Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Crosman 2240

    Crosman 2240 Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-05-23 00:11:05

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-05-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good Power!
    Things I would have changed:Order the Steel Breech Kit from Crosman.
    What others should know:Get lots of CO2!

    Product: Shooting Chrony F-1 Chronograph, Green

    Shooting Chrony F-1 Chronograph, Green
    Review entered on 2010-05-27 23:28:47

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-05-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice to know what my guns are doing.
    Things I would have changed:Put a piece of Pellet Proof Plastic over the Display. Just in Case. Had a Pellet Drop Low from a Low CO2 ampule. Fortunately, didn't damage the display. But it sure could have.
    What others should know:Cut a little piece of Plexiglas to protect the Display.

    Product: BSA 2x20 Pistol Scope, Duplex Reticle

    BSA 2x20 Pistol Scope, Duplex Reticle
    Review entered on 2010-07-22 23:28:27

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-07-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clear Image. Didn't need to Focus. Positive Adjustments.
    Things I would have changed:Get Rings.
    What others should know:It's a Good Rig. I think. I'm Happy with it.

    Product: CenterPoint AR22 Series 4x32mm compact rifle scope

    CenterPoint AR22 Series 4x32mm compact rifle scope
    Review entered on 2010-07-22 23:53:11

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-07-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Mil-Dots. You can do some Rangefinding with it. The Mil-Dots. Makes a Second Shot MUCH More Precise! The Crosshairs are a little thick if you're shooting beyond 50yds. If you're Ambushing Critters at 100yds., this probably isn't the Rig for you. But, if you're Ambushing Critters at 100yds., your Trajectory will be so Pronounced at 50yds., that your Rig will be useless at that distance anyway.
    Things I would have changed:The Fast Focus Eyepiece lens. I Focused mine for 35yds., and Fixed it. Springers and Pumpers will shake the Eyepiece Lens loose in its Threads. For Maximum Precision, that's Not Good.
    What others should know:I just obtained two more of these from Pyramyd Air. I'm going to get some O-rings to Fit in the trough behind the Knurling for the Focus, to "Fix" the Focus. If that doesn't work, I will, "Fix" it. Permanently. These are Real Hard to Beat at Normal Airgun Distances.

    Product: Gamo Match .177 Cal, 7.56 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct

    Gamo Match .177 Cal, 7.56 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-07-23 00:14:26

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-07-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The Price.
    Things I would have changed:I ordered 11,000 rounds. The four tins that were packaged individually contained what I was expecting. The 10,000rounds packed in ten tin packages, were not. They looked like the Forming Machine was Maladjusted for this Run. Or maybe Gamo has changed the Specifications. They seem to shoot Good to 25yds., and I got them for Close Range and Plinking. I'm satisfied. If you shoot Long Range, you might not be.
    What others should know:I hope Gamo hasn't changed the Specifications for these. My experience has been that if an Airgun won't shoot these well, or Crosman 10.5gr. well, it probably won't shoot Anything well.

    Product: Eun Jin .177 Cal, 16.1 Grains, Round Nose, 220ct

    Eun Jin .177 Cal, 16.1 Grains, Round Nose, 220ct
    Review entered on 2010-08-06 23:05:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-08-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Heavy. Accurate. Uniform.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. Well, Screw Top Can.
    What others should know:These Chronograph 700+fps from my Discovery's. Windage doesn't change, just drops an inch, and a half, maybe, at 40yards, and the breeze only deflects these about half as much as Crosman Premier Heavies. Accuracy on par with Crosman Premier Heavy. And both my Rifles LOVE Crosman Heavies. My Benjamin 397 shoots them just over 600fps with a full charge. Didn't Shoot them for Accuracy in that rifle. It shoots Crosman Heavies well. I would imagine it would like these. My Discovery's sure did! I LIKE These! I recommend them. Next time I order Pellets, these are going to be on the List. Along with the other two New .177" SuperHeavies to try.

    Product: Predator Big Boy Heavy-Weight .22 cal, 26.2 Grains, Pointed, 100ct

    Predator International Predator Big Boy Heavy-Weight .22 cal, 26.2 Grains, Pointed, 100ct
    Review entered on 2010-08-18 15:43:38

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-08-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Heavy.
    Things I would have changed:Didn't shoot very Straight from my Guns.(Discovery and 392)
    What others should know:I ordered and tried, Eun Jin, Predator Big Boy, Gamo 22gr., JSB Monster, and JSB 18gr. The JSB 18gr. gave the best accuracy in both my rifles.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 250ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-08-18 15:50:42

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-08-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Shoot Straight.
    Things I would have changed:Screw Top Can.
    What others should know:I ordered and tried, these, JSB Monsters, Gamo 22gr., Eun Jin, Predator Big Boy. These gave the best Accuracy in my Discovery and 392. Accuracy close to Beeman FTS.

