Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Makarov CO2 BB Pistol

    Legends Makarov CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-06-26 09:29:14

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-06-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The feel, trigger, weight, appearance, accuracy, sturdiness,and quality are all exceptional for the price.
    Things I would have changed:The glossy finish is not a match for my Makarov.
    What others should know:You get approximately 5 magazines of 18 BBs (90 shots) per 12g CO2 cylinder.

    Product: Pyramyd Air Airgun catalog

    Pyramyd Air Airgun catalog
    Review entered on 2012-06-26 09:41:57

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-06-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the size, content, photos, and illustrations.
    Things I would have changed:Some data is missing/inaccurate for some airguns: ie listing a gun semi-automatic,or fully automatic when it is, in fact, a burst-gun. Omitting accessories available, such as the spare magazines for the UMAREX Makarov. Include a few more details please!

    Product: Crosman 0407T Rotary Clips, Fits 357W & Vigilante CO2 Pellet Revolvers, 3pk

    Crosman 0407T Rotary Clips, Fits 357W & Vigilante CO2 Pellet Revolvers, 3pk
    Review entered on 2012-06-26 10:21:11

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-06-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The price is right for this product. Being of plastic, these cylinders must be occasionally replaced. My Crosman .357 functioned well with new cylinders.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.

    Product: Gamo Raptor .22 Cal, 9.8 Grains, PBA, Round Nose, 50ct

    Gamo Raptor .22 Cal, 9.8 Grains, PBA, Round Nose, 50ct
    Review entered on 2012-07-07 12:35:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-07-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets fly extremely well when used in my TechForce bolt action .22 rifle (I ported it!). It should be noted that while speed increases with PBA lighter pellets, accuracy will suffer unless the gun is ported or has adjustable power. The accuracy increased when I switched to the Raptor, and that is all I will use with this rifle now. I tried other brands of PBA pellets of similar weight but none performed anywhere close to as good as the Raptor!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!
    What others should know:As mentioned previously, accuracy with a lighter pellet can only be achieved with adjustable power or porting. This is because 99% of airguns deliver a fixed charge of propellent gas that will likely be a perfect match for only one weight of pellet. Shot groups for other pellets will degrade. When weight is increased it takes longer for the pellet to leave the gun (lock-time), and accuracy will decrease. When a pellet is too light, the excess gas left over after pushing the lighter pellet, will surround and destabilize the pellet as it leaves the muzzle. Porting gets rid of this excess gas at the last moment, allowing a light pellet to be more accurate than lead, due to its much reduced lock-time. I ported my paintball tank powered CO2 rifle by drilling a pair of 1/16" holes on each side of the front sight. I angeled the holes slightly forward toward the muzzle. I carefully dremeled off the extrusions with a small diamond burr. Before this operation the rifle only liked one weight and brand of lead pellet. After the porting, the gun was more accurate with all pellets, but especially so with the GAMO Raptor.

    Product: Umarex Makarov 18-rd Mag, 2ct

    Umarex Makarov 18-rd Mag, 2ct
    Review entered on 2012-07-07 12:43:58

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-07-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These magazines functioned flawlessly in my Umarex Makarov, and are not too expensive.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:These magazines hold 18 BBs, while advertized to hold 16. Since the pistol is good for 90 accurate shots on one CO2 cylinder, I purchased 4 extra mags for it. When all of the magazines are empty, its time to replace the CO2 cartridge.

    Product: Umarex Universal Steel BB Speedloader

    Umarex Universal Steel BB Speedloader
    Review entered on 2012-07-07 16:01:58

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-07-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Once I got it working, it was wonderful. It is made from really tough material. It worked best with Daisy BBs. (Another popular brand was eventually OK but not as smooth or easy, even after I worked out the bugs.)
    Things I would have changed:Adapter #4 (for the Makarov) would not stay on the loader. I permanently attached it to the speedloader with JB Weld. Next I Dremeled off a tiny amount of the lock-lug to shorten it by about 1/64" and increased the bevel by about the same amount. After I ran about 100 BBs through the mechanism to loosen it up.I also added a few drops of oil to the hopper. I switched to Daisy BBs. It now functions beautifully. Now I wouldn't be without it!
    What others should know:This may work easily "right out of the box" for other magazine fed BB pistols, but it required a bit of tweeking and creativity with the Makarov. Don't give up if you initially have problems with it...you can probably work them out!

    Product: Air Venturi Steel Storm CO2 Bulk-Fill Adapter

    Air Venturi Steel Storm CO2 Bulk-Fill Adapter
    Review entered on 2012-07-27 09:58:45

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-07-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very easy to use. Very well built.
    Things I would have changed:I'd offer a shorter version with only a 1' to 1.5' hose.
    What others should know:If the open/close control-knob comes loose (unscrews), simply apply some good epoxy (ie JBWeld) to the threads and reinstall it.

