Walther P99 Special Operations

Walther P99 Special Operations Airsoft gun
Review entered on 2007-08-17 18:17:08

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Peter from USA on 2007-08-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Fits in the hand comfortably. Smooth trigger action. Very consistent accuracy achieves excellent groupings (tested at about 15 feet from target.) Blowback feature.

Things I would have changed: Could use a proper eject button for the magazine (magazine pulls out of bottom) Full Auto could be faster. Adding a weight to the slide could better simulate the recoil simulation. If the magazine is pulled out while there are still rounds left, 1 or 2 rounds sometimes fall out of the magazine.

What others should know: Basic statistics not listed in description: 180 fps max (150 average) 14-16 rounds per magazine Shoots up to 240 rounds per second on full auto. Metal Barrel. A good first electric gun for people moving up from spring action pistols. This unit is ideal for indoor or outdoor target practice. If you are going to practice with full auto, I recommend using a "trap" style target instead of a "sticky" target to avoid hitting pellets on the target thus causing dangerous ricochets (yes, it is that accurate, at least at the range I tested it at).

937 UHC 4" revolver, Black

937 UHC 4 inch revolver, Black Airsoft gun
Review entered on 2007-10-02 11:45:41

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Peter from USA on 2007-10-02
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Comfortable feel for larger hands, classic revolver appearance and mechanism. The adjustable rear sight is a feature not often seen on low cost guns and is a definite plus for this series of guns. The realistic bullets that the pellets are loaded into are another nice touch and 2 extra bullet casings are included should you happen to lose a couple.

Things I would have changed: On occasion 1 or 2 shots of the six will be wide of the center of the target, however I am told this is normal for this type of gun by a police officer who has used the real one this is modeled after. I would also have constructed this gun with metal parts to increase the weight to that of the real gun. This would most likely drive the cost up dramatically, though. The barrel is manufactured as a separate piece in order to allow different barrel lengths and types to be attached during manufacturing to be sold as different guns and can become loose at the joint. A metal assembly would have made this system stronger, but should, of course, instead be made as a single piece for each different gun, but as mentioned above, this would drive up the cost.

What others should know: For target practice I recommend a "trap" styled target instead of a sticky target. As you improve with this gun, it is possible to hit a pellet and either cause a ricochet, shatter one or both of the pellets. Shattering a pellet usually results in a ricochet, and the pellets fragments are a royal pain to clean off of a sticky target(which you should do IMMEDIATELY before continued use of the target). This gun can be fired with one hand, so getting a second one can mean using both at the same time. I also recommend getting extra bullet-casings for the pellets if you are going to take this into an airsoft war. Pellets CAN, however, be loaded into the bullet casings while they are still in the swivel chamber (which is sometimes easier depending on the situation) if you prefer to reload this way. As mentioned above, this gun is comfortable for larger hands. If you have small hands this gun will be uncomfortable to use and could potentially contribute to carpel tunnel discomfort if you suffer from it already. If you do suffer from mild carpel tunnel (which I do) but have large hands it should not be a problem as I have never experienced the problem with this gun (though I did when using the over-sized "Justifier" revolver that came with the game "Lethal Enforcers" which is what spawned this word of caution)

Crosman Stinger P9 Silver

Crosman Stinger P9 Silver Airsoft gun
Review entered on 2007-10-08 05:58:18

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Peter from USA on 2007-10-08
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: The accuracy and the power. For 20-25 dollars, this is one of the more powerful spring pistols you can get. This is also the first pistol that I actually managed to hit and shatter a pellet already on the sticky target with!!! I have accidentally done that with other pistols since, but not deliberately like I am able to do with this pistol. The pellet reservoir is a nice feature too. Just slide the spring back and shake the clip to reload.

Things I would have changed: The gun is kind of light and feels cheap at first. A couple of weights in the right places would make it feel a little more solid. The sticky target can only take so many rounds before it stops being sticky.

What others should know: Although the gun seems light, the only rattle you will hear when you shake it is the rattle of the pellets in the reservoir. The mechanism is well designed and smooth. The trigger is rounded nicely and comfortable to pull. The gun features a mounting rail for either a flashlight or a laser. The safety is in a good location on the side and is not engaged or disengaged accidentally, yet is still easy to operate. As mentioned above, the sticky target will only take so many shots before it is no longer sticky. This is remedied by rinsing the target with hand soap and water, but this does not restore all the stickiness. That said, I have used my sticky target so much that you can only barely make out the number 5 in the bullseye for all the little round marks that the pellets leave, and I still use the target with most of my pistols. Any dark color pellets will be difficult to spot on the target. I like to use some light blue pellets I have as they show up the best. It may sound crazy, but it makes it easier to shoot around pellets that are already on the target.

Walther P22 Special Operations, Black

Walther P22 Special Operations, Black Airsoft gun
Review entered on 2007-10-08 06:18:29

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Peter from USA on 2007-10-08
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: The appearance. (I am a sucker for just about all Walther hand guns) The extra clip is a great feature, and the clips hold about 22 rounds each. (Coincidence?) Most of my handgun clips only hold 14-16 before needing to be reloaded or have more pellets shaken into the spring chamber from a reservoir. The gun itself is a very solid construction.

Things I would have changed: This gun just manages to miss a 5 on Overall Rating and Accuracy because it consistently shoots to the left on every shot. I would have given it a lower accuracy rating, but it is possible to adjust your aim once you know how far off-center it shoots and then shoot accurately with correction.

