Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Stoeger Arms X20 Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo

    Stoeger Arms X20 Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-08-17 18:54:57

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The stock is nice, feels solid, and the checkering is sharp enough to actually be useful. The "cocking aid" area of the front sight is nice to grab onto. I don't feel like I'm putting my corrosive sweat on it when cocking or picking the gun up all the time. The exterior finish is very good. The laser-etched lettering looks great. The included scope is VERY nice, sharp image, holds zero, useful amount of zoom. Accepts GRTIII trigger from CharlieDaTuna, which makes it 100% better gun for only $32 extra. Dual-sided cheekpieces are well-placed, and the safety is well-placed. It is truly an ambidextrous gun, but without having to give up the cheekpiece. The one-piece scope mount is quite good also; the scope doesn't move once it is tightened down.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is quite heavy in stock form, and no clue of where it is going to break. One just has to try to pull through it smoothly. This is easily fixed with the GRTIII trigger. The front sight is not removable, and it shows up in the scope at lower magnifications. I think I'm going to saw mine off, as I don't see myself ever using open sights on this gun. In this combo version of the gun, they should just omit the sights altogether and keep it looking cleaner. It would save them some cost and really clean up the lines of the gun. Add mil dots to the scope, for better ability to estimate pellet drop outside 35 yards.
    What others should know:Don't look just at velocity when looking at spring or gas piston airguns. Break-barrel springers get heavier and heavier, especially toward the muzzle, as the velocity goes up. They also become more hold sensitive. Reading about it in reviews doesn't really give an appreciation for weight. Although this is a mid-weight adult spring gun, I can only hold it up for offhand shooting for a few minutes at a time without lowering it to take a rest. (I'm 5'8", medium build) I'm glad I didn't get the X50, and I'm wondering if I shouldn't have gotten the X5. The X10 is the same as this model, but with a cheaper scope and the stock doesn't have the cheekpieces. If I were to do it again, I think I would get the X20 w/o scope and get a nice 3-12 mil-dot scope. I've mounted just such a scope (Leapers Bugbuster) and it is sure nice. Download a copy of Chairgun Pro software, and you can see where your pellets are going to hit with the mildots. This gun really likes Crosman Premier Light pellets. It groups just as well with them as with the Meisterkugeln and JSB Exact. Also good is JSB Exact RS, RWS Superdome, and Beeman Kodiak 10.65 gr. It doesn't like many pellets below 7.9 gr. It doesn't like RWS Superpoint or RWS Hobby.The expensive H&N Field Target Trophy Power don't shoot any better than the Crosman Premier Lights. It doesn't seem to like Crosman Premier hollowpoints much though. If anyone tries Crosman Premier Heavy through this gun, leave a comment and let me know how they pan out.

    Product: Crosman 1377C / PC77

    Crosman 1377C / PC77 Air gun
    Review entered on 2011-08-17 19:09:01

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The accuracy of this gun is just awesome. For a pistol, it has a nice long sight radius. Looking at the pix, you'd think it would be too muzzle heavy, but if you're used to powderburners, it isn't at all. The variable power and lack of a thirst for CO2 are definite advantages of this "American Classic" or "Pumpmaster Classic" as they're calling it now. I like that the open rear sight can be flipped to an aperture sight for when I mount the optional stock. It makes it very easy to hit the target.
    Things I would have changed:The pumping arm should be bigger, so it isn't so easy to pinch one's fingers while pumping. The rear sight, as was mentioned before, does not have enough adjustability; it doesn't go low enough for shooting at 5-10 yards. Also, it is held in place by a screw threaded into soft plastic. VERY easy to strip, be careful. I don't mind the plastic breech, or the plastic rear sight, but the screw threading into plastic is just a horrible nasty idea. It saves Crosman 2 cents, but ticks off customers. Even with the plastic breech, it would have been nice if they molded in slots for scope mounting. Maybe just using a harder, more durable plastic is the answer to all the woes. Like a glass-filled nylon or polycarbonate. It would also be nice if they designed the optional shoulder stock to more quickly attach and detach to make this into a true backpacker's gun.
    What others should know:To get the most out of this gun, get the Crosman shoulder stock too. It is made of a good solid plastic and is quite durable. It easily triples the accuracy potential of this gun. As usual, Crosman was ... "optimistic"... about the published velocity numbers of this gun. I didn't see anywhere near 600 fps, even with lightweight 7.0 gr. RWS Hobby pellets. With that pellet, it yields ~360 fps @ 3 pumps, ~422 fps @ 5 pumps, and ~510 fps at 10 pumps. Only with alloy pellets or with modifications will this be a 600 fps gun. Buyers of this gun should know there is a healthy aftermarket for this gun. It is amazing, but enthusiasts buy this $55 gun, then put hundreds of dollars into modding it to be just what they want. Longer barrels, steel breeches, flat top pistons and valves, you name it. Crosman sells a steel breech through their custom shop on their sight that will allow scope mounting without the cheezy barrel clamp jig Crosman sells separately. Independent machinists also make them. If you like this gun, also take a look at the 2240. It is a CO2 gun in 22 caliber that has just as much of a cult following as this one does. The bolt action is much nicer than the old first generation setup where it had to be cocked separately. Anyway, I'd buy this gun again in a heartbeat.