    Product: Umarex Steel Storm CO2 Gun

    Umarex Steel Storm CO2 Gun Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-07-27 10:41:52

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By David from USA on 2012-07-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Almost everything about this product appealed to me. It is affordable, well-built, easy-to-use, and loads of fun! Daisy BBs work best, as the .171" diameter OD is a perfect match for the .173" smooth bore. Although it voids the warranty, this is a relatively easy gun to modify. I tooled down a Daisy Powerline 901 barrel cut to 15" and enjoy much improved accuracy and external ballistics with GAMO lead round BBs. Coupled with a laser, Red Dot site, and verticle grip this guns a hoot! Because of its low cost this is just a great project gun for modification.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Always slug the barrel of new guns as the .177 caliber is merely a reference number, and you need to know the true inside bore diameter to get the best ammo. You should also always double-check the OD of BBs and pellets for a good fit for your airgun. (Unlike BBs, pellets need to be a few thousanths bigger than the bore for proper function. How tight this should be varies with the gun.) This is easily done by using a good set of gunsmiths calipers to measure the OD of a lead pellet pushed partially into the bore and removed. The large Eun Jin hunting pellet works well for this due to its length. You'll likely be surprised at the wide variey of bore diameters you'll encounter with various airguns. The ideal BB gun bore/projectile relationship is for the BB to be .002" smaller than the bore so that there is a .001" of freebore on around the BB as it blows down the barrel. Anything greater loses speed, and anything tighter may cause a jam due to variations in some steel BBs. If you switch to lead BBs you can get away with a .001" tolerance for a total of .0005 around the BB in the bore for greater speed and better accuracy. If you fail to install/replace the safety C-washer properly on the barrel, behind the baffel, you will damage the inside of the gun, as the barrel will be blown out and the BBs will beat-up the inside of the gun. Lastly, if you choose to make and install a suppressor make it a permanent part of the gun or you may get a visit from the BATF.

    Product: Air Venturi Steel Storm CO2 Bulk-Fill Adapter

    Air Venturi Steel Storm CO2 Bulk-Fill Adapter
    Review entered on 2012-07-27 10:48:56

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-07-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:My earlier review of this product stands but i failed to give it the proper five star rating in both the Overall and Value categories. I hadn't had my coffee yet!
    Things I would have changed:See the previous rating, I would make the stretched out length of the hose available in a shorter length. ( I used a black plastic flashlite modified to hold an 88 gram CO2 cylinder, JB Welded to the right side of the steel storm. This works very well except for the excessively long tubing.)
    What others should know:See the previous rating.

    Product: Gamo .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Round Lead Balls, 250ct

    Gamo .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Round Lead Balls, 250ct
    Review entered on 2012-08-10 12:24:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2012-08-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the packaging, precise diameter, and price. These relatively inexpensive lead roundballs functioned perfectly in my UMAREX STEEL STORM. After I made a barrel change to get more power and speed, I needed a precision round lead projectile to match the new barrel. It needed to be .001" smaller than the new smoothbore barrel, and the GAMO round fit the bill exactly. Further,they come in a screw-top lidded can avoiding the irritating spills associated with pry-top cans.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:I like to add a few drops of TEFLON/silicon lubricant to the can to prelube the ammo.

    Product: Crosman LPA MIM Rear Sight, For Crosman Guns with a Steel Breech

    Crosman LPA MIM Rear Sight, For Crosman Guns with a Steel Breech
    Review entered on 2013-05-27 13:43:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2013-05-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything about it. It is precise, easy to install and zero. The sight movements click crisply with each adjustment.
    Things I would have changed:I am not a fan of the white dots, unless there is a matching white dot on the front sight. A variation of this sight should be offered that would fit the original plastic breech.
    What others should know:For those who choose to install the available rifle stock, you should know that the sight has a different zero when used as a rifle. You will not be able to switch back and forth from rifle to pistol or pistol to rifle with the exact same zero.

    Product: Crosman .22-Cal Steel Breech Kit, Fits 2240, 2250, 2260, 2289 & 1322 Air Guns

    Crosman .22-Cal Steel Breech Kit, Fits 2240, 2250, 2260, 2289 & 1322 Air Guns
    Review entered on 2013-05-27 13:49:00

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2013-05-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This was an easy upgrade to install for me, but might not be for some beginners.
    Things I would have changed:The instruction sheet was terrible. It is tiny and very sloppily reproduced so that the print is smeared and blurry.

