Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Air Arms Falcon .22 Cal, 5.52mm, 13.43 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    Air Arms Falcon .22 Cal, 5.52mm, 13.43 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-17 10:46:37

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2011-09-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have a chronograph and have accumulated data and measured the downrange performance on dozens of pellets. These pellets have the highest retained downrange velocity of all the pellets I have tested. They also have a very consistent point of impact in all 12 guns I have shot them in.
    Things I would have changed:I would love to get them at a lower price. The tin is also large and does not fit well in a standard pocket. It does have a secure lid however.
    What others should know:Muzzle velocities in a Benjamin NP-1100 were surprisingly low but the high retained velocity allowed them to catch up at 30 yards and they increase the advantage from there. However, they do not have the energy of the mid-weight pellets due to their lighter weight and lower initial velocity. In guns of lower power (Muzzle velocity at 700fps to 350fps) they started off lower than expected but slightly faster than the standard weight pellets but once again had lower energy and penetration. They are not my first choice in a hunting pellet for squirrels but do yield excellent accuracy and downrange velocity for long range target shooting.

    Product: Gamo Round .22 Cal, 15.43 Grains, Lead Balls, 250ct

    Gamo Round .22 Cal, 15.43 Grains, Lead Balls, 250ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-19 10:51:25

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2011-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These proved to be as accurate as pellets and loaded with a perfect fit into the chambers of the Benjamin 3030, 312, and 342 model rifles.
    Things I would have changed:I expect sales volume accounts for the somewhat high cost. I would like to get these for about $5.00/250.
    What others should know:I operate an air gun repair shop and repair a lot of obsolete guns. Therefore I get to shoot a lot in testing and proofing repairs and I keep records on the velocities, accuracy and downrange flight characteristics of the various projectiles fired from air guns. If you expected a lead round ball to behave like a BB from a rifled barrel and give you erratic points of impact and poor ballistics, these "pellets" will surprise you. They retain velocity better than most pointed pellets (as also does nearly every round nose pellet which are the best at retaining velocity) and give good initial velocity in their weight class. They also produced very consistent points of impact at 30 yards from the Benjamin rifles I tested them in. In penetration tests they were as good as the best pellets. They fit the chambers of Benjamin 3030, 312, and 342 rifles perfectly with a nice and smooth snugness and stay put until fired. I have not tested them in other branded products, but can highly recommend them for vintage .22 caliber Benjamin rifles in good safe working order.

    Product: Beeman Silver Sting .177 Cal, 8.64 Grains, Pointed, 300ct

    Beeman Silver Sting .177 Cal, 8.64 Grains, Pointed, 300ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-19 11:10:10

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2011-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets are clean, nicely formed and top quality.
    Things I would have changed:They should come in a 500 count tin for the same price.
    What others should know:I have tested the velocity, accuracy and downrange performance of these pellets against the RWS Superpoint Extra 8.2 g pellets and the RWS pellets are the best value in .177 caliber since they come 500 to a tin, are equal in quality, retain downrange velocity much better (I chronograph at the muzzle and at 20 yards), and yield superb accuracy. However, in .22 caliber, the Beeman Silver Sting is a somewhat better performer than the RWS Superpoint.

    Product: Beeman Silver Sting .20 Cal, 10.96 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Beeman Silver Sting .20 Cal, 10.96 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-01-14 15:59:06

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a good clean pellet of uniform weight from pellet to pellet with no deformities.
    Things I would have changed:I wish the weight of this pellet fit the description of 12.81 Grains. When I received them the weight listed on the container is accurately listed as 10.96g which is in fact what they weigh. This is much lighter than I wanted as I have found lightweight pellets can not equal the energy level of heavier pellets even at higher velocity.
    What others should know:In my SHERIDAN E-20 series pistol, this pellet delivered much higher velocity (472fps avg.) than other pellets such as the H&N FTT 11.42g (actual weight 11.7g) at 437fps but that does not translate into any energy advantage. However, from this pistol that isn't all that relevant since it does not have a power level that is really sufficient for hunting furred prey. From my SHERIDAN BLUE STREAK this pellet delivered only 20fps more velocity than the H&N FTT and that put it way behind in the energy column. So, if you are shooting a pistol there may be a real velocity advantage but from a rifle used to hunt with a heavier pellet will give you much better results.

    Product: Beeman Silver Arrow .20 Cal, 15.59 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Beeman Silver Arrow .20 Cal, 15.59 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-01-14 17:07:11

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good consistent weight and form without seams or deformity. They weigh slightly less as they are advertised. (15.3g)
    Things I would have changed:I wish BEEMAN read the reviews of all the customers who have bothered to evaluate their products. They generally praise the products and curse the lid on the can. I have not had the misfortune of spilling my expensive pellets on the ground yet but I can see how it could easily happen. CHANGE THE LID!
    What others should know:From a Sheridan Blue Streak you will give up 35 to 40 fps in speed compared to a 13.5 to 14.3g pellet. I do not adhere to kinetic energy as a reliable measure of the power delivered in a projectile. I am over 60 years old and have come to conclude from experience that it isn't that simple. So I will simply state that I am convinced that this pellet will deliver every bit as much practical hunting energy as lighter, faster mid-weight pellets out to 35 yards and penetrate better than the others. I shoot thousands of pellets each year of nearly every make and style and have a database of the recorded velocity, energy, downrange performance, penetration tests and comments on hunting effectiveness. This pellet has my confidence as a good hunting pellet. Not the best there is, but reliable and sufficient.

