Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact .177 Cal, 8.4 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact .177 Cal, 8.4 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-09-08 21:20:14

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-09-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They have a consistent fit in the chamber, I never have to "shove them in" like other pellets. I suppose that means they are much more consistent in their manufacture.
    Things I would have changed:I would only really like a tin that closes positively, like a screw top. Also, had quite a few deformed pellets in the tin. Otherwise, the pellets are great.
    What others should know:These are among the first pellets that my Cosman Vantage NP shot with any consistent accuracy. Groups went from "all over the place" 2+ inch groups at 20 yards to under an inch, several shots touching. This is a quality pellet!

    Product: Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-09-08 21:24:40

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-09-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The price, and the sizing seems a bit more consistent than other Crosman pellets I've tried, though admittedly I've fired just under 40 of these thru my rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing really, just not the right pellet for my rifle.
    What others should know:I think these pellets are just a bit too heavy for a spring gun. Probably need to be marked as primarily for PCP's. They do not fire accurately from my Vantage NP, and I would not recommend them for spring gun use based upon my experience.

    Product: Crosman Destroyer .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Pointed, 250ct

    Crosman Destroyer .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Pointed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2013-09-08 21:29:59

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-09-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They are pretty accurate, and seem to do their job nicely.
    Things I would have changed:More consistent diameter. Some fit just right, some need to be "shoved in", and some fall right into the breech.
    What others should know:These are an accurate pellet, and expand well considering their price point. If you're taking small game inside 25 yards, and you're looking for an inexpensive, accurate, and deadly pellet, these should do a fine job.

    Product: RWS Lock Down 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, 11mm Dovetail, Barrel Droop Compensation

    RWS Lock Down 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, 11mm Dovetail, Barrel Droop Compensation
    Review entered on 2013-09-14 09:25:45

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-09-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Price, and the fact that it compensates for barrel droop.
    Things I would have changed:The location of the stop pins. I had to grind on it a bit to make it fit my rifle, so the stop pin would line up properly in my receiver.
    What others should know:I have a Crosman Vantage NP, and it recoils like the devil. I bought this unit to defeat both the scope creep I was experiencing, as well as a slight barrel droop problem (which becomes more pronounced with higher scope mounts, which I needed). Some folks (I was one of them) have expressed concerns regarding the top caps having only two hold-down screws...don't! It seems to me that just by being one piece, and having a stop screw, 99% for the "recoil-shift" has been engineered out of the equation. My point is this: two-screw caps seem to work just fine ON THIS UNIT. I've not put enough shots through the rifle, since installing this mount, to give a comprehensive long-term opinion, but I have put enough shots through it to know that my scope would have lost it's zero with any of the previous set-ups I've tried, FOR CERTAIN! Now for the bad: well, not really "bad", just something I might change if I were RWS. The stop pin location is a bit far forward of the rear scope ring (1/4-1/2 inch, I believe). This forced me to grind about 1/4 inch of metal off of the clamping surfaces, on the rear of the mount. I had to do that so the mount could be far enough to the rear to allow the stop pin to properly line up with recess in my receiver. I would have preferred to see the stop pin location centered in the rear scope ring base, much like a two piece set would be. In closing: if you don't own an RWS rifle, you may have to modify it a bit, but the end result works well.

    Product: CenterPoint 3x32 Rifle/Crossbow Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1" Tube, Weaver Rings

    CenterPoint 3x32 Rifle/Crossbow Scope, Duplex Reticle, 1 inch Tube, Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2013-09-14 09:33:26

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-09-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Small size.
    Things I would have changed:Pyramyd's description of the scope, and drop the price by about 10 bucks.
    What others should know:NOTE: there are some mistakes in the description! This scope does NOT HAVE A MIL-DOT RETICLE! It is a duplex reticle, and a bit thick at that. Also, this scope does NOT ILLUMINATE IN TWO COLORS! You get ten degrees of red, NO GREEN. The picture is clear, and it seems fairly sturdy. It's also pretty compact. This is NOT A BAD SCOPE, it's actually pretty decent, and a lot better quality than many of the "freebie" scopes that are bundled with rifles. I will be contacting Pyramyd regarding returning this unit, only because I really wanted two color illumination and a mil-dot reticle, like the description says. If the description said "ten degrees of red illum, and duplex reticle," and it cost about ten dollars less, I'd give this scope a "4" rating.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact RS .177 Cal, 7.33 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-09-16 19:42:47

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-09-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The consistency of the size and shape.
    Things I would have changed:Packaging? I have had a rather significant number of pellets with deformed skirts out of this one tin. Admittedly they were all on top, and after discarding (about 15 to 20) the deformed ones, the rest (so far) have performed flawlessly.
    What others should know:My Crosman Vantage NP absolutely LOVES these pellets. The only pellets that even come close to the performance of the 7.33gr is the 8.4gr JSB's...but the 7.33's are better (in my gun). The fit of the JSB's is consistently better than any other pellet I've tried to date, and the patterns I shoot with them at 20 yards is the tightest yet (under 3/4" ctc). I can't wait to get a Chrony to see what my velocity is like.

