Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Daisy Precision Max .177 Cal, 7.5 Grains, Flat-Nosed, 250ct

    Daisy Precision Max .177 Cal, 7.5 Grains, Flat-Nosed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-09-10 23:41:16

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

      By Seth from USA on 2010-09-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The price. For 1.99, you can't go wrong. At 10 yards, I could get 3/4" inch groups out of a Daisy 880. These have decent punch behind them too, due to the flat head.
    Things I would have changed:The uniformity. Every 5-10 pellets has a D-shaped skirt or is damaged in some way. Not a big deal at 10 yards plinking cans, but at 20+ yards, you miss. The weight. These are relatively light, and they would be more accurate in 8.0-8.5 grains. The Cleanliness. These pellets are disgusting when you get them. I shot 250 before realizing that I could wash them. Now, after a little batch 250 pellets at a time, a bowl of hot water and dish soap, these are clean as anything. The hollow skirts. I know that they are supposed to be hollow, but these could use some more material in the skirt. Every other shot, you will be blowing lead dust off the pellet, and have to clean your hands.
    What others should know:If you decide not to wash these, you are making a big mistake. Bring moist towelettes with you when you go shooting. I would not use these for hunting anything bigger then a small bird/chipmunk. They just lack the knock-down power and penetration needed for larger game animals. On a small bird/chipmunk, a well placed shot will result in a clean kill. Overall, a good buy for the money. If you are looking for an extremely cheap, fairly accurate pellet, buy these. Anyone looking for decent hunting of squirrels, birds, and other animals look elsewhere. Small birds/chipmunks, not a bad deal

    Product: Daisy Official NRA 10-Meter Air Rifle Targets, 50ct

    Daisy Official NRA 10-Meter Air Rifle Targets, 50ct
    Review entered on 2010-09-10 23:49:56

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Seth from USA on 2010-09-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Official NRA 10-Meter Air Rifle target. Black bullseye shows up better then you expect. Packaged well, comes in a note-pad like tear off pad. Very easy to hang in a trap, or tape to a box. Good for sighting in. Great target for practice, if you are involved in competitions. Good paper. The size of it makes you shoot well. In my opinion, it forces you to do well. Good for hunting practice as well. Target is the size of small game animals vitals and heads.
    Things I would have changed:Make the tagboard just a little bit thicker, but that's really nit picking at a great target. Maybe put 75 to a pack for the same price, or include something else with it.
    What others should know:If you are looking for a nice, regulation size target, that will make you shoot well buy these. If you are expecting a huge, easy to hit bullseye target, this isn't for you. Those practicing for field target, and want to shoot into a trap, these are perfectly sized. For hunters, these make excellent target practice. Overall, a great buy.

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2010-09-10 23:58:55

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Seth from USA on 2010-09-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Completely stops the pellet dead in it's tracks. Even when shooting from 10 yards, no bounce-backs or even pellet fragments. Can stop and kind of pellet (or .22 bullet), doesn't matter if they're pointed like in most other traps. Very heavy, so you know it's sturdy. Thick steel. Not one bit of plastic. Great clip included. If it becomes broken buy a shot, a regular clipboard clip should suffice. For a backyard shooter like myself out to 50 yards, this thing is perfect. The opening is big enough to hold a standard 8.5x11 sheet of paper. If you wish to print targets off the internet, I would suggest a cardboard backing; just to keep the target(s) secure. No assembly. Not very loud.
    Things I would have changed:Possibly elevate the shooting area a little more, but that might make it inconvenient for most.
    What others should know:It is almost as much fun emptying this thing as it is shooting it. ALL of the pellets you shot are captured, and dropped into a little reservoir that is easy to empty (tip the trap and take them out). The pellets are paper thin. It is amazing how well this trap works. If you are looking for a nice, well built trap for shooting targets, then this is your top choice. Remember, always wear safety glasses and DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT EVER shoot BB's at this target. They WILL come back and hit you. Not fun.

    Product: Gamo Big Cat 1200 air rifle kit

    Gamo Big Cat 1200 air rifle kit Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-04-03 18:18:20