    Product: Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro

    Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-09-08 17:45:05

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Inherent accuracy, no recoil, medium weight, single pump design, build quality. This gun is pretty easy to shoot accurately.
    Things I would have changed:A bit better quality control from Daisy. The first one I got would not feed a pellet, no matter what I did. There was either some obstruction in the barrel, or there was a finishing problem where some flashing was folded over. Daisy took care of me though. I called them and they sent me a return shipping label, and had a new one out to me within a couple weeks. This is why I deducted one star from the Overall rating.
    What others should know:The stock sights are pretty cheesy. They're fiber optic, but fiber optics aren't needed on a target gun. Still, with some concentration, you can achieve dime size groups at 10 yard even with those sights. I recommend mounting a UTG 4X or 6X Bugbuster scope on this to really unlock the full potential of this rifle. This gun, with it's single pump, shoots about as hard as a CO2 pistol. Here are some velocity readings from my chrono: 7.1 gr. Beeman Laser = 477 fps, Crosman Premier HP 7.9 gr. = 411 fps, RWS Hobby 7 gr = 436 fps, Beeman Kodiak 10.65 gr. = 356 fps, Crosman Premier Light 7.9 gr. = 419 fps, JSB Exact 8.4 gr. = 421 fps, JSB Exact RS 7.3 gr. = 459 fps, Beeman pointed 8.3 gr. = 406 fps, H&N FTTP 8.8 gr. = 394 fps, Skenco Poly match 4 gr. = won't fit, Crosman SSP Pointed 4 gr. = 565 fps, Daisy Precision Match pointed 7.2 gr = 435 fps. The most accurate pellets of the above were JSB Exact RS and Beeman Laser. RWS Hobby also are very accurate. The length of pull on the stock is kind of short, but not uncomfortable for an adult. Remember, this is a target gun, and designed to be held close to the body, so you can rest your forward arm against your ribs for top accuracy.

    Product: Crosman Raven

    Crosman Raven Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-09-08 18:35:30

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Light weight, fairly easy to cock, compact, shape of fore-end of stock. I figured this would be a great all-day plinker, and I was right. With a 6X AO scope, this is a perfect package. I went with the UTG Bugbuster and I can hit a 12" gong at 18 yards, standing, off-hand, every time. Hold about 6 mil-dots high. Be patient, it takes the pellet about a full second to arrive. :)
    Things I would have changed:Trigger pull is VERY heavy, but it breaks cleanly. Better than many other break-barrel air rifles that are heavy and give no clue of when they are going to break. The shape of the stock at the bottom of the pistol grip is not very good. It kind of digs into the base of my hand. They made it a bit too wide in order to make it strong, and made it a bit uncomfortable. Not a deal-breaker though.
    What others should know:This would be a good airgun for close-range pest control, out to probably 30 yards or so. Beyond that, the velocity is inadequate. Like many guns, this gun seems to like JSB Exact RS, although its absolute favorite is the Skenco 4 gr. Poly Match, at least at 10 yards. I haven't tried it beyond that, yet. Some muzzle velocity numbers: Crosman Premier Light 7.9 gr. = 578 fps, Crosman Premier HP 7.9 gr. = 567 fps, RWS Hobby 7 gr. = 606 fps, Beeman Kodiak 10.65 gr. = 468 fps, H&N FTTP 8.8 gr. = 536 fps, JSB Exact 8.4 gr. = 586 fps, JSB Exact RS 7.3 gr. = 634 fps, Beeman Laser 7.1 gr. = 641 fps, Beeman Pointed 8.3 gr. = 548 fps. Accuracy-wise, this one is only half as accurate as my Daisy 953, but not too bad.

