably be produced and sold at a lower price if they made use of polymer construction (like Glock, Springfield, and many other firearms manufacturers). The sights could be greatly improved with the simple addition of a white dot to the front sight (fairly easy as a DIY fix). The finish (which appears to be paint) could certainly be better - it scratches very easily.

What others should know: Overall, this is a fun gun to shoot and should be on the 'short list' for anyone looking for a replica to add to their collection. KWC has another winner in this product! Buy a second magazine, you'll be glad you did. Shooting this gun is so addictive it's easy to go through 20 rounds in no time at all, and having two magazines makes reloading quick and easy. A few suggestions: the grip screws, magazine well screw, front sight screw and rear sight hinge pin will ALL work loose due to the 'blow-back system' recoil. It's a good idea to use a medium-strength thread locking compound on all of those points. Moly grease (or similar) should be applied to all the areas subject to friction. My gun arrived from Pyramyd after having had the "10-for-$10 test" performed, and it was quite dirty inside, probably from paint wearing off the moving surfaces.

Tanfoglio .177-Cal Magazine, Fits Limited Custom & Gold Custom CO2 BB Pistols, 20rds

Tanfoglio .177-Cal Magazine, Fits Limited Custom & Gold Custom CO2 BB Pistols, 20rds
Review entered on 2015-10-09 15:12:22

3.0 3.0

4.0 4.0

By Tanstaafl from USA on 2015-10-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Well-constructed 'drop-free' magazine that holds CO2 and BBs. It's fairly easy to load as the spring can be locked back while pouring BBs into it. I use a small tube that holds about 22 BBs; a pen barrel works well for this. Much faster and easier than loading individual BBs one-at-a-time.

Things I would have changed: As other reviewers have mentioned, this magazine does seem unnecessarily heavy. The CO2 cap and feed lip are plastic, so I doubt that the metal construction was intended to improve durability. Added weight for realism? Balance point of the overall gun? It certainly does seem that it could have been made lighter.

What others should know: The feed spring is strong! Be careful when loading BBs into this magazine and especially when releasing the spring, or you'll send BBs spraying out across the floor!

Navigation