    Product: Predator Big Boy Heavy-Weight .22 cal, 26.2 Grains, Pointed, 100ct

    Predator International Predator Big Boy Heavy-Weight .22 cal, 26.2 Grains, Pointed, 100ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 12:31:53

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Uniformity. Impact.
    Things I would have changed:Need Better Accuracy. If the accuracy had been better I'd have given them higher marks.
    What others should know:I tried these in my Discovery and 392. Accuracy was not Good. Poor, actually. Also tried JSB Monsters, Gamo TS-22, JSB Jumbo Heavy, and Eun Jin. The Jumbo Heavy gave the best accuracy. But, since they aren't significantly heavier than Beeman FTS, or as accurate, I will stick with FTS. Better a Precise hit, than a powerful miss.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Monster .22 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Monster .22 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 12:44:18

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Uniformity. Impact.
    What others should know:I tried these in my Discovery and 392. Accuracy was poor. Also tried, Eun Jin 28gr., Gamo TS-22, JSB Jumbo Heavy, and Big Boy Heavy-Weight. Jumbo Heavy gave the best accuracy in my guns. But, not as good as Beeman FTS. I'm sticking with FTS. Better a Precise hit than a powerful miss.

    Product: Gamo TS-22 .22 Cal, 22 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Gamo TS-22 .22 Cal, 22 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 12:53:32

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Impact.
    What others should know:I tried these in my Discovery and 392. Accuracy was poor. Tried Eun Jin 28gr., JSB Monster, JSB Jumbo Heavy, Predator Big Boy. Jumbo Heavy gave the best accuracy of these in my guns. But, not as good as Beeman FTS. I wanted a heavy that would be as accurate as FTS. Nothing Beats FTS! Better a Precise hit than a powerful miss.

    Product: Gamo Magnum .22 Cal, 15.43 Grains, Pointed, 250ct

    Gamo Magnum .22 Cal, 15.43 Grains, Pointed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 12:58:21

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The Shape. The Weight.
    What others should know:These shoot well in my Benjamin E9A gas pistol. Not so well in my Discovery or 392. I haven't used any pellets yet that beat Beeman FTS in my guns.

    Product: Beeman Field Target Special .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    Beeman Field Target Special .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 13:02:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are the Best .22cal. Pellets available.
    What others should know:I have tried 24 different pellets in my guns. Discovery, 392, E9A Pistol. These are the Best. Save Money. Buy these.

    Product: Crosman Premier .20 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 625ct

    Crosman Premier .20 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 625ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 13:11:11

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These give the best results in my C9A Pump Rifle.(Benjamin/Sheridan)
    What others should know:These and Polymag Predators produce the best accuracy in my rifle. I've tried most of the others available. Haven't tried Eun Jin, but I'm going to. Hope to have a heavy for it that will produce acceptable accuracy to 25yds.

    Product: Crosman Premier Heavy .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Domed, 1250ct

    Crosman Premier Heavy .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Domed, 1250ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 13:30:12

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy. Accuracy. Accuracy. Hit Hard! Good Ballistics. Accurate!
    Things I would have changed:Don't Change them!!!
    What others should know:These are the Best! I have two Custom Discoveries. Three 397's. Three Custom 1377's. Two E9A's. A 1077. Two 1008's. A 357. A 2100. A 347. Two 397GA's. These pellets produce the Best Accuracy in all these guns of mine. They're a bit heavy for the Gas Guns for fast shooting, but for Power and Accuracy from a fresh ampule, they can't be beat! These are the Standard by which I measure ALL other .177cal. pellets.

    Product: Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 13:47:12

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Weight.
    What others should know:I tried these because of other reviews that held them to be as accurate as Premier Field Target. Accuracy is adequate to 25yds. from my guns. At 40yds. the Brown Box Premier Heavies clearly outperform these for accuracy.(The originals. I haven't tried the new, less expensive type. Probably won't.) Nonetheless, these are a good utility pellet at good price, I think.

    Product: Predator Newboy .177 Cal, 13.0 Grains, Pointed, 150ct

    Skenco Predator Newboy .177 Cal, 13.0 Grains, Pointed, 150ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 14:02:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Heavy. Accurate.
    What others should know:I tried these, Eun Jin, and Big Boy Seniors. These were the most accurate of the three. But, since the weight isn't that much of a boost over Brown Box Premiers, and the Price is, I won't be ordering more.