    Product: Beeman H&N Match .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct

    Beeman H&N Match .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-23 17:03:38

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Consistent shape, no seams.
    Things I would have changed:Make skirts less fragile. Sell them in 500 ct. tins, so pricing is more easily compared to the competition, rather than try to fool us into thinking they're less expensive by having smaller tins. Redesign the lids of the tins to have some sort of retention, so I don't have to rubber-band them on all the time. Take a lesson from H&N, Daisy, Crosman, or Skenco.
    What others should know:When I opened the tin of pellets, I found that probably 10% of the pellets had bent skirts, pretty much guaranteeing that they will not be too consistent in flight. The tin wasn't dented, and the foam sheet was in place, so it is just a matter of the skirts being too thin. I've found that RWS Meisterkugeln is the better choice in a high-end wadcutter, and even the much less expensive RWS Hobby work better in all my guns. I won't buy these again.

    Product: Crosman Raven

    Crosman Raven Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-09-23 19:19:54

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy-cocking from seated position, compact, no automatic safety.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger: make it take less than a 15 pound pull to break. Bottom strap should be flattened on the sides so it doesn't dig into the wrist where it meets the hand.
    What others should know:I bought this gun to have a fun, easy-to-cock plinker. The trigger though... wow. It is so heavy. Still, it is surprisingly accurate, once you learn the trigger. Although it is heavy, I can predict where it will break. The fiber optic sights look kind of keen, and they are easy to pick up, but they are also kind of big, so it's pretty hard to hit a small target with them. The beam that connects the bottom of the pistol grip to the bottom of the shoulder stock is flat and horizontal, so it tends to dig into the wrist. I think if I were to do it again, I might get that neat little IZH side lever springer. For kids and adults alike, the Daisy 953 is the better plinker and target gun, even though it shoots 100 fps slower than this one.

    Product: Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro

    Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-09-23 19:43:41

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, single-pump action, 5-shot magazine, small sights don't look like much, but are actually good for precision shooting.
    Things I would have changed:Come into the 21st century and give it a comfy thumhole stock. The semi-pistol grip stock is better than a sporter-style stock, but still only halfway to being really comfy to hold. Small nitpick.
    What others should know:This is a GREAT gun, when you've gotten over your case of Magnumitis. It is easy to shoot accurately, for hours at a time. The gun doesn't recoil like a springer, and doesn't take expensive support gear like a PCP. Thus, it is the perfect gun if you can make do with 400 fps. This is the ugly stepchild of the 853 and 753, with their fancy-pants Lothar Walther barrel, but it still shoots like a champ. The magazines work great, and I could mount a scope on a one-piece mount and the lack of clearance is not even a problem. Extra magazines are reasonably priced. I can't recommend this gun highly enough.

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 20:23:51

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, and a fair price for this accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:The edges of the fronts of these pellets are rather sharp. This is why they cut such nice, clean holes in the paper. It also means you have to slow down a bit when you're loading them. Putting them in a magazine, then jamming them in with the bolt may deform them. (I haven't tried) For best results, I think you should plan on single-loading them. That said, these are a bit more accurate than my second favorite wadcutter, RWS Hobby. They even give accurate results in lower powered rifles and pistols. Highly recommended.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 20:29:35

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, consistency, easy feeding.
    Things I would have changed:A tin with a lid that doesn't need to be fixed on with tap or rubber bands. H&N has the right idea here. That's a nitpick though.
    What others should know:These are the PERFECT pellet for medium and low powered airguns. Out of my Stoeger X20, Daisy 953, Crosman Raven, Crosman 66 Powermaster, and Crosman 1377, they are the most accurate pellet. The X20 is a powerful enough rifle that this should not be the case. But it is! Here's some data. Out of my X20, they yielded 926 fps, for 13.9 ft-lbs. Out of my Raven, they yielded 634 fps, for 6.5 ft-lbs. Out of my Daisy 953, they yielded 459 fps, for 3.4 ft-lbs. My Marauder doesn't like JSB pellets, so I didn't try it, but I bet they would be over 1000 fps with the factory tune. (since regular Exacts yielded 980 fps) Folks, these are worth the money.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact .177 Cal, 8.4 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact .177 Cal, 8.4 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 20:34:14

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Shape, consistency.
    Things I would have changed:Better accuracy out of my guns. (Stoeger X20, Crosman 1377, 66 Powermaster, Marauder, and Raven; Daisy 953.
    What others should know:These are pretty much an industry standard pellet for accuracy. But I've found that, from my guns anyway, they don't shoot as well as Crosman Premier Lights or Heavies. My Marauder just *shotguns* them all over the place. The X20 shoots them well, but not as well as the Exact RS or CPL. I think they're great pellets, but in my guns, they're only good. (and horrible with the Marauder)