    Product: Benjamin Titan GP Nitro Piston Air Rifle

    Benjamin Titan GP Nitro Piston Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-07-02 00:03:41

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By David from USA on 2013-07-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.3333299160003663 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the price of this Nitro Piston rifle, as its quality is comparable to other Nitrogen enhanced break-barrels that cost two to three times as much. A plus for me was the short 13" pull on a very nice hard-wood thumbhole stock. Another plus was the gun's relative quietness.
    Things I would have changed:Get rid of the cheap scope, and either let us get our own or supply a better quality 4 x 32 such as a Barska or Winchester, which for the price have way more quality. Get rid of the long-pull,creepy trigger which does not have enough adjustment to get properly short. Both butt pad screws were stripped out and I had to use tooth picks and glue to properly secure the butt-pad. It was just not worth sending back for such a simple problem, but I would have to say that such screws should only be installed by hand or with a good quality clutched driver so that such things as stripped out holes in wooden stocks do not ever happen! As with all new in the box pellet guns I checked all of the other screws and found them to be loose but thankfully not stripped! After tightening them the gun was functional.
    What others should know:With some minor modifications which I will not disclose, I was able to improve the gun's accuracy so that it outshoots a GAMO that cost considerably more. The gun did not deliver the advertised speed of 800fps with lead pellets or 950 with alloy pellets, but I found it to shoot GAMO lead Diablo wad-cutters the best. I really don't care a wit about pellet speed....only about accuracy. Pellet speed and accuracy are just not the same thing! Out of the box and after one hundred shot break-in, it delivered a miserable 22 square inch group at 30 meters with an average pellet speed of 720 fps. After I modified it, it delivered a 3 square inch group at the same range, and was even quitter than before. The modified gun shot the GAMO Diablo pellet at an average speed of 610 fps. The key to accuracy is to quit obsessing about the pellet speed, and look at the other factors that effect "lock-time". That is all the hint you will get from me on this! Good luck.

    Product: Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-06 18:55:06

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By David from USA on 2013-12-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really wanted to like this gun. I like the: price, accuracy, quietness, safety, trigger, cocking effort, picatinny rail, low recoil, 3-year warranty, and even the weight. This is the quietest unaltered off-the-shelf break-barrel I have shot.
    Things I would have changed:What were they thinking when they put such terrible sights on this gun? Visually impaired people who need fiber-optic sights are already scope dependent anyway, so why not put on a decent metal sight. The front sight is so tall that you will never use it once you scope this gun. The rear sight is so tight that it finishes the job of obscuring the target that fiber optic sights always do. The rear sight should be opened 2 mm more, and the front sight should be 2 mm lower. It seems that UMAREX out of fear that we would use the front sight as part of the cocking lever, or out of love of plastic, ruined this gun with these terrible sights. I guess UMAREX knows the sights are awful because they don't even include see-through mounts with the free scope, which doesn't have mildot crosshairs. I set the freebie aside and will use a UTG 4x32. I will also trim the front sight, and drill a new hole for the red fiber-optic. I will use Traditions muzzleloader see-through mounts for that UTG, and will, after much work, actually be able to use both those awful sights as well as the scope. The 14.25" length-of-pull stock is too long for me, and for a few dollars more UMAREX could have equipped this with an adjustable stock, or perhaps given us the choice of wood. The factory rep I talked to assured me that if I figured out a way to shorten the stock, that the only the stock's warranty would be void, with the rest of the gun remaining covered. Good luck trying that trick on a synthetic stock.
    What others should know:Even if you clean the bore, the first shot will be loud from the dieseling of factory oil. The barrel is not 19.5" as the owners manual states, but is actually 15.25", with the remaining 4.25" being the SilencAir assembly. Internal ballistics end and external ballistics begin when the projectile is no longer in contact with the bore: that occurs after the pellet travels 15.25 inches. This reduces lock-time and helps accuracy. The shorter barrel was no surprise: after reading the reviews, but before buying this, I anticipated a shortened barrel as a key to this guns accuracy, in addition to its fine vibration/recoil management and nice trigger. Break barrels industry-wide tend to have too much barrel for cocking lever advantage, and lacking porting, require extensive auditioning to find the right pellet. Ported guns are less fussy about their diet. This gun needs no porting with it SilencAir assembly, but it is important to follow the owner's manual in regard to not grabbing the front sight area in cocking...there is no real need to put your hand much farther forward than the rear groove around the back of the SilencAir assembly, as this gun is not that hard (for me) to cock. If I was content to use this gun as a dedicated sights-only or scope-only gun, the only bone I would have to pick with UMAREX would be the 14.25" length of pull. Again, don't ignore the owner's manual admonition not to turn the trigger adjustment over a turn clockwise to reduce trigger length.

