Date: 25/6/2016 10:7
0

Customer Reviews by John from USA

Beeman 5031 30mm Rings, High, 9.5-11.5mm Dovetail

Beeman 5031 30mm Rings, High, 9.5-11.5mm Dovetail
Review entered on 2010-08-08 09:49:39

5.0 5.0

3.0 3.0

By John from USA on 2010-08-08
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Well made and very sturdy. Can hold the largest scopes securely. Rounded edges will not scrape.

Things I would have changed: They are a bit expensive, and may cost more than they should. BUT they are excellent rings. They require the use of two different sized allen wrenckes, while they can just as easily have used one size screw head.

What others should know: They come with a registration pin. If you have a spring type gun or rifle with significant recoil, the pin will prevent slipping of the mounts. If you cannot accomodate the pin, it can, and is intended to, be easily removed with a pair of plyers. All in all, a very good pair of scope mounts.

Beeman 5036 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, High, 9.5-11.5mm Dovetail

Beeman 5036 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, High, 9.5-11.5mm Dovetail
Review entered on 2010-08-08 10:09:01

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2010-08-08
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: This has to be the best mount available for guns with the most violent recoil. Solid 1-piece construction,rounded edges, no scratching. As a one piece unit non-binding alignment of individual rings is assured. Note that the plate at the foot of the mount extends the full length of the mount. This assures full griping contact beween scope rail and mount. It is elegent in its simplicity and design. Given the very high strength you get from this and the mono-block design, the price is reasonable.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: Given that the plate at the bottom of the block is indepndent of the upper block, you can easily use this mount on another gun even if it has a slightly wider mounting rail. Other such mounts require bending the lower portion of the block, making attachment to another rail only a millimeter wider troublesome, but do-oable.. There is a registration pin in the block to prevent slippage on your mouting rail. If you rail cannot accomodate this pin, it is simply removed with a pair of plyers. Absolutely the BEST design for violent recoilikng rifles.

Hawke Optics 4-16x44 AO Vantage SF Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

Hawke Sport Optics Hawke Optics 4-16x44 AO Vantage SF Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
Review entered on 2013-12-09 10:06:52

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2013-12-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The construction is solid and well made. The optics are clear and bright and the click adjustments give you repeatable settings. This is a side focus scope.I'm fond of and much prefer them to having to reach around the bell front for paralax and focus.

What others should know: The reticle has half mil-dots indications. While very fine,these are clear,readable and useful for precise aiming especially when using them on an air rifle with their low velocities (compared to standard rifle calibers)while shooting at small targets. The use of the Mil-dot allows you to use the dots for elevation and windage corrections (holdover)at known distances without having to make the minute of angle corrections on the fly. (Which is why they are so popular.) The half mil-dots obviate the need for 1/8th minute adjustments (again, you need to practice at known distances.) I now have three Hawke scopes and find them to be an EXCELLENT value for their price.

VFG Weapon Care .177-Cal Match-Set Pocket Airgun Cleaning Kit

VFG Weapon Care .177-Cal Match-Set Pocket Airgun Cleaning Kit
Review entered on 2014-03-03 18:40:52

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2014-03-03
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The screw in patches with brass fiber flecks can help you get a clean barrel quickly. You can get several passes with the cleaning patch, so they are economical

Things I would have changed: Put a dab of a light oil in the green cleaning patch, as the cleaner in it is a bit dry. Then pull through a dry white cleaning patch.

What others should know: The directions say to pull this FROM the muzzle through the breech...Basically, I would NOT recomment this probuse as they use a braided stainless steel wire. This can cut a fine line in your breech face UNLESS YOU ARE VERY CAREFUL. They would be better off to use a piece of heavy gauge nylon filament line as did the old Beeman kits.

VFG .177 Cal. Weapon Care Super-Intensive Coarse Barrel Cleaner, Felt Wads w/Brass Fibers, 100ct

VFG Weapon Care VFG .177 Cal. Weapon Care Super-Intensive Coarse Barrel Cleaner, Felt Wads w/Brass Fibers, 100ct
Review entered on 2014-03-03 18:46:07

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2014-03-03
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: These are very clever. They have fine strands of brass wire that scrube out the barrel. You can add a dab of a light oil and pull them through the barrel muzzle to breech.

What others should know: You can use these for several passes with the tool they are meant to be used with.

RWS R-10 Match Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

RWS R-10 Match Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
Review entered on 2014-03-03 18:50:18

5.0 5.0

2.0 2.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2014-03-03
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Exceptionally consistent shape and they deliver the best accuracy in my guns. I use these for matches. They are the best quality pellets I have found.