    Product: Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct

    Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 20:42:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy. Fair price.
    Things I would have changed:Packaging: it is junky. The pellets are packed as if the package will always remain level. Crosman has tried to address this by taping the box, but that is just not enough. They need to pack them in some kind of plastic box with a lock-tight lid, or a proper tin. When you receive these, plan on having about 20 pellets just floating around the bigger box. Plan on transferring them to a better container. (I use a plastic box that held some bullets from Midway.) A couple of Altoids tins would also work.
    What others should know:The thing about these pellets is that they are consistently good across many airguns. They are the favorite pellet of my Stoeger X20. (@ 918 fps) They are a close second out of my Marauder (@ 980 fps) They are also good out of my Daisy 953, (419 fps) and Crosman Raven. (578 fps) They are not always the most accurate, but they are always near the top. These have quickly become my go-to pellets. They work well everywhere from low powered pneumatics, to high power PCPs, and low and medium powered springers. They are a bit dirtier to handle than JSB, RWS, and H&N pellets, but it is hard to beat them for the price.

    Product: Daisy Max Precision .177 Cal, 7.2 Grains, Pointed, 250ct

    Daisy Max Precision .177 Cal, 7.2 Grains, Pointed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 20:44:40

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The tin and the price.
    Things I would have changed:Make them accurate.
    What others should know:These are probably the worst pellets I ever shot. I don't have any guns that will shot them well, even the low powered Daisy 953 and Crosman Raven. They just go all over the place. Don't be lured by the low price. They're just terrible pellets.

    Product: Skenco Poly Match, .177 Cal, 4.0 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 150ct

    Skenco Poly Match, .177 Cal, 4.0 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 150ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 20:52:34

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, lead-free, speed without losing accuracy, easy feeding. Probably the best packaging of any pellet.
    Things I would have changed:Single load only, they're too long for magazines and some guns. Buy them only if you have a good bit of room when chambering typical lead pellets.
    What others should know:Folks, open your mind to these babies. If they were made of biodegradable plastic from corn husks, they would truly be The Pellet of the Future. The plastic they're molded from is harder than lead, so they can be sized just right. The torpedo shape makes them super-easy to chamber; no worry about deforming them. I bought these for my Crosman 1377, thinking they'd be my bird-killers. In that role, I haven't tried them yet. But they are accurate in all my low and medium powered guns. I haven't tried them yet in my higher powered ones. Out of my Crosman 1377 (new one from 2011) they give 465 fps @ 3 pumps, 543 fps @ 5 pumps, and 653 fps @ 10 pumps. My Daisy 953 will not chamber them; they're too long, even for single loading. I didn't chrono them out of my Crosman Raven yet, but they were the most accurate pellet from that gun. The plastic case these are packaged in is perfect. The lid snaps on securely, but has a tab that makes it easy to open without spilling them. You'll wish you had more "tins" like this for your Beeman pellets. ;) Based on this experience, I will be buying more Skenco pellets in the future.

    Product: Beeman Crow Magnum .177 Cal, 8.80 Grains, Hollowpoint, 300ct

    Beeman Crow Magnum .177 Cal, 8.80 Grains, Hollowpoint, 300ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 22:04:43

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Consistency, accuracy at close range
    Things I would have changed:They lose speed and energy FAST beyond about 25 yards. Don't for one instant think you can make a humane shot on a crow at 50 yards with these. They're just not aerodynamic enough.
    What others should know:I think these could replace wadcutters for all your close range shooting needs. They will outperform wadcutters on small game, but beyond 25 yards, they are no substitute for a good domed pellet. (such as Beeman Kodiak, FTS, RWS Superdome, JSB Exact, etc.)

    Product: Beeman H&N High Speed Match .177 Cal, 7.56 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct

    Beeman H&N High Speed Match .177 Cal, 7.56 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 22:07:59

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Consistency of pellet
    Things I would have changed:Fragility of pellet. LOTS of bent skirts, due to their fragile design. probably 25% of them.
    What others should know:I won't buy another tin of these. The skirts are just too fragile. Even in the un-damaged tin with the foam pad intact, there were a lot of bent skirts. Ruined pellets, in other words. Couple this with the fact that they only come 300 in a tin compared to 500 for RWS, and they're not a good deal any more. Go for Meisterkugeln instead.

