Product: Daisy Air Rifle Sleeve, 40" Long

Daisy Air Rifle Sleeve, 40 inch Long
Review entered on 2011-07-16 16:19:45

Overall rating:1.0 1.0

Value for money:1.0 1.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-07-16
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Nothing, really.
Things I would have changed:Make and model! In other words, buy a different case. Yes the price is low but that doesn't help since I was not able to even get the rifle into the bag before the zipper broke. It's made of cheap, thin metal and snapped off with only medium pressure trying to open it. I would not have bothered to return it, but I had another item to return anyway. Otherwise I'd have just eaten the $9 loss and tossed the bag in the trash.
What others should know:I'm replacing it with a better model. A bit more money but at least it will be able to get the rifle into it.

Product: Ruger Air Hawk Combo

Ruger Air Hawk Combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2011-07-23 09:22:20

Overall rating:3.0 3.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-07-23
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
1.01 rating
 
Things I liked:Nice feel, good velocity, lots of power, accurate. I liked the scope - even though it's an economy scope it works well.
Things I would have changed:Mine had a bad finish. I sent it back and while I was at it, I had it replaced with a Crosman Nitro Titan GP because the Air Hawk had such a strong kick and was quite loud even at subsonic velocity. The works go off with a mechanical BANG from inside the rifle in addition to the usual sound of air releasing/expanding from the muzzle you get with an airgun. Two bangs in one. I guess that's normal for a springer? Use hearing protection. Cocking requires a strong arm, at least before it's broken in.
What others should know:Too loud for me but good if you like a lot of BANG when your gun fires. Also good if you like a lot of hiting power in an affordable air rifle. Use light pellets and you'll get the sonic boom as well, simulating a firearm. Personally I like the quieter, lower velocity version of the .22 Crosman Nitro better.

Product: Stoeger Arms Soft Rifle Case, Fits Scoped or Unscoped Rifles, 48" Long

Stoeger Arms Soft Rifle Case, Fits Scoped or Unscoped Rifles, 48 inch Long
Review entered on 2011-07-23 09:24:04

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-07-23
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Beautiful case. Sturdy.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:It's a good deal.

Product: Tech Force Match .177 Cal, 8.27 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

Tech Force Match .177 Cal, 8.27 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
Review entered on 2011-07-23 09:27:37

Overall rating:3.0 3.0

Value for money:3.0 3.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-07-23
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Lots of ammo cheap. Shoot freely!
Things I would have changed:A lot of loose lead dust. Be ready to clean out your barrel frequently.
What others should know:I'd rather spend a few extra bucks knowing a better quality pellet is cleaner and better for my guns.

Product: Marksman 1010 Classic

Marksman 1010 Classic Air gun
Review entered on 2011-08-02 13:49:38

Overall rating:2.0 2.0

Value for money:3.0 3.0

Accuracy:2.0 2.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-02
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:The price.
Things I would have changed:The sights are way off and can't be adjusted. Most pellets jam. The gun does not have the oomph to drive pellets through the barrel. Use BBs only.
What others should know:OK for plinking around, shooting at cans but not for target shooting or accuracy practice. A good choice if you are on a budget and need a gun cheap.

Product: Leapers UTG Accushot Pellet & BB Trap, Ballistic Curtains, Paper Targets, Steel Backer

Leapers UTG Accushot Pellet & BB Trap, Ballistic Curtains, Paper Targets, Steel Backer
Review entered on 2011-08-02 13:51:31

Overall rating:4.0 4.0

Value for money:4.0 4.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-02
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Does the job well.
Things I would have changed:Nothing, fine as it is.
What others should know:Nice for shooting low velocity stuff indoors.

Product: Winchester 3-9x32 Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1" Tube, 3/8" Rings

Winchester 3-9x32 Rifle Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1 inch Tube, 3/8 inch Rings
Review entered on 2011-08-02 13:55:28

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-02
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:The price is right, and it does a great job.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:I've seen other reviews (incLuing video reviews) on budget scopes and most are not overly favorable, but I love this one. Sharp (although not razor sharp) with repeatable accuracy. I am really happy with this scope, it's just what I wanted at a price I wanted. Unless you have exquisite taste is optics, you found your budget scope here.

Product: Crosman SSP .22 Cal, 9.5 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 250ct

Crosman SSP .22 Cal, 9.5 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 250ct
Review entered on 2011-08-02 13:57:26

Overall rating:4.0 4.0

Value for money:4.0 4.0

Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-02
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:A pleasure to handle and shoot.
Things I would have changed:I wish they'd manufacture lead-free wad cutters.
What others should know:I may never go back to lead.