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Seth from USA on 2011-04-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:There are a lot of things that I enjoyed about this rifle since I received it early last year, but one of the biggest was its knockdown power. Being a small game hunter, this rifle hits with enough force to register a quick, ethical kill on your game animal, without penetrating out the other side. This also depends on your pellets, but in a year of hunting I am yet to have a pass through. The accuracy of the rifle is alright, noting to write home about. I tried a wide variety of pellets, including Beeman Crow Magnums, Crosman Premier Hollowpoints/Ultra Magnums, and Daisy Wadcutters (I had a tin lying around, so I figured why not). The Crosman Premier Ultra Magnums performed well, with a 1 in. group at 25 yards. Like I said, nothing amazing, but good enough for whatever your reason may be for purchasing this rifle. The other thing I liked was the rugged all-weather stock, which (although I don't suggest this) could be used for hunting/shooting in the rain, as long as you remember to wipe down the rifle after use. As for the kit, I found the trigger lock to be somewhat useless, and difficult to operate. You are better off buying a Plano case and 2 cheap masterlocks if you really need to keep hands off the rifle. The included centerpoint scope was very useful, and a great fit for this rifle. For hunting, you will not need another scope, as the Centerpoint 3-9x40 is perfect. The included pellets were a nice touch, being Gamo Red Fire, Gamo PBA Raptors. The sling is very nice too.
    Things I would have changed:I would smooth out the spring in the factory a bit more. When I received the rifle, the spring twang was almost unbearable, and firing behavior was incredibly harsh. After breaking in the rifle, however, which took about 1,000 shots (FULL break-in), the firing behavior calmed down and spring twang slightly subsided. I would also try to add a basic pair of iron sight, just incase you didn't want to mount a scope, or your main purpose is plinking/fun. This would make the rifle appeal to a wider crowd and be a simple change for the Gamo factory. The shroud, I feel, is useless. It does not seem to make the rifle any quieter, as spring twang and vibration seem to override anything the shroud is doing. However, the shroud does protect the barrel, which is extremely appreciated. My only other gripe is that the included pellets (which are a part of the kit) are semi-useless. Gamo's PBA Raptor's are incredibly bad for your action, as they are so light that it is practically dry-firing your rifle. The Red Fire pellets were alright, but as the price indicates, they should only be used by someone who is purchasing the rifle to solely hunt. The last thing that bothered me, and this doesn't apply to everyone, was the lack of the possibility of a bipod due to the bull barrel.
    What others should know:This rifle is a great beginner break barrel, if you have any experience with scopes prior to purchasing this rifle. As there are no iron sights, a scope is truly needed. Also, the rifle is quite hold sensitive, and the "Artillery Hold" is mandated. I found a great hold was to hold the grip with reasonable force, and to **Lightly** hold the stock of the rifle right near the trigger guard, in a open palm. This allows the gun to recoil as much as it wants, without deterring the path of your pellet. For those who would want to mount a bipod on this rifle, you can't. The bull barrel prevents you from doing that, which was a bummer to me. For long range shooting, invest in a pair of sand bags to make up for the lack of the bipod. Another solution would be to buy a telescoping shooting stick, but that could be more expensive. If you are looking into purchasing this rifle to hunt, or just to target shoot, it is a perfect combination. If you have no experience with, or don't want to use a scope, stay far away. For younger shooters (12-14) this may be a great fit for shooting while supervised, as the cocking effort is quite minimal, and you have a great amount of leverage, as the barrel is thick and long. If your child is smaller, like I was, it may be a little bit too long. Overall, simply consider all of these things before making your decision, and identify your primary uses. Remember, the gun eats Crosman Ultra Magnums for breakfast. Great pellet for this rifle. Thanks for reading.

    Product: Tech Force Contender Series Soft Rifle Case, Padded, 1 Pocket

    Tech Force Contender Series Soft Rifle Case, Padded, 1 Pocket
    Review entered on 2011-04-22 13:10:23

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Seth from USA on 2011-04-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The material used is high-quality, and although the price is low, will last if you do not mistreat the case. The carry strap was very useful, and once adjusted, could be used to carry your rifle into the field. Keep in mind that the case is quite large, and smaller framed air rifles might not be a good fit for this case. For example, my RWS 34 Panther fit perfectly, while my Air Force Talon SS was not at all a good fit.
    Things I would have changed:Make the zipper slightly more heavy-duty, it does feel quite flimsy. Also, add a pocket for pellets on the outside, or other accessories to keep them at hand and within easy reach.
    What others should know:Realize that this is not an extreme heavy-duty, hard case with all the bells and whistles of other cases. For its price point, it is an excellent choice, but do not compare this to say, a top of the line Plano. Before buying, decide what you want to use the case for, and what you expect. I would have no problem storing most of my air rifles in here, but would not, for example, store my Air Arms Field Target gun in here. Just keep that in mind when ordering.

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-04-22 13:16:55

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Seth from USA on 2011-04-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets are a great, baseline pellet for use when trying to find the right pellet for your gun. They are accurate in a lot of guns, come at a fair price, and a have legitimate, screw-on lid. They are a great shaped pellet for longer ranged shooting, as well as hunting and plinking, and generally load easily into lots of guns, as well as rotary magazines for PCP's, such as my Benjamin Marauder.
    Things I would have changed:Make them cleaner. These pellets arrive fairly disgusting, and after only a few, they leave a trail of hazardous lead dust all over your hands. I would also make the quality control a little bit better over at Crosman. Some of the pellets (about 3-6 every tin) have skirts that are morbidly disfigured. I would expect better from a reputable, US company.
    What others should know:Clean these in a warm, soapy solution before use. Let them sit over night in the solution, and then rinse them out in cold water and let them soak again. This gets a lot of the lead dust out of the skirts and out of your bore.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact .177 Cal, 8.4 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact .177 Cal, 8.4 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-03-06 15:20:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Seth from USA on 2013-03-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very, very, very, very accurate, fair price, domed shape allowed for higher stability at range, clean lead, consistent shape and no damaged skirts in ~4,000 pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Add a screw-on lid, but I just put mine in an old Crosman container which works just fine.
    What others should know:Folks, I shoot a Daisy 880. I know many of the people using this have multi-hundred to thousand dollar rifles. As someone who wants outstanding accuracy out of a cheap, backyard plinker, these made my wish come true. At 10 yards, with a 4x15 Tasco scope from Walmart, I was able to get .250" CTC groups rested. This is amazing, I initially thought that I'd missed 4 shots and only 1 hit. That's how accurate these pellets are. Definitely pick some up. Hope everyone has a great day, thanks for reading!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top