    Product: Crosman SSP .177 Cal, 4.0 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 250ct

    Crosman SSP .177 Cal, 4.0 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 250ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 22:10:55

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lead-free, and the tins are good.
    Things I would have changed:I would make them consistent and accurate, rather than inconsistent, and inaccurate, as they are now.
    What others should know:These are inaccurate in all of my airguns. From high powered rifles to low powered pistols and everything in between, they print shotgun-style patterns, nothing I would describe as a group. Just terrible pellets, I'm sorry to say.

    Product: Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle

    Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-11-10 09:48:18

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-11-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy - I manage 3/4" groups at 50 yards sometimes. 1-1.5" is more typical, so this is not quiet on par with the high-end PCPs. Still, better than any springer I've shot, and very easy to get that accuracy consistently. Power - I get 980 fps with the factory tune and a 2600 psi fill with Crosman Premier Lights, 7.9 gr. About 100 fps slower with Crosman Premier Heavies, 10.2 (?) gr. Quietness - The only sound is the "ping" of the hammer falling and the pellet hitting the target. Fill nipple - I prefer this to the hole provided in other PCP guns. Pumping - I fill to 2600 psi, then shoot about 50 rounds, which brings me down to about 2000 psi. Pumping it up takes about 5 minutes, and isn't enough to heat up my Hill pump. No breaks needed for the pump to cool. I need a break about 2/3 of the way through, and I'm 35 and in fair shape. Trigger - is fantastic. It isn't as light as a proper $3,000 target rifle, but it is crisp and light at probably a 2 lb. pull.
    Things I would have changed:Include the single shot adapter at no charge. It is ridiculous to charge for this on a gun that costs this much. All pellets I've tried do not drop down into the holes in the mag, they seem to get hung up on holes 5 and 6. No biggy, I can probably fix this with some very light Dremel work. I would also like to see some other stock options that are comfortable to shoot from a bench, such as thumbhole, pistol grip, and bullpup.
    What others should know:This rifle does not like JSB pellets. I know, hard to believe, right? It really does prefer the Crosman Premiers. It shoots Lights and Heavies well, as well as the Discovery branded pellets. (10.5 gr. hollow points) The gun comes tuned from the factory for a 2500 psi fill. If you hand pump, you'll appreciate this. That tune is a good compromise, as it gives good velocity but doesn't require a 3000 psi fill to get it. If you're willing to re-tune for 3000 psi, more power can be gotten from the gun, but probably at the expense of some accuracy, as the pellets will then be nearing the supersonic speeds, at least in .177. In .22 or .25, you'll have more energy potential, but at the expense of number of shots per fill and flat-shooting. Be sure you pull the bolt all the way back before inserting or removing a magazine, or you'll break off the probe tip and have to order a new bolt assembly. I did it once, and it was pure torture, not being able to shoot this for that week. I have a Hawke Eclipse 4.5-14x44 w/ 30mm tube and side focus mounted to this gun. It's very accurate, and the 1/2 mil dot reticle is great, but it makes the gun quite heavy. If you'll be doing any offhand shooting, get a scope with a 1" tube and no larger than 40mm objective. 10x magnification is about right, and you can get by with a common 3-9. Anyway, great gun, worth every penny. I'm going to de-ping it and think about having a custom thumbhole or bullpup stock built for it.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-11-11 21:04:35

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-11-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Uniformity, lack of seams, accuracy, fit in gun chambers
    Things I would have changed:Add some alloy, so they will shoot well in Marauders. :) Since these are pure lead, I think what's happening is that the skirts are deforming just the slightest bit as they leave the barrel, then clipping the baffles, destroying accuracy. That's my theory anyway.
    What others should know:If you're looking for the best domed pellet under 7.9 gr., this is it. Best energy retention, best uniformity, best accuracy. In pumpers, CO2 guns, and low-medium powered springers, this pellet is just fantastic. It even gave top accuracy out of my Stoeger X20, which shoots them at 926 fps. (tied, accuracy-wise, with Crosman Premier Lights, and Heavies, better than the 8.8 Exacts) Having tried some of the more expensive pellets in this class, like Beeman/H&N FTS, Barracudas, and even Kodiaks, nothing outshoots these until you get into higher powered guns. Other velocity references: Crosman Raven shoots them at 634 fps. Daisy 953 shoots them at 459 fps. Crosman 1377 "American Classic" (new model) shoots them at 542 fps with 10 pumps.

