Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Remington Summit Combo Air Rifle

    Remington Summit Combo Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-04-26 21:27:01

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2009-04-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Nice looking gun with good bluing and nicely finished stock. Mine came with a Center Point 3x9x40 adjustable objective airgun scope, and it is accurate. I purchased this gun from Pyramid in December 2008. Velocity is advertised at 1000fps with PBA non-lead ammo. I use the heavier RWS 9.3 grain supermag wadcutters and H&N Match 8.09 grain wadcutters, attaining velocities of around 900fps; quite respectable for heavy pellets.
    Things I would have changed:At first, cocking was a little rough, and the recoil fore and aft was heavy, associated with a little 'twang' as the spring unloaded. The heavy two-stage trigger and the heavy recoil prevented me from achieving any real accuracy before the trigger job and tune-up.
    What others should know:I installed the GRT III after-market trigger produced by Bob Werner, aka. 'CharlieDaTuna', and I had the gun tuned by Gene Curtis of Airgun Toys in South Carolina. Both actions turned this little Remington into a real shooter! At forty feet the gun will produce 10 shot groups consistantly at 3/8" diameter or less. Whether you buy this gun, a Gamo, or an RWS, they all require a little tweaking and tuning before they become real 'shooters'. Rifles advertised at 1000 fps need ammo in the 7.5 to 9.5 grain weight category. Ammo weights lighter than 7.0 or heavier than 10.0 can damage pistons and seals. The Remington Summit is a good shooter for both targets and small game, and it looks like some of its Big-Brother Remingtons. This gun is a lot fun! Jim

    Product: RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2009-04-26 21:43:20

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2009-04-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:These high quality pellets are some of the most accurate I've shot. Each pellet appears to be identical to the one before it, without any perceivable flaws. They fit the gun's bore like they were made for that gun, with no appreciable 'play' around the skirt. At 9.3 grains, they have good trajectory and they also hit hard. After shooting for a couple of hours, there is no visible lead residue on my hands.
    Things I would have changed:Add screw-lid on cannister.
    What others should know:For practical purposes, these are as accurate for me as are the H&N Match grade pellets selling for more. Jim

    Product: Beeman H&N Match .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct

    Beeman H&N Match .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct
    Review entered on 2009-04-26 21:55:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2009-04-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A very accurate, high quality, uniform and symmetrical pellet. Each pellet appears to be identical to the next, without perceivable flaws.
    Things I would have changed:Add screw-lid to the cannister.
    What others should know:I have not found a more accurate pellet for target shooting. I've heard folks complain about their cost but, like everything else, you get what you pay for, and I think these are some of the best pellets available at any cost. Jim

    Product: CFX Royal Underlever

    CFX Royal Underlever Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-06-24 14:54:33

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2009-06-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A great-looking rifle with oiled Beechwood stock, holds its own in the company of some other fine rifles. I ordered mine with the Air Venturi gas spring installed at Pyramid, and I replaced the factory trigger with a "Charlie" trigger, the GRT III. A Center Point 3 x 9 x 40 adjustable optic, duplex reticle scope was installed after removing the rifle from the box. The Center Point scope also comes with a heavy-duty set of rings, designed for the heavy recoil of powerful air rifles. I optically centered the scope and mounted it on the rifle. I had it zeroed in with five shots, and I'm getting sub-half inch groups at forty feet, having put about a hundred rounds through it. What a great shooter!
    Things I would have changed:The front sight housing is unecessarily large. The front ghost ring is also unecessary- A plain fiber optic sight without the hood, screwed onto the barrel, similar to the Hammerli and RWS designs, would have been preferable to me. However, if you are an 'Iron Sight' guy, you will love it. My old eyes see better through a scope. The front sight housing does not interfere with the scope's field of view, so it's no big deal- just my own preference for aesthetics.
    What others should know:I have been shooting rifles for many years, and the CFX Royal Underlever offers a fine-looking, highly accurate, and fuctional rifle for the money. In terms of power and accuracy, this rifle offers a good balance of both, and it will hold its own with rifles of any price range or make.