    Product: H&N Field Target Trophy .20 Cal, 11.42 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Trophy .20 Cal, 11.42 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-01-14 17:38:17

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:500 pellets to a tin as it ought to be! As a result the value per shot is higher. I always compare these to the Beeman counterparts and they seem to be a slightly less expensive version of the same product. I am not a competitive shooter who measures groups in hundredths of an inch, but from a visual and practical accuracy perspective, I can't see a difference.
    Things I would have changed:Same old story but ever so true........CHANGE THE LID! We don't buy these things to fertilize the grass.
    What others should know:I found these to weigh slightly more than indicated averaging 11.7 grains. Weights varied a little but not enough to notice a performance difference. I get 756 fps avg. from my SHERIDAN Blue Streak and 437 fps from my SHERIDAN E-20. These pellets are excellent at retaining that velocity according to the downrange chronograph readings. They have the second highest performance factor for measuring velocity/energy retention out of 40 tested pellets. (I keep a database of pellet performance on my computer from the results of pellets tested in dozens of various air rifle and pistol makes and models repaired and tested in my repair shop.) These are light for my likes in a rifle, but make a fine all around pellet for a pistol in my opinion.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact .20 Cal, 13.73 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact .20 Cal, 13.73 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-01-30 10:24:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-01-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This product has a secure lid! It isn't a screw on but it has detents all around the circumference of the lid and it takes a deliberate effort to get it off. The pellets are well formed, free of defects and reasonably clean.
    Things I would have changed:There is nothing I can think of to improve on this product. The price is very good compared to other offerings, the accuracy better than more expensive pellets tested alongside these, and the downrange performance was the best. Maybe a pellet weighing about 15.5 to16.0 grains for higher energy transfer would be nice.
    What others should know:I test pellets extensively firing thousands of rounds each year, recording the results and collecting them in a database on my computer. One of the things I do is to Chronograph the muzzle velocity and the 20 yard velocity and then calculate a performance factor which can be used to determine how well the pellets maintains its velocity downrange. These pellets are the new champions of velocity retention! I have records of 44 pellets thus far and none equal the velocity retention of these. Their accuracy was also first or second among 7 pellet products tested in both my Sheridan Blue Streak rifle and E-20 series Sheridan CO2 pistol. The initial velocities were slightly lower than anticipated from both guns but they made up for that very quickly in the first ten yards of travel. Interestingly, the former 1ST place velocity retention champ had the same characteristic and was also made in the Czech Republic.

    Product: H&N Silver Point .25 Cal, 24.38 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Silver Point .25 Cal, 24.38 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-15 15:11:23

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets had a container with a secure screw-on lid.
    Things I would have changed:These simply were not suited in my Benjamin Marauder.
    What others should know:I have gotten consistent accuracy from another pellet yielding an 8-shot average group size of 5/8" at 25 yards. This pellet would not shoot into less than 3" at the same range despite several attempts and adjustments to improve the groups.

    Product: H&N Field Target .25 Cal, 24.38 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target .25 Cal, 24.38 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-15 15:50:28

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:H&N sent these with a screw on lid.
    Things I would have changed:These "domed" pellets have a very low domed nose with a flat rim at the outer perimeter. They did not retain velocity well at all.
    What others should know:My Benjamin Marauder is showing a dislike to pellets lighter than about 26.0g and unfortunately these are wildly inaccurate at over 3" at 25 yards.These are well formed and clean but my Marauder will not shoot them well. They also did poorly in retaining velocity downrange as measured by my chronograph at 20 yards and at the muzzle.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact King .25 Cal, 25.4 Grains, Domed, 150ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact King .25 Cal, 25.4 Grains, Domed, 150ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-15 16:00:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:These are nicely formed and retained downrange velocity very well when measured over my chronograph at the muzzle and again at 20 yards.
    Things I would have changed:These are too nice to mess with.
    What others should know:I suppose the 150 count tin is good for those needing to test out a can but the 350 count tin is more economical. These pellets gave me very good accuracy (5/8") from my Benjamin Marauder at 25 yards (8 shots). This was not an isolated group as it repeats the grouping each time it is tested.

    Product: H&N Spitzkugel .25 Cal, 24.85 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Spitzkugel .25 Cal, 24.85 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-15 18:29:44

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The pellets were well formed and clean.
    Things I would have changed:These did not come with a secure screw on lid as many H&N products are beginning to have.
    What others should know:These pellets held downrange velocity about as well as any Pointed .25 caliber pellet I have tested over a down-range chronograph. However, in my Benjamin Marauder these did not group well and at 25 yards 8 shots were spread out to 3". My Marauder has not shot any pellet under 25+ grains well but has consistently shot several heavier domed or hollow-point pellets into less than 5/8" for 8 shots at 25 yards. I do not condemn the pellet but I do caution those with a Marauder to buy a single can to test with if you are interested in this pellet.