    Product: Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle

    Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-11-20 14:17:38

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-11-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Value, SUPER QUIET, build quality, tune-ability, relatively easy to pump up. There's only one other airgun of this overall quality in this price range: the CZ200, but it is a completely different style.
    Things I would have changed:Offer it with a thumbhole, pistol grip, and bullpup stock options for better shooting comfort, or at least a pistol grip that lets the hand remain more vertical.
    What others should know:I've had my .177 Marauder now for a couple of months. I've left it at the factory tune, which they say is tuned for a 2500 psi fill. I hand pump, so I'm not in so big a hurry to tune it for the max fill of 3000 psi. Those last 500 psi are awfully hard for the manual pumpers. I find that when I fill to 2600 psi, I get about 50 or 60 shots before it gets down below 2000 psi and the trajectory starts to drop. With this stock tune, I get the following chrony results: Crosman Premier Lights (CPL): 922 fps, CPH: 886 fps, Superdome: 923 fps, H&N Field Target Trophy Power: 897 fps. So it is shooting right in the 15-16 FPE range. It will not shoot any type of JSB Exacts well, much to my dismay, as my other guns love them. The most accurate and consistent pellets I've found so far for this are the H&N FTTP, with CPL and CPH being tied for second. The trigger is great; not a 2 oz. match trigger, but not heavy, and a very crisp break in the second stage. I routinely get 1/2" groups from a rest at 30 yards, and occasionally get 1/2" groups at 50 yards from a rest. If you'll do a lot of benchrest shooting, you may want to go with another rifle, as the sporter grip shape forces one to rotate one's hand forward, and it is hard on the wrist after a while. The finish on the stock is better than I was expecting, it seems durable to everyday nicks. I think I will seek out a custom stock for this: bullpup or thumbhole, and it will be the perfect rifle for me.

    Product: RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-11-20 14:33:13

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-11-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great 10m pistol ammo or low powered rifle ammo, at a price I can afford to buy a lot of them at.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. They are not as consistent at Meisterkugeln Pistol, but they also cost 50% less, so no complaints. They shoot almost as well as Meisterkugeln Pistol, too.
    What others should know:When you're buying pellets here, buy 3 tins of these for the 4th free. You don't want to buy 3 tins of a more expensive pellet, then get the Basic cheapies free. ;) For most people and most guns, this will be just as accurate as the more expensive guns. Even if you're a match shooter, give these a try: you will be surprised at how well they shoot. These seem to be aiming to replace the old standby, RWS Hobby. (they shoot about the same, too) These shoot better in my guns than H&N Match, and cost a good deal less too. I just bought 4 tins of them and will probably buy more too.

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-11-20 14:36:38

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-11-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Consistency, no seams. Skirt is thick enough that it doesn't get easily bent from tumbling around inside the tin. (like H&N Match do)
    Things I would have changed:Lower the price a bit.
    What others should know:This is my go-to pellet for indoor shooting at 5 yards to 10 meters from low powered guns that shoot in the 300-500 fps range. They cut nice clean holes in the paper. They do not shoot well out of my Marauder or Stoeger X20, and neither do the full weight Meisterkugeln.

    Product: Leapers 5th Gen 3-12x40 AO Rifle Scope, Ill. Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Max Strength See-Thru Weaver/Picatinny Rings

    UTG Leapers 5th Gen 3-12x40 AO Rifle Scope, Ill. Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Max Strength See-Thru Weaver/Picatinny Rings
    Review entered on 2011-12-01 22:17:21

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Solid build quality. Well-damped controls stand up to recoil of springers. Sharp optics. I have this mounted on my Stoeger X20, break-barrel springer, and it is a perfect match. Enough magnification to be able to home in on bullseyes at 60 yards, but not so much that it overhangs the loading port of the barrel.
    Things I would have changed:The only thing that gives this scope away as a budget model is the weight. The better brands, like Leupold, can make scopes just as strong without adding so much weight to your rig. This is important, since our airguns are already heavier than powderburners to begin with. By the time you add the one-piece mount you'll need, your rifle will be nearly 2 lbs. heavier than it once once. May as well add a bipod too, because you may need it, not to break your back.
    What others should know:The scope comes with most of the accessories you'll need. The only disappointment for me was that the included rings are for weaver/picatinny instead of 3/8 / 11mm like we need for most of our airguns. I had to buy another set of rings, and now I have these nice ones sitting and gathering dust. Speaking of dust, the scope includes a pair of flip-up lens covers that don't work really well. Unless they're not pressed all the way on, they front one won't close. Also, since the adjustable objective on this scope is at the front, the cap has to be removed anyway. They should give up on these cheapies and just include some basic bikini or old fashioned friction fit caps. The controls are good, but the illuminated reticle is a gimmick. If it is dark enough that you need the reticle illuminated, you can't see anything through the scope but the reticle anyway. Despite the heavy weight, I gave this scope a solid 5 stars, because there is nothing else of this quality for this price that weighs less. It's a solid buy if you want a solid, mid-powered scope, with clear optics.

