Date: 25/9/2016 5:40
0

Customer Reviews by Caracara from USA

Winchester 1029 Air Rifle Combo

Winchester 1029 Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-03-11 00:44:25

3.0 3.0

3.0 3.0

4.0 4.0

By Caracara from USA on 2013-03-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I really liked this gun's ambidextrious design with the Thumbhole in the Polymer stock and the flip up thumb safety. The included scope's optics were decent.

Things I would have changed: It was a little too loud, to only fire 1000 fps. The trigger pull was atrocious.(Bad) Specifically, it is long, heavy, and mushy, as though the plastic trigger is very flexible. Also cocking it is about 30% harder than my other Breakbarrel with the same fps rating. The overall length of the gun is a little too long to fit in my canvas case without removing the shoulder pad from the buttstock. I don't like the omission of sights.

What others should know: I'm not a gunsmith, so I can't tell you anything technical about this experience, but the gun shot fairly well, For a little while. The scope was not even ballparked in, and had to be shimmed up in the back ring. So, I fired about 50 shots of plinking and sighting in the scope, and the cocking action got cranky and difficult. Then, the last time I cocked it, the compression discharged as the barrel reached the end of the charging stroke. After that, it would not cock or fire or reset or nothing. I am sooo happy that this happened within the first week of purchasing this gun. I will return it tommorrow.

Gamo Bull Whisper Extreme Air Rifle

Gamo Bull Whisper Extreme Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-05-17 22:26:19

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Caracara from USA on 2013-05-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I like the Competition style stock and grip. It makes a quiet 'thunk' sound with 7 gr lead ammo. It feels light and is perfectly balanced. So Powerful some shots bust through 3/4 birch plywood. The 3-9 40mm AO scope has very good optics.

Things I would have changed: The scope rings and set-up.

What others should know: I've had this .177 Bull Whisper EXTREME for 2 months and I am finally getting the scope zeroed in. It is very accurate at my normal range of 35 yards. The shock is fierce and I have to pull it into my shoulder to subdue it. The original scope set-up has a set of short rings on top of an add-on 3/8 rail on top of the piston chamber. I overtorqued the screw through the ring-cap. So I replaced the rings with NC STAR high rings, and removed the extra rail to put the scope down closer to the line of fire. I had to install a stop pin in the back one to stop the scope from walking toward the buttstock. The claimed cocking effort of 41 lbs seems heavy at first, but I got used to it. My 11 year old son can operate and fire this gun with no problems. Alloy pellets are fun because of the cracking sonic boom that breaks about 30 feet from the muzzle, but I can't always predict where they will end up. I think this gun shoots best with 7.9 gr. Crossman Premium Hollow-Points. 10.5 gr Crossman Ultra-Magnums work well also if you sight for the extra weight. They did break through 3/4" birch plywood I pasted my Shoot-N-See onto. 13.4 gr JSB Monster Diablo pellets cause a big drop in fps. GAMO Tomahawks are not consistent enough and some of them break sonic. I shot my first tree rat yesterday. It was in the scope one second, and gone the next. Go Ahead, Spoil Yourself with the best Break-Barrel

Benjamin Trail NP, Nitro Piston, air rifle combo

Benjamin Trail NP, Nitro Piston, air rifle combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2014-09-23 02:44:55

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Caracara from USA on 2014-09-23
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: The solid stock has nicely Knurled hand holds. It is so totally quiet. I can shoot between the neighbors house and mine and they don't notice. The built in Weaver rail makes it easier* to mount a scope. The cocking effort feels like it is about 30 lbs.

Things I would have changed: I'm not sure I like the balance. It seems to be heavier towards the butt stock. There is a significant [Barrel Droop] on mine so that I had to shim up the rear of the scope to get in the ballpark. Also, I don't like that I am addicted to shooting it. I'm not getting any work done. I'll have to loan it to my kid brother. He's much more responsible than I am.

What others should know: If I needed to hit something hard over fifty yards away, I'd be grabbing my GAMO .177 Bull Whisper Extreme, not this. Closer ranges? Sure. I like throwing the .22 caliber lead around.

Crosman Destroyer .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Pointed, 250ct

Crosman Destroyer .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Pointed, 250ct
Review entered on 2014-10-05 09:57:34

2.0 2.0

3.0 3.0

3.0 3.0

By Caracara from USA on 2014-10-05
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Soft lead mushrooms very well on impact.

Things I would have changed: Bigger front diameter.

What others should know: The only thing these destroy is my confidence in my accuracy. They DO NOT shoot well from my GAMO Bull Whisper Extreme .177 springer.

Gamo PBA Bullet, .22 Cal, 14.4 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 100ct

Gamo PBA Bullet, .22 Cal, 14.4 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 100ct
Review entered on 2014-12-26 10:11:00

2.0 2.0

1.0 1.0

1.0 1.0

By Caracara from USA on 2014-12-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Pretty to look at.

Things I would have changed: Make the head just a tad smaller. It does not fit easily in my Benjamin Trail NP .22 I don't like pressing it into the barrel with force. These are costlier than .22 long.

What others should know: Makes a pretty paperweight.

Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro

Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-04-24 00:17:27

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Caracara from USA on 2015-04-24
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Solid Synthetic stock. Indexed magazines work very well with the right pellets. Single pump makes for a fast five shot string once you get the rhythm going. Very accurate at 12 Meters. 5 shots under a penny. Great for teaching youth marksmanship at summer camp.

Things I would have changed: The original sights aren't good. The front post is okay but a little wide, while the rear fiber green dots are spaced far to far apart to give you any accuracy. You can get a new $129 package with auxiliary peep sights you install yourself. I recommend that. They install on the front and rear dovetail rails. Since I got mine used with the junky sights I removed them and put an old 3-9X32 Tasco scope that works pretty well.

What others should know: My regular go to pellets for my break barrels do not work in this gun. I found some .177 8.0 gr. Ruger hollow points that I can't find anywhere now, but they are the best pellets that I have tried. They look the same as H & N 7.1 gr. Hollow Points.

H&N Field Target Trophy Green .177 Cal, Lead-Free, 5.56 Grains, Domed, 300ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Trophy Green .177 Cal, Lead-Free, 5.56 Grains, Domed, 300ct
Review entered on 2015-05-24 08:17:26

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Caracara from USA on 2015-05-24
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.02 ratings

Things I liked: Clean smooth consistent lead free pellets. Shoot very predictably with tight groups using a lower powered Pumper or Break Barrel or pistol. We are using them in the DAISY 953 Target Pro Rifle that shoots at 540 FPS. If I arrange the target so it is fastened to a cardboard box with another layer of cardboard and then a soft sided suitcase inside I can gather the pellets from the box and they are not deformed and able to be reused. The alloy is harder than lead.

Things I would have changed: ??? Can't think of anything I would change. There is a version that is 6.64 gr. that might be heave enough for a more powerful springer but I haven't tried them.

What others should know: Cost is 4cents per pellet if you buy 3 tins and get one free from this site.

Gamo Match .22 Cal, 15.43 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct

Gamo Match .22 Cal, 15.43 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct
Review entered on 2015-10-09 06:23:44

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Caracara from USA on 2015-10-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: These shoot great out of my .22 Benjamin Trail NP and Benjamin 392 rifles. nice snug fit in the barrels. Hard hitting with a SMACK on the target or prey.

Things I would have changed: Put some more exotic sounding brand label on them because GAMO gets no respect when it comes to expected quality of pellets in the airgun community.

What others should know: They hunt well and I would not be ashamed to use these in a competition. It might take a few shots to season your barrel.

Daisy Powerline 901

Daisy Powerline 901 Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-10-18 22:44:33

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Caracara from USA on 2015-10-18
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I like the build quality if this little rifle. It doesn't feel cheap at all. There is a huge difference between it and the 880 or a Crosman. Yes, The receiver is a polymer plastic, but it feels like carbon fiber, and my scope mounts to it pretty securely. It has pretty good power and you can pump it less to decrease velocity and noise level. The sights are pretty decent but my eyes require that I use a scope. The Trigger is a little stiff but it has a short pull. It resets when the bolt is pulled back.

Things I would have changed: Okay, The parts are very good, but the barrel needs to be more secure in the shroud. I had a shot pattern that made a counter clockwise spiral. So I pulled the front sight off and put a big gob of JB Weld in behind it and popped it back on and left the gun standing up on it's barrel overnight. It really stabilized it. I thing the loading port is a little small for large hands like mine. It might be nice to have a moderator to reduce noise. I would like to see them make one with more power, maybe even .22 cal. Why not? I think someone should give us another option than the Benjamin 392. Yes, the 392 is a cool gun, but it is so old school and it doesn't scope very well. Give us something else, Please.

What others should know: Don't be turned off by people saying it feels cheap just because they consider all plastic to be cheap. It has potential and costs so little that you can afford to tinker with it a little. After I got the barrel secure I put a cheap GAMO scope on it, but soon decided that it deserves a decent scope. I put my Bushnell 4X32 on it because I don't expect to try scooting over 30 yards with this Daisy 901 Multi-Pump Air Rifle. I tried about 8 different pellets from 5.2 gr. alloys to 10.5 gr. lead and the best groups are definitely from the GAMO Tomahawk 7.9 gr. pointed hollow points. They also drop into the chamber nicely while some of the others are a little tricky to load, especially the lighter ones. This is a FUN FUN GUN. Get One!

Crosman Redtail Air Rifle

Crosman Redtail Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-07-24 11:41:49

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Caracara from USA on 2016-07-24
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: This gun has the same barrel and piston as the Benjamin Genesis. The stock is not the same but a similar stock comes on the Steel Eagle. I have a .22 caliber Genesis and it is my favorite airgun and have had over 15 other air rifles. The barrel really cuts the noise. Is it accurate? It would not be my favorite if it were not accurate.

Things I would have changed: It might be nice to have some iron sights for this gun. Even if it was just a place to mount some sights and you can buy them as an option.

What others should know: I have been able to try different pellets in my Genesis with the same barrel (.22) and I have found that it really does like the Crosman pellets such as the pointed and the hollow point. It even shoots accurately with the Destroyer 14.3 grain pointed hollow point. That is a good pellet for small game and pest control. It also likes the Ruger pointed 1.1gram pellets.

Navigation