What others should know: For anyone getting into airsoft, here is how to determine if a gun is shooting off-center and if it is consistent. Set up a trap style target and put in a piece of paper with only a single dot about the size of a dime on it. Walk about 10-15 feet back. Set up a chair or other solid item to rest your arms on. Hold the gun with two hands and shoot 3 times from a kneeling position with your arms resting on the chair. Look at the grouping of your shots on the target along the sites of the gun. If the shots are wide of the center in different directions, either you do not have a steady hand, or the gun is wildly inconsistent. If all the shots are together, then the gun is consistent, or at least consistently innaccurate, and still usable with correction. Now aim the gun at the center spot and check where the shots are again. Now try re-aiming to correct the shot placement. If the shots are up, move the sites down. Shots left, aim the gun more to the right.

938 UHC 6 inch revolver, Silver

938 UHC 6 inch revolver, Silver Airsoft gun
Review entered on 2007-10-09 14:33:27

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Peter from USA on 2007-10-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: This is a replica of the Colt Python .357 Magnum. The pellets loading into bullet shells that in turn load into the gun give it a fantastic sense of realism. It can also be used with one hand, either left or right.

Things I would have changed: This gun is much lighter than the original and could be made heavier.

What others should know: If you can fire a pistol one handed with either hand than I recommend getting TWO of them and using BOTH at the same time. Your aim with both hands will improve as will your target acquisition time. (but do not forget to use safety goggles)

Crosman P1377 American Classic Air Pistol, Brown

Crosman P1377 American Classic Air Pistol, Brown Air gun
Review entered on 2015-06-13 10:53:30

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Peter from USA on 2015-06-13
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Variable Power, Relatively low noise, comfortable hand grips, solid construction, Easy, smooth operation. Barely noticeable recoil. The basic design has stood the test of time and will continue to do so for decades to come.

Things I would have changed: The screw for elevation adjustment is small, short and course thread. I would have dsigned it to be slightly longer to avoid having to remove it to switch sites. As is, here is some information on how to work with it. When switching between pinhole and open sites, the screw must be removed and reinserted. MAKE SURE TO RETHREAD THE SCREW PROPERLY TO AVOID STRIPPING THE SCREW HOLE. To do this, insert screw into hole and turn counterclockwise until it sets into existing thread. Then turn clockwise until snug. DO NOT OVERTIGHTEN. The existing screw hole is plastic.

What others should know: When I picked this gun up, I had a chance to compare it to the Pumpmaster Classic (PC77). The advantage to the pumpmaster is the forward grip is slightly wider and easier to grip/operate when pumping. The advantage to this model, and the reason I chose this model is the front blade is more secure while the pumpmaster blade does not extend as far back onto the barrel and freely twists out of alignment ever so slightly. Both models are also prone to a little bit of metallic flashing around the recessed screws at the back of the gun where the webbing between the thumb and index finger rest. A small, round metal file can be used to remove any small burrs that may have been left in the manufacturing process. Overall, this is a worthy addition to any airgunner's collection and a joy to shoot. Don't let the plastic grips fool you. Standard care of this gun and proper storage ensure that you will be leaving this one to your grandchildren as a fully functional and cherished heirloom.

Crosman 459MT 2-Pc Intermount, 3/8" Dovetail

Crosman 459MT 2-Pc Intermount, 3/8 inch Dovetail
Review entered on 2015-06-27 17:04:37

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Peter from USA on 2015-06-27
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Easy Install. Does exactly what it is designed to do. The mechanically minded won't even need to read the instructions to install it. Allows the user to position a scope nicely according to personal preferences.

Things I would have changed: Nothing. Other mount systems involve replacing parts on the gun. These attach to the gun with no fuss whatsoever.

What others should know: Depending on your scope rings you may have to slide the rings on from the front or rear instead of coming down from the top and tightening the rings. I added a low power scope to the 1377 and find that the accuracy maintains itself nicely at longer distances. Also, depending on your scope rings you may still be able to use the open sights looking underneath the scope. This is a great way to start customizing your 1377/1322. It won't be long before you think about picking up the stock or making your own if you are into fabricating your own components.

Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock

Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-07-08 16:03:39

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Peter from USA on 2015-07-08
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Built SOLID. It may be plastic, but there are no creaks, squeaks, etc. Smooth pumping action. Comfortable to hold and shoot. Lightweight enough to make it easy to hold on target. No recoil means you can concentrate on nailing your target with ease. Standard picatinny rails mean you can really customize this gun easily.

Things I would have changed: For the cost, nothing whatsoever. This is a solid shooter right out of the box.

What others should know: I picked up the factory re-manufactured unit from this site and with only a minor adjustment to windage and elevation (1 adjustment to each) I was knocking over cigarette packs at 50 feet. The first thing that struck me about this gun when I unpacked it were the sights. As stated above, the gun is plastic, but it is solid. The sights are beefy and solid as well. They maintain accuracy and will not budge from zero, yet are easy to adjust. The safety is 100% manual. Set it back on after each shot.

CenterPoint 30mm Metal Enclosed Red/Green Reflex Sight, Built-in Weaver-Style Mounting System

CenterPoint 30mm Metal Enclosed Red/Green Reflex Sight, Built-in Weaver-Style Mounting System
Review entered on 2015-07-09 18:39:15

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Peter from USA on 2015-07-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: Low cost, easy install and setup. Flip up scope covers are a nice touch.

Things I would have changed: Fact is, if you want a better reflex sight, you're going to drop a lot of money. If this is your price range, I do not see how you can do better at all.

What others should know: This is a great sight to break into reflex sights with and to see if they are for you. It works very well on my Crosman m4 177. While it may take some getting used to for first timers, you should find target acquisition to be fast and efficient. Keeping both eyes open when using this sight for the most part eliminates eyestrain. If possible (depending on your gun and existing sights) Try to zero the dot inline with an already zeroed open sight for best results. Then remove open sights and literally see what you have been missing.

Navigation