Date: 17/8/2017 2:14
0

Customer Reviews by Wacky Wayne from USA

Avenger 1100

Air Venturi Avenger 1100 Air rifle
Review entered on 2008-01-22 12:43:20

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Wacky Wayne from USA on 2008-01-22
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Everything; accurate, accurate, accurate, size, weight, balance, finish, design, quality and PRICE. This is my second mendoza, (this is just like the mendoza 600, a little cheaper) I got the 2000 7 pellet magazine model and loved it but my friend loved it also, so i sold it to him and got this one with a leapers 3-9x32. This is a super nice combo, Tom's articles on the mendoza 2000 and 200 sold me. This scope is so good in poor light, super crisp, the best adjustments maybe at any price, and on top of this rifle, with the RIGHT pellets, my friends and I are getting 3/4" groups at 60 feet time after time, and often dead center on first shot on a 1/4" black dot, (cool when they turn green) The scope is so sharp that you can see when you double pellets also. We shot at 2x6 dry port orford cedar (as hard as doug fir) and the jbs or h&n match went in 3/4 inch to the back of the pellet. Long distance test was great, 2" drop at about 200' the 2000 dropped more than twice that. It was pretty easy to hit bear cans at 200' . With a jbs hollow point or preadator 8.2 gr you get less drop and great know down power. Last night my shaky brother in law (a novice to guns) said can i try your new gun, I said sure and never got it back. He was knocking off bottle caps at 60' and complaining that he kept hitting the top, till finally he nailed the center and was happy. He really liked the weight and balance it settled him down, and when I told him to just shoot when the hairs come across the target, instead of trying to hold the target, he got real good, so good that he started the same groupings standing up with no rest, BLEW MY MIND. That is when I had to say "hey man that has got to be your gun"

Things I would have changed: Too nice of guns, I can't keep my friends from buying them from me and I have to keep re-ordering.

What others should know: You can't shoot a light pellet in this gun. It has to be fat and at least 8.2 or forget accuracy. Don't let any one else shoot it if you want it back.

 

Mendoza RM-200

Mendoza RM-200 Air rifle
Review entered on 2008-02-16 18:54:32

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Wacky Wayne from USA on 2008-02-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: As someone who is opening an air rifle range and testing rifles to see which ones to buy a lot of, the rm-200 is topping my list so far. I like the quality construction most, light weight and easy cocking. Of the 9 springers I have this is the gun I grab when I want to shoot starlings in the trees under 25 yards. I got the .22 for impact and lower fps so the pellets won't travel as far when shooting in the air. When I want to shoot at 50 to 100 yards I grab the Avenger 1100 which is the same as the RM-600 made by mendoza, at 1030 fps in .177 or .900 fps in .22, close or long range shots are possible. (If you want only one rifle and can afford $149 then the avenger 1100 is the one). I have now compared the beeman ss1000 and the crossman quest and phantom, all also at 1000 fps. in .177. The beeman (made in china) at $159 has a little more power, but kicks more, is harder to cock, is a lot heavier (8.5 comared to about 6 lbs.) and has more plastic parts. The crossman just $89, and the beeman are just as accurate as the rm-200 in .22 ( I think that .22s are naturally just a little less accurate, the avenger is just a little better than the rm-600 in .22, the rm-200 in .177 might be more accurate than the beeman or crossman, so far the avenger 1100 in .177 is the most accurate). I feel that the mendoza rm-200 is a better and longer lasting rifle and maybe worth the $20 extra over the crossman quest, a close second.

Things I would have changed: I really like the rear sight on the 7 shot mag. rm-2000, but it would probably raise the cost too much to put it on the rm-200.

What others should know: The best pellet I have found so far for the rm-200 and rm-2000 is the RWS hobby 11.9 gr. Anything heavier is too much for the rm-200. The mendoza rifles seem to prefer the german pellets. The H&N baracudda match also work well in .177 or .22. I also have a mendoza rm-600 in.22 that can shoot the heavier beeman crow mags. and the heavier german pellets very well. In general don't give up on a mendoza until you have tried fatter pellets. Also, it is worth it too put a decent scope on any of these air rifles. I would recommend the leapers 3-9x32 at $44 or better still the centerpoint 3-9x40 without the package for $49. If you have pyramyd mount it for you, then you get a free case.

 

Mendoza RM-600, Grey Wooden Stock

Mendoza RM-600, Grey Wooden Stock Air rifle
Review entered on 2008-02-16 19:27:59

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Wacky Wayne from USA on 2008-02-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: As owner of 9 break barrel springers, this is my first choice in .22. I like my avenger 1100 at 1030 fps for $149 in .177 because of less drop and it is a little better for tight groups on the target range, but when hunting, this is the one because of the light weight. This is quality all around, it should last a long time. I like the two stage light trigger, ( pyramyd says that it is 5 lbs, but it is not, it is the same as the rm-200 and avenger 1100 at 3.3 lbs) I like the auto safety (but be sure to cock all the way back or you won't re-set the safety and will have to take a shot at 10lbs trigger pull).

Things I would have changed: I would like the sights on the rm-2000, but you should really scope this rifle with at least a centerpoint 3-9x40 (on special out of the package for $49), add the mounting fee and get a free plastic case, it is worth it.

What others should know: All mendoza air rifles like the fattest pellets you can find, so far the best I have found are the german RWS hobbies and super point. The beeman are a close second. I have been trying to find the wasp from england, but not found them yet.