    Product: H&N Hollowpoint .25 Cal, 26.23 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Hollowpoint .25 Cal, 26.23 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-15 18:43:37

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The tin has a screw-on lid. The pellets are clean and well formed.
    Things I would have changed:I do not like the flat rim that surrounds the nose of this pellet. I test all my pellets for downrange velocity retention and this pellet lost a lot of velocity by the time it had traveled just 20 yards. Many other domed or Hollow point pellets retained velocity much more efficiently than this pellet and I believe it is the rimmed nose that cuts down on its ballistic performance.
    What others should know:Very fine grouping out of my Benjamin Marauder after I changed the tension on the barrel shroud to try to improve the initial groups of 8 shots into .960" at 25 yards. My improved groups were only .568" center to center. I consider this to be a fine hunting pellet within 40 yards. Others have far better remaining velocity, especially for longer ranges.

    Product: H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-16 16:44:34

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This pellet is very well made and clean. It packs a lot of energy from my Benjamin Marauder leaving the muzzle at 856 fps! It also comes in a tin with a screw-on lid.
    Things I would have changed:A little more accuracy, but it might just be my barrel. I am getting 8-shot groups of just over .700" at 25 yards with this pellet.
    What others should know:This is a very good long range pellet for larger varmints. It carries its velocity downrange with a very high percentage of retained velocity, better than any pellet of any caliber I have measured over a chronograph. It quickly overtakes faster, lighter pellets downrange for superior energy delivered to the target.

    Product: H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-16 17:00:12

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The tin has a screw-on lid. The pellets are very well made and uniform. They look neat. They retain velocity very well and this is known because I chronographed them at the muzzle and at 20 yards and they retained velocity better than the majority of other pellets.
    Things I would have changed:I was not completely satisfied with the accuracy. I got 8-shot groups of 1.09" at 25 yards from my Benjamin Marauder from a rested position. The rifle shoots several other pellets under 3/4" a few of which group under 5/8".
    What others should know:If the accuracy level you get from these meets your needs, these are great pellets.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-16 17:25:09

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are well made and clean. The weight is my favorite in .22 caliber giving superior energy without sacrificing too much velocity. I choose to use them in my Benjamin 392 due to the excellent accuracy they delivered while still giving me a muzzle velocity of 651 fps. The most important advantage to this pellet however was the downrange velocity it retains. I measure every pellets velocity at the muzzle and again at 20 yards and keep records of the results. I have tested over 50 pellets and no .22 caliber pellet is nearly as good at maintaining velocity as this one. That enables it to deliver and maintain superior energy from the muzzle to the target no matter how far away that may be.
    Things I would have changed:A tin with a screw on lid.
    What others should know:I shot these initially from my Benjamin Trail NP-1100. They gave good grouping but shot to a different point of impact from my favorite pellet and had a lot of variation in shot to shot velocity. If your rifle performs well with them they will deliver the best downrange energy I have found from a .22 cal. pellet due to the fact that they retain velocity so very well.

    Product: H&N Field Target Trophy, .177 Cal, 4.52mm, 8.64 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Trophy, .177 Cal, 4.52mm, 8.64 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-16 17:42:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I believe this is the ideal .177 caliber pellet. It has the best balance of weight, form and velocity to make it the best offering in my Crosman 2100. I gave up about 28 fps in muzzle velocity to the 14.3g offerings I was using, but this pellet retained velocity so much better that it was faster than all but one other pellet at 20 yards. It had the energy advantage from the muzzle and is able to increase that advantage over the other pellets as it travels downrange.
    Things I would have changed:I would make the tin with a screw-on lid.
    What others should know:I use a Crosman 2100 in .177 caliber. This pellet gave me 671 fps muzzle velocity, excellent accuracy and superior killing power on squirrels over all other pellets I have used other than the Crosman Premier 10.5g Magnum RN. Other than that one pellet this one beats them all and I still prefer this one for its higher velocity.

    Product: Benjamin .25 Cal, 27.8 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    Benjamin .25 Cal, 27.8 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-11-14 13:18:55

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets are giving me consistent, repeatable groups averaging .527" for 8 shots at 25 yards in my Benjamin Marauder and are the best value for the dollar in all the pellets I have tested. They also have excellent velocity retention verified by chronograph readings at the muzzle and downrange at 20 yards.
    Things I would have changed:There is some slight deformity on some pellets apparently from damage in handling.
    What others should know:I have compared these against 8 other pellets from more expensive selections and they are second to none in overall performance for the dollar. Only one pellet groups better and that is not by much.