    Product: BSA 2x20 Pistol Scope, Duplex Reticle

    BSA 2x20 Pistol Scope, Duplex Reticle
    Review entered on 2011-12-03 07:59:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clear optics, solid construction, reasonable price.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:If you're looking for an upgrade to open sights or cheap red dots, this is it. It takes your eyes' resolution out of the equation. I've got a Leupold pistol scope too, but for handgun use, it isn't any better than this.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-03 08:07:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very consistent, no seams. The perfect pellet from lower powered airguns to gain a little velocity over the 8.4 gr. version.
    Things I would have changed:As with many quality products, I wish they were more affordable.
    What others should know:These are the favorite hunting pellets in my Crosman 1377, Daisy 953, and Crosman 66. Very accurate and about 50 fps faster than the 8.4 gr.

    Product: MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Rest, for Rifles & Pistols

    MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Rest, for Rifles & Pistols
    Review entered on 2011-12-23 09:58:12

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.3333301544189453 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fully adjustable, light weight to carry, Made in the USA, works with rifles and pistols, sturdier than you'd think. The front and rear supports are made of hard rubber, but are still sticky enough to keep your gun from sliding around. There's a star nut on the front column that allows a lot of adjustability in height. Once I get the right height, there's a thumb screw to lock it in place. The rear support telescopes out as well, and can be locked in place with two thumb screws. The feet are rubber and are plenty sticky enough to keep the rest from sliding around. These are what makes this rest work just as well as the super heavy steel ones. There's a carrying handle on the side. Looking underneath, I saw that it is mostly hollow, but molded of thick plastic and braced appropriately.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, it is a great value and works perfectly. If they could make one where the front "legs" fold in for less bulk during transport and storage, that would be ideal. Maybe in the next generation. Still, that will mean more hardware and a higher price, then, they may not sell as well, right?
    What others should know:If you shoot spring or gas piston guns from this, buy a beanbag for the front rest. Otherwise, it doesn't allow the front of the gun to move and ruins your accuracy. Having this crook in the front rest is really the way to go, because guns that CAN be held in place, such as PCP and pumpers are held in place, and you are only a beanbag away from having it work well for springers too. You can probably get such a bean bag from a camera shop online or maybe the craft section of a super store or hobby store.

    Product: UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Weaver Rings

    UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2011-12-24 19:13:10

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.04 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good optics up to 12X. Solid construction. Includes battery, sun shade, and Weaver/Picatinny mounts.
    Things I would have changed:Optics become dim after 12X, pointing to a poor optical design. They just pushed it too far. This is where the more expensive scopes from real optics companies, such as Burris, Nikon, Leupold, Pentax, etc. really shine. They look good all throughout their zoom range. Leapers should work on their formula and make sure that 50% of the image brightness isn't lost at maximum zoom. This family of scopes are also unusually heavy for their power level. Also, one click while zeroing is not the same as every other click. As Leupold points out, one should be able to "shoot the box" if the scope is good. This means take a shot, move the scope zero a couple inches up, shoot again. Move the zero a couple inches right, shoot again. Move the zero a couple inches down and shoot again. Move the zero a couple inches left, and shoot again. The result, if shot from a rest, should be a box, and the starting point and ending point should be the same. This scope will fail that test every time.
    What others should know:So the thing to keep in mind here is that if you want a Leapers scope to be clear at 16X, get one that zooms out to 20X. I also have thier 3-12x40, and it is the same story: very dim after 10X. Despite that, the construction is very good and the scope is a good value anyway. Once zeroed, it holds zero well. The controls are solid, and flip-up caps and a lens cloth are included too. The instructions on using mil dots are poor. It seems no one makes good, intelliglble instructions. The best way to use the mil dots is to set the scope at 10X, use Chairgun Pro software (free) to estimate the pellet drop, and confirm by shooting at different ranges. Despite the problems mentioned above, I would buy this scope again. There is just nothing in this overall quality range at this price. Some of the higher end Simmons' are as good in quality, but higher price and not as ruggedly made.