    Product: Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-10 11:05:26

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I have already reviewed this affordable and accurate break-barrel with praise for its accuracy but criticism of its sights and non-adjustable too long stock. I haven't solved the stock problem yet, but took two hours to solve the annoying fiber-optic sight issues yesterday. With a hacksaw, I carefully trimmed off the three supports of the front sight fiber, cut a deep slot, and JB welded in a new front sight I fashioned from a worn out hacksaw blade. I made the new sight two mm lower than the old. I turned down the rear sight an estimated number of clicks and struck a quarter sized target at ten yards with the very first shot size. This gun is accurate, and now mine has acceptable sights. I increased my rating of this gun based on how easy I was able to remedy the sight problems. I will shorten the stock, but only when I can figure out a way to do it that will not detract from the appearance of this nice looking rifle.
    Things I would have changed:As I said before I would change the sights and stock.
    What others should know:I chronographed this gun and was neither surprised nor disappointed that it didn't deliver the promised speed of 1250fps for alloy, or 1050fps for lead. Shooting a GAMO raptor produced an average speed 1120fps, and a GAMO Match Diabolo wadcutter an average speed of 875 fps. As far as I am concerned these are fine speeds, as I think many shooters obsess over it too much. It is worth noting that the speeds varied a lot less from shot-to-shot with this gun, and it isn't even broken-in yet. I have shot less than 100 pellets through it and am satisfied with its accuracy and consistency. I zeroed in a temporary 4x32 Barska scope I had laying around while waiting for the arrival of a new UTG of the same specs. Again, the accuracy was very good in the this quiet, limited recoil rifle with nice trigger.

    Product: Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-17 13:37:39

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2013-12-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Having already submitted a posted review of the Octane this is a follow-up. As I stated in the first line of the original review, I really wanted to like this .22 break-barrel from UMAREX...and now I do. My two sore points were the terrible too high fiber-optic sights, and the 14.25 length-of-pull(LOP) non- adjustable Synthetic stock. I was told by a UMAREX factory rep. that the balance of the 3 year warranty would remain in effect if I altered the stock. Since I would only lose the stock's warranty, I went ahead and shortened the stock, and used a Limb-Saver butt-pad to replace the original. With the LOP now at my 12.5" requirement, the front sight replaced with metal and shortened by 1/8", a Leapers UTG 4x32 scope mounted with Traditions see-throughs, and a left-side sling mounted on the very tough stock, I am now entirely satisfied with this rifle. It is my most accurate break-barrel. A friend and I compete on a 60' back yard range by picking off 20 gg shotgun hulls mounted on golf tees. With this gun properly zeroed I was able to remove 5 of 7 hulls with a pellet each and the remaining two with two pellets each, something only my too noisy GAMO Hunter extreme could duplicate, but it is too noisy for a backyard. The Octane is so quiet that the greatest noise is the pellets slapping the target. With the sling wrapped around my left arm (USMC style), and the rifle supported or not, this heavy gun is a pleasure to shoot. I recommend it for its accuracy, quality, and price.
    Things I would have changed:As previously stated, the stock and sights. Also it would be very nice if UMAREX had some kind of keepers on the trigger group pins. If you take the stock off of this gun you must keep the action upright or you may find yourself trying to reassemble the trigger group, as all of the unsecured pins will drop out with the help of gravity. A good trick is to carefully wrap the trigger group with a paper strip and rubber bands to prevent spontaneous disassembly.
    What others should know:I chronographed this gun with both GAMO Raptors and GAMO Match Diabolo wad-cutters, and found the speed to be 1120 fps for the Raptors, and 875 for the Diabolos. I now shoot only the GAMO Diabolos, as for me, they are the must accurate for this gun. Those speeds are more than enough to yield great accuracy with this gun's short 15.25" barrel. Part of the GAMO wad-cutter's accuracy is attributable to the pellet being so long in relation to other pellets, which while lighter and faster, are also shorter. Shortened pellets often yield inferior exterior ballistics even when they are pointed, as the aero dynamic advantage is often not enough to overcome the instability of shortness. Also, wad-cutters stop small game very well. The RWS Superdomes, nearly a grain lighter, just couldn't produce the tight groups that the GAMO wad-cutters could. Shortening the stock was easily accomplished by first removing the curved butt-pad, and using a 1/8" bit to extend the screw- holes about three more inches. In drilling plastics it is essential to only advance the bit a 1/4" at a time and withdraw it to remove the cuttings from the flutes of the drill bit. After careful measuring and using a cut-off power saw, I shortened the stock by 1.75". Then mounted a Limb-Saver butt-pad whose holes matched the original pad. With careful trimming and sanding the result was professional in quality, and with the proper 12.5" LOP, the gun was now more accurate and a pleasure to shoot.

