Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Otis 085 Ultra Bore Solvent, 2 oz.

    Otis 085 Ultra Bore Solvent, 2 oz.
    Review entered on 2013-11-18 22:11:29

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-11-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Has proven to be a good solvent/cleaner/degreaser/lubricant
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, its’ been tried and tested and generally recognized as an outstanding product
    What others should know:Better value if you buy the larger 2 oz bottle, over the 0.5 oz size, especially if you have two or more air rifles. It has no shelf life expiration. Also easier to handle. I’ve used this product for firearms long before getting involved with air rifles, and it is readily available at the big box sporting goods retailers.

    Product: Ballistol Lube, Aerosol Spray, 6 oz.

    Ballistol Lube, Aerosol Spray, 6 oz.
    Review entered on 2013-11-18 22:18:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-11-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Product appears to work well as a rust and corrosion inhibitor; have not tried it as a solvent for cleaning yet. Enjoys a long following of both civilian and military users.
    Things I would have changed:offer a non-aerosol option on this site
    What others should know:Aerosol delivery is fine, but can be a bit wasteful. One of its' attributes is a distinctive scent. I largely ignore it, but our cat gets really excited when I toss used cleaning patches on the floor.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 250ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2013-11-18 22:28:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-11-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very accurate in both my RWS 48 and RWS 54. A clean, pure lead pellet that fits snugly but not difficult at all to load . Pyramyd packs their pellet tins in foam cribs when shipping, which is outstanding quality assurance, provided of course the OEM does their part.
    Things I would have changed:Fewer damaged pellet skirts. Without lots being 100% defect free, JSB has the opportunity for tighter specifications/sampling and inspection in its manufacturing process, particularly between pellet casting and sorting. Skirts do not get bent inside their tins. Damage occurs before/as they are packed. They should be working to constantly improve their processes and control protocols.
    What others should know:Quality control is fair relative to competitively sized and priced pellets. I received two- 250 ct. tins, with a combined defect count of 18 defective pellets (bent skirts). In the quality arena, that defect count equates to a short term Six Sigma quality level of 3.3 They should be able to deliver much better. As an aside, I routinely transfer pellets from their tins to the plastic containers I have left over that held rolls of 3-M electrical tape. The plastic is soft on the pellet skirts, and there is no rattle when I tuck a smaller quantity of pellets and their new container in my hip pocket. Also easy to open/close. To me it’s odd why manufacturers don’t use plastic containers in the first place.

    Product: RWS Superdome .22 Cal, 14.5 Grains, Domed, 250ct

    RWS Superdome .22 Cal, 14.5 Grains, Domed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2013-11-18 22:41:07

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-11-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very, very little. These pellets ( at least the ones not discarded as defective) generally grouped poorly in both my RWS 48 and RWS 54. At 14.5 gr they are probably a little light for these rifles. In contrast, under the same shooting conditions, JSB 15.9 gr and 18.1 gr. were consistently accurate, yielding tight groups.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control: RWS should invest in some type of quality initiative beyond “I hope these work” or “It’s good ‘nuf” if it wants to compete with the “big boys” in the pellet industry. The quantity of unusable pellets in the factory sealed tin I received was bewildering.
    What others should know:This review is not exactly timely (purchase was back in April) and is leaning against popular opinion, but here’s my takeaway. Out of a tin of 250 ct. pellets, there were 40 defectives (bent skirts, and worse). Though one tin of pellets is hardly a sufficient sample size to base any conclusions, a stand alone short term Six Sigma quality level for this lot, if not representative of the entire batch, would be 2.5. Terrible. Shame on RWS or their designated manufacturer. Secondly, I don’t think it is wise to assume that an RWS branded pellet is/was designed to be optimized for its use in an RWS branded air rifle. These pellets may be accurate in SOME model RWS rifles, and not nearly so in other RWS models. Like wise, an RWS branded pellet may work better in a competitors rifle than any other brand. I think these pellets should be ranked for what they are, an inexpensive generic 14 gr domed pure lead pellet. On its own merits, I would not have bought this pellet in the first place except that it carried the RWS logo, and I had just recently bought an RWS rifle. I certainly wouldn’t buy Ford tires just because I had bought a Ford pick-up.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 20:30:56

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very accurate in both my RWS 48 and RWS 54. A clean, pure lead pellet that fits snugly but not difficult at all to load . Pyramyd packs their pellet tins in foam cribs when shipping, which is outstanding quality assurance, provided of course the OEM does their part.
    Things I would have changed:Fewer damaged pellet skirts. Without lots being 100% defect free, JSB has the opportunity for tighter specifications/sampling and inspection in its manufacturing process, particularly between pellet casting and sorting. Skirts do not get bent inside their tins. Damage occurs before/as they are packed. JSB should be working to constantly improve their processes and control protocols.
    What others should know:Quality control is fair relative to competitively sized and priced pellets.. My tin of 500 ct. yielded 17 defective pellets (bent skirts). In the quality arena, that defect count equates to a short term Six Sigma quality level of 3.35 They should be able to deliver much better. As an aside, I routinely transfer pellets from their tins to the plastic containers I have left over that held rolls of 3-M electrical tape. The plastic is soft on the pellet skirts, and there is no rattle when I tuck a smaller quantity of pellets and their new container in my hip pocket. Also easy to open/close. To me it’s odd why manufacturers don’t use plastic containers in the first place.

