Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Umarex Steel Storm CO2 Gun

    Umarex Steel Storm CO2 Gun Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-08-25 12:37:17

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

    Accuracy:3 3.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2010-08-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    41 rating
     
    Things I liked:Impressive hitting power. In an informal shoot-off against my brother's IZH Drozd at 10 yards, Steel Storm had comparable accuracy and power. Reservoir & magazine combo much more convenient than Drozd's. Steel Storm's externally operated magazine makes it easier to keep from shooting empty shots. Seems to maintain good power down to last dozen shots. The unintended burst fire as the CO2 gets low is a good indicator of when to reload CO2 whereas the Drozd just keeps dribbling weak shots out the barrel if you're not paying close attention. The safety mechanism allows a trigger pull to un-cock the gun without discharging CO2 or BB.
    Things I would have changed:I did change a couple of things. Marked the front sight center blade to make it more visible. Also, did what the package showed for the Fire Selector, highlighted in orange to make the burst characters stand out. It would be nice to have a better CO2 cartridge piercing wrench (i.e., metal), already broke an ear off one of the two plastic ones supplied.
    What others should know:The Steel Storm is noticeably louder than the Drozd, due to its blow-back operation making it sound a lot like a power nail gun. Mine has a reservoir leak that let a BB get somewhere it doesn't belong but so far hasn't impacted the operation of the gun. As noted in other reviews, it is much easier/faster to load the magazine up from the reservoir if it is not packed full of BB's. Although some reviews support claim of 300 shots per CO2 cartridge pair, I have got about 200 shots for first 4 sets of cartridges.

    Product: UTG Quick Aim Electronic Dot Sight, 3/8", 11mm, Weaver & Pictanny Mount

    UTG Quick Aim Electronic Dot Sight, 3/8 inch, 11mm, Weaver & Pictanny Mount
    Review entered on 2010-09-18 00:40:05

    Overall rating:2 2.0

    Value for money:2 2.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2010-09-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Has a very low price to give you a taste of what an electronic dot sight is like to use. Mounts well onto Weaver/Picatinny rail and has a set of grips for 11 mm dovetails. Comes with extra CR2032 battery.
    Things I would have changed:If the could improve the mounting design of the platform that has the window and dot projector but not increase the price by more than $5, it might get my rating from a 2-star to a 3 or 4-star.
    What others should know:With the recoil of my Steel Storm that I use it on, the dot projector/window platform loosened upon its adjusters after jut a couple hundred shots. The o-rings under the adjuster knobs as suggested by others helps some but the adjusting threads in the platform get so loose that it flops around way too much. I added some foam rubber pads in strategic places to take up the slop but its still only marginally acceptable for plinking and not very good for target shooting.

    Product: Plano Pillared Pistol Case - Double

    Plano Pillared Pistol Case - Double
    Review entered on 2010-09-23 12:38:08

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:4 4.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2010-09-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Low priced, reasonably rugged and still light weight for its size.
    Things I would have changed:Noting if I was going to carry two guns in it as it was designed for.
    What others should know:I settled on this size because it had large enough dimensions for my Umarex Steel Storm. However, I didn't appreciate what the pillared construction meant. Overall, it was a perfect fit for the Steel Storm except the pillar halves came together right where the gun's trigger rests. Plano does make a deeper model with the same length/width dimensions for 4 pistols without the pillar. So I decided to modify this model by clipping off about half of the male end pillar. Then it makes a fine single large gun case.

    Product: Crosman 0423 Laser Sight, Weaver Mount

    Crosman 0423 Laser Sight, Weaver Mount
    Review entered on 2010-09-23 13:07:08

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:3 3.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2010-09-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks good, easy to mount and demount, nice on/off switch setup, fully adjustable sighting.
    Things I would have changed:Tolerance for rail mount fit too sloppy. Requires about 0.010" shims to get what I'd consider a proper fit. They do have a felt pad stuck over the mount lock return spring, but the pad is too small and thin to snug up the fit nearly enough.
    What others should know:I found the combination of 3 set screws used to adjust and lock the laser tube a bit tricky to use. They would lead you to believe that you just back of the diagonal screw and do your elevation and windage adjustment, then lock it down with the diagonal screw. In practice, I find that it is hard to tell from the turning effort on the set screws when you aren't in a bind between them. It takes a lot of back and forth between the adjuster screws and the lockdown set screw to get the laser pointed where you are shooting.

