Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Diana RWS 34P Pro Compact

    Diana RWS 34P Pro Compact Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-08-30 03:06:14

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Henry from USA on 2009-08-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Superb RWS (German) quality. Fit and finish is excellent, tight tolerances are impressive and exacting. 99.5% metal on this rifle. All weather high quality synthetic stock has a very nice feel. Muzzle break feels so nice when cocking, and shorter barrel makes handling easier, and seems to help accuracy (pellet exits barrel before recoil affects it). Excellent trigger. Didnt try this scope, but it seems very nice. Lockdown mount from RWS is included-has 4 screws and never budged (also 2 stop pins that fit the rifle perfectly.) Scope rail is also great. Loudness is medium at first, but really settles down to a quiet discharge after about a tin of pellets. A little proper lubrication also helps. Functions smoothly with not too much recoil-and dead accurate out of the box!
    Things I would have changed:The rifle is quite heavy due to muzzle break and scope, but this is also a sign of the high quality and surely helps accuracy. Feels close to ten pounds when you have it all together. Advertised weight must be without scope & muzzle break-which is heavy and metal. Im a pretty skinny vegan tho, so might be fine for some. For me it was best kneeling or with a rest, but after using it awhile it made me stronger and got easier (I did exercises with this thing to get up to the task .) Had holes for rear sight, but no place for front sight, should you want to add one later (this deserves a good scope though anyway.) I would like to have had the option-though buying sights separately were pretty expensive from RWS/Umarex USA. Also, butt pad is hard/thin plastic. I also wish this were available in .22 cal. Spring was dry and a little crunchy initially (typical RWS) but it was sipmple to apply a little lube ( I used a little moly and lithium grease mix) to spring without disassembly. I also applied a few drops of pure silicone oil through transfer port into compression chamber-no problem. [get the RWS maintenence kit-highly recommended for superior tools and lubes.]
    What others should know:I wish Umarex/RWS would offer a medium power springer (600-800fps) which was lighter (under 7 lbs), with a good or adjustable (pull weight) trigger. This would make it bearable with a scope on it, shooting freehand. Currently they have the schutze (youth model), but I hear the power is in the low to mid 500's and the trigger is a bit heavy (5-6lbs direct trigger). Still I may have to try this schutze. RWS should also offer a model with a suppressor, like the Gamo whisper. RWS has the best warranty of all airguns-Lifetime Limited Warranty-and there is a reason: they make superbly engineered products that will last generations if properly cared for. It occurs to me that the muzzle break on this model could easily be modified to be an airgun-appropriate-only noise suppressor by someone who knows what they are doing. Sounds like a fun project. And, of course, Pyramyd Air has fast and excellent customer service and policies.

    Product: Gamo Whisper Air Rifle Combo

    Gamo Whisper Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-09-11 08:57:37

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Henry from USA on 2009-09-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very lightweight, Nice Stock, @ calibers available, Silencer/Dampener works well (although unsilenced powerplant is quite loud, but no muzzle blast). Silencer makes a nice muzzle break for cocking. Seems to have accuracy potential, but jumps around a bit, perhaps due to breaking in. Power is there, very close to the full 1000 fps. Safety works well. Sleek appearance and feel. Mild recoil. Nice buttpad.
    Things I would have changed:Open sights are hardly usable. There is lots of play in the rear sight, and brushing against it will knock it off target. Usable, but not for pinpoint accuracy. Ok for plinking. Too much plastic, though it keeps the gun super-light. The barrel and entire breech blocks are all plastic, though strong and well made, metal against plastic doesnt seem like a good idea to me in high stress and high friction areas. Breech block and pivot point should be metal and more metal in the barrel too/thinner fluting imo. At the end of the cocking stroke, I could almost detect the barrel (steel encased in poly shell) bowing/bending very slightly, and all these things worried me regarding longevity and accuracy issues. The trigger has long creep and an uncertain let off point. Something youd probably want to improve if you could (grtIII trigger etc.) Barrel had some play unless tightened down quite snug. Again, plastic sandwiched between metal...
    What others should know:To be honest, Ive not been that interested in Gamos, but the silencer , weight, and .22 made me want to try it. To me Gamo seems like a lot of corporate marketing flash, without backing it up on the products, craftsmanship, and really making an airgunner's gun. Cases in point are the usage of exaggerated velocity claims (PBA), The PBA pellets, which seem destructive to magnum springers, the triggers, and expedient engineering choices (too much plastic...). I just think they need to get people with real knowledge of the sport and tighten things up. This gun has a lot of great points, but for the money, something like RWS, Hammerli, walther, or crosman seems a better value, in my personal opinion. Man, I wish we could buy airgun silencers as easy as they can in UK and some places in Europe.