    Product: RWS Lock Down 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, 11mm Dovetail, Barrel Droop Compensation

    RWS Lock Down 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, 11mm Dovetail, Barrel Droop Compensation
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 20:38:30

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:At last RWS has done SOMETHING to acknowledge and address droop in its springers. Fit, finish and workmanship are all top shelf.
    Things I would have changed:Give it four screws per cap, instead of just two.
    What others should know:Works as described; use blue loctite when installing. Have it mounted on my RWS 48. 1 piece mounts are not my first choice in mounts, as they limit your options for positioning a scope. But simple is good, too, and this mount does keep things simple.

    Product: UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift

    UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 20:44:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good fit, form and finish. It is made in China, as per the label markings, and it is and does as advertised. I have it mounted on my RWS 54. Though I didn’t have much barrel droop to begin with, it resolved a secondary need by sufficiently elevating a 4-16X50 scope above the loading port. And consequently only low mount rings were needed. So issues of both barrel droop and scope clearance were addressed with a single rail adapter.
    Things I would have changed:nothing has come up so far
    What others should know:Comes in a blister pack with wrenches and spare screws. It is only 4.75” in length, so it is shorter than the T06 dovetail base it mounts onto. Not an issue, just a point of note. I believe the numerical markings on the top are nominal reference points; use them for comparative measurement only.

    Product: UTG 1" Rings, Low, Weaver/Picatinny, Quick Lock

    UTG 1 inch Rings, Low, Weaver/Picatinny, Quick Lock
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 20:49:33

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good fit, form and finish. Tape on the inside of the rings for better grip to the scope tube.
    Things I would have changed:I am not that enthusiastic about the twist lock knobs. Although they may be aesthetically better looking, and require no tools to tighten, they are larger than traditional hex style heads, and awkwardly “stand out” of proportion to the rest of the mount. Would prefer the hex style screws.
    What others should know:saddle height is 10 mm

    Product: Tech Force 3-9x32 AO Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

    Tech Force 3-9x32 AO Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2013-12-19 19:07:00

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Simple, inexpensive. Came as part of a combo package with an RWS 48. I won’t cry should it fall off the table or gets crushed if I step on it.
    Things I would have changed:If the scope is truly a quality-built product, give it a lifetime limited warranty to enhance its value proposition.
    What others should know:This is a basic scope, entry level, get the job done type scope. It will give you a baseline from which to choose your next scope when you decide to get serious about sighting systems.

    Product: Leapers UTG 4-16x50 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

    Leapers UTG 4-16x50 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2013-12-19 19:18:38

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very, very nice scope. I have it mounted on my RWS 54 in .22 cal, using a UTG droop mount (DNT06) and low UTG weaver scope rings ( low rings were ordered separately, high rings come with this scope). I’m using this scope solely for hunting between ten and forty yards, so the mil dot feature has become a real targeting asset for me. Sight picture is clear, even under shady trees and early evening hours. I doubt I will use the illuminated reticle very often, but it’s there. Comes with the sun shade, dust covers, allen wrenches, et.al. Leapers knows not only how to make good scopes, but thinks about the customer needs during/after the installation as well. Add a Lifetime Warranty and you have both customer satisfaction and peace of mind.
    Things I would have changed:I wouldn’t change anything. Do your homework before buying any scope. Tom Gaylord has several articles on scopes and scope tips in the Pyramyd archives. You should check them out. If you first consider your needs rather than your wants, you’ll find a Leapers scope here to fit those needs. Don’t over buy a scope, but buy one just a little bit better than what you think you’ll need. Then there won’t be anything to change. That’s how I figured out this scope was a better fit for me than the Hawke costing over twice as much.
    What others should know:Comes with high mount weaver rings (20 mm saddle height); make sure that’s what you need. I had the inclination to contact Leepers via e-mail with some questions about this and two other scopes I was considering to purchase. The response was immediate and informed as to choosing the best scope for an air rifle. These folks at Leepers are really on their game. I don’t anticipate any issues with this or any other Leepers product.