    Product: Skenco NewBoy Senior .177 Cal, 15.8 Grains, Domed, 150ct

    Skenco NewBoy Senior .177 Cal, 15.8 Grains, Domed, 150ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 14:06:48

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Heavy.
    What others should know:I tried these, Eun Jin, and Big Boy Heavy-Weights. Accuracy with these was poor, from my guns. (Discoveries, 397's, and 397GA's.) Your results may vary.

    Product: RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 14:13:48

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accurate.
    What others should know:These are good Pellets. Equal to Premier Field Target 10.5gr. for accuracy from my guns. But the Premier's are a little less expensive, and a little heavier, so they're what I shoot when I'm wanting maximum performance.

    Product: Leapers UTG 4x32 Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, 3/8" Rings

    Leapers UTG 4x32 Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, 3/8 inch Rings
    Review entered on 2010-12-18 14:30:05

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Mil Dots.
    What others should know:Bought two of these for my Custom Discoveries. I'm satisfied. For range-finding, the Crosman 4x32 Compact works better for me. But these Look better on the Discoveries. If you miss, and see where the pellet struck, these Mil Dot types can't be beat for a precise second shot.

    Product: Hyper-Velocity Field Pellets, Type 1 for Standard Guns, .22 Cal, 11.3 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 100ct

    Skenco Hyper-Velocity Field Pellets, Type 1 for Standard Guns, .22 Cal, 11.3 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 100ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-29 00:13:41

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:No Lead. Non-deforming.
    Things I would have changed:Something. These aren't acceptably accurate in any of my guns.
    What others should know:I have shot these through 8 different pellet guns. Beeman R10, Benjamin 392, two Crosman 180's, Crosman 2200, Benjamin EB Pistol, Crosman 2260, and Discovery. These don't produce acceptable accuracy in Any of them. I had thought that because they are made by the same outfit that makes Predators, that they would perform on par with those. They Don't. I bought too many of these. I gave most of them away to others to try. I have a few left for Curios. I like to consider Air Rifle Enthusiasts a Fraternity. And so, My Fellows, I can't, in Good Conscience, recommend these, for Any purpose.

    Product: Daisy Max Speed .177 Cal, 9.1 Grains, Round Nose, 100ct

    Daisy Max Speed .177 Cal, 9.1 Grains, Round Nose, 100ct
    Review entered on 2010-12-29 00:37:22

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2010-12-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Steel Tip!
    Things I would have changed:Improved Accuracy would be nice.
    What others should know:These aren't the most accurate pellets I've ever shot. But, they are GREAT, on Glass!

    Product: Predator Polymag .177 Cal, 8.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Predator International Predator Polymag .177 Cal, 8.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-09 21:10:06

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Expanding Form projectile.
    Things I would have changed:If these don't work, change pellets.
    What others should know:I bought a can of these from my shooting buddy. They seem to be accurate enough for small game hunting. If I were hunting creatures that don't have feathers or fur, these are what I would use. In media testing, they don't expand reliably/uniformly, but they Stop! In a hurry!! I don't think they would penetrate to my satisfaction past 30yds on fuzzy critters. But, for the combination of accuracy and energy transmission, you really should try these.

    Product: RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-09 23:08:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The price. The quality.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working for you, change to another type of pellet. Though I would say that if these aren't working for you at 10meters, it might indicate a problem with the gun.
    What others should know:For the price, these are some of the best target pellets available. I shoot these in my hw30, and I've seen them shot through two Gamo Recons. Accuracy in these guns has been outstanding. For the combination of precision and price, I think these are hard to beat.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy .177 Cal, 10.34 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-09 23:43:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working for you, change to a different type of pellet. Airguns can be sensitive to pellet diameter, shape, and weight. (Especially bores with high round counts.)
    What others should know:These shoot well in my benji disco pre-charged rifles.(3custom hybrids of 2250 lower, Discovery upper, with extra barrel bands. Built them myself:-) These are very soft with thin skirts. I still have a hundred rounds or so of them because they seem a little fragile for going afield, for my purposes. There are other pellet brands in the same weight that produce comparable accuracy but are more robust. If I were hunting from ambush these would be fine. From my canoe, not quite so.

    Product: Eun Jin .177 Cal, 16.1 Grains, Round Nose, 220ct

    Eun Jin .177 Cal, 16.1 Grains, Round Nose, 220ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 00:01:35

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Heavy! With decent uniformity.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to change the barrels on my discos to a 1:7" twist rate in the rifling. If you've got a gun that can stabilize these you'll love 'em. They give the Big Punch!! Folk are surprised to see how much Punch, a "BBcaliber Air Rifle" can deliver. That alone is worth the price to me. I wish my discos shot them better.
    What others should know:None of my rifles shot these with sufficient precision for hunting. I really really wish they did. I still like them a lot though, for the way they punch through "stuff", and dent the "stuff" they can't punch through. Makes me laugh.