    Product: H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-11-14 13:33:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For my Benjamin Marauder, there is not a better hunting pellet for long range shooting than this one. They are clean, well formed and undamaged. I get 8-shot groups at 25 yards measuring .507". Of nine tested pellets this one also retained downrange velocity best of all as verified by chronograph readings at the muzzle and 20 yards. It was one of four pellets tested that all grouped to the precise point of aim at 25 yards. (3 of the remaining 5 could not be called groups as they spread over 3" at that range.)
    Things I would have changed:Hey, if I could get them for less I would but I would readily buy them again as they are worth the money in the excellent performance they deliver.
    What others should know:These are heavy pellets. They leave the muzzle of my Marauder at 856 fps which is only about 35fps slower than the Benjamin 27.8g domed pellets. They may not work as well from a gun of significantly less power.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-23 11:59:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-12-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Nicely formed and clean pellet in a 500 count tin. Not a screw on lid, but it is a secure pull-off/push-on design. The best part is in its performance. It lost an astounding little velocity between the muzzle and 20 yards (less than 7.5%). Most pellets I have measured lose around 10% of their initial velocity at that distance.
    Things I would have changed:The tin is a large diameter and unsuited to carry in your pocket. Minor complaint but I would change it.
    What others should know:I originally intended to use this pellet in my Benjamin Trail XP NP-1100. However, it shot a little left of my other pet loads and had a somewhat large velocity spread from shot to shot. Average velocity was 816 fps and the impact point was consistent even though left. I then decided to try it in my Benjamin 392. The average velocity was 651 fps and shot to shot variation yielded a very small standard deviation of 4 fps. The accuracy was a consistent tack-driving one shot after another spot on impact point. I was not shooting paper but a 1-1/2" swinging target at 25 yards. I never missed in a least a dozen shots and the impact marks were all near center. I believe this illustrates that evaluating a pellet from a one-gun perspective may be misleading of its merit. That is why it is helpful even if not definitive, to list the gun you shot your pellet from. In time as more reviews are posted, if a pellet does not perform well in a particular model (or in any model/or well in others) then the reviews become more useful because of the specifics that can be gleaned from them.

    Product: H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-23 12:29:03

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-12-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The tin is a screw on lid, and nicely dimensioned for carry. The pellets are well formed, clean and solid. By that I mean there are no weak and thin skirts here, it is built like a German tank.
    Things I would have changed:I suppose all of us would like to get them for less. But I will not hesitate to buy more of these.
    What others should know:My review is the results I got from a Benjamin Marauder, set at the fully open valve port and maximum hammer stroke, in other words, "full-throttle." Chronographed velocity was 856 fps at the muzzle and it still carried an amazing 802 fps at 20 yards. This is a superb velocity retention rate that means this pellet will deliver great long-range performance if it is accurate, and it was indeed in my rifle delivering well rounded groups of .507" at 25 yards, .755" groups at 50 yards and 1.375" at 75 yards. Realize that the 75 yard group being well centered and round, no shot missed the center of the bull by more than .6875"! The 25 and 50 yard groups were of 8 shots each. The 75 yard group was for 5 shots but repeated several times and consistent. The one 80 yard group I shot was 1-1/2". At that distance the pellet was dropping more than the hold-over marks (there were only 4) on the scope I was using would compensate for and I did not want to change my elevation setting on the turret. This is one fantastic pellet in my Marauder!

    Product: H&N Rundkugeln, .177 Cal, 4.45mm Dia., 8.20 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Rundkugeln, .177 Cal, 4.45mm Dia., 8.20 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-23 17:52:36

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-12-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These, unlike the Gamo lead balls, are nicely round and uniform. They also are giving me very impressive and consistent point of impact from my Daisy Model 25 current production model.
    Things I would have changed:The lid is a disaster waiting to happen. It comes off so easily I have considered placing it on the table and seeing if I can remove it by just thinking about it. These are also very expensive!
    What others should know:My Daisy Model 25 does not come close to delivering its 350 fps rated velocity. Instead, I get 280 fps avg. with the Daisy steel BB. Accuracy is okay for a BB gun but nothing to get excited about. However, with these H&N round balls, I get real, consistent, groups of less than 1" at 10 yards without flyers. The first shot from a freshly loaded magazine is always a "double" (2 BB's). Yet for the rest of the magazine function is flawless. These lead balls measure .175" for most of them, with some minor variation (+/- .0005")on a few. Velocity is a very consistent 230 fps avg. from my gun but this still gives them an energy advantage over steel. I do not shoot birds so I can not imagine what the small increase in energy would be useful for. The accuracy is the definitive advantage of these if you can bear the much higher cost.

    Product: H&N Rundkugel, .177, 4.50mm Dia., 7.70 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Rundkugel, .177, 4.50mm Dia., 7.70 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-28 19:01:54

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-12-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are very well made and nicely round without dimples or flats.
    Things I would have changed:Well, they are expensive. Yet compared to the Gamo Round Balls, the quality of these makes those appear to have been formed with some sort of peening process. I would rather have the quality than the inferior performance of out of round shot.
    What others should know:These measured .178" and weighed 8.5g rather than the 7.7 g listed. They are too large for a Daisy Model 25 with very slow velocity (dragging the bore?) and some double feeds. However, in a Crosman 2100 they gave me 673 fps velocity which was slightly higher than this rifle delivers with a pellet of like weight. I did not measure group size as I was plinking Sweet gum balls off the ground but I was hitting them consistently at up to 20 yards. The bottom line though is these offer little that can't be done with a more economical pellet.