    Product: Browning Leverage Air Rifle

    Browning Leverage Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-10-11 21:01:38

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-10-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate, has iron sights, comes with more "scope" than it needs, looks good, pretty good trigger.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to see an exploded parts view, or any inkling that there is parts support for this rifle. I would also like to see it in a Nitro Piston version. The stock has a nice shape and look to it, but the wood is a bit soft for my liking. The iron sights are off, requiring max right wind age adjustment to hit the target at 15 yards, but scoping it seems ok. Weight: heavy! Build quality could be improved as well.
    What others should know:This is a really good-shooting gun for under 200 beans! It has a lot going for it, but it does have "low-end" build quality. While some like the weaver style rail, I removed it. The rifle has some barrel droop, and their compensation is a foam pad on the rear ring...waste of time. I removed the weaver thing and plan to order an RWS Lock Down one piece mount with droop compensation. I currently have a junk bundled 4x32 scope mounted to it, and that works fine (the 3-9 AO scope lives on my M-Rod). It's "crunchy"...really crunchy, and takes a long time to smooth out on it's own. It also takes a lot of shooting to stop smoking. Also, watch the cocking lever hinge pins, mine needed to be re-peened to stop falling out. I'm still trying to figure out how to disassemble it to clean and properly lube everything, it's going to be a challenge! Overall, this is a great gun for the money. Once it settles in, it shoots accurately and consistently. I don't love this rifle (yet), but I think it's a great value!

    Product: Browning Leverage Air Rifle

    Browning Leverage Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-10-19 13:50:15

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-10-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Underlever cocking action, looks great, shoulders well, if a little heavy. The rifle comes with a decent scope (especially for a bundled unit!), has a weaver mount over an 11mm dovetail (which I removed, more below). Did I mention it's a great looking gun?
    Things I would have changed:The machine work on the parts inside the gun is pretty sloppy. This is why it has a reputation for being "crunchy." I'm guessing it would've gotten better on it's own, but I took it apart and cleaned it up/lube tuned it anyway. Back to change: I would suggest the manufacturer take a little more time and care, at least at the assembly stage, to make the gun a little smoother out of the box. What lube there was inside was terrible and contaminated with rust and dirt, and allowed the gun to be noisy and feel gritty every time I cocked it. My rifle also needed new seals, as the piston seal was visibly damaged. That said, it was then, and is now a great shooter!
    What others should know:If you're mechanically inclined, take it apart (carefully) and clean it, then lube it properly. My rifle went from feeling junky and sounding like it was going to fly apart (tho it did shoot quite well!) to being silky-smooth, quiet, and still shooting great (note: I used a Gamo piston seal, part #GAMOP-PSTSL, and while not a perfect fit, so far it's money!) Something else: the gun does suffer from some barrel droop. Not as much as some break barrels (my Crosman Vantage was pretty bad!), but enough that you will have to address it (as mentioned in other reviews, the pad in the rear ring doesn't cut it...at all!) I am going to install an RWS Lockdown, one piece scope mount, with droop compensation. All you have to do is remove the bolts, and pry the weaver rail off to reveal the 11mm dovetail underneath. This rifle doesn't suffer from super heavy recoil, so you don't really need the weaver rail. In closing, CLEAN AND LUBE IT. I'm not angry about the work I had to do, because it's a sub 200 dollar gun that shoots well out of the box, and I'm a bit OCD. With a little work, this rifle has become my go-to hunter, that I will lay some squirrel smack-down this year.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-10-19 14:06:07

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-10-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Consistency, consistency, consistency...
    Things I would have changed:If I could, I'd make that tin a screw-on lid. That, and maybe sell them in quantities of 1000+!!
    What others should know:My Vantage NP is very hold sensitive, and picky when it comes to pellets. My Browning Leverage is not hold sensitive, and really doesn't much care what pellets I shoot. When I shoot either gun, and I want maximum accuracy, JSB domes are the ones. Both rifles like some pellets more than others, but both rifles like JSB more than any other I've tested. No fliers, loose patterns, or other discrepancies when I shoot JSBs. If the pattern loosens up, it's me, not the ammo or the rifle. They all fit in the breech exactly the same way. No pellets falling in, and none I have to shove. They are a bit more pricey than other pellets, and I can't source them locally. But Pyramyd gets me what I need in a couple days, so that's not a problem at all.