    Product: RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 00:55:33

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like heavy and accurate pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Heavier? If they could make them heavier at the same level of accuracy.
    What others should know:Spectacular Impact. Wadcutter impact characteristics with a higher momentum component and great accuracy. The critters I hunt have feathers or fur so that penetration is my primary criteria for ammo. If the quarry comes sans fur or feathers, or ranges are so short that penetration is a given, these are the Bomb!

    Product: Beeman Kodiak Copper-Plated .177 Cal, 10.19 Grains, Round Nose, 300ct

    Beeman Kodiak Copper-Plated .177 Cal, 10.19 Grains, Round Nose, 300ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 11:50:08

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Copper Plating, of course. These aren't just copper washed like .22rimfires, these are copper plated. Copper plated shot in shotshells is used because it is perceived to pull less fur or feather with it so that it penetrates better. I wish I was still young enough to get out and shoot enough squirrels with these to form an opinion on whether they penetrate better than plain lead. Durability in the watch pocket is unsurpassed. I like these.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working for you, change to a different type/brand/shape of pellet. Airguns can be very sensitive to diameter, shape, and weight of pellet. Especially bores with high round counts.
    What others should know:There are lead variations of this pellet in several head sizes, if you like this shape and weight, and these don't shoot well in your gun, try some of those. I've lately been experimenting with the larger head sizes. The effect on accuracy can be astounding!

    Product: Golden Rod Long-Range Pellets, Type 3, .177 Cal, 8.5 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 150ct

    Skenco Golden Rod Long-Range Pellets, Type 3, .177 Cal, 8.5 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 150ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 12:27:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Less leading of the environment. Better penetration than lead pellets in the same weight class.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy doesn't meet my criteria for acceptable long range performance.
    What others should know:These do penetrate better than lead. They are accurate enough, in my guns, for short range hunting. I had to try them out. Too specialized for me to shoot many more of them.

    Product: H&N Baracuda match, .177 Cal, 10.65 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda match, .177 Cal, 10.65 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 12:47:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Heavy Pellets. Accurate Pellets.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working for you, change to a different type/weight/brand of pellet. Airguns can be very sensitive to diameter, shape, and weight of pellet. Especially bores with high round counts.
    What others should know:I've been experimenting with varying diameters of pellet. The effects on accuracy are astounding. I intend to stock up on these before more folk become aware of the importance of pellet size in relation to precision.

    Product: Skenco Golden Match Type 4, .177 Cal, 9.26 Grains, Wadcutter, Lead-Free, 150ct

    Skenco Golden Match Type 4, .177 Cal, 9.26 Grains, Wadcutter, Lead-Free, 150ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 13:08:44

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:These are the most accurate of these sabot types for me.
    Things I would have changed:Red Sabots so you can see where they went. I didn't think of it first, but what a good idea!
    What others should know:I consider 1.5" groups, at the distance the game is to be engaged, the minimum standard of precision in a hunting gun. These pellets will meet that out to 50-60' from my guns. I'm hoping to see the day when these sabot/non-deforming projectile type munitions will be able to match the precision of placement lead projectiles afford.

    Product: Skenco UltraShock .177 Cal, 9.57 Grains, Hollowpoint, 150ct

    Skenco UltraShock .177 Cal, 9.57 Grains, Hollowpoint, 150ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 14:14:30

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Heavy hollow point. Good accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:If these don't work for you, change the pellet type/weight/brand. Airguns can be very sensitive to pellet diameter, shape, and weight. Especially bores with high round counts.
    What others should know:From my guns these are accurate enough to hunt with out to 25-30yds, but I wouldn't use these for an accuracy contest.

    Product: H&N Baracuda Match, .177 Cal, 10.65 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Match, .177 Cal, 10.65 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 15:04:07

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Heavy Accurate pellets.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working for you, change the type/weight/brand of pellet. Airguns can be very sensitive to diameter, weight, and shape of pellet. Especially bores with high round counts.
    What others should know:This pellet is made in several head sizes. I've been testing with the various sizes. The effect on accuracy is astounding. I'm planning to stock up on these before many folk become aware of the relationship between head size and accuracy.

    Product: RWS Hyper Velocity .177 Cal, 5.2 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 200ct

    RWS Hyper Velocity .177 Cal, 5.2 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 200ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 15:09:33

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lead free. High Speed. Penetration.
    Things I would have changed:I like the little container.
    What others should know:These don't shoot very accurately in my guns. I wish they did.

