Date: 28/7/2017 1:35
0

Customer Reviews by AirGunBug from USA

BSA 3-12x44 Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

BSA 3-12x44 Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
Review entered on 2013-02-18 10:48:45

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2013-02-18
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.02 ratings

Things I liked: This scope is impressive right out of the box and made the Gamo 4x32 which came with my Big Cat 1250 look like a wimp. Although the 4x32 was fine for daily plinking, I just needed something with more balls overall. I Took other buyer's advice and got the Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount with it which made mounting and centering a snap. Great scope with focal eyepiece, large adjustable objective brought my target into full view at 60yds. Played with it for a few minutes before proper sighting in and blew apart a green pop bottle cap at 15yds using a heavy 10.65gr hollow which I also purchased here. Once I collected up the pieces I was approx. 1/8" off dead center. Can't wait until I get it in my rest and really zero this puppy in. It comes with basic BSA reticle cross-hairs, but that's perfect for any shooting. I love the REAL metal lens caps and the hand adjustable elevation and windage MOA; no need for a flat-head screwdriver here.

Things I would have changed: Nothing so far about the scope.

What others should know: As I said I do love the all-metal lens caps, however, the forward cap on the 44mm end does have quite a lot of turns to remove it. Some might whimper about this, but ask yourself? When you are out hunting/plinking/sighting in, don't you remove your caps first anyways? The thing is, these are metal caps in metal sockets aka REAL; none of that plastic crap which will tear up the moment you seat it wrong. For a smoother removal and care, take a Q-TIP (gently spinning in between your fingers to reduce the chance of stray fibers breaking free), a little gun or 3-in-1 oil and apply a light coat to the cap grooves and there you go. As a hunter/shooter enthusiast, I would suggest you do this to your elevation and windage caps too. Let's not be wrong, this is a heavy scope at 19oz, but it's all metal rugged design, solid, no shake; it exudes 'I MEAN BUSINESS!' I would seriously recommend this scope to anyone who plans on upgrading their scope.

 

Gamo Rocket .177 Cal, 9.6 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 150ct

Gamo Rocket .177 Cal, 9.6 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 150ct
Review entered on 2013-02-28 19:09:08

3.0 3.0

3.0 3.0

3.0 3.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2013-02-28
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
2.01 rating

Things I liked: Impressive design, and I agree, these do pack a serious wallop to anything they hit; slight correction: if they hit which I will explain in my next part.

Things I would have changed: My tin actually came with more than advertised so YAY for me. I took these out with my Big Cat 1250 and started to see if I could get a grouping against a 2" target center at 30yrds using my rifle rest. First two were a bit off, adjusted and bingo, two good hits almost right on top of each other. Then came the third, and the forth and then the fifth. Each were all over the place which I had no problems with other pellets. Then came the sixth, one which I never fired. If I could add a pic I would but this thing looked like some deformed thing out off a alien movie. So I decided it has to be the pellets so examined and counted all of them. Yep, all of them. After separating them I had 101 good ones, 49 pretty deformed ones which would fire, but I for one was not ready to stick them in my rifle and 3 of the freakish pellets. Not blaming PyramiAir, but will send this and images to Gamo. I am not worried, these were the cheapest ones I ordered so they came free. Will try the good ones.

What others should know: Good penetration if the pellet is sound. Watch for deformed ones, especially if you plan on sticking this thing in an expensive rifle, or hoping to take a shot at dinner

 

Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail

UTG Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail
Review entered on 2013-03-05 09:41:20

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2013-03-05
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Rock solid with no fuss. Has a tight stop pin which locks this puppy up perfectly.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing

What others should know: If you own a magnum air gun of any kind/model/power plant, you will want this mount.

 

H&N Baracuda Hunter .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Hollowpoint, 400ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Hollowpoint, 400ct
Review entered on 2013-03-05 11:33:28

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2013-03-05
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: Great shape and one helluva heavy hitting pellet. Got these particularly for their weight because my magnum springer tens to break the sound barrier with lighter pellets. Another reason I bought these were for my raccoon problem I have on my property with damages ran me close to $7,500! First raccoon after adjusting for the weight, right below and to the left of the ear on the left side @ 32yrds. That thing died the second it hit and only had a few kicks from the hind legs. Definite killer pellet for pests. For a lead pellet, these are VERY clean. I always wash my pellets prior to use, but instead of gray water one might find with Crosman--albeit I am a Crosman fan--the water showed no sign. Very few damaged pellets, I do believe I only discarded 6 out of 250. Groups well (US nickle size) at 50yds.

Things I would have changed: Nothing at all.

What others should know: If you have a non-magnum rifle, or don't have a good pump, this round might not be for you beyond 25yds. It is heavy and heavy hitting. It mushrooms nicely on solids, so if you are going for a clean head shot, this will do the damage. Take in account its weight when shooting though, so get a couple tins of these. First tin to get your bearings, the other to hunt. I am buying 4 more of these babies.

 

JSB Diabolo Straton, .177 Cal, 8.25 Grains, Pointed, 500ct

JSB Diabolo Straton, .177 Cal, 8.25 Grains, Pointed, 500ct
Review entered on 2013-05-06 10:04:46

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2013-05-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Clean and overall distribution of shape and weight are perfect.

Things I would have changed: *Sigh* Screw on lid...the sigh is because this is something a lot of people have wanted for JSB.

