Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Daisy Model 840 Grizzly C

    Daisy Model 840 Grizzly C Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-10-21 22:57:47

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2009-10-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I was very impressed with the gun and how it was packed, shipped, and arrived in a timely fashion. Good bang for the buck. I had never shot one of these before and after just a few shots, I had the sights right and the accuracy surprised me. When I pulled the gun out, I thought that it seemed very light and I wondered about the quality. Upon examination, I was happy to see that it was put together very well, the lines were good, and it is just a good looking rifle. I sighted in at around 20 yards and I set up paper targets, soda cans, and other light plastic containers. I shot for a couple of hours and if there had been more time, I would have shot for a couple of more, but the sun went down. Now...time to confess. I am 56 years young. Yes, this is a great gun for the young (or more mature) beginner, but honestly, it is a great gun for older folks who love to shoot and want to do it at home in the back yard. I sat on my back porch, sat in a chair, leaned on a table, had a blast (pun intended). Thanks Daisy for a real winner.
    Things I would have changed:I can't think of a thing. It is good just as it is. The Mossy Oak is beautiful and the Tru Glo sights are great. I don't see the need for a scope.
    What others should know:If you want to have some serious back yard fun, at a low cost, get this gun. It won't wear you out pumping, you don't have to worry about the added expense of CO2 bottles, and it is consistant. It is easy to pump. This is not a gun for any serious hunting, but I believe that it would probably kill very small animals if up close with the right shot. This gun would be great for teaching young people proper sight alignment, breath control, how to hold the gun, without fear of a kick. No recoil to speak of.

    Product: Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol

    Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-12-16 21:57:47

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Michael from USA on 2012-12-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have never been a huge 1911 fan and only own a .22 LR version of the weapon. However, when I saw this one, I just couldn't believe how beautiful it was! I read lots of reviews and decided to go ahead and get one. Well...it's even more beautiful in person! Wow! I love the overall looks and feel of the pistol. I shot around 500 rounds of both copperhead BB's and Daisy Premium Zinc plated BB's through it with no jams and not one problem. I took a big box and filled it with styrofoam and old clothes and put a splatter sight in target on it and shot it in the house. I didn't have to adjust the sights at all as it was hitting in the 10 ring at 15 feet with the exception of a couple of flyers. My old eyes are not what they used to be, so I put a splatter zombie target on it and after a few shots at 15 feet, I brought the target into about 10 to 12 feet and really had some fun. I was in the prone (lazy) position. I shot a few cans at 15 feet with no problem hitting them in the middle every time. I am really enjoying this pistol. I am 59 years young and I love it. I have several weapons of all kinds and when it's cold outside, I love shooting my BB and pellet pistols and rifles. I recommend this pistol for some short distance fun!
    Things I would have changed:The double action is challenging and a bit hard to pull, but single action is right on. I'd like to see and easier pull on the double action. Also, the trigger is not like the original 1911 and it would be nice to have a traditional trigger. The magazines are cool, but as has been stated, a little hard to load. I use a little flat head screw driver to assist me in getting the little pull down lever pulled down and locked. Without it, you will soon have a sore finger and fingernail! Also, the little screw tightener on the bottom of the magazine which holds the CO2 cartridge in place sticks out a bit and takes away from the overall appeal of the looks. Would have been nice if this were made flat somehow. Some have mentioned the blow back option, but that doesn't bother me. I like it just the way that it is because the energy goes towards the number of shots that you can make instead of diverting it to the blowback.
    What others should know:Overall, I am more than pleased. I love the realistic weight of the gun. Although I don't own a 1911, I have handled a few and this feels realistic. Some complained about the chrome parts, but I find them to be a nice touch. Would I get it again? Absolutely! Can't wait to play with it some more tomorrow. It is awesome to have the splatter targets so you can see right where you hit. The zombie ones are really fun! If you are on the fence about this gun, jump off and just get it. You won't be disappointed.

    Product: Winchester M14 CO2 Air Rifle

    Winchester M14 CO2 Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-10-26 17:40:08

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2013-10-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I LOVE the accurate looks, the accuracy is mind blowing, and the double CO2 adds more power and lasts longer than if it was just one. It fits me just right and actually, the light weight is good for this old man! Oh...and I love how the sights adjust...just like the real thing! I love that it is semi-automatic!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing really, although I wouldn't mind seeing a wooden version with more metal which I realize would be more expensive, but it would make for a great realistic rifle! Although it would be heavier, I'd love to have one to display!
    What others should know:Yes...as someone else said, the type of pellets you use means EVERYTHING! I won't go into detail here, but check out my comments under Bret's write up regarding jamming and misfires. I was having major problems with the recommended Daisey pellets which turned out to be crap! Crossman Hollowpoints worked like a dream! If you are like me and enjoy the military rifles, especially the historical ones, you will love this rifle! Yes, it almost feels like a toy due to all the plastic, but it looks the part and believe me...the plastic does not make against the shooting of this dead on accurate rifle! Now that it has come down to a reasonable price, get it! You won't regret it!