    Product: Piston Seal, Fits Gamo Whisper & Gamo Big Cat

    Air Venturi Piston Seal, Fits Gamo Whisper & Gamo Big Cat
    Review entered on 2013-10-19 14:13:49

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-10-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Softer than the stock seal, which was pretty bad.
    What others should know:I bought this seal in the hopes that it would fit my Browning Leverage, and it did! Comparing the two seals, there are some minor dimensional differences, but the seal did fit onto the end of the Browning piston, though it was a little looser (in the air chamber bore) than I would have liked., The gun shoots really well. It's accurate, and strikes the target with authority. I don't have a Chrony (yet), so I can't offer any scientific facts or numbers, but if you need a seal for your Leverage, and can't find it anywhere else, this could be a viable solution for you.

    Product: Walther Backup Tactical Knife, 440 Grade Stainless Steel, Coated Blade, Synthetic Grip, 3.9"

    Walther Backup Tactical Knife, 440 Grade Stainless Steel, Coated Blade, Synthetic Grip, 3.9 inch
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 18:22:33

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Handle feels good in the hand, knife has a nice shape and looks great in general. The blade is pretty thick, and looks strong. The knife has a very positive feel when sheathing (loud click lets you know it's in), and is very secure when sheathed (I don't worry that it may fall out and disappear if I I run, climb, fall, etc).
    Things I would have changed:Where to start... First thing I noticed was that it's not a full tang knife. The tang seems to go only about an inch into the handle, where it seems to end. Not such a big deal, just means I wouldn't try to pry with it, for fear of breaking it out of the handle. The sheath's belt clip is held on by four teeny-tiny little screws, but again, no big deal. Here's the big deal: this knife will not stay sharp! I can get it sharp enough to shave the hairs from my arm with no problem. Shove it in the sheath once or twice, however, and the blade dulls significantly! My opinion: the steel is too darned soft...not good, Umarex! I would return it, but what I would lose on the shipping makes it not worth it. I would have ZERO tangible complaints if this knife just held an edge. I know, it's a ten dollar knife (12 bucks when I bought it), and my expectations weren't high. It's just that it COULD be a really nice knife, even at twice the cost, if IT JUST HELD AN EDGE!
    What others should know:If you want a knife to take hunting, and you need a knife that's sharp enough for skinning/gutting/prepping a harvested animal, this ain't the knife for you. If you want a cheap, "universal tool" kinda knife, again: not for you. If you want a knife that looks beautiful when displayed in a case, or just something to look cool in your tool box/drawer/belt/glove box...go for it. I bought this Umarex knife as a back-up hunter, and also to carry at work (where I often need to cut stuff, pry, etc). As such, it will sit in a drawer, unused, until the end of time...how disappointing!

    Product: Shooting Chrony Beta Chronograph, Blue

    Shooting Chrony Beta Chronograph, Blue
    Review entered on 2013-12-10 06:33:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Having tangible data to track the "health" of my airguns.
    Things I would have changed:Not really a "change," but I will be purchasing a remote and indoor light kit.
    What others should know:My attempts to use my new Chrony indoors, with indoor lighting has been an utter failure so far. Outdoors, it works like a charm. It's not the most intuitive device to use, but once you get the hang of it, it is a necessity to have in your tool box if you're planning to tune your own guns!

    Product: Walther Backup Tactical Knife, 440 Grade Stainless Steel, Coated Blade, Synthetic Grip, 3.9"

    Walther Backup Tactical Knife, 440 Grade Stainless Steel, Coated Blade, Synthetic Grip, 3.9 inch
    Review entered on 2013-12-10 06:43:26

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The look, the feel, the positive click and secure hold when sheathing it.
    Things I would have changed:Number one: harder steel. Knife does not hold an edge very long, and is often dulled a bit just by sheathing it. Not so dull it won't cut, but sheathing definitely knocks the "keenness" off the edge. Number two: make it a full tang knife. The knife blade, while thick, has a tang extending into the plastic handle by only an inch or so.
    What others should know:Originally I gave this knife a scathing report. I have since carried it a few times, and had cause to use it for cutting and prying duty. While I wouldn't suggest trying any heavy prying (for fear of breaking the blade out of the handle) or precision cutting (wouldn't use this as your primary knife for hunting), when considering price...it's ok for what it is named as: a Back Up knife. I originally said it was only a pretty knife, but not useful. I retract that statement, and give it an overall 3 (good). Not great, but not bad.