    Product: Crosman C41 CO2 BB Pistol

    Crosman C41 CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-01-01 00:12:39

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:4 4.0

    Accuracy:3 3.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2012-01-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice finish and detail on both metal and plastic parts. Feels solid to hold and shoot undoubtedly due to the liberal use of metal . Very strong velocity and still gets well over 100 powerful shots per CO2 cartridge. BB magazines are easy to fill and insert and eject easily as well. Even without adjustable sight, it seems to shoot true.
    Things I would have changed:The CO2 piercing knob/flag is too hard to grip and turn. Becauseof this the CO2 loss that occurred before the cartridge seated seemed excessive. So I remade a piercing screw with a hex end that allows it to be turned with an external key like the style of the Umarex Steel Storm. It would be nice to have the sliding grip somehow snap into place rather than drifting around. You don't notice this shooting, only handling the gun.
    What others should know:You need to finish the trigger pull crisply or the chambered BB may roll out of the barrel or get a noticeably reduced CO2 firing burst.

    Product: Crosman 852 Pellet Trap

    Crosman 852 Pellet Trap
    Review entered on 2012-01-01 00:47:24

    Overall rating:3 3.0

    Value for money:3 3.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2012-01-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The combination of the cardboard front, internal curtains and metal back does a very good job of trapping the shots. The structure of the parts makes it simple to replace the front, curtains and collect spent shots.
    Things I would have changed:The first internal curtain is made of a fine woven nylon fabric. If it was hemmed like the second and third curtain it could add to its life by not having it unravel from the edges. And the nylon fabric isn't really tough enough not to be shredded in the center from BB's from the likes of the Crosman C41 I'm using. If there was another curtain material to serve as a smooth initial deflector for the remaining curtains, the life of the curtains might be longer. Also, the plastic curtain hanger rack isn't durable enough to take a direct hit. I added a strip of wood in front of the hanger to absorb any errant shot impact.
    What others should know:If you want to repeatedly shoot hundreds of rounds at this target trap from a gun in the 400+ FPS velocity, be prepared to do frequent maintenance replacing the cardboard front and the internal curtains. Crosman does sell replacement curtain sets but they are over 25% the cost of a whole trap. They don't sell any plastic curtain racks so you'll have to fashion your own if you let the rack get shot up.

    Product: UTG Deluxe Pistol Case

    UTG Deluxe Pistol Case
    Review entered on 2012-01-01 00:56:03

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:4 4.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2012-01-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Overall construction is very well done with good materials. The accessory side pockets are well laid out for CO2 cartridges, ammo and magazines.
    Things I would have changed:The pistol side pockets don't work well for two guns. Maybe they should just have a center gun pocket on that side with a smaller accessory pocket on each side of the gun pocket.

    Product: Crosman Pistol Magazine, Fits Crosman C41 BB Pistol, .177 Cal, 18 Rds

    Crosman Pistol Magazine, Fits Crosman C41 BB Pistol, .177 Cal, 18 Rds
    Review entered on 2012-01-01 01:04:21

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:4 4.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2012-01-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Solidly made. Found it surprisingly easy and quick to fill.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:It seems to hold 19 rounds and still allowing the follower to cross the fill hole. It might take 20 if you are willing to have the last BB exposed by the fill hole.