What others should know: Perhaps one of the most accurate pellets I have tried in the JSB line. My magnum air rifles prefer the heavies (10+> gr), but I decided to try these. I was able to put 10 of 10 on target at 30yds without any effort. Believe it or not, for a lighter pellet, these puppies hit hard with a lot of penetration and I believe this will be he effect regardless if you are using a pumper all the way up through a PCP. My tin did not look like the picture; it's the standard JSB tin cover, but with a pleasant purple color. I love these and plan on ordering several more tins. You can't go wrong with them so try a tin or two.

 

Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
Review entered on 2017-03-11 15:19:53

3.0 3.0

5.0 5.0

3.0 3.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2017-03-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: Quantity, cost, hard-hitting and over-all quality.

Things I would have changed: Exact dimensions; although the tin, as well as the listing states 4.55mm, these are more like 4.552 because they are a VERY snug fit. Tried these in my two Benjamin Trails and two of my Gamo's, all of them required some hard pressure to get them to seat. Not being a wuss, but after shooting 30 or so per use, my thumb had a nice, round sore spot. Personally I was worried about deforming the skirts or jamming up my guns. Will try them in some of the new guns that I will be ordering soon.

What others should know: Although hard hitting, and within all of my gun's preferred pellet weights [10.3 - 13.34gr], I couldn't get as tight of a group as I wished, or do with JSB Exact Heavies. For the price I bought 3 of these tins, and had never had a problem with Crosman pellets in the past, but to be a snug and difficult fit into Crosman guns? A positive note is that I have not found one single deformed pellet in all of my tins, so if they fit your guns and provide a good group for you, these are the babies you might want to try.

 

JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Domed, 500ct

JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Domed, 500ct
Review entered on 2017-03-11 15:32:32

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2017-03-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Everything! This pellet is a hard hitting, tight grouping mother in all of my guns (Crosman/Gamo/Umarex/Hatsan [both PCP & Spring/Gas Piston]), and his big brother too (JSB Monster@13.43). Seriously, I can get an 8mm - 11mm grouping at my zero of 30yds [depending on rifle], and have brought down squirrels at 45+yds without issue. YES, they are more costly than your everyday pellet, but I get them here at PA, so for 500pcs [400 for the JSB Monster], you are talking just $0.03 a shot and well worth it. I haven't found one throw-away in the whole tin; very high precision whilst forming these pellets.

Things I would have changed: Like any JSB tin, if the lid screwed on I would be a serious happy bear, but a strip of electrical tape does the trick. Other than that? Not a single thing. This is one pellet I can tell you that you surely get what you pay for!

What others should know: Buy a tin and try them out. I am sure you will be quite happy!

 

UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT AccuShot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT AccuShot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
Review entered on 2017-03-12 13:06:50

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2017-03-12
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I bought mine from PyraminAir a few years ago, and bar-none, this is the best scope in my arsenal. I have one on my Big Cat 1250 (tuned), and another on my Hatsan and have put thousands of rounds down both without any issues with the scopes holding zero. Both rifles have been banged around and dropped (I have a clumsy nephew at times) and every time the scopes were dead on. The locking mechanisms on the turrets are quite snug, and yes, I have used the illumination at times when shooting varmints in low-light conditions quite successfully (albeit I use absolute lowest setting. Strong and hearty scope to say the least. She is a long scope and a bit heavy, but for my lighter rifles it creates a perfect balance. I have not tried their compact model, but will be ordering one for a new rifle.

Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind.

What others should know: For the buck, this scope is a HUGE win-win, and it stands by the fact of being shock, rain and fog proof (I have shot in all climate conditions and she's a winner). Now some might state this as a "Change", but when factory new I found on both scopes that the side parallax adjustment turret was VERY stiff out of the box. The first one I thought it was a defect, but with a pair of padded pliers I gave it a twist back and forth and after a couple of minutes of hand rotations both worked smoothly. *Note! I know some shooters have no need for illumination or end up trying and not liking it, or if you store your rifles for some time, remember to remove the battery so not to corrode your scope. I would put this scope up against a Hawke any day of the week for a fraction of the cost. My next one will be the compact, but I am dying to try out their Accushot 4-16x56!

 

Gamo Rocket .177 Cal, 9.6 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 150ct

Gamo Rocket .177 Cal, 9.6 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 150ct
Review entered on 2017-03-15 13:28:59

1.0 1.0

2.0 2.0

1.0 1.0

By AirGunBug from USA on 2017-03-15
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Great idea, but...

Things I would have changed: Main thing: Quality control! I went through my tin (albeit I selected these as a Free tin from PA since I was ordering several others) several years ago [2013], but what made me come out now to comment is I found my little baggy of deformed pellets which made up nearly a third of the whole tin. The skirts were either dented or completely deformed, several of the little penetration balls were offset from center and I even had few where there were two balls jammed in as if the machine forming these had a glitch. I know Gamo wants to market their own ammo for their specific guns so the shooters can get to that near stated FPS, but these would work much better if sunk into lead and a heavier grain. Those that did work couldn't handle high FPS and were all over the place! My brother-in-law tried these a few months ago (2016) and he had the same issue. Great idea, but I think Gamo should stick with making rifles and putting their monies into perfecting those instead of ammo.

What others should know: If you care to try them, I recommend selecting them as a Free tin if you are ordering multiple ones from PA. If you have a good power-plant in your air gun, go for heavier pellets if you are looking for accuracy, consistency and knockdown power; these light things are great for making your air gun sound like a rimfire, but that's about it.

 
Navigation