Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Crosman Vantage Air Rifle With Nitro Piston

    Crosman Vantage Air Rifle With Nitro Piston Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-01-06 07:58:04

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Steve from USA on 2013-01-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is my first air rifle in a very long time. My previous was a Crosman 140 that I received when I was 7 years old. I was interested in a break barrel for backyard plinking/target shooting and the occasional tree rat extermination. The nitro piston intrigued me, as I had read that springers had funky recoil/jump so when PA had this unit on sale for Christmas, I sprang for it (no pun intended). I think this gun represents a fair value for the money. It is not a high end gun, but fit and finish were about what I expected. I find it easy enough to cock, but my 5' 27 yr old daughter finds it pretty challenging - and she's no wimp. Fiber optic sites are nice and bright, but I had to crank the windage way left to get on target - this might be a problem with how I hold the gun. I subsequently mounted BSA RD30 red dot, but wasn't happy with the accuracy. I then mounted the included Centerpoint scope and I'm happier with the accuracy. I've shot a few 3 shot groups that a dime would cover at about 40'. I get fliers and I'm trying to decide if it's me, the pellets or the gun.
    Things I would have changed:Prior to this, I mostly shot rimfire and centerfire pistols. The first thing that surprised me on this gun was the trigger - it really stinks and feels a mile and a half long. Research quickly pointed me to the GRT III trigger which I ordered and installed - it makes a WORLD of difference. I know some think it's crazy to put a $30 trigger in a $130 gun, but to me it was worthwhile. There are guides around to modify the stock trigger, but I wasn't really up to tearing down the trigger group. The GRT III is completely reversible to stock. I was surprised that the rear sight assembly was essentially all plastic and mine appears canted to the left from horizontal (maybe that's part of the "shoots to the right" issue). Since I was mounting optics, this wasn't all that big of a deal for me. The breech seems to be pretty sharp and some pellets take a little more effort to load. I may polish this some - again, there are guides on the internet. A nicer finish on the stock would be nice. The stain is OK, but the clear coat seems pretty thin.
    What others should know:I tried a variety of pellets in the gun - JSB Exact match, RWS Superdome, Crosman Premium Hollow Point and Crosman EX Destroyers. Best accuracy so far seems to come from the RWS Superdomes. Make a cleaning pull through from string trimmer line. The barrel is amazingly dirty, I assume from the manufacturing process. I believe the gun is not too loud. However my current backstop is 1/2" plywood and it makes a substantial "whack" when hit... so hard to distinguish between that and the gun. I plan on making a "silent" pellet trap. Pellets out of this gun will blow through 3/8" cypress fence boards (oops). I read one account of shooting through 3/4" plywood - I don't believe it, unless maybe it was shot from an inch away. Regardless, there seems to be very good power from the gun. No critters have been shot (yet). I bought this gun for backyard shooting in an urban environment and it fits the bill. Accuracy is mostly good, discounting any fliers. I plan on tinkering with this gun - so it's both a project and a fun gun. I'm finding it quite enjoyable. If you're looking for a decent entry gun with included optics and a nitro piston, this is a good deal!

    Product: Air Venturi Bronco air rifle

    Air Venturi Bronco air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-03-09 22:34:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2013-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Non-magnum springer is easy to cock. Carbine length is easy to handle. After probably 300 rounds, mine is settling in and accuracy is good - hoping it improves to 'excellent'.
    Things I would have changed:Open sights are nothing to brag on, but I mounted a Tech Force scope. The two bladed trigger is a bit odd, but if you shoot a Glock you'll be right at home.
    What others should know:New gun diesels badly. I'm up to around 300 rounds and it still diesels on occasion - I have NOT lubed anything.

    Product: Tech Force 3-9x32 AO Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

    Tech Force 3-9x32 AO Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2013-03-09 22:37:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2013-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Bright and clear image. Easy to adjust for parallax.
    Things I would have changed:Threads on turret covers are a bit rough - almost feels like they may gall.
    What others should know:Not positive how reproducible the "clicks" are on the elevation and windage adjustments.

    Product: Tech Force 1" Rings, Medium, 3/8" Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap

    Tech Force 1 inch Rings, Medium, 3/8 inch Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap
    Review entered on 2013-03-09 22:40:59

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2013-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Mounts seem well made for the cost. Necessary allen wrenches are included.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing - reduce price without sacrificing quality if possible ;-D
    What others should know:Mounted my Tech Force scope on my Air Venturi Bronco perfectly. Huge improvement over the CenterPoint scope included with my Remington Vantage NP.

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-03-09 22:44:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2013-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:My Air Venturi Bronco loves these. They are well made and seem to be very uniform.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Good bang for the buck!

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-05-13 16:18:40

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Steve from USA on 2013-05-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well made, good power in small package.
    Things I would have changed:Hole for scope stop pin. Integrated muzzle brake/sight/cocking assist. Round edges on grip - rather sharp and unpleasant to grip after a while.
    What others should know:I'm still evaluating accuracy. At 5 yards, not bad. Ten yards leaves something to be desired, but it may just be me and not finding the best pellet for the gun. I removed the front site and mounted a 15mm solid steel brake for a cocking assist. NcStar scope used instead of open sights. Overall I'm pretty satisfied, but I would not call it a tack driver (yet).

    Product: Tech Force 1" Rings, Medium, 3/8" Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap

    Tech Force 1 inch Rings, Medium, 3/8 inch Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap
    Review entered on 2014-03-03 07:35:33

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2014-03-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well made, seem to be nicely machined. Four screws on top, two on base for each ring, plus a stop pin - securely mounts your scope and stands up to abuse by spring powered rifles.
    Things I would have changed:Lower prices are always good :) A slot on the bottom of the stop pin could be handy.
    What others should know:A good value. I'm using this to mount a 40mm objective scope and it provides adequate clearance, but I did have to remove the rear sight.

    Product: Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump

    Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-03-07 14:21:12

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2014-03-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is my first PCP air rifle and I find it so much easier to shoot accurately than my Remington Vantage NP gas spring rifle. It's much lighter than the Vantage and certainly doesn't care how you hold it or what you rest it on. The wood stock is pretty nice too.
    Things I would have changed:The overall finish of the gun is good, but not great. There are machining marks of all kinds and the finish on the stock is nothing to brag on. However, in balance with the cost of the gun/pump combo, it represents a good value.
    What others should know:The gun is fairly loud for an air gun. You may want to investigate solutions. Also the breech screws on mine were loose. For one of them you need a .050" hex key. You might want to check them out before getting too frustrated with changing POI. There are quite a few mods you can do to this gun if you are so inclined.

    Product: Crosman Premier Heavy .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Domed, 1250ct

    Crosman Premier Heavy .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Domed, 1250ct
    Review entered on 2014-03-27 17:51:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2014-03-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good value for the money. Very consistent product.
    Things I would have changed:Lower pricing would be nice :)
    What others should know:These are the most accurate pellets I've found for my .177 Disco. Too bad a wad cutter version is not available.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top