Product: Crosman 1399 Custom Shoulder Stock, Fits Many Crosman Pistols

Crosman 1399 Custom Shoulder Stock, Fits Many Crosman Pistols
Review entered on 2011-08-02 13:59:16

Overall rating:3.0 3.0

Value for money:3.0 3.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-02
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:It does what is says it will do.
Things I would have changed:Make it a little longer. The sights were in my face.

Product: Plano Gun Guard 300S Soft Rifle Case, Hunter Green

Plano Gun Guard 300S Soft Rifle Case, Hunter Green
Review entered on 2011-08-06 10:02:08

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-06
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Great price for such a sturdy case. The side pocket is large enough for my Crosman 1322 so the case serves double duty.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:Excellent quality and looks better in person than in the photo.

Product: Crosman Titan GP Nitro Piston - Lower Velocity

Crosman Titan GP Nitro Piston - Lower Velocity Air rifle
Review entered on 2011-08-06 10:29:38

Overall rating:4.0 4.0

Value for money:4.0 4.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-06
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
3.01 rating
 
Things I liked:Great feel, shoulders nice, accurate, and beautiful wood finish. I watched some video reviews, one claimed it was not as quiet as advertised, but measuring the sound waveform envelope, there is less audio energy and it is much quieter to the ear. Kudos Crosman, I can shoot in my townhouse without bothering my next door neighbor! The same reviewer also said it did not have the velocity advertised, but mine does exceed the advertised velocity by about 10%. Velocity is in a good range - fast enough to be accurate but not so fast it will be a problem to contain pellets in the indoor range; and it won't break the sound barrier so will not get loud that way either. The velocity is just right. The weight is just right for me too (I'm 6 feet and 210 lbs.) and balances nicely. Kick is minimal so the artillery hold usually required for accurate shooting with a break barrel is not necessary - also you don't have to worry about your scope being springer compatible. I love the nitro piston! Cocking is smooth, not the very very smoothest but quite smooth. And the lower cocking force is nice too. I think in this price range the mechanical quality is above expectations.
Things I would have changed:A model with fiber optic front and rear sights would be really nice.
What others should know:If you're looking in the economy springer range, try to part with a bit more cash and get the Nitro Piston model. It has all the advantages of a springer with fewer of the drawbacks. I was hesitant to spend this much on a Crosman, but wanted these features on a budget - and it turned out to be a great decision.

Product: Crosman 2100B Air Rifle

Crosman 2100B Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2011-08-22 18:08:13

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Accuracy:5.0 5.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-22
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
4.3333301544189453 ratings
 
Things I liked:I had one of these back in the 80's and was dumb enough to sell it a few years ago, since I hadn't used it in quite a while. Then the bug bit and I missed it so got a new one. NEVER SELL YOUR 2100! It's accurate, feels good, shoulders nice, and is nicely controllable - pump it up as needed for short-range indoor/outdoor target practice, or give it more for long-range practice and plinking. I've been shooting nice tight groups from 25 feet with a 4x scope.
Things I would have changed:Go back to all metal parts like the original. Although, with just some plastic in the modern version, it is still sturdy.
What others should know:Accurate with domes, hollow-points, wad cutters, and cones. I got 676 fps at 10 pumps with Crossman SSP 4.0 gr. hollow points. I prefer to keep it at 8 pumps or less, except for chrony testing. There's little to be gained with those last two pumps, and keeping the pressure down a bit could keep your gun healthy for a long time. My last one was 20 years old when I sold it and still strong. This one will be with me for the next 20 or more. Not parting with this one.

Product: Marksman 1010 Classic

Marksman 1010 Classic Air gun
Review entered on 2011-08-31 13:00:33

Overall rating:1.0 1.0

Value for money:2.0 2.0

Accuracy:1.0 1.0

  By Bob from USA on 2011-08-31
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Shoots high at 30 feet. I filed down the rear sight to try to remedy this, but it is still high. 6-inch groups are not possible. Also, even light-weight pellets jam in the barrel due to inadequate air pressure to move them through and out. BBs do fire, but no accuracy. This is a gun for firing aimlessly at nothing, that is exactly what you'll hit.
Things I would have changed:Put an adjustable sight on it. That would at least make it an entry-level BB pistol.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top