Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: H&N Baracuda Hunter .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Hollowpoint, 400ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Hollowpoint, 400ct
    Review entered on 2012-10-09 21:02:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Brendan from USA on 2012-10-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Incredible consistency. Under a microscope (35X zoom), I couldn't see any flaws in the pellets. Expands incredibly well; when fired into clay the pellet deformed into a perfect ring, as if it rolled back onto the skirt! Incredible energy transfer for a 4.5mm pellet. These things are heavy enough to fly fairly straight on a windy Michigan day; I was actually struggling to stop myself from overcompensating!
    Things I would have changed:Decrease the diameter a tiny bit. Can be a tight fit on some guns.
    What others should know:On my guns, these were a *very* tight fit; I got a blister trying to push these flush into the bore. These also hit extremely hard compared to standard 7.9gr pellets, so check your backstop often for extra wear!

    Product: Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo

    Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-11-03 16:03:02

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brendan from USA on 2012-11-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This thing is quite the tack driver. From benchrest I'm able to put 8 shots into one .22cal hole at around 10m. The build quality isn't bad for the price. As far as energy output goes, this thing shatters zinc pennies from 15yds away with enough force to scatter the shards around my yard.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger needed tweaking right off the bat, The stock's finish is pretty fragile,and every screw needed more loctite (including the break bolt). My barrel turned out to be a drooper, so the stock scope rings are useless.
    What others should know:If you're willing to put effort into getting to know this gun, it's shortcomings are easily worked around. That being said, don't count on the bundled scope fitting your gun 100%; My brother had no trouble with barrel droop on his .177 Optimus, but I can't even shim the mount on mine. If you don't mind open sights though, it's a *very* precise shooter. I've put at least 1400 pellets through it, and I've thoroughly enjoyed every shot so far.

    Product: Gamo Pro Magnum .177 Cal, 7.8 Grains, Pointed, 750ct

    Gamo Pro Magnum .177 Cal, 7.8 Grains, Pointed, 750ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-10 13:22:23

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Brendan from USA on 2012-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They're cheap and plentiful, and come in a nice screw-on lid tin. Tin can take a beating.
    Things I would have changed:Skirt depth! There is hardly a head on these. It's less like a lead ball with a tail, and more like a lead tube with a crimped end. The thickness of the skirt makes these *incredibly* fragile, so you have to be careful when taking them out of the tin, and hope for the best when seating it in the bore without a tool.
    What others should know:For the price, these are worth having around, but don't buy them if you intend to do anything more than shoot pop cans in the backyard.

    Product: Makarov CO2 BB Pistol

    Legends Makarov CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-05-10 21:00:07

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brendan from USA on 2013-05-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The way this gun feels in your hand is absolutely incredible for a sub-$100 gun. The metal gives this gun a nice hefty weight without being tiring to shoot. Very accurate for having such a short smoothbore barrel!
    Things I would have changed:Not much. The slide had some play, but is fixable with some electrical tape. The magazine is a little prone to getting friction locked in the handle, necessitating a little lubing/smoothing out. The CO2 puncture needle and seal can be picky about the cartridge used; Crosman powerlets from my local stores are hit or miss, but most work well enough with a drop of oil on the tip. The paint is prone to chipping, but that's forgivable for what this gun costs.
    What others should know:To get the ironsights on target I had to flip the slide return spring around and add some electrical tape around the barrel, similar to how you'd shim a scope. After an hour or so of tweaking, it's shooting dead center. This gun definitely prefers Daisy's BBs over the copperheads; the mechanism gets jammed by the rough surfaces and occasional pits on the copperheads, making the trigger pull feel rough or causing it to jam entirely. Haven't had that problem in the last 4000 Daisy BBs I've put through it. Make sure you stock up on CO2! Even though it gets 5 mags/cartridge, I've been burning through them pretty fast.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top