    Product: H&N Hollow Point .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Hollow Point .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
    Review entered on 2013-12-10 06:56:45

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Higher velocity, hollow point design, consistency in size and shape.
    What others should know:They fit snugly in the breech of my Browning Leverage, which prefers a slightly looser fit. The Chrony data for these pellets was impressive (fast and consistent), but my Leverage didn't group well with them. I think if they were a bit heavier they'd have grouped better? Anyway, no loss as my old Crosman Model 1 shoots them well enough to hunt with!

    Product: J-B Non-Embedding Bore Cleaning Compound

    Brownells J-B Non-Embedding Bore Cleaning Compound
    Review entered on 2013-12-10 07:09:27

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It's a small tub, but you don't use much per cleaning, and don't use this stuff often, so this tub should last a good long time! This stuff makes a pasty mess, but seems to get junk out of my barrels that the normal cleaning doesn't. As an experiment, I cleaned my Vantage NP barrel my "normal" way, and got it to where the patches came out clean. I then followed up with the paste and a nylon bore brush, and I was back to black junk coming out of the barrel.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing...
    What others should know:This stuff seems to really work. I'll admit that I'm a little scared to try it on my brass-barreled Model 1, but I wouldn't hesitate to use it in a steel barrel. I wouldn't use this stuff every cleaning, but would suggest instead once every one or two cleanings. I would most certainly suggest using it liberally on a "used gun" for it's first cleaning, and might even suggest using on a new gun for it's first, as well. Just be careful, as this appears to be ever so slightly abrasive. It takes out light rust, lead fouling, and the greasy black junk that builds up in our barrels. The instructions say to push it thru on a patch, but I use nylon bore brushes, and that seems to work just fine.

    Product: Brownells Nylon Pistol Bore Brush, .22 Cal, 8-32 Threads, 3ct

    Brownells Nylon Pistol Bore Brush, .22 Cal, 8-32 Threads, 3ct
    Review entered on 2013-12-10 07:15:48

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nylon, stiff but completely safe for softer barrels like brass.
    Things I would have changed:Might make them a little longer, but no complaints.
    What others should know:These brushes work well, and also seem sturdy. I don't think they'll be falling apart any time soon. True, the nylon will probably wear a little faster than bronze bristles. It is softer, after all...but maybe that pliability means that the brush may actually last longer. I usually throw out my bronze brushes long before the bristles wear down, due to the fact that they bend, and get too loose in the bore to be of any use. I guess time will tell which one lasts longer.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-25 10:46:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's JSB, and as always, is a very consistent pellet.
    What others should know:Will group just as tightly as other JSB weights, but expect to have to re-zero, even if stepping up from the 14.35gr pellet. Different weights, even when pretty close, change your point of impact.

    Product: Benjamin Discovery .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    Benjamin Discovery .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-25 10:54:00

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Price and quantity.
    Things I would have changed:I wouldn't buy them again.
    What others should know:Watching reviews, one would think it safe to buy Crosman/Benjamin pellets, as the reviews usually say "this Crosman/Benjamin gun shoots Crosman/Benjamin pellets best, no surprise there..." Well, NONE of my "modern" airguns like these pellets. I have a Marauder, a Vantage, and an Umarex/Browning Leverage, and none of these guns like Crosman/Benjamin pellets! Luckily I have two older Crosman rifles, that for whatever reason, don't mind slinging these pellets. The rifles I hunt with...I wouldn't count on hitting anything with these.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 250ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-25 10:56:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Typical JSB quality (meaning: high)!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Group pretty well out of my Marauder (no surprise). Surprisingly, they also group well out of my Leverage, which is an underlever springer.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Monster .22 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Monster .22 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-25 11:02:52

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:JSB quality is evident in every tin I buy.
    Things I would have changed:Make them fit in an Marauder magazine?
    What others should know:Some say these pellets don't group very well. My experience is that I can cover the group with a dime at 30 yards. My Marauder really seems to like them. That said, my Mrod also has none of the accuracy problems that others have complained of, so maybe I'm just lucky. If you own a .22 PCP, you owe it to yourself to try these heavy pellets.