    Product: RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .22 Caliber

    RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .22 Caliber
    Review entered on 2013-12-27 14:45:49

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2013-12-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a nice kit with everything you need if the RWS domed pellet is your pick. I prefer the GAMO Diabolo Wadcutter, but this kit is still worth the money.
    Things I would have changed:Sell the kit minus the pellets. Most of us air-gunners will audition pellets until we find what we like, and this pellet, while of quality, will often not fit the bill depending on the gun it is used in.
    What others should know:Shoot a wide variety of pellets in your gun until you find the one that groups the best. Hint, sometimes longer flat-nosed pellets trump shorter aerodynamic pointed ones. You have to try them out to find this out.

    Product: Leapers Golden Image 4x32 Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Weaver Rings

    UTG Leapers Golden Image 4x32 Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2014-02-02 00:25:23

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2014-02-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I liked the scope for its clear optics, mildot crosshairs and appearance. It was also trim enough to be able to use the sights of my Umarex Octane when mounted with Traditions see-through mounts.
    Things I would have changed:It is just not a tough enough scope to hold zero for a shooter like me. I will keep this scope for other uses than a spring piston or gas piston break-barrel. I have given away scopes similar to this that would not hold zero for me, but held zero just fine for another shooter with the same model of rifle. The only difference is that he has a lighter build. I strongly suspect the same would be true for this scope.
    What others should know:Shooters who are heavily muscled and with hard shoulders may find that they go through scopes very quickly. The shock to the scope from heavy recoil is enhanced on people like us. I have noticed this phenomenon in high powered rifles too, and tend to avoid the more fragile variable scopes for tougher fixed power. Now I shall have to do my old standby trick for the Octane: I will mount an artillery optical sight or panzerfaust sight on this pellet gun using an all steel AK47 mount. This will take a bit of welding and modification but will be relatively easy as the Octane has a picatinny rail. This will be the sixth time I have done this trick. I have used this absolutely recoil proof and very accurate arrangement with great success on a two high powered rifles, three twenty-two rifles, and another enhanced recoil airgun, a .22 Benjamin Titan. The whole reason I bought this UTG scope, (second UTG, second bust) was my wish to avoid the tedious and exacting welding that goes into altering an original steel AK47 mount. Artillery sights and antitank gun sights have no movable crosshairs, but instead use fixed etched markings. The Ak47 mount has full adjustment capability. So when these two are merged you have a very tough setup with low (2.5 or 2.6 power) magnification and great clarity. If you are built like me this UTG may not be a good break-barrel scope for you, and you may have to spend more money, or attempt a modification similar to what I have described.

    Product: Crosman .22-Cal Steel Breech Kit, Fits 2240, 2250, 2260, 2289 & 1322 Air Guns

    Crosman .22-Cal Steel Breech Kit, Fits 2240, 2250, 2260, 2289 & 1322 Air Guns
    Review entered on 2014-04-28 14:50:01

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2014-04-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I mounted this on my second Crosman 2240, and as with the first one the installation was simple and easy. The scope grooves were incredibly precise. After lightening the trigger, and porting the barrel of the 2240, I installed the Crosman shoulder stock. I next mounted a BSA 2x7 scope and zeroed it for some pretty good accuracy. Same hole at ten yards for several shots! I found that the too long stock needed to be trimmed for the best performance, and did a plastic welding operation to shorten the 16.25" LOP (length-of-pull) to my 12.5". I used one of the two 3.5" segments removed form the stock to create a raised comb. I used an inexpensive electric plastic knife to do the welding, but I have used a flat bladed soldering iron to weld plastic also. The plastic welding operations all completed, I moved the scope forward for proper eye relief and wonder of wonders, the grooves in the steel breech upgrade were so precise that the gun was still zeroed! I was very impressed by that, as never in my too-numerous-to-count prior experiences had I encountered this.
    Things I would have changed:It might be good for Crosman to offer a slightly taller Allen head bolt for assembly so that the annoying pellet hangup in the breech does not occur. Pellets just naturally want to hang up in the bolt hole in the breech.
    What others should know:When pellet hangups occur in chambering a pellet in this breech, do NOT force the pellet, or you will/damage or deform it causing some loss of power and accuracy. SIMPLY tilt the gun down and lightly finesse the pellet into the chamber. This breech modification/upgrade is worth every penny.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top