    Product: H&N Rundkugel, .177 Cal, 4.54mm Dia., 7.70 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Rundkugel, .177 Cal, 4.54mm Dia., 7.70 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 15:25:44

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Tight fit in my high round count bores.
    What others should know:I got these because I've been investigating the relationship between pellet diameter and accuracy, and these are the largest lead projectiles pyramyd has in .177. They are a TIGHT fit in my worn bores. New barrels are probably too tight for these. I haven't tried them in my newer guns because I didn't buy these to use in those, and now that I know how tight they fit loose bores, I don't want to. They group acceptably to 50' for me. I don't know if that's the norm or not, these are the first Runtkugels I've used.

    Product: Skenco Heavy Long-Range .22 Cal, 18Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 75ct

    Skenco Heavy Long-Range .22 Cal, 18Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 75ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-10 18:56:56

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like to try new things.
    What others should know:These don't shoot well from my guns. I had to try them though.

    Product: H&N Field Target Trophy .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Trophy .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-11 22:25:08

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Uniformity. Accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working for you, change to a smaller head size. These pellets are made in 5 different head sizes.
    What others should know:Despite having shot airguns for 40yrs now, I just recently became aware of the importance of head size, in achieving maximum precision. I have shot all the super heavies through my discoveries, with indifferent effects on accuracy. I sent for sufficient samples of all the head sizes for these and the .177 barracudas to evaluate the effects of head size on group size, and shifts in group center. I have found the effects on accuracy to be astounding. When the fit between pellet and bore is at optimum, the results are very satisfying/gratifying.

    Product: H&N Field Target Trophy .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Trophy .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-11 22:48:47

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Uniformity. Accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working well for you, change to a different head size. H&N makes this pellet in 5 different head sizes. Airguns can be very sensitive to to the diameter/shape/weight of pellet. Especially bores with high round counts.
    What others should know:After 40yrs of airgunning, I have just recently become aware, that you Can wear out an airgun barrel. Having tried all the super heavies with indifferent results in my custom discoveries, I sent for all the head sizes for these and the H&N barracudas in .177. The effects of head size on accuracy have been astounding! There is no substitute for precision, and when the pellet fits the bore at the optimum of obstruction, there is a pronounced improvement in precision.

    Product: H&N Field Target Trophy .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Trophy .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-11 23:12:41

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Uniformity. Accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't working for you, change to a different head size. H&N makes this pellet in 5 different head sizes. Airguns can be very sensitive to pellet diameter/shape/weight. Especially bores with high round counts.
    What others should know:After 40yrs of airgunning, I have found that a pellet gun bore can become worn. I tried all the super heavies through my custom discoveries with indifferent results for group size and dispersion. Recently I ordered all the head sizes for these, and the H&N barracudas in .177. My testing has shown that the effects of head size on group size can be astounding! There is no substitute for precision, and when the pellets fit the bore at optimum, the improvement in precision is pronounced.

    Product: Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Predator International Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2013-02-11 23:35:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These do maintain their velocity better than regular hollow points. They shoot straight enough in my guns(custom discoveries) to use for small game out to 30yds. Shooting into water filled milk jugs at 50' would deform the head some, but not uniformly. I'm sure the wad of feathers or fur these would surely grab, probably takes them to .30cal when they hit, whether they expand or not.
    Things I would have changed:If these aren't sufficiently accurate from your particular platform, change the diameter/shape/weight of pellet. Airguns can be very sensitive to dimensional variations in the ammunition. Especially bores with high round counts.
    What others should know:After 40yrs of airgunning, I have recently encountered the phenomena of Worn Bores.(Yes, I have been blessed with the means and opportunity to shoot a Whole Bunch!) I tried all the super heavies with indifferent results on accuracy. I ordered sample quantities in the spectrum of head sizes for both .177 and .22, to use for evaluation of the effects of head size on group size. My testing has shown that the effects of head on group size can be astounding! There is no substitute for precision, and when the pellet fits the bore at the optimum condition, the improvement in precision is pronounced.

    Product: Leapers UTG 4x32 Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, 3/8" Rings

    Leapers UTG 4x32 Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, 3/8 inch Rings
    Review entered on 2013-02-12 00:12:39

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quality for the price is excellent.
    Things I would have changed:The flip up lens covers are kind of mickeymouse. I just take them off when I use the scope. I'd rather they were the same quality with the end caps on bungies.
    What others should know:I have 5 of these. I have 4 of the leapers compact fixed 4X powers. I like these a lot! Don't forget to look at which type of rings will come with it.

    Product: Leapers Golden Image 4X32 Mini Size Range Estimating Mil-Dot Scope with Rings

    Leapers Golden Image 4X32 Mini Size Range Estimating Mil-Dot Scope with Rings
    Review entered on 2013-02-12 00:33:25

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quality for the price is excellent.
    Things I would have changed:Nope.
    What others should know:I have 4 of these scopes. I'd like to buy 3 more, but pyramyd hasn't had them in stock for two months now. Don't believe they'll have them on the estimated in stock date. I've watched that date move back four times now.