    Product: Dan Wesson 8" CO2 BB Revolver, Black

    Dan Wesson 8 inch CO2 BB Revolver, Black Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-08-17 12:47:33

    Overall rating:3 3.0

    Value for money:3 3.0

    Accuracy:5 5.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2013-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Realistic single and double action. Adjustable sights. Simulated cartridges for BB loading into cylinder with speed loader. Long barrel heft and accuracy. CO2 cartridge arrangement in grip, no piercing screw exposed.
    Things I would have changed: Deburring of cast metal parts before finish was applied. Leave off the embossed lettering on the ends of the BB cartridges. Leave off white letter text warning on right side of the frame; use a sticker like the power rating applied on the left side, then you have the option to peel it off.
    What others should know:The gun deserves better quality control. Issues with mine included a bent crane so the cylinder wasn't in line with the barrel when it was locked into the frame. The crane arm bends too easily, a design problem. Secondly, the cylinder release for swing out didn't slide far enough to disengage the cylinder's spring-loaded pin from the frame. Needed to push very hard on the cylinder to swing it out. Thirdly, the transfer bar between the hammer and CO2 valve stem didn't rise sufficiently during a trigger pull, so the transfer bar pushed both upwards and in on the stem when it was struck. Fourthly, the end-cap for the hammer's coil spring was assembled backward. The cupped side wasn't facing the spring coil. Finally, I question the embossed lettering on the end of the cartridges. The gun comes with cartridges loaded in the cylinder. This left an imprint of the Dan Wesson lettering on the raised ring of the rubber CO2 seal. I'm concerned that the embossing could abrade the seal ring or temporarily if not permanently deform the rubber surface if cartridges are left in the gun. Also, 1/3 to 1/2 of the seal ring's surface is seated over the embossed lettering, so the CO2 may tend to leak by the seal more so than a full flat surface. Tuning tips abound to increase the preload on the hammer spring to obtain more FPS. Consider checking the cylinder alignment and remedying CO2 delivery problems I've observed before resorting brute forcing CO2 to get a stronger shooting gun.

    Product: Beretta 90-TWO CO2 BB Pistol

    Beretta 90-TWO CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-01-28 11:59:01

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

    Accuracy:4 4.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2014-01-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate shape and details with respect to the real firearm in both the plastic and metal parts along with nice workmanship and finish quality. White dots on the open sights great for visibility. For single action, the hammer cocks easily with the slide or thumb. It fires hard hitting shots through six magazine loads per CO2 cartridge. With CO2 cartridge temperatures of 70-75 degrees, the gun consistently shoots over the stated 375 fps by 10-15 fps. Has no variation in muzzle velocity between single and double action firing. Even with no adjustable sights, it was on-target at 5-6 meters for me. Good grip fit for my smaller sized hand. Although it has very long & heavy trigger pull in double action, the single action trigger effort is generally light & smooth.
    Things I would have changed:Magazine loading could be easier. The fill hole is extremely tight. The tab to draw back the spring-loaded BB follower could be slightly taller to better engage with your finger. The slide-on cover for the accessory rail is extremely tight making it awfully tough to get on or off. The detent for the safety is also way too strong. Typically, you can push in while sliding a safety like this and it moves smoothly. This one doesn't act like it is designed that way.
    What others should know:I experienced some random high trigger pulling effort even in single action, sometimes to the point that the gun acted like it had jammed. The BB magazine's feed into its chamber at the top uses a stagger arrangement between the last two BB's to keep the one to be fired locked in place. A trigger driven pusher has to chamber a BB into the barrel breech before the trigger comes to release the hammer. During this push, all the BB's in the magazine are shoved down against the feed tube rod a fraction of a millimeter. The combination of the follower spring's pressure and tight tube fit of some BB's at the top of the magazine seems to be the source of this high trigger effort. It shows up the most prominently in single action with the magazine full. At worst, it wouldn't even allow the trigger to travel enough to release the hammer. I am using clean, new Daisy Premium BB's which give me flawless service in my other guns with spring feed magazines. I tried oiling the feed tube but didn't seem to help. What did help was not loading the magazine full, put about a dozen BB's in at a time. As I have progressed past 200 shots through the gun, the problem seems to be fading. The close BB fit of the feed tube might be wearing in, allowing the occasional over-sized BB or even a speck of dust to work through without binding so much. I did some judicious shaving of the plastic edges around the fill hole and follower lock slot on the magazine to make the loading operation easier.