    Product: Hatsan Striker Edge Air Rifle Combo, Black

    Hatsan Striker Edge Air Rifle Combo, Black Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-04-12 08:01:50

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2014-04-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Lightweight, low cocking effort, compact, POWERFUL, automatic safety, skeleton composite stock, has a scope and "iron" sights, solid muzzle break on barrel to aid in cocking, globe over front sight to protect it, SUPERIOR BUILD QUALITY for a low-dollar gun. I can't say it enough...this thing is build like a tank...a German tank! There is none of the cheesy, rushed, imprecise machining that is evident in other "cheap" guns I own. I find it hard to believe that this gun cost so little. While I'm on the subject...the price is great!
    Things I would have changed:The trigger! While not as bad as most stock Crosman triggers, it's still pretty bad. I would love to see a better trigger system (like the Quattro) in this gun. Improve the trigger, and mark it up 50 bucks...I'd still buy it. The Optima scope was crap, and after two attempts I have received no reply from Hatsan regarding it, but at this price point I can't complain, I just bought something better. The composite stock is a little thin where the front mounting screws go, but only time will tell if it's a problem or not. Scope mounting is tough, as the scope stop (which is a nice touch, just poorly executed) forces the rear scope ring too far forward for comfortable eye relief...I have to "choke-up" on the stock a bit to get a good sight picture. Remove the factory scope stop, and use one of the holes in the receiver for your scope stop screw in whatever mounting system you use: problem solved.
    What others should know:The Optima 3-9 scope that came with mine was junk. It self destructed within 60 shots (Chrony testing) without ever having even adjusted it. Also, scope mounting: the factory scope stop is nice, but forces the scope to be mounted too far forward. I just removed it. I mounted a UTG 3-12x44 SWAT, IR, MD compact scope, using a UTG dovetail to weaver mount, with 10 degrees of droop compensation. I still have to crane forward a bit on the stock to get a good picture, but it works. The point: remove the factory stop, and use the holes for the stop-screws in whatever scope ring/mounting system you choose; and don't bother with a "compact scope." Most "full size" scopes will have enough length that eye relief shouldn't be a problem, but compact/shorter scopes (like the stock Optima) are a little tough to set up right. The trigger is rough, somewhat adjustable, and a bit heavy, but better than some Crosman triggers. This gun is a POWER-HOUSE! As an example, mine Chronys at an avg of 755.6 fps with Beeman Feild Target Special 14.66 gr Domed pellets...very close to the claimed 800 fps...refreshing! It likes a tight fit in the breach for best velocity and accuracy. Also, recoil is a bit heavy, but what can one expect from a powerful gun that is so light? Accuracy seems good, and the gun isn't super "pellet sensitive." I'll ask the squirrels what they think next season;) This is a GREAT VALUE!

    Product: Leapers 3-12X44 AO SWAT Compact Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

    UTG Leapers 3-12X44 AO SWAT Compact Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2014-04-12 17:15:01

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2014-04-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Side wheel adjustment, illuminated reticle, mil-dot, resettable locking turrets, flip open lens protectors, compactness...pretty much everything!
    Things I would have changed:Reticle is a little thick, but not so bad. Not sure if I like or even need the whole "36 color" thing, but I haven't messed with it yet. Turret adjustments are a bit spongy, but my basis for comparison is only economy scopes, not high dollar units, this may be normal. Also the side wheel adjustment is pretty tough, hopefully this will free-up a bit in time. If not, I understand a larger side wheel is available. I rated it at fours overall for now, but will rate again after having a while to see how well it holds up/breaks in. I have it mounted on a Hatsan Striker Edge, which is a hammer. If this scope survives this rifle, I'll know that the "true strength" claim is the real deal!
    What others should know:It is short, surprisingly so. The tube portion (that actually rides in the rings) is very short, so I imagine this scope won't fit in some one piece scope mounts. If you own a Hatsan, you will have a hard time achieving the proper eye relief. The rings are pretty low, although my scope is still a bit high, as it is mounted on a dovetail to weaver adapter. The sight picture is clear, the side wheel adjustment is cool, and it focuses fast. Overall seems like a great scope, so far.

    Product: UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift

    UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift
    Review entered on 2014-04-12 17:27:33

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2014-04-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well made, very precise, looks terrific, mounts tightly. Other mounting systems I've tried leaned to the left a bit, but not this one! It has two stop screws, four clamping screws, and decent drop compensation.
    Things I would have changed:I had to trim the "wedges" that actually fit into the dovetail, on the rear of the unit. I only found this necessary to get the rail back far enough on the receiver. I'm sure most guns won't have this problem, but one of mine needed the mount to go all the way to the back of the dovetail, where it actually widens before ending (look at yours, you'll see what I mean). Not a big deal, just a few minutes with a Dremel tool, and all is well. Probably wouldn't be necessary with a longer scope.
    What others should know:Well worth the money, and easy to install. Bear in mind that this adapter will raise your scope height about 15mm/little more than half an inch, so think of that when you're ordering scope mounts. Most scopes seem to come with "medium" rings, so I suggest buying a set of short rings as well, to make sure you can achieve a proper cheek weld.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top