    Product: RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .177 Caliber

    RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .177 Caliber
    Review entered on 2010-06-11 12:46:34

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2010-06-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Required equipment for RWS owners. In addition to the normal complement of cleaning equipment, this kit has the RWS 'Chamber Lube' and 'Spring Oil', both resin-free, and recommended by the manufacturer. The felt 'pellets' can be pushed through the barrel with the three piece rod, or fired through.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. Nice kit.
    What others should know:Otis also makes a flexible pull-thru cable cleaning kit that works with all rifles. Available in all calibers. JP

    Product: RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-07-13 11:48:12

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2010-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:RWS quality and uniformity, no residue. These light weight pellets (7.0) were purchased for a Daisy 717 target pistol which shoots them accurately at about 360 ft/sec. Good price for a good quality pellet.
    Things I would have changed:The proverbial cannister, like all the others, should have a screw-down lid to prevent the top from coming off the cannister. I see this complaint more than any other, and I'm still fascinated that the manufacturers haven't picked up on it. Would it make any appreciable cost difference?
    What others should know:They shoot fairy accurately in high powered springers, but at the higher velocities they are not cutting clean holes in the paper, suggesting they may be tumbling at the higher velocities.

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-11-07 13:17:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2010-11-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clean, consistently uniform, and accurate, as are most of the other RWS pellets.
    Things I would have changed:I'd like to see them available in 9.5 grains.
    What others should know:Quality pellet that shoots well in all of my guns.

    Product: Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-11-13 00:03:44

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2010-11-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Someone once said, "Only accurate guns are interesting". That being said, the TX200 might just be one of the most interesting air rifles around. My MKIII is in Walnut, and the only other bluing I've seen, close to this, is on some of the polished Smith & Wesson Revolvers- truly outstanding. I set it up with a 3x9x50 adjustable optic scope, and it produces 1/4 inch groups at the standard 10 meter airgun distance. The match grade trigger is perfect, and the recoil is significantly lower than any other Springer I own, making this gun a pleasure to shoot. It has quickly become my go-to shooter of choice.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing- I don't how this gun could be improved, practically speaking. It doesn't require any tuning or modification to make it better- it's already there.
    What others should know:I've settled in on RWS Supermags (9.3 grains) mostly for this gun, but it seems to shoot the Meisterkugelns, R-10 Match, RWS Diablos, and RWS Superdomes as well. It's the only gun I own that shoots all these pellets well. Treat yourself to one- you won't regret it.

    Product: UTG 3-9x50 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Weaver/Picatinny Rings

    UTG 3-9x50 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Weaver/Picatinny Rings
    Review entered on 2010-11-13 00:50:45

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2010-11-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Leapers scopes are known for their ruggedness, and the 'True Strength' label on the newer generation means they will hold up to punishing recoil of most high powered Springers. The optics are also quite clear, especially for a scope in this price range, and the fifty millimeter objective gathers a bit more light than the forty. This adjustable optic, on the front of the bell housing, has a range of 5 yards to infinity, perfect for the relatively short distances of airgun work, but also accomodating if longer range is desired. The turrets are fully adjustable for wind and elevation, with a zero reset feature and a lockdown feature on each turret after you get it zeroed in. The milliradian reticle, in black, is crisp and clear, and it also has a red and green lighting feature if you want to use it. I do most of my target shooting in the daylight, so the unlighted black reticle is fine. The lighted feature might help if you use the scope to hunt in low light conditions.
    Things I would have changed:Keeping in mind this is not a three-hundred dollar rifle scope on a high powered rifle, I wouldn't change a thing.
    What others should know:The scope is quite accurate, easy to adjust, and it holds adjustment perfectly, with no perceivable creep or erector shift. It is filled with nitrogen which prevents optical fogging, it is advertised to be waterproof (I'll take them at their word), and the scope comes with a screw-on Sun-shade and removable, flip-up, rubber lens caps. The diameter of the fifty millimeter bell housing necessitates using high profile rings, whether a one piece mount or two seperate rings. On high powered Springers I've had more success keeping scopes from moving by using one piece mounts by various manufacturers. All-in-all the Leapers is a great scope, especially considering its cost.

