Product: BSA 3-12x44 Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

BSA 3-12x44 Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
Review entered on 2013-02-18 10:48:45

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By Paul from USA on 2013-02-18
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
1.01 rating
 
Things I liked:This scope is impressive right out of the box and made the Gamo 4x32 which came with my Big Cat 1250 look like a wimp. Although the 4x32 was fine for daily plinking, I just needed something with more balls overall. I Took other buyer's advice and got the Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount with it which made mounting and centering a snap. Great scope with focal eyepiece, large adjustable objective brought my target into full view at 60yds. Played with it for a few minutes before proper sighting in and blew apart a green pop bottle cap at 15yds using a heavy 10.65gr hollow which I also purchased here. Once I collected up the pieces I was approx. 1/8" off dead center. Can't wait until I get it in my rest and really zero this puppy in. It comes with basic BSA reticle cross-hairs, but that's perfect for any shooting. I love the REAL metal lens caps and the hand adjustable elevation and windage MOA; no need for a flat-head screwdriver here.
Things I would have changed:Nothing so far about the scope.
What others should know:As I said I do love the all-metal lens caps, however, the forward cap on the 44mm end does have quite a lot of turns to remove it. Some might whimper about this, but ask yourself? When you are out hunting/plinking/sighting in, don't you remove your caps first anyways? The thing is, these are metal caps in metal sockets aka REAL; none of that plastic crap which will tear up the moment you seat it wrong. For a smoother removal and care, take a Q-TIP (gently spinning in between your fingers to reduce the chance of stray fibers breaking free), a little gun or 3-in-1 oil and apply a light coat to the cap grooves and there you go. As a hunter/shooter enthusiast, I would suggest you do this to your elevation and windage caps too. Let's not be wrong, this is a heavy scope at 19oz, but it's all metal rugged design, solid, no shake; it exudes 'I MEAN BUSINESS!' I would seriously recommend this scope to anyone who plans on upgrading their scope.

Product: Gamo Rocket .177 Cal, 9.6 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 150ct

Gamo Rocket .177 Cal, 9.6 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 150ct
Review entered on 2013-02-28 19:09:08

Overall rating:3.0 3.0

Value for money:3.0 3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

  By Paul from USA on 2013-02-28
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
2.01 rating
 
Things I liked:Impressive design, and I agree, these do pack a serious wallop to anything they hit; slight correction: if they hit which I will explain in my next part.
Things I would have changed:My tin actually came with more than advertised so YAY for me. I took these out with my Big Cat 1250 and started to see if I could get a grouping against a 2" target center at 30yrds using my rifle rest. First two were a bit off, adjusted and bingo, two good hits almost right on top of each other. Then came the third, and the forth and then the fifth. Each were all over the place which I had no problems with other pellets. Then came the sixth, one which I never fired. If I could add a pic I would but this thing looked like some deformed thing out off a alien movie. So I decided it has to be the pellets so examined and counted all of them. Yep, all of them. After separating them I had 101 good ones, 49 pretty deformed ones which would fire, but I for one was not ready to stick them in my rifle and 3 of the freakish pellets. Not blaming PyramiAir, but will send this and images to Gamo. I am not worried, these were the cheapest ones I ordered so they came free. Will try the good ones.
What others should know:Good penetration if the pellet is sound. Watch for deformed ones, especially if you plan on sticking this thing in an expensive rifle, or hoping to take a shot at dinner

Product: Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail

UTG Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail
Review entered on 2013-03-05 09:41:20

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By Paul from USA on 2013-03-05
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Rock solid with no fuss. Has a tight stop pin which locks this puppy up perfectly.
Things I would have changed:Not a thing
What others should know:If you own a magnum air gun of any kind/model/power plant, you will want this mount.

Product: H&N Baracuda Hunter .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Hollowpoint, 400ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Hollowpoint, 400ct
Review entered on 2013-03-05 11:33:28

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

  By Paul from USA on 2013-03-05
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Great shape and one helluva heavy hitting pellet. Got these particularly for their weight because my magnum springer tens to break the sound barrier with lighter pellets. Another reason I bought these were for my raccoon problem I have on my property with damages ran me close to $7,500! First raccoon after adjusting for the weight, right below and to the left of the ear on the left side @ 32yrds. That thing died the second it hit and only had a few kicks from the hind legs. Definite killer pellet for pests. For a lead pellet, these are VERY clean. I always wash my pellets prior to use, but instead of gray water one might find with Crosman--albeit I am a Crosman fan--the water showed no sign. Very few damaged pellets, I do believe I only discarded 6 out of 250. Groups well (US nickle size) at 50yds.
Things I would have changed:Nothing at all.
What others should know:If you have a non-magnum rifle, or don't have a good pump, this round might not be for you beyond 25yds. It is heavy and heavy hitting. It mushrooms nicely on solids, so if you are going for a clean head shot, this will do the damage. Take in account its weight when shooting though, so get a couple tins of these. First tin to get your bearings, the other to hunt. I am buying 4 more of these babies.

Product: JSB Diabolo Straton, .177 Cal, 8.25 Grains, Pointed, 500ct

JSB Diabolo Straton, .177 Cal, 8.25 Grains, Pointed, 500ct
Review entered on 2013-05-06 10:04:46

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

  By Paul from USA on 2013-05-06
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Clean and overall distribution of shape and weight are perfect.
Things I would have changed:*Sigh* Screw on lid...the sigh is because this is something a lot of people have wanted for JSB.
What others should know:Perhaps one of the most accurate pellets I have tried in the JSB line. My magnum air rifles prefer the heavies (10+> gr), but I decided to try these. I was able to put 10 of 10 on target at 30yds without any effort. Believe it or not, for a lighter pellet, these puppies hit hard with a lot of penetration and I believe this will be he effect regardless if you are using a pumper all the way up through a PCP. My tin did not look like the picture; it's the standard JSB tin cover, but with a pleasant purple color. I love these and plan on ordering several more tins. You can't go wrong with them so try a tin or two.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top