 

Crosman Phantom 1000

Crosman Phantom 1000 Air rifle
Review entered on 2008-02-16 20:06:16

3.0 3.0

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Wacky Wayne from USA on 2008-02-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: I am comparing many springers from $89 to $160 and the crossman phantom and quest are a close second to the mendoza rm-200 at $109 and the avenger 1100 at $149. (f you can afford the avenger 1100, it is worth it by far). The weight for power ratio is good. The accuracy is ok with the right pellets, (beeman work good, RWS are best), and after about 500 rounds of break in. After the first few shots when the rifle was clearing out the shipping oils, it got fairly quiet, just fine for indoor shooting. I got the quest also and for some reason the quality control was better, and I like the wood stock better.

Things I would have changed: Sight are crap. And don't get the combo with the cheap scope. File the barrel lock, my phantom and quest both were very hard to open the first times because of rough edges on the lock, after about 100 shots it wore in, but those were very hard cockings. I really don't like the trigger compared with the mendoza, it has too long of pull and the adjustment really does not work. You get use to it, but after shooting a mendoza you go crazy pulling the trigger and waiting for the gun to fire.

What others should know: There is not an auto safety so be careful. At $89 it is the best so far that I have found, but I would buy the wood stock quest instead, and get at least a leapers 3-9x32 at $44 or better still the centerpoint 3-9x40 at $49 without the package, (reg. $69).

 

Crosman Quest 1000X Breakbarrel Air Rifle

Crosman Quest 1000X Breakbarrel Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2008-02-16 20:11:14

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Wacky Wayne from USA on 2008-02-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: See my review of the Phantom 1000, it is the same gun but with a plastic stock. For some reason the quality control was better on the quest than the phantom and I like the wood stock much better.

Things I would have changed: See my phantom review.

What others should know: Sights are crap and don't get the combo, the scope is no good. Buy a leapers 3-9x32 or center point 3-9x40 instead.

 

Beeman Teton NS Air Rifle, RS1 Trigger

Beeman Teton NS Air Rifle, RS1 Trigger Air rifle
Review entered on 2008-02-16 20:26:33

4.0 4.0

3.0 3.0

4.0 4.0

By Wacky Wayne from USA on 2008-02-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I have been comparing springers under $200 and best for the buck this one is in 3rd place behind crossman quest for $89 in second and the avenger 1100 at $149 in first. The beeman might have a little more power but it recoils very hard and is very hard to cock in comparison to the avenger 1100, especially at the end to the cock. It has a very nice finish, but more plastic parts than the crossman and the avenger has no plastic parts I can find. The Avenger 1100 shoots much tighter groups and is so much smoother in every way.

Things I would have changed: Crappy sights and don't get the combo, buy a leapers 3-9x32 $44 or better still, a centerpoint 3-9x40, ($49 not in package, reg $69 in package)

What others should know: I think it weighs more the Pyramyd says, more like 8.5 lbs.

 

Benjamin Discovery Air Rifle

Benjamin Discovery Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2008-03-18 10:14:27

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Wacky Wayne from USA on 2008-03-18
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating

Things I liked: I like the light weight, the easy fill, the way it shoulders, and the eye relief is perfect for me with the 4-16x50 leapers, (get the high two piece mounts so you have room to put the pellets in, also choose long pointed pellets because the short ones are much harder to get in the right position. rws super point are best so far). I like the looks, the walnut stock is nice, but mine is a little unfinished, I'm going to add some wax finish. I like not having to release a safety each time I shoot. I am getting about 30 shots of real power, my 2x6 test shows the pellets coming out the back after 25 shots on the same 3/4" dot @ 60' indoors, (did I mention great accuracy?) I find no flyers like my springers have every 10 shots or so. But this is with heavy pellets like barrucuda match or rws super or beeman crow mags etc. the hobbies are hard to load and fly off now and then. After the first 30 shots on a fill you have to start aiming high if you want to keep shooting instead of filling. (you can still kill a starling @ 25 yds. up to 40 shots.) Again, the light weight allows me to hold steady without a rest, so this is by far my favorite hunting rifle. I can get shot off quicker than my springers, (if i am loading a pointed pellet.) It is not as loud as I feared, I can still shoot it in my pool room without the family yelling too much. It is about as loud as a .22 short cartridge, shot in a long barrel rifle, and the power seems similar up to 30 yards.

Things I would have changed: Mine came with the screw that holds the stock to the barrel stripped, so the stock was loose. Pyramyd is going to change it for me, but I am not going to ship it back until I get the second one I ordered, because I love it too much to give it up. (I just took a thin rubber glove and wrapped it around the barrel and stock and then wrapped plastic tape on top and stretched it tight, looks like crap, but works fine.) I would like a power adjuster so I could tune it down for indoor shooting. I would like the gauge to be larger so my old eyes could see it with out changing from my shooting glasses. I would have like it if they had the pump combo out first, so I did not have to wait or buy the scuba tanks. But now that I have them I don't need the pump.

What others should know: I got two scuba tanks for $150 each at the local "Rouge Scuba" store. and they filled them for free the first time, $5 there after. I have got over 1,000 shots on the first tank and still filling up real quick. I have heard not to over fill, and it is very easy to do with the tanks, just barely crack the tank open, and watch the gauge. I have gone into the edge of the yellow and it is fine. I don't want to have to buy the degassing tool, to let out too much air pressure.

 
Navigation