Date: 25/7/2016 0:5
0

Customer Reviews by Antonio from USA

Crosman Quest 1000X Breakbarrel Air Rifle

Crosman Quest 1000X Breakbarrel Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2010-07-29 22:49:19

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Antonio from USA on 2010-07-29
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: Value, power, cocking ease. I am very happy with the value this rifle combo delivered. I purchased the Quest 1000 with Center Point 4x32 scope. I mounted and sighted the scope upon first use, so I can not comment on the sights. I had the scope sighted but was not happy with the performance using the variety of pellets on hand. I then ordered RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains Wadcutter; RWS Superdome .177 Cal, 8.3 Grains Domed and JSB Match Diabolo Exact .177 Cal, 8.4 Grains Domed. All of these pellets perform very well with my Quest. I observed slightly better result with both of the RWS selections above vs the JSB but all are very acceptable. I re-sighted the gun with the better pellets and can consistently get 1" groups at 30 yards. I can also consistently plink pop cans at 50 to 60 yards. The gun was shooting through 1/2" plywood at 30 yards. Took a sparrow at approximately 40 yards. Immediate one shot kill. I have not had the opportunity to take aim at any chip monks or tree rats yet. I believe this rifle will provide humane one shot kills for both. My rifle packaging was advertised with a new/improved trigger. It is a cast metal trigger but I have no basis for comparison to the old trigger. The scope has stayed tight after more than 1200 shots. The rings have two screws each to mount to the dovetails vs one screw each.

Things I would have changed: The finish on the stock. I would prefer a darker finish to the wood stock. Other than that nothing.

What others should know: I do not have any complaints. I am not an experienced air rifle shooter and am very happy with the initial performance of this rifle. This rifle has exceeded my expectations for the price. I recommend this rifle for anyone that wants a low cost every day shooter for plinking or light hunting.

Ruger Explorer

Ruger Explorer Air rifle
Review entered on 2010-07-29 23:22:00

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Antonio from USA on 2010-07-29
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.343 ratings

Things I liked: VALUE ! For the kids...quiet firing, small size, light weight, ease of cocking, minimal recoil, fiber optic sights For dad...quiet firing, small size, light weight, ease of cocking, minimal recoil, addition of center point 4x32 scope, accuracy with RWS Meisterkugeln Standard and Beeman .177 Cal, 7.7 Grains Wadcutter pellets. This is a FUN and fairly accurate rifle at 30 to 70 feet. Beyond 70 feet pellet drop needs to be accounted for. I find myself using this rifle in the backyard more than the kids. For plinking and fun target shooting it is a blast. I've researched many youth rifles for my three children 12, 10 and 8 to use. I like the safety features of this gun, it's size and weight. This may be the perfect starter air gun for the youngsters.

Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is somewhat stiff and amount of creep to fire inconsistent. Not as bad as it reads in my review but can be improved. My kids have no problem with accuracy at 10-15 meters, even with the trigger. At the price it is not an issue that would prevent me from purchasing the Explorer.

What others should know: For this price everyone (youth or adult) should get one of these rifles for fun backyard shooting. This rifle is very small make sure you have an idea of the size before purchase, if using as a small backyard adult rifle. I find this rifle is pretty darn accurate within its intended range using RWS Meisterkugeln Standard and Beeman .177 Cal, 7.7 Grains Wadcutter pellets.

Beeman R7 Air Rifle, No Sights

Beeman R7 Air Rifle, No Sights Air rifle
Review entered on 2012-07-23 20:23:16

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Antonio from USA on 2012-07-23
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating

Things I liked: Accuracy (.57 inch groups at 25 yards ctc, see 5 shot group notes below) SizeWeight (small-light) Cocking effort (light) Noise level (quiet) Stock design & checkering Trigger (allows amazing trigger control)

Things I would have changed: add open sites

What others should know: I have been shooting air guns for approximately one year on a casual basis, not a great marksman but improving. I purchased a Bushnell Banner 4-12X40 from another internet merchandiser. Being left handed I preferred the ambi R7 vs the right handed HW30S with open sights. (really liked the idea of open sights tho). ....... I highly recommend this gun for casual target and plinking. Very smooth, easy to cock and accurate. I enjoy shooting this gun all day. ........ Not pellet particular. See 5 hot grouping notes below. Groups shot sitting, resting rifle on front hand. This rifle is definitely more accurate than I am. ........ 15 yards, 5 shot groups.. Beeman hollowpoint 7.2 gr .323 inches ctc.. RWS Superdomes 8.3 gr .323 inches ctc.. CP hollowpoint 7.9 gr .573 inches ctc.. Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.4 gr .198 inches ctc.. Air Arms Falcon 7.33 gr .448 inches ctc.. ........ 20 yards, 5 shot groups.. Beeman hollowpoint 7.2 gr .698 inches ctc.. RWS Superdomes 8.3 gr .698 inches ctc.. CP hollowpoint 7.9 gr .823 inches ctc.. Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.4 gr .448 inches ctc.. Air Arms Falcon 7.33 gr .511 inches ctc.. ...... 25 yards, 5 shot groups.. Beeman hollowpoint 7.2 gr .761 inches ctc.. RWS Superdomes 8.3 gr .948 inches ctc.. CP hollowpoint 7.9 gr .823 inches ctc.. Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.4 gr .636 inches ctc.. Air Arms Falcon 7.33 gr .573 inches ctc..