    Product: Leapers Accushot 1" Rings, Medium, 3/8" Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap

    UTG Leapers Accushot 1 inch Rings, Medium, 3/8 inch Dovetail, 4 Screws/Cap
    Review entered on 2013-02-12 00:40:23

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Two screws at each attachment point.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:If these won't hold your scope down, use two pairs, they're inexpensive.

    Product: Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle, Synthetic Stock

    Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle, Synthetic Stock Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-11-27 16:05:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-11-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power. Accuracy. Attenuation of Report. I bought 2, .25cal., one for me, one for my son. From the factory @2600psi, I was getting 680-690ft/sec. with eun jin 43grain, 790-800ft/sec. with 28grain, from both rifles. I maxed out the power adjustments on mine to see what I would get. @2600psi I got 735ft/sec with eun jin 43grain, 800ft/sec with eun jin 35grain. Right @50ft/lbs. for both of them. Power is excellent!!! Approximately twice what I get from my custom Discoveries. Accuracy is outstanding. I had read what some said about the precision of the original wood stocked version that I had some difficulty believing, even though my discoveries are probably the most accurate air rifles I've ever owned. I don't have 100 rounds through my Marauder yet, but I can say for sure that eun jin 43grains will group 5 into a dime @30yds., from my rifle. With the 28grainers, less than 3/4" dispersion, and about 1" high of the 43grains @30yds. The "Shrouded" barrel works VERY well for attenuation of the report. At maximum power settings it sounds like a pneumatic nail gun, or perhaps, a small set of air brakes. I've turned the hammer settings to minimum now, I'm going to set it for about 25ft/lbs to try and get the maximum # of shots at good power, with minimum noise. I live in the high desert of eastern Oregon, if I need more power,..... . For my son, who lives in suburbia, the factory settings are optimum.
    Things I would have changed:Both these rifles exhibited some misalignment between the scope rail and the "drop" of the barrel. I had to shim the lower half of the rear ring on both of them to get enough elevation adjustment out of the telescopes I used. To be fair though, the scopes I used don't have much travel in their adjustments. I think they could make a post on the top of the barrel band and include a basic receiver sight system on the rail, so that some use could be achieved even in the worst case scenario.(Broken/Bent Scope) I'd like to see a small storage compartment under the Comb. I'd think a lid like is on tv remotes and such wouldn't be too difficult, or expensive. Just as a Note: The rear of the breech is attached to the main tube in a different manner on the synthetic stock version. There may be other distinctions between the original type and this one, I don't have an original to compare it to. I can't think of anything else I'd want to change. Quality of materials and workmanship is top notch. Some of the more spendy guns may shoot straighter than these, or the Discoveries, but, you'd have to be a Very Good Shot, to prove it. I'd like to see this rig in a six shot 9mm/357. I think the Rogue is way past the point of diminishing returns. The Recluse is neat, but it's a single shot, and an airpig, according to what I've read. For folk who need to be able to deal positively with Raccoons/Nutria/Coyote(@Max Power), and not wake the neighborhood, these are The Bomb!
    What others should know:I wish I could say that the Benjamin High Pressure Hand Pump Quality, matched the quality of my Marauder. I have two of them. For producing 2000psi, they are adequate and will do it for quite a while. By the time you reach 2500psi, the efficiency of the pump has dropped to near zero. If you are a very large, and patient, person, you can probably get 3k/psi out of it. But I doubt it will do it very many times. If it will even do it once, before failure occurs. I now also have 2 Hill Brand Air Rifle Pumps. Bought the first about 6mos ago. They are subject to the same limitations for heating as the Benjamins, but, you can get a reseal kit for it if you burn it up. And, the piston in the Hill is of a smaller diameter than the Benjamin, so that the mechanical advantage is greater with the Hill. It takes a few more strokes with the Hill, but the Hill will EASILY do 3000psi. Takes a specific female adapter though, to use the Hill on Crosman Products. I have sent for some exotic material o-rings to try and get my Benjamin pumps working again. If I feel I am successful in my efforts, I will post again to advertise the results. I do not, however, expect them to give service beyond 2500psi, under any circumstances. But, that would suffice as backup for the Hill pumps. Pyramyd Air says NOT to use CO2 in these. I don't know why. And neither do they. The Owners Manual gives directions for the use of CO2. I'd be interested to know how many shots the .177 version can get @600ft/sec on CO2.