    Product: H&N Rundkugeln, .177 Cal, 4.45mm Dia., 8.20 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Rundkugeln, .177 Cal, 4.45mm Dia., 8.20 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-28 19:31:35

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-12-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These a perfectly round without deformities or blemishes. They gave me outstanding accuracy from my Daisy Model 25 (would you believe that nearly all shots not just 5 or so, group into less than 1" at 10 yards and 75% of them can be covered by a dime?)
    Things I would have changed:If I could get the quality and performance for a lot less money, of course I would. I suspect demand is not high enough or that the manufacturing process that yields this outstanding quality, necessarily makes these pricey. I would use these exclusively if I could get them for about 1/2 of what they cost.
    What others should know:My Daisy Model 25 does not achieve near the 350 fps velocity claimed by the manufacturer for a 5.1g steel BB. I only get 280 fps avg at best. These functioned flawlessly, but yielded only 230 fps. They retain that velocity somewhat better than steel does however, and are catching up in velocity downrange but at the practical ranges of BB guns, they don't catch up completely. Penetration was far deeper in my catch box filled with the foam protection that came during shipping but that hardly matters in this case. These measured .1755" in diameter and actually weighed 8.2g rather than the listed 7.7g. The bottom line is, if you want great accuracy at any price, these deliver!

    Product: Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol

    Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-01-09 21:11:22

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2013-01-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Colt 1911 Special Combat by Umarex surpassed my expectations in every category. It looks authentic and very good. I did not find the trigger as heavy as I presumed in double action, and in single action it is really good. Accuracy with this pistol is also pleasingly consistent with frequent hits out to 15 yards on targets about 2-1/2” in size. My pistol has a preference for the Umarex Precision Steel BB’s and gives noticeably better accuracy with them over all others I tried. (Daisy and Avanti.) I refrained from even trying the Crosman Copperheads due to the obvious defects in the surface of those.
    Things I would have changed:For the benefit of other curious experimenters, I also tried to fit a set of Colt wooden grips for the Commander on this pistol but they had a different hole spacing and slightly different grip angle and therefore do not fit. This is the only change I would like to see.
    What others should know:I Chronographed the first 45 to 50 shots slow fire with at least a full minute between shots to determine what its average maximum velocity would be. It held steady at around 427 fps for the first 35 shots and then dropped gradually down to 408 fps at shot 45. It held above 400 fps till shot 50. The average velocity for these 50 shots was 422 fps. (The temperature was only 65 degrees!) Rapid firing at a rate of about 1 shot every 5 seconds was far different as velocity dropped from a high of 428 fps to less than 400 in about 8 shots. It leveled off at around 365 fps and held around there for 10 shots or so and then gradually dropped off as shooting continued. Each time I reloaded the magazine and resumed shooting it would have increased velocity again for about 3 shots and then drop back to the decreased velocity of the former string of shots. The gun will deliver over 100 shots at respectable velocity per each CO2 cartridge. I had found that H&N 4.45mm, 8.2g lead round balls to be excellently formed and uniformly round and they functioned flawlessly in my Daisy Model 25, so I could not resist trying them in this pistol. The 6th shot jammed in the barrel and I discontinued using them. This pistol is going to be easy to repair if it ever needs work on the valve unit or seals due to the fact that the magazine houses the valve. The only remaining seal is readily accessible by opening the slide. I haven’t checked what its removal may involve but it is not a tight fitting seal anyway and is likely not to need replacing as often. As long as the proper function of trigger, sear, hammer and springs last, then only a magazine replacement would have you up and running again. I suspect rebuilding the magazine unit will be a breeze if replacement parts can be purchased from Umarex. Whether or not that occurs, this pistol could be in operation for a very many years simply based on this design.