    Product: Shooting Chrony F-1 Chronograph, Green

    Shooting Chrony F-1 Chronograph, Green
    Review entered on 2014-02-08 23:04:12

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:3 3.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2014-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Memory and statistics on up to 32 shot string. Count shot totals past 100 shots which is handy for counting gun CO2 shot capacity. Selection of arrangements for aiming guide rods and diffuser pieces. Long capacity battery power for chrony electronics.
    Things I would have changed:Better organize the user's manual so that all of the available features are more clearly explained. Downgraded the Value for Money rating because they wouldn't spend a couple dollars for a push button on the unit to cycle through the data that it stores. Shouldn't have to buy the accessory button unit or printer to get at the features it has built in.
    What others should know:The timing gates are quite fussy about the lighting source they need to function reliably. I decided the best setup for my indoor use is a totally enclosed hood over the unit to block all the stray light and provide artificial light sources above each diffuser. Firing over the timing gates needs to be precise requiring a well positioned down-range target to ensure the timing gates don't miss a projectile passover.

    Product: Birchwood Casey Aluminum Black Metal Finish, 3 oz.

    Birchwood Casey Aluminum Black Metal Finish, 3 oz.
    Review entered on 2014-03-18 13:50:46

    Overall rating:5 5.0

    Value for money:4 4.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Seems to produce a nice low sheen black on aluminum, alloys and steel.
    Things I would have changed:Fit the bottle cap with some kind of applicator
    What others should know:Does give varied results if the metal is not totally scuffed and clean of oil. If it doesn't turn out well its easy to clean up the piece and give it another try. The components of this product are acids that are chemically reacting with the surface of the metal to change the color. So the depth of the color into the surface and its darkness are a function of how well the reaction goes. That's why the prep is so important to get good results.

    Product: Umarex Universal Tactical Laser, Fits Weaver/Picatinny Accessory Rail

    Umarex Universal Tactical Laser, Fits Weaver/Picatinny Accessory Rail
    Review entered on 2014-03-18 14:07:03

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:4 4.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Snug fit on the rail mounting. Easy to adjust for hor/vert aim. Handy on/off switch
    Things I would have changed:Have a stronger detent in the off position for the switch so it would stay put and not so easily get accidentally knocked on. Some more pronounced steps on the surface of the battery compartment door so it would be easier to slide open.
    What others should know:This unit is very similar to the Crosman 0423 in many ways. However, it fits tighter on a rail and is easier to adjust the aim with two set screws rather than the three that the Crosman has. Neither has the power to be very visible in bright lighting conditions.

    Product: Umarex Universal Steel BB Speedloader

    Umarex Universal Steel BB Speedloader
    Review entered on 2014-03-27 13:16:50

    Overall rating:3 3.0

    Value for money:4 4.0

      By Lefty from USA on 2014-03-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Contains enough BB's to shoot the average gun through a full CO2 cartridge. Meters the BB's a few at a time to more precisely fill a magazine. Shaped to hold and work the plunger with one hand.
    Things I would have changed:Add another attachment with a universal funnel arrangement.
    What others should know:As many reviews have indicated, this loader has the tendency to jam. The outlet hole is a bit tight for the 177 caliber size it's meant to dispense. Rather than loosen the case screw on the end, take a #16 drill bit and carefully ream the restrictor a bit. But the loader may still jam because of a funky internal lever arrangement tied to a spring detent at the exit hole. Looks like this lever is intended to break up bridging of the BB's as they feed down into the plunger channel. However, the geometry of the channel will occasionally allow the lever to pinch a BB in the channel so the detent on the other end of the lever's pivot won't retract enough to let plunger to push the BB out the exit. I had to carefully contour the face of the lever to eliminate this pinch point in the channel. Otherwise, if it jams, you need to shake the loader to get the wedging BB slightly relocated in the feed channel. Possibly with the molding variation of the plastic parts, some loaders are not as prone to this jamming problem.
    Over
    ammo packs sold