Things I would have changed: Nothing except the price. Too high

What others should know: I suggest getting another less expensive pellet for general practice. Because of their shape, they flatten out when a pest and are effective at close range.

Feinwerkbau P44 Match Air Pistol

Feinwerkbau-FWB Feinwerkbau P44 Match Air Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2015-04-07 10:10:29

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2015-04-07
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: This gun is for world class competition, and is on a par with the Steyr LP 10 and the Morini 162. Full adjustment capabilities. Trigger: take-up and let-off weight, length of pull, angle and height of trigger shoe. Sights: rear windage,elevation and width of notch, front: different widths are available. Sight radius can be changed. Grip: wrist angle and left/right bias can be introduced. Safety button also engages dry fire function. Loading channel feeds directly into breech (no fidgeting with pellets). Balance and weight of gun can be altered by addition of optional weights. Note, they have clearance over barrel, no contact. Barrel vented to minimize muzzle flip. The trigger is the best of any target pistol I have ever shot, clean, precise with no over-travel or creep.

Things I would have changed: The gun comes with only one air cylinder. A second will cost you $269. In the past guns came with 2 cylinders. At $1,700 it should be included, but gun is still worth it. This is why I gave it 4 stars for value (as I would with any of the other guns I noted above if they only came with 1 air cylinder).

What others should know: I have small hands and the medium left grip fits me so well I need not modify it!!! So far I have used 7 grain R 10 pellets, and Crosman Premier Super Match 7.9 grain .177 pellets with excellent results. I will try the R 10 8.2 grain next. Included are tools for making the numerous adjustments. The gun I received was black with a dark walnut grip BEAUTIFUL!!! This is different than the bluish gray color of the gun on the Pyramyd Air and other websites. I find the gun to be a beautiful combination of function, industrial design, and art. Based on my experience with two other Feinwerkbau pistols (a Model 90 and a P55 repeater, I expect this gun to last at least 20 years.

Feinwerkbau Sliding Weight, 2 Rods, Fits P44 Air Pistols

Feinwerkbau-FWB Feinwerkbau Sliding Weight, 2 Rods, Fits P44 Air Pistols
Review entered on 2015-12-04 15:26:00

2.0 2.0

2.0 2.0

By John from USA on 2015-12-04
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The design of the weights is clean and does not contact the barrel.

Things I would have changed: Not enough weight! The gun is very light and not particularly muzzle heavy as I prefer to help dampen my movement. So, I will have to buy extra weight(s). The weight comes with steel rods, which also add weight, but again, not enough. The weights extend about half way down the barrel. If the rods were 2 or 3 inches longer it would help, but they are not.

What others should know: I have been using the gun for about 6 months. It is exceptionally accurate, finely made, and well designed with the exception of being lighter than I would wish . And the rods being too short, and the weight being insufficient for my preferences.

Feinwerkbau Sliding Weight, 2 Rods, Fits P44 Air Pistols

Feinwerkbau-FWB Feinwerkbau Sliding Weight, 2 Rods, Fits P44 Air Pistols
Review entered on 2015-12-25 10:39:32

2.0 2.0

2.0 2.0

By John from USA on 2015-12-25
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: It worked for me. However, I like a muzzle-heavy target pistol and found that the single 60 gram weight was NOT sufficient as it could not be moved far enough toward the muzzle because of the short length of the supporting rods. So, I purchased a second weight. Now I have enough weight to help dampen my natural wobble area. All in all, the weights certainly eliminate the lite muzzle problem (balance), and the gun now seems to have a more preferable overall weight.

Things I would have changed: The weights come with lite weight aluminium rods. I believe the first set of rods that came with the gun or the weights (I can't remember which) were steel and heavier. I am using the steel rods. So, I would ship the weights with both types of rods...especially at this price. Finally, the price for what you are getting is truely excessive, especially if it turns out that you need two of them.

What others should know: The gun has superb accuracy, but I found it a bit too lite for my taste until I added the weights. Also, in the past such small accessories were generally included with the gun (they even used to include a second air cylinder). No more. On balance, I must give the product a low rating because one set is not adequate to accomplish the intended purpose. As as for price/value for money, also a low rating. Note, the high cost is the result of Feinwerkbau pricing, I believe, not Pyramydair over charging. As a general matter, I find Pyramydair to be quite competitive on its products, which is why I am a multiple-repeating customer.

Navigation