    Product: Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol

    Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-01-20 15:06:11

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I expected an authentic looking version of a Colt 1911 and although it is not an exact copy of any particular variation, it did not disappoint me. Without looking closely, you might at first assume this was a 1911. If the trigger/sear/hammer and springs hold up, this is otherwise going to be a very easy pistol to repair when the seals go out since all the components of the valve are housed in the upper magazine. The only other seal is simply a face gasket that prevents gas from escaping between the valve face and breech at firing. This seal is going to have very little stress placed upon it and should last a very long time. The velocity delivered was above what I expected even though it was only 65 degrees when I chronographed it. I first measured it slow-fire with at least one minute between shots. The first 35 shots held a fairly consistent velocity and average of 427 fps. Velocity gradually dropped with each shot from there until the velocity was down to 408 fps at shot 45. It remained above 400 fps until shot 50 with an average velocity of 422 fps for these first 50 shots! On the second test with a fresh CO2 cartridge fired at the rate of about one shot every 5 seconds, velocity began at 428 fps and dropped below 400 fps after the 8th shot. It leveled off somewhat in the upper 300's just gradually dropping off until I would reload the magazine. The first several shots after reloading had increased velocity again showing that it was the cooling effect of rapid fire.
    Things I would have changed:I tried to fit a pair of Colt walnut grip panels for the Commander and the hole spacing is just a little more than 1/8" different with a slight difference in grip angle also. I would like to fit these Colt grips to this pistol.
    What others should know:I did not find the double-action trigger to be as heavy as I anticipated and was pleased that it was as workable as I found it to be. The single action is really nice. Accuracy with this pistol is pleasantly consistent with frequent hits out to 15 yards on targets about 2-1/2" in diameter. My pistol has a preference for the Umarex precision steel BB's. These were a little better than the premium Daisy Avanti and noticeably better than the standard Daisy steel. I had also found that the H&N 4.45mm 8.2g lead round balls worked flawlessly in my Daisy Model 25 so I had to try them in my Colt. The sixth shot jammed in the barrel and I discontinued using them. This Colt 1911 Special Combat surpassed my expectations in every category.

    Product: H&N Rundkugel, .177 Cal, 7.7 Grains, Copper-Coated Round Balls, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Rundkugel, .177 Cal, 7.7 Grains, Copper-Coated Round Balls, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-03-18 15:34:39

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By James from USA on 2013-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are shaped and formed very well and the copper coating allows them to work in guns that I could not get even high quality lead balls to work in.
    Things I would have changed:Well, I would like to get them cheaper and I would have them of a more uniform size. These ranged from .1735" to .177". Unless you sort them you are not going to be able to use them in some guns mentioned below.
    What others should know:I am old school. Heavier projectiles are better than lightweights as long as you don't take it too far. I had tried non-coated lead balls from H&N in my Colt 1911 Special Combat, Crosman C-31 and Daisy Model 25 and all of them had jams. However, with these I was able to get all three guns to function perfectly --- as long as I sorted the copper-coated lead BB's into the following categories: .1735" to .175"; .175+" to .176" and .176+" up. The Colt and the Crosman C-31 will function only with the smallest sizes up to the maximum .175". The Daisy 25 also was most consistent with these smallest sizes, but still functioned with shot up to .176" but the Chronograph dropped when one of the .176" balls were encountered, so I would say it best to also limit the Daisy to the smallest sized of less than .176". The .176" and above were great in my Crosman 1077 and Crosman 2100 with very impressive accuracy. The bottom line is sorting these is a pain and they are too expensive compared to other ammo offerings that will work in these guns, unless you are a nut like me that just wants something better for some special purpose he may find for them in the future.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-04-21 22:14:48

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-04-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like the consistency in weight, shape and performance. I also like the 500 to a tin quantity.
    Things I would have changed:The tin is too large in diameter. The lid is not a screw on or off but it does take a deliberate effort to remove it.
    What others should know:I have tried these in my Benjamin Trail XL-1100 NP and a .22 cal Benjamin Marauder Breech and barrel built on a .25 caliber platform. (There is a larger exhaust port on the .25 valve unit and I drilled out the barrel port on the .22 cal. barrel to match.) Accuracy is very consistent in both guns. I have not benched the groups yet but the Marauder delivered 5 shot groups under 3/4" at 25 yards sitting and supported only by my arms resting on a solid table. I know there was some shooter error and that rested groups would be at most 1/2". Velocity was at 816 fps avg. with the XL-1100 and 975 fps for the 10 shot average with the Marauder. (The velocity settings are not maxed out as I found velocity and accuracy to be very nice at this level. 14.3g pellets were giving 1055 fps. avg. for 10 shots.) At this performance level the Marauder is delivering 38.2 ft.lbs/sec of kinetic energy at the muzzle. The velocity retention on this pellet was the absolute best of over 20 tested .22 cal. pellets that were measured over a chronograph at the muzzle and again at 20 yards to determine how well they retained velocity. My conclusion is that in any rifle that delivers good accuracy, this is a marvelous, dependable long range hunting pellet.

    Product: Flava Shots, Edible, Flavored Hunting Pellets, .177 Caliber, 10.65 Grains, Lead-Free, 500ct

    Pyramyd Air Flava Shots, Edible, Flavored Hunting Pellets, .177 Caliber, 10.65 Grains, Lead-Free, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-05-10 00:34:56

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-05-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have a brother who lives in California, and he says that this is likely the only pellet they will have for use after the total lead ban.
    Things I would have changed:I would like a smaller tin. We are not allowed to have this many edible pellets in a tin here in New York.
    What others should know:Check your local regulations to make sure your government allows you to have these. If you find that they are not legal, you may want to move to China as they have greater freedoms than some of our progressive, Democrat-run localities.