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-11-04 00:19:37

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2013-11-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Wow! Why anyone would buy the more expensive P3 and pay two hundred more dollars for it is beyond me! This Beeman P17 is one AWESOME gun for the money! I almost didn't order it when I read it was a copy of the P3 and two hundred dollars less, plus made in China. I figured it was junk. But, after reading the reviews, I figured what the heck...costs less than a tank of gas...far less! When I held the gun, saw the truglo sights, and saw the quality, I was blown away. When I shot it...even better! About six shots and I had the sights zeroed in at 10 yards and the shots were in the bulls eye. The trigger is like butter! Great first stage and a nice clean break with little noise when it fires. I was using Crossman pointed pellets and they worked great.
    Things I would have changed:It is hard to cock, but it's the nature of the beast. I don't have a problem loading it, but I can see where someone with large fingers or arthritic hands would have a problem. Certainly not a gun for children or someone who is weak. You could definately pinch your hand or or stomach or chest skin if you don't cock it properly. I was shooting inside, prone on the floor, and putting the end of the barrel on the floor while trying to snap the top closed. I really don't think anything can be done about these things because of the design. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!
    What others should know:It feels great in the hand and is a great shooter. Once you get used to loading and cocking the gun, you will really enjoy it. I am very glad I bought it. I really don't think that there is a better deal on a decent pellet gun out there! It comes in plastic bubble wrap, but let that turn you off. This is a quality pistol all the way. Oh...one other thing. Check out you tube for some good videos and one shows you how to disconnect the cocking piston so you can put some white grease on it to help the O ring. Also, some people complained about a burr around the air hole in the front bottom of the tube that houses the piston and it was causing the O ring to tear. I checked mine and it was nice and smooth so i didn't have to smooth it out. If you are on the fence about this gun, jump off and buy it! I don't believe you will be disappointed.

    Product: Winchester M14 CO2 Air Rifle

    Winchester M14 CO2 Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-11-04 00:52:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2013-11-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I LOVE the accurate looks of this military rifle. I like the longer lasting power of the two CO2 cartridges and I love the sights! Just like the real thing. The pellets are easy enough to load and personally, I like the light weight. I'm 60 now and it's nice not to handle a chunk of lead while trying to shoot! The price is right and the main thing that I love is the amazing ACCURACY! I can't get over how accurate this rifle is. I have shot it at 7 yards, 10 yards, and 15 yards with the same results. It's cool that it shoots BB's and pellets, but I am sticking with pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Something that I did change was the color of the front sights. They are all black and I could not make out where they were located on my sighting in targets. I took some white paint and painted the back of the wings and the middle blade and it made all the difference in the world. It may not be original, but it sure makes the shooting experience better! Maybe a little better polymer/plastic, but I have not had any problems with it so far.
    What others should know:Pellets make the difference. I originally used some of the recommended Daisey pellets and I thought the rifle was defective. The gun would misfire and the clip would jam up in the magazine. I had a terrible time getting it to free up on more than one occasion. I was very disappointed and considered sending it back. Instead, I decided to take the gun apart and see how the mechanism worked. Well, I put a clip in with no pellets and watched as it turned just fine...and no hang ups or snags. Then, I put some daisey wad cutter pellets in and noticed that they were loose and I could actually see some space around the skirt of the pellets. No sooner than I put in the clip, a pellet fell out and jammed up the works. I fixed it, took out those pellets, and tried some Crossman hollowpoints that I had on hand. Success! They loaded nice and tight in the wheel chambers, the clip loaded smoothly with a nice click, and the wheel rotated freely. I put the gun back together and the gun ran beautifully! Tonight, I tried some Crossman pointed pellets and I actually got tired of putting the pellets in the same small hole over and over. I could see the pellets hitting right at the top point of my front blade sight with no deviation. So, I began to move it around a bit. This is one of the most accurate rifles that I have ever fired, and I have fired a LOT! I collect and have been shooting for at least 55 years! On the fence? Jump off and get this gun! You won't be disappointed!

    Product: Daisy Avanti Champion 499

    Daisy Avanti Champion 499 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-10-16 23:28:23

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2014-10-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Can I just say...everything? Everyone mentions accuracy...yes, in SPADES! Once I got it sighted in, which only took maybe a dozen shots, I changed targets and after my first shot, I took a couple more and was wondering what was going on as I couldn't see where I had hit the target. Well, closer examination disclosed that I had hit in the exact same hole! Wow! I had looked at, or I should say overlooked this rifle for many years. I just couldn't get past the Red Ryder BB Rifle looks and just could not believe that it could be much different. Man, was I wrong! After reading all the write ups (the one star write up is just insane, written by someone that had not even shot the gun)and watching a youtube video, I decided to order it. I love to shoot and have several guns that fire bullets, pellets, and BB's. I must say...this has them all beat. Much more sturdy than the Red Ryder and so easy to use! Perfect for the indoor range, which I LOVE! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!
    Things I would have changed:Not much really. I painted my front sights white with a sight paint marker and that really helped with the darker backgrounds on some targets. I also put on a nice, hard rubber pad on the butt of the stock which helped with my length of pull and the slickness of it. Many people state that all of the front sights are the same size, but there is a slight amount of difference in each one. They change out really nice. I like the beefiness of it compared to the Red Ryder. I got the Red Ryder 75th. Anniversary rifle as a wall hanger in my cabin and the difference between the two is like night and day! The trigger is great, so I wouldn't change that. I believe my cocking handle is made out of metal, although it could be a good polymer, I'm not sure at this point. Either way, it feels really nice and hard and I don't think it will ever break. I just don't think there is much to change on this fine rifle.
    What others should know:Just for fun, after sighting it in with a bulls eye target, I used a zombie "shoot and see" target so that I could see exactly where I was hitting. Actually, the bulls eye target was also a shoot and see target. This makes such a huge difference when trying to see where you are hitting. With regular paper targets, it is virtually impossible to see where you are hitting. Although it is well built, it is also light and I like that. As others have said, if you are on the fence about this rifle...jump on off and just get it. I really don't think you will be sorry. Mine didn't come with the medallion and I wish that it had because I like to collect things like that. I'm going to write to Daisey and see if they will send me one. Maybe they don't send them with the gun anymore...I don't know. Anyway, I believe that Ralphie from "A Christmas Story" would approve of this rifle! I don't even think that he would have to worry about shooting his eye out! LOL!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top