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-05-04 19:28:39

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Henry from USA on 2010-05-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Lightweight, great feel in the hand, extremely accurate!!!, good power, super simple to service, excellent trigger, auto safety, unbelievable price, good with a variety of ammo, 11mm rail, pretty good sights, recoilless, inner frame is metal at all important points... This is a keeper and a super value. I consider this pistol perhaps the BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK among airguns. I rarely write reviews, but I had to stop and write this one due to the super value!
    Things I would have changed:The plastic used seems like it might be a little different than the p3 or hw40, but it's holding up fine. Original o-rings are low quality, or just compressed/aged from storage. You will probably need to recondition(soak in silicone oil)/replace them sooner than later. However these o-rings are very cheap and easy to find at any hardware store, and the repair is easy enough for anyone. Drift one pin out, no special tools needed, to take it all apart. When you do it, you realize just how easy this gun is to maintain forever. A super bargain.
    What others should know:Use lighter pistol pellets for best results at longer ranges. Shoots just under/about 400fps, so they drop off as range increases. Uses a variety of pellets accurately. I was shooting RWS Hobbys, RWS R-10 pistol, 5.4 gr Hyper Velocity (strings in rifling), Superdomes, Beeman Lasers, and others...all with excellent results. You will be amazed at the accuracy and sweet trigger! Under 1" groups at 15 yards easy freehand. Put a little locktite/threadlocker on the sight screws to keep them from moving while cocking and carrying. Use a light coat of silicone oil (chamber oil type), silicone grease, or lithium grease on the tube once in a while and when servicing. Get a few thicknesses of o-ring and find the one that fits just right so its not too hard to cock, nor underpowered. You can also shim the o-ring with plumbers tape if you like. Thicker=little more power/harder to compress. Replace the small breech o-ring too for an even better seal if you like (easy). If you want a P3 or Weihrauch HW40 but find them a little expensive for your budget then this is the way to go. You wont be disappointed. It's almost the same in every way...except the o-rings might need an initial change or reconditioning (soak them in silicone oil etc). Everything else is just about the same. German engineering and super accuracy. If youre a collector or want perfection and have the extra money to spend, then go with the Weihrauch hw40, or hw75. This p17 is a gun you wont fuss over, and will last 4ever.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle

    Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-01-21 15:18:00

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Henry from USA on 2011-01-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is my second review for the NP. I really liked the trigger, once the GRTIII trigger was received and installed. Now, it feels like a single stage trigger, but very crisp and light (a little over 2 lb.ish). It seems like the adjustment on the GRTII just increases or decreases/eliminates the creep on the single stage. To my surprise, I found that I do like a LITTLE trigger creep, but not too much! HAha. GRT II blade felt a little sharp around the edges/bottom corners, so I filed and smoothed it, much better now. rifle is very easy to cock, quiet, lightweight, and accurate with a loose hold and the right pellets. I dont use the free sling yet, but it is nice, and I will use it if I get a chance! Nitro piston is smooth and gives the feel of a medium power spinger in a much more powerful, hard hitting rifle in .22.
    Things I would have changed:This is a great package for the price point, especially. The adjustments on the scope-adjustments could use lock-downs, but a little carefulness will do (always a good idea to take care of your airguns). Someone who knows what they are doing, or willing to learn, canto do a few simple fine tunings to smooth out the trigger to a very acceptable and predictable point. A good lube and break-in might do the same. Overall, just great at a great price.
    What others should know:Superdomes really shined, as did the benjamin domes. Then I came across a few spare h&n baracudas in a jar (aka beeman kodiak). these things weigh 22 some odd grains, i believe, but struck 2-inches higher than any other pellet. 1/2 inch cluster of 6 shots. wow. It seems to utilize the energy well and hit accurate. I have to buy some more of these. Think heavy, german, domes. Good buy. Great service. Shoot carefully and be kind to wildlife.