    Product: H&N Baracuda Power, .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Power, .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2013-10-27 12:35:59

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-10-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The copper coating keeps your hands clean and seems to greatly reduce the exposure to lead residue. I did not find these to have deformities or damage; great quality. They came in a tin with a secure screw on lid.
    Things I would have changed:Offer them in a tin of 500 at a cost savings per round.
    What others should know:I have a Benjamin Marauder .22 cal. I built on a .25 cal. platform (larger valve porting, transfer porting, etc.) I also installed a 10lb. hammer spring with buffers to dampen vibration and bounce. I have it tuned at about 75% of its velocity potential and am getting an average velocity of 985 fps. from this pellet (1st 20 shots). At 25 yards, 5 shot groups average .462". (This is a real world average, not just isolated best of the best reporting.) I killed 16 squirrels with 16 shots at ranges from 25 to almost 40 yards with this pellet. That is how consistent the point of impact is with these in my gun; no flyers.

    Product: Shooting Chrony Beta Chronograph, Blue

    Shooting Chrony Beta Chronograph, Blue
    Review entered on 2013-10-27 12:52:23

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-10-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:NOT MADE IN CHINA! Our Canadian neighbors are manufacturing these. Perhaps if our government would quit choking the life out of our economic potential, we might get jobs too.
    Things I would have changed:Not much. I made a heavy Plexiglas shield to cover the screen and area over the top to deflect errant shots from my pellet rifles.
    What others should know:The SHOOTING CHRONY BETA is a much superior unit to the COMPETITION ELECTRONICS, INC. PROCHRONO DIGITAL. I have had four of the latter so I am not comparing one bad unit to another manufacturer’s good unit. All four of the PROCHRONO DIGITAL units exhibited the same recurring and annoying tendency to miss shots. Not just the occasional shot, but at times when the light was less than optimum, they would not read regardless of how it was set it up (diffusers or no diffusers, etc.). When I got the SHOOTING CHRONY BETA, I was not sure things were going to be any better. The PROCHRONO would only read BB’s in the very best of light, so that is what I tried first for comparison. To my delight, it did not just read most of them, it read them all! Later, I discovered it was also more reliable when testing pellets in various light conditions, even reading in bright light and blue sky without the sky screens. I did find that in the dimmer light of late afternoon it wanted the sky screens removed to see the pellets, but it read them at a time that none of the others ever would. I was both thankful and miffed! I had wasted a lot of money on those former units and all along they were inferior performers, it was not just a lighting condition.

    Product: Air Venturi Intermount, Fits Benjamin Sheridan Multi-Pump Rifles

    Air Venturi Intermount, Fits Benjamin Sheridan Multi-Pump Rifles
    Review entered on 2014-07-13 19:45:55

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2014-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A very strong and secure system; easily installed on the Benjamin 390 series rifles.
    Things I would have changed:Other than mount height, nothing. Well, I would love to see Air Venturi make another model to mount on a larger diameter. I would love to use this to mount a scope on my Sheridan FB-9 CO2 rifle, but it could not be opened enough to fit over the slightly larger receiver of this rifle. Make it and I will buy it.
    What others should know:I am not sure the design can be changed to allow a lower mount but as it is, it is pretty high. I used low rings and noticed the scope almost contacted the rail at the 32 mm objective. (I use a more rearward position of my scope than most folks.) If anyone else prefers to set their scope up this way, beware. Also, a larger objective may not work with low rings.

    Product: Air Venturi Pellets, .177 Cal, 8.64 Grains, Pointed, 250ct

    Air Venturi Pellets, .177 Cal, 8.64 Grains, Pointed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2014-07-19 20:42:36

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2014-07-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are very nicely formed, do not vary greatly in weight or diameter and are clean. I get very good to excellent accuracy from my Crosman 2100 and Model 113 CO2 rifle.
    Things I would have changed:As usual, a screw-on lid.
    What others should know:I do not often use the .177 cal. on squirrels as I prefer the superior effectiveness of the .22. However, my Crosman 113 is so very accurate with these that at 20 yards and under, the shot is always precisely able to be placed and the squirrels are dropped instantly by head shots. This pellet also retains velocity very well for a pointed pellet (believe it or not, pointed pellets generally do poorly compared to round nosed designs). This is a very good investment.

    Product: Skenco Big Boy Junior, .22 Cal, 20.3 Grains, Round Nose, 100ct

    Skenco Big Boy Junior, .22 Cal, 20.3 Grains, Round Nose, 100ct
    Review entered on 2014-09-11 12:47:03

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By James from USA on 2014-09-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets are nicely formed.
    Things I would have changed:These have a flat dome with a profile much closer to a wad-cutter than a domed pellet. They also have a very small flat at the outer edge of the dome. Neither of these characteristics is conducive to good downrange ballistic performance and my downrange velocity measurement confirmed this as the ballistic co-efficient is right at the same performance lever as the wad-cutters.
    What others should know:I have a Marauder BP-2220 built up into a light rifle with a 22" shrouded barrel. It shoots many pellets into 5 shot, 25 yard groups of 1/2" to 5/8" consistently, and a couple into about 3/8". This pellet was well over 3" with flyers and impact points. I would pass on this one as even if it works in your gun the ballistics are not going to get better.