    Product: Diana RWS 48 Air Rifle, TO6 Trigger

    Diana RWS 48 Air Rifle, TO6 Trigger Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-19 19:37:10

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This is my second air rifle, after my bumpy first foray into air gunning with a Ruger Air Hawk... Uhhhg :( I have a challenging problem with squirrels in my backyard garden and orchard, so .22 cal was the logical and recommended choice. I have owned it now eight months, and so far it has done the job to which it has been assigned very well. It’s light enough to carry and hold for hours in the field, and if my artillery hold is operating, I normally get one-shot kills out to thirty yards. The 48 is every bit an air “ranch rifle”, much like my Ruger Mini-14 is in the firearms world. Fast, powerful and deadly. The side cocking feature was an unexpected delight to experience. Break barrels are nice, underlevers are better, but side cockers are the best, I think. You don’t have to get “under” the rifle to cock it. Imagine not having to get “under” your car to change the oil. Very satisfied with this rifle. So much so I decided to buy an RWS 54 . Using the 54 from a rest off my back porch, or out the bedroom window has all my close-in work covered. The 48 for field work. Both use the same basic platform, so switching between the two is effortless. Airgunners find they often need more than one gun. These two could be called the “Dynamic Duo”.
    Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing. I’m fat and happy with both the rifle and the support of Pyramyd Air and the staff. Don’t fret about the plain looking stock. It’s well finished in what I believe is polyurethane. At least that is what I used to touch up some scratches I put on my stock. Some folks here claimed the stock was too smooth and slippery, but that helps the with artillery hold a lot… a light, loose hold, remember?
    What others should know:My best groups come from both 15.9 gr and 18.1 gr JSB pellets. RWS 14.5 gr Superdomes were disappointing with their inconsistent grouping. With only these three pellet samples, I would only cautiously conclude that the heavier pellets work better with the 48, given its higher power rating. As such, .22 cal would be the better choice over .177. I recommend the UTG droop mount and low weaver rings. But I shot over 20 squirrels during the break in period using only the open sites. So don’t worry about jumping into just any scope right away. Your needs will determine your scope choices. Tom Gaylord has several good articles and blogs on choosing the right scope. Check them all out on this site. Many of the comments below me I found to be persuasive, sage, and accurate. Read on. But I think the best thing of all is that this rifle can deliver near PCP level power and performance without all the extra baggage attached….air tanks, gauges, hoses, and then having to buy a chrony just to see if the thing is even shooting right or not. Simple is as simple does, or something like that :)

    Product: Diana RWS 54 Air King

    Diana RWS 54 Air King Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-19 19:50:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This RWS 54 was an addition to my armory, and a supplement to my RWS 48, with both in .22 cal. The recoilless system dispenses with the restrictions placed on the shooter having to coordinate an artillery hold with different shooting stances. Like going from driving a stick shift to driving with an automatic transmission. I have owned this rifle about 3 months now. It’s shouldering a Leepers 4-16X50 for the time being, above a DNT06 rail adapter. Like with my 48, JSB 15.9 gr and 18.1 gr seem to work quite well and am getting sub 0.75 inch groups at 30 yards with ease. I can do better, but this rifle shoots so smoothly it’s made me a little lazy in my follow through. Both pellets dismiss squirrels quickly and effectively at the same distances. And thus far no squirrel has reported back to me as having been able to discern any difference between being popped with a Jumbo or a Jumbo Heavy. The 54 is getting the job done.
    Things I would have changed:Seems the only thing anyone can find to complain about this rifle is the weight. It is somewhat heavier than my RWS 48, but quite honestly, the recoilless attribute more than compensates for any inconvenience in weight. I have found myself unconsciously grabbing the 54 for field work when my 48 is right beside it. The negative issue concerning weight is sophistry. But if weight really was a deal breaker, perhaps Diana could follow the technological lead of Smith & Wesson. An RWS 54X. All scandium and titanium construction. Synthetic walnut stock. And now at just 4 pounds, 11.2 oz., probably pushing around $4K. And I would probably buy one. The 54 is just that good :)
    What others should know:Like many, I looked VERY CLOSELY at the Air Arms TX200 before ordering this rifle. The hype and hyperbole surrounding the TX is tough to ignore. But my decision hinged on two things Tom Gaylord mentioned must be considered when choosing an air rifle. WHAT are you going to use the rifle for, and HOW do you intend to use it. Honestly address these two parameters and your rifle of choice will deliver you a George Zimmer style guarantee. The 54 is at its best in .22 cal. given the robust power it has. It weighs in at 9.9 pounds, slightly heavier than the TX by about 0.6 pounds, or 9.6 oz, (about 6.5% heavier than a TX; about 18% heavier than my RWS 48). It’s a 22 foot pound gun in .22, while a TX is about 16 foot pounds in its’ favored and optimized .177 cal. platform. The 54 is recoilless and not hold-sensitive. It has a lifetime warranty. It’s accurate. So much so Tom Gaylord hinted the 54 in .22 had out shot his own TX in .177. (blog, 5-11-2011) The .177 TX is an excellent choice for competitive shooting. It comes complete with a gorgeous stock, immaculate bluing, and credentialed bragging rights. The 54 excels in .22 as a small game and pest control solution. Rock solid German design and engineering, ergonomic side lever cocking, adj open sights (better to have ’em, than not). The RWS 54 is the Chuck Norris of fighting air rifles. A famous gun scribe once mused, ‘There is no “One Gun”. If there was, everyone would have it.’ If that is so, then where’s the comparison?
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top