    Product: Gamo 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, 3/8" Dovetail

    Gamo 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, 3/8 inch Dovetail
    Review entered on 2010-11-15 01:41:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2010-11-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quality, cost effective product that will stop scope shift and creep on magnum powered air rifles. The base has a pin which screws down into the hole at the aft end of the dove tail rail of most air rifles, while the three clamping screws hold the unit on the rail securely, so there is no movement from recoil. Torque on the clamping base screws is thirty inch pounds per screw. Each scope ring has four screws, torqued down to fifteen inch pounds per screw. I have used this mount on several high powered Springers and I've had no scope movement.
    Things I would have changed:It's a simple device that does what it is designed to do, it looks good as well, and it is priced right. I don't know what could be done to improve upon its design, so I don't have any recomendations to change anything about it.
    What others should know:This unit, the medium profile unit in stock at Pyramyd Air, accomodates scopes with an objective lens up to about forty, perhaps forty four, millimeters in diameter. I tried a fifty millimeter Leapers on it, but the mount wasn't high enough for the fifty to clear the barrel, so I had to order the high profile unit directly from Gamo USA. Perhaps Pyramid Air will make the high profile unit available as well. There is no 'Barrel Droop' compensation designed into this unit, so if you want to mount this on a European gun with 'Barrel Droop', you might want to use a mount that has the necessary compensation, ie. the Diana/ RWS Lockdown Mount , or the Leapers/ UTG unit which compensates for droop, and also converts the dovetail rail to a Weaver/ Picatinny configuration for use with Weaver style rings. These units are strong and effective, and I've had success with them on my own rilfes.

    Product: H&N Finale Match Rifle .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Finale Match Rifle .177 Cal, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-06 13:42:29

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2010-12-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good pellets, well made, and accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Wish they were available in 9.5 grain weight. They are priced too high.
    What others should know:The RWS Supermags, 9.3 grain, are just as accurate, and they are less expensive.

    Product: RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-17 12:41:52

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2010-12-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:One of the most accurate pellets available, and they shoot very well in the several springers I use for target practice. They weigh 9.3 grains, resulting in chronographed velocities in the mid to high-eight hundred feet per second range in the TX-200, RWS-52, Hammerli Nova, Remington Summit and the Gamo CFX Royal. Slower speeds translate into better accuracy, as the pellets are more stable traveling well below trans-sonic speed. Another reason these pellets are accurate is because of their uniformity- I've found maybe two or three pellets out of several thousand that were slightly deformed. These pellets seem to shoot as well for me as do the more expensive H&Ns or other match-grade pellets, and they are a bargain.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing- don't knock success.
    What others should know:The skirts fit snug in the CFX because of the gun's tight rotary breech design, and occasionally the edge of the breech will crimp a skirt, causing it to fly. You'll know when it happens, as the gun's report will be louder and you'll clearly see the pellet was a flyer. I don't have this problem in the CFX when using RWS Meisterkugeln's or Diabolos, which seem to have smaller skirts, although at 8.2 grains they're faster and not quite as accurate as the Supermags. The Supermags are also clean to handle, and I get very little residue in the barrels or on my hands. Try 'em, you'll ike 'em.

    Product: UTG Scope Mount Base, Fits RWS Diana 48, 52, 54 & 460 Magnum with TO5 Trigger, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift

    UTG Scope Mount Base, Fits RWS Diana 48, 52, 54 & 460 Magnum with TO5 Trigger, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift
    Review entered on 2011-04-05 12:43:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2011-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This base comes in two versions, each designed for specific RWS Rifles, the model numbers accompanying the literature. I put this on an RWS 52, and there is no more scope shift or creep. The built in droop compensation allows the scope to remain very close to its optical center, without approaching the scope's limits up or down. I mounted a pair of the new Hawke low profile rings with four screws per ring-cap. The Leapers 3 x 9 x 50, a heavy scope, doesn't move. I had it zeroed in at the standard 10 meter aigun distance in five shots.
    Things I would have changed:The front shoulder and the rear stop pin keep this thing anchored in place with zero movement. As an option, offer this part without the front extended 'shoulder' so that it can also be used with rifles other than Diana/ RWS.
    What others should know:I filed the front shoulder off the second unit and put it on the TX-200, and it works beautifully. Torque for the base mount screws is 30 inch/ lbs, Hawkwe ring bases 20 inch/ lbs, and ring-caps 15 inch/ lbs.

    Product: Hawke 1" Rings, Weaver, Low, Black

    Hawke Sport Optics Hawke 1 inch Rings, Weaver, Low, Black
    Review entered on 2011-04-05 12:47:41

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2011-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I used these rings on the Leapers/ UTG droop compensation base unit to mount 50mm scopes on a RWS-52 and the TX-200. The ringcaps have four screws per cap, and the scopes do not move.
    What others should know:These are some of the best rings I've used for heavy scopes on high recoil guns. So far, the scopes haven't moved.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top