    Product: Diana RWS 34P Pro Compact

    Diana RWS 34P Pro Compact Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-01-21 15:54:22

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Henry from USA on 2011-01-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:One of the best air rifles available. The construction and precision engineering are not only precise but elegant. This model is much different than the regular M34 or Panther. It has a satin finish that's very well done. The muzzlebreak is heavy, but you want it, trust me. accuracy and steadiness are increased, and it stabilizes flip and recoil. Move it up a cm or two and you have a very nice shroud. Adjustable trigger is excellent, and you can get it right where you want it...crisp, predictable.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to see a slightly lower power model, or have RWS USA carry the slightly lower powered models, which they have in Germany.
    What others should know:Mine likes the JSB exacts 8.x gr, superdomes, supermags, meisterkugelns are OK, RWS HP are very accurate and flat, Heavy Baracudas/Kodiaks are great, but may be hard on the spring. Keep the barrel clean. Dont use lube to get the muzzlebreak back on if you remove it, it will slide when you shoot and shear the screws eventually! Tap it on gently. You can buy sights for this (expensive) or you can buy a M34 and the muzzlebreak separately, if desired...even cut and recrown the barrel. Allen screws on muzzlebreak need a touch of blue loctite. that holds them for good. Easy to work on. I put in a Maccari spring kit, and changed the scope to a small, lighter Leapers 4x32 with dual mounts. The stock scope is awesome, too. Trimmed some ounces off. This rile compares favorably with any German springer. Its not excessively fancy, but sleek, and of highest quality, overall. Diana is excellent. get a German rifle/airgun if you want to be fully satisfied, right out of the box, excellent accuracy with no fuss or tuning required (but still fun). They are the Masters of airguns--especially springers IMO.

    Product: Diana RWS 350 Feuerkraft

    Diana RWS 350 Feuerkraft Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-06-12 12:18:03

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Henry from USA on 2011-06-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Like all RWS: superb finish and craftsmanship. Great feel and balance. Doesn't seem too heavy. Extremely accurate despite power. Not too difficult to cock. Nice click on safety. Everything feels very high quality. Nice open sights (youre gonna need them).
    Things I would have changed:In the .177, power is almost a little too high. Strong recoil at first, but does mellow out a little in time. Not much else, the 350 is excellent.
    What others should know:I used this as a base model. Barrel was shortened by 6" (could have gone with 4), recrowned, and an RWS procompact muzzle break (available from umarex usa/rws-call) was installed-extending it another 2". Custom fiber optic sight blade was installed atop the muzzlebreak at proper elevation. [ you can also get a hood for the front sight at umarex-have to call) Lowered power, recoil, and cocking effort by 10-15% [estimated] by shortening spring. Full clean and lube tune with deburring. The 350 is amazingly accurate, despite the movement/recoil (still considerable) out well past 50 yards- even with open sights. I can see why they call this a scopekiller. It has a good kick, but manageable. Open sights seem the way to go with this rifle. I can hit empty spray cans at 60 yards every time with open sights. I can also hit their caps likewise. Groups are very tight, with almost any pellet hitting the same POI. Favorite pellets shrink groups slightly: JSB heavies, H&N Baracuda, FTTrophy. If I rest this atop my hand on a hard surface groups expand. If I rest it on my hand atop a hard surface and grip the forestock it kicks hard enough to cause pain. It likes the open hold, especially if rested. Seems more accurate than the Model 34, and has higher quality internals- to deal with the power. Shoots incredibly strong, and extremely accurate for this power level. You will love this rifle. Keep missing your target? Take a closer look. It may be passing right through without moving it!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top