Weihrauch HW50S Breakbarrel Rifle

Weihrauch HW50S Breakbarrel Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2012-08-09 11:27:05

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Antonio from USA on 2012-08-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Great build quality Very attractive rifle (wood stain and bluing) Ambi stock Great open sights and interchangeable front inserts Checkering Record trigger Accurate shooter Shooter friendly /easy to shoot (perfect velovity /weight combo) Decided purchased the HW50S in .177, due to my satisfaction with my R7. The HW50S is another great quality product, all steel and wood, no plastic. Incredible record trigger. I’ve had the HW50S for almost 2 weeks. Started shooting with open sights and they were great at 10 yards very accurate. Less than .5 in. 5-shot groups. I like the interchangeable front sights. Mounted a UTG/Leapers 3-12x40 scope and after sight in shot .511 5-shot group at 25 yards. (Picture uploaded). I’m sure the groupings will get better as I get used to the gun. The gun has 1000 shots through it and is still breaking in.

Things I would have changed: Improve cocking effort. Address the galling issue this gun is known for. Initially cocking was very stiff. I’ve read cocking effort to be measured in the mid 30 lb range. The 18 lb effort in the description is definitely inaccurate. During break in the cocking smoothed out and became easier. As expected, it is far more cocking effort than my R7. Also more effort though less barrel travel than a Quest 1000. I tried the rifle without the front globe site and the cocking is easier, due to the increased leverage grasping the end of the barrel. The cocking could probably be made even easier with muzzle break installed. I’m keeping the front and rear sights on with the scope mounted, since I’ve become used to cocking the gun. I’m an average size guy and have no problem shooting 50-75 pellets per session after getting used to it. Initially the cocking arm slightly touched the spring tube, when cocking, producing a slight grinding and slight galling of the tube steel along the edge of the bottom slot. The grinding has stopped and the galling has not gotten worse. I do not expect any additional wear. I’ve read on many forums this is common for the HW50S.

What others should know: Great gun. Highly recommended. Would buy again. Mine likes RWS Superdomes 8.3gr

Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle

Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-06-06 16:20:28

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Antonio from USA on 2016-06-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I purchased the Gen Marauder 22 with wood stock. First PCP purchase as a package with Benjamin 3 stage pump and extra magazine. I have a 4-12 x 40 Bushnell banner on the rifle WITH BKL standard rings. These rings should accomadate 44 and possibly 50mm objective scopes. Great deal during 20th anniversary sale plus bundled discount. All items came to under $530 with free shipping. THANKS PA! My rifle is extremely accurate out of the box with CP 14.3 great RN pellets. I got lucky with the tune and the barrel, I guess. Sighted in at 25 yds. I can group 30+ shots at 40 yards within 1/2 to 3/4 inch. Drop at 40 yds is approximately 3/8 inch. Pressure for the shot string is from 2900 to 2000 psi. Have not chrony'd the velocity, but they smack my metal target with more than enough accuracy and power for my use. Lightened the trigger it was very good out of the box and excellent now. The gun deserves a better scope with mil dot reticle. Will test groups at 50 and 75 yards. Gun is up to it.

Things I would have changed: I shoot the gun sitting from shooting sticks and it is on the heavy side. Much heavier than my R7 and even my HW50S. I may purchase the synthetic stock $55 to reduce weight by one pound.

What others should know: The Benjamin 3 stage pump works fine for filling the reservoir to 2900 psi. I pump slow and deliberate as shown in videos on the PA site. I'm in reasonable shape and weight 180 lbs. I rarely take more than 30 shots per critter shooting outing. One fill can last 2 or 3 outings for me. I use the two spring guns for target in the yard. The Mrod is not a casual target or plinking gun but it excels at smacking the critters.

Benjamin Hand Pump, Fits Crosman & Benjamin PCP Guns

Benjamin Hand Pump, Fits Crosman & Benjamin PCP Guns
Review entered on 2016-06-06 16:24:45

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Antonio from USA on 2016-06-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I have no problem filling my Marauder rifle to 2900 psi. I pump slow amd deliberate as demonstrated in the PA videos. I'm in reasonable shape amd weigh 180 lbs. Product works as advertised. The hose is short. I fill in the house with rifle laying on carpet. No problems.

Things I would have changed: No issues in the first 2 weeks.

Beeman P17

Beeman P17 Air gun
Review entered on 2016-06-30 00:32:47

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Antonio from USA on 2016-06-30
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Accuracy, Consistency, Price, Low Power, Trigger, Fun Factor

Things I would have changed: Better finishing of plastic 11mm rail and grip seams. Rail can scrape hands when pumping the gun. I installed a 11mm to weaver adapter ($9 on amazon.) and a cheap scope. I also smoothed the seams on the front and rear of the grip with a razor blade for comfort. For the price these are not significant complaints.

What others should know: This is the most airgunning fun you can have for $35. This gun is great for basement shooting at 7 to 12 yards. 10 shot string with Beeman Wadcutters Coated 7.7 grain pellets averaged 411 fps muzzle velocity (406 to 416 fps), std dev 2.8 fps. The gun shoots RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter accurately. I have not experienced any issue with operation of the gun. A few forums identify the ease of rebuild of the gun to address any issues you may experience over time.

Navigation