    Product: Bushnell Banner 6-18x50 AO Rifle Scope, Multi-X Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

    Bushnell Banner 6-18x50 AO Rifle Scope, Multi-X Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2013-11-28 12:45:15

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-11-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clarity and Brightness of the image. As others have noted, these have high performance lens coatings, in addition to a very large objective lens. The performance in low light conditions is phenomenal! One of the reasons I bought the first one, I have 4 now, is that the body is long enough to attach a light and laser mount. I have them on my Marauders and Discoveries. I've never seen a telescope with as bright an image in low light. The little Gamo light and laser I have mounted on them are way more than is required for raccoons in the garbage out to 60'. The laser is unnecessary. The light is plenty, with this telescope.
    Things I would have changed:What's to change? There is No Free Lunch. I'm not sure if these are proof on springers. One of my shooting buddies has a Gamo Big Cat .177, and a new Trail NP in .22. Both those guns make short work of low end CenterPoint scopes. The Trail NP is a brute. It's too bad Crosman doesn't put open sights on them. I'm not sure Any scope will stand up to it. And I own a Beeman R10, two Beeman HW77K, Beeman HW30, etc., so that I have some experience with scopes on springers. But, I digress.
    What others should know:These are not mil-dot type. They are "dual tapered" crosshairs. If you understand how mil-dot types work, you can rangefind with these to a degree. They have way more magnification than an airgun really requires, but it's lots of fun to shoot when the image looks like you're so close you can almost reach out and touch it.

    Product: Gamo Laser and Light with 1" Scope Mount

    Gamo Laser and Light with 1 inch Scope Mount
    Review entered on 2013-11-28 13:11:37

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-11-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Bought two of these to mount on the two Marauders I bought. Easily clears a 50mm objective lens.
    Things I would have changed:Others have said the light wasn't bright enough. I am using these on Bushnell 6x18x50 scopes with the Dusk&Dawn lens coatings. With these scopes, the little light is Plenty bright! The Laser is unnecessary for yard work.
    What others should know:I bought these rather than the bsa because these are pictured with push button switches. Turns out, remote switches are included along with the push buttons. The laser adjustments are sensitive. I had to do a little file work on the mounts on one of them to get the laser aligned with the scope within the adjustment limits of the laser. I like it for the money. For me, 61yrs old, it's like I'm Buck Rogers in the 21st Century!

    Product: Eun Jin .25 Cal, 43.2 Grains, Pointed, 83ct

    Eun Jin .25 Cal, 43.2 Grains, Pointed, 83ct
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 14:50:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Smashing! Really. Smashing!! My Marauder @2700psi with the adjustments for power at maximum, shoots these around 735ft/sec. Accuracy is excellent. Groups easily less than a dime @90ft. for 5rounds.
    Things I would have changed:The tin, of course. But I can live with it. I really like pellets that are inexpensive, but shoot very accurately.
    What others should know:Eun Jin pellets DO have lots of oil on them. If you don't like juicy pellets, you'll definitely have to process these. There are also lots of lead chips in with these. I suppose that if one is trying to achieve the absolute maximum precision, those chips would be another aspect that would have to be addressed prior to launch.

    Product: Eun Jin .25 Cal, 35.8 Grains, Domed, 100ct

    Eun Jin .25 Cal, 35.8 Grains, Domed, 100ct
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 15:56:35

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Heavy hitters. Round nose is less likely to be deflected by hard surfaces, like skull bones. My Marauder shoots these very well. Both these and the heaviest eun jins seem to be the most accurate of the pellets I've tried. With 2700psi and the power adjustments at maximum, my mrod launches these at ~800ft/sec.
    Things I would have changed:The tin. Screw top. What's to change about the pellets? Nothing. I'm 61yrs old. The precision of the guns and ammunition nowadays, was not achievable when I was young. Todays manufacturing equipment is so much more precise. Production guns shoot like the Match guns of my youth. But, I digress.
    What others should know:These are oily, and there are lots of lead chips in them. If you don't like juicy pellets, you'll need to process these to your specifications. The chips don't bother me, but some guns may be sensitive to even small pieces of lead in the right/wrong places. I like Eun Jin pellets a lot! In all calibers. When I want the maximum energy my pcp guns are capable of, Eun Jins are what I shoot.