    Product: Leapers Accushot 1" Rings, Medium, 3/8" Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap

    UTG Leapers Accushot 1 inch Rings, Medium, 3/8 inch Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap
    Review entered on 2011-12-24 19:16:59

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:4-screw heads, two screw bases. Fair price, and a solid option.
    Things I would have changed:These are heavy, and either the supplied allen wrenches are the wrong size, or the allen heads are the wrong size, because the supplied wrenches don't fit snugly in the heads. This means it is easy to strip them out if one isn't careful. Also, these mounts are quite heavy, so if you're trying to keep from adding too much weight to your already heavy spring-piston pellet rifle, these are not a good choice, despite the fair price.
    What others should know:I've got a couple sets of these, and they are solid. If that, coupled with a low price is all you're looking for (because you spent all your cash on the rifle and scope hehehe) then these are a good way to go. To get much better than these, you have to spend at least triple the money, and it's hard, for me, at least, to part with $35+ on a simple set of scope rings.

    Product: Skenco Blue Arrow .177 Cal, 6.4 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 250ct

    Skenco Blue Arrow .177 Cal, 6.4 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 250ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-24 19:23:31

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Lead free. Great container. Too bad these qualities are not enough to score any stars for this pellet.
    Things I would have changed:Make them a consistent diameter, and maybe they will shoot better. Some pellets fit loosely in my guns' chambers, others have to be forced in, still others are a perfect fit. Not only this, but I think their balance must be off too, as they are so terribly inaccurate.
    What others should know:I bought these thinking they would be an environmentally-friendly option for a light-weight hunting pellet. The problem is, I didn't listen to the other reviewers who mentioned that they are as inaccurate as can be. I assumed it was just that his rifle "didn't like them." But i tried these in several of my rifles, including: Weihrauch HW30s, Stoeger X20, Daisy 747, Daisy 953, Archer AR2078... not a single one of them will shoot a group tighter than 4" at 30 yards. That's indoors from a rest too, so there's no wind to blame. They're just inconsistent. Don't let these pellets spoil your overall opinion of Skenco: their Pointed Poly Match 4 gr. pellets are superb from lower powered airguns, and a great way to gain 150 fps, if you don't need a lot of downrange energy. (they shed energy quicker than lead pellets) I will try Poly Match lightweight wadcutters next, but no more with a construction similar to these.

    Product: UTG Scope Mount Base, Fits RWS Diana 48, 52, 54 & 460 Magnum with TO5 Trigger, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift

    UTG Scope Mount Base, Fits RWS Diana 48, 52, 54 & 460 Magnum with TO5 Trigger, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift
    Review entered on 2012-01-15 09:20:24

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2012-01-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks like it would work great, if you have a T05 trigger. (read on)
    Things I would have changed:Make a version to work on the newer Dianas with the T06 trigger.
    What others should know:As they say in the red fine print below in the item description, it is not the right one for the newer rifles. Nowadays, it will only work on a used one with the older trigger. I'm a dummy for missing this and ordering it any way, but there you have it. I'm posting this in the hopes that someone else will read the reviews but not the full item description, like I sometimes do. ;)

    Product: Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Bi-directional Offset Mount w/1" Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail

    UTG Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Bi-directional Offset Mount w/1 inch Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail
    Review entered on 2012-01-22 09:44:14

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2012-01-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Brings the scope closer to the eye, for those scopes that are short of eye relief
    What others should know:This is perfect for the 4x and 6x Bugbuster scopes, that are otherwise so good, but which can often not be mounted closely enough for comfortable use with normal rings due to the shortness of the scope body. I use this with my 6x Bugbuster on my Daisy 953, and it is the perfect set-up.

    Product: UTG 6th Gen 6x32 AO Bug Buster Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Quick-Detach Weaver Rings

    UTG 6th Gen 6x32 AO Bug Buster Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Quick-Detach Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2012-01-22 09:48:22

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremy from USA on 2012-01-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Not so big that it ruins the balance of a light rifle, but enough magnification to get the job done. Clear optics. This is the winner of the Bugbuster family, in my opinion.
    Things I would have changed:Make the reticle thinner. One could compare this directly to a 4x scope with a thin reticle. Getting another 2x of magnification is good to make up for the thick reticle. I don't use the 4x Bugbusters any more for this reason.
    What others should know:I use this on my Daisy 953 with the Leapers offset one-piece mount, and it is the perfect set-up. It would also be good on something like a Weihrauch HW30s or other short-medium range rifles that don't need their balance wrecked with a lot of weight or with any more forward weight bias. Leapers/UTG: If you're reading this, please go ahead and make a fixed 10x Bugbuster with mil dots and a slightly thinner reticle. You'll sell a million of them.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top