    Product: H&N Baracuda Match .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Match .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-09-22 11:09:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2014-09-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:H&N just seems to always have fine quality products and this one is in keeping with that experience.
    Things I would have changed:Why mess with it?
    What others should know:I read several other reviews saying these 5.53 mm head size option pellets were excellent in the Benjamin Marauder. I had some 5.52 mm of these same pellets that were shooting into about 3/4" for 5 shots at 25 yards (okay but not exceptional). So I decided to get a can for comparison and it is true. My groups shrank to .540". (I also would like to say, this particular Marauder barrel is the least likely of 3 I own to shoot very small groups but it places almost everything to the same point of impact so I have found its somewhat larger groups acceptable.) So, the bottom line is the 5.53 mm head size is superior in a lot of cases from the Marauder barrels.

    Product: Hawke Optics 3-12x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

    Hawke Sport Optics Hawke Optics 3-12x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2014-09-22 11:22:08

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By James from USA on 2014-09-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It is an attractively designed scope with a very nice combination of features that make it a fine airgun scope.
    Things I would have changed:It simply is over-priced for the optical quality it has. I found no glaring flaws with it, but the Bushnell AR 3-12x40 mm SF scope offering is identically priced at several outlets and the superior optical quality in that scope makes me wonder why the optical quality of this one should be so inferior? They both have the same features throughout (and sadly, are both made in China.)
    What others should know:I do not believe you will be greatly disappointed in this scope, but there are superior options at the same price level.

    Product: H&N Terminator Pellets, .22 Cal, 16.36 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Terminator Pellets, .22 Cal, 16.36 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-09-24 18:03:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Its weight(16.4 g) is right in the range that makes it useful in both standard power and higher power guns. Nicely formed and it expands beautifully in water-filled jugs at 900 to 1000 fps muzzle velocity.
    Things I would have changed:Tins of 500 at discounted volume price.
    What others should know:I measure the muzzle velocity and velocity at 20 yards to determine how well each pellet I use maintains its downrange velocity and energy. This pellet has a ballistic co-efficient as good as some of the 14.3g domed pellets. This is excellent for a pellet of this design and is the best of all the "pointed-hollowpoint" pellets I have tried. (The Predator Polymag is the only one that is even close.)It is fantastically accurate in my custom Marauder Light Rifle (built on the Marauder pistol platform with a 20" barrel) and groups 5 of these Terminators into .415" at 25 yards. (Muzzle velocity: 920 fps.) These are the best of this design in every category.

    Product: Beeman Devastator, .22 Cal, 16.36 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Beeman Devastator, .22 Cal, 16.36 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-10-06 16:56:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2014-10-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Expands nicely with plenty of upset at 892 fps muzzle velocity. Nicely formed and very good weight.
    Things I would have changed:Like most everyone, the tin should have a screw on lid.
    What others should know:I had already tried the H&N Terminator from my Benjamin Marauder Light Rifle which is built off the P-rod base product and it was fine but did not expand much at the same velocity. On a whim I decided to try the seemingly identical Beeman Devastator. The Beeman must be made from a softer lead compound because it expanded much better than the Terminator. Accuracy of bot pellets was outstanding. The terminator grouped 5 shots at 25 into .415". I have not yet put the Devastator on paper but while chronographing it the first shot hit a small branch on a bush at 30 yards behind the Chrono which was set up at 20 yards. (50 yard total.) I held to the same aim point for the next 7 shots and hit the limb each time in the same small area. The limb was about 3/4" in diameter. I have no doubt that this pellet is as accurate as the Terminator and suspect it is even better.

    Product: Skenco UltraMag .22 Cal, 18.2 Grains, Pointed, 100ct

    Skenco UltraMag .22 Cal, 18.2 Grains, Pointed, 100ct
    Review entered on 2014-10-11 11:36:12

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2014-10-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The pellet is well-made and I have not encountered any problems with lost tips. I also like the heavier weight, but that has not proven to give an advantage in penetration in my field experience on game.
    Things I would have changed:After using numerous pellets of this "pointed hollow-point" design, I do not believe the lack of penetration can be eliminated as all of them were limited in that area of performance.
    What others should know:I used these at 866 avg. muzzle velocity from a custom P-Rod light rifle built on the pistol platform. Groups at 25 yards for 5 shots were .528" but downrange field accuracy seemed to indicate a much better overall capability as hits on targets out to 50 yards were very reliable. Also, those 25 yard groups were very round and no stringing occurred. The problem in the field was penetration. I thought this heavier pellet might succeed where other lighter pellets of this design failed, but it was not to be. At 30 yards I recovered a squirrel that dropped after about 3 to 4 minutes from impact. The pellet had cut through the liver and was lodged against the tough stomach lining. It had not encountered any bone other than a rib. Another head shot on a squirrel at 20 yards gave an instant kill as expected and desired but did not penetrate the skull. No issue on this shot, but this pellet will not traverse through the body of prey to do the lethal damage needed and shots must be precise.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top