    Product: Skenco Heavy Long-Range .22 Cal, 18Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 75ct

    Skenco Heavy Long-Range .22 Cal, 18Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 75ct
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 17:59:13

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They are a neat idea, if they shot straight. From my Custom 2260s and Custom Discovery, they are not accurate enough for any type of hunting at any range.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe make them a wadcutter like the .177 Skenco Golden Rods. Those are the most accurate of the type in my guns. Not as good as 10.5grain lead, but at least accurate enough to 75ft. I consider the money I spent on these to have been a donation to skenco, to keep developing these types of munitions.
    What others should know:My buddy tried them in his Trail NP, with the same results I had. No group, just random and wide dispersion. They do penetrate better than lead, up close. From my guns, they are so unstable that they lose velocity in a hurry. Can't say I'd recommend these to those on a tight ammunition budget. As something to investigate, they were fun.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 19:00:19

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Inexpensive. Robust, if rough. Shoots about the same speed as my Beeman P1(Beeman exaggerates the performance of the P1) Pretty heavy, but then my buddys' Trail NP is pretty heavy too.
    Things I would have changed:There definitely IS pronounced barrel drop. I pretty much removed the fiber optic part of the front sight to lower it enough to get enough adjustment out of the rear sight to "sight in". The breech seal is way too long, is what causes the pronounced barrel drop. But for $75, I'm not going to be the one to experiment with finding a better fit. I bought this to plink with. Don't have that many rounds through it yet, so can't comment on what I think is the inherent accuracy potential.
    What others should know:Nitro-Piston, Inert Gas Spring guns, have rendered the Spring-Piston types, obsolete. For Crosmans NP guns that have the parts available, a fresh gas piston is not very expensive, and the mechanical complexity of installation is reduced over Spring/Piston Seal replacement, though the preload on the gas piston is higher than the equivalent spring type. For a starter gun that is inexpensive enough to practice airsmithing techniques on, it's hard to beat.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP, Nitro Piston, air rifle combo

    Benjamin Trail NP, Nitro Piston, air rifle combo Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-03 02:06:00

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-12-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Powerful. Pretty quiet for the power it produces. Weaver rail. Thumbhole, synthetic, stock.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger. It smooths up with use, but it's pretty rough and heavy. It is predictable with a little practice, but it's so heavy that even then it's not going win any matches. It is adequate for hunting at small game hunting ranges. 100' or less. Include a more robust telescope. Or, put some decent open sights on it instead.
    What others should know:This machine destroys Centerpoink scopes. Less than a 1000rounds each for two of them. Reticles started turning counterclockwise. The tech I chatted with at PA recommended the etched glass type reticle telescopes. I'll have to get one, but they are more expensive than the rifle was for a good one.

    Product: H&N Field Target Trophy .25 Cal, 20.06 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Trophy .25 Cal, 20.06 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-02 02:21:46

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2014-01-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Screw top can.
    Things I would have changed:Change them into Eun Jin 43gr.?
    What others should know:These don't group well from my Marauder. Started at 22ft/lbs. Went to 30ft/lbs. Went to 35ft/lbs. Went to 40ft/lbs. Finally at maximum power. Didn't group well at any of these launch energies. Maybe they work well at CO2 velocities. If I ever get around to using CO2, I'll try them again.

    Product: Gamo Rocket .25 Cal, 20.8 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 80ct

    Gamo Rocket .25 Cal, 20.8 Grains, Ballistic Tip, 80ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-02 02:26:42

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2014-01-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The steel BB in the tip.
    Things I would have changed:Whatever would make them accurate.
    What others should know:I've tried these at several power levels from my Marauder. They don't seem to shoot well above 700fps. Maybe they shoot better at CO2 velocities, but I got this gun for its power capacity.

    Product: H&N Excite Coppa-Spitzkugel Pellets, .25 Cal, 24.54 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Excite Coppa-Spitzkugel Pellets, .25 Cal, 24.54 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-02 02:41:07

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2014-01-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Pointyness. Hard Shell. Accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:My Marauder shoots these well launching @40ft/lbs or better. But, for the amount of air it uses to do it, I would rather shoot heavier balls.

    Product: Skenco Ultrashock, .25 Cal, 23.50 Grains, Hollowpoint, 75ct

    Skenco Ultrashock, .25 Cal, 23.50 Grains, Hollowpoint, 75ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-02 02:49:51

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2014-01-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.754 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Deepest Hollowpoint I've ever seen. They come apart in water filled milk jugs out to 25yds, from my Marauder at maximum power.
    Things I would have changed:They seem to be extremely unstable. They will group well enough for Nutria or Marmots to 25yds, but they keyhole severely.
    What others should know:I have no doubt that these transmit their energy almost instantly. I would imagine that polymags stop almost as quickly. I haven't tried polymags in .25 yet, but I've used them in .177, .20, and .22, for longer ranges they are probably a better bet than these.

    Product: Benjamin Hand Pump, Fits Crosman & Benjamin PCP Guns

    Benjamin Hand Pump, Fits Crosman & Benjamin PCP Guns
    Review entered on 2014-01-13 17:35:04

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By ZipnZim from USA on 2014-01-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I have two of these pumps. The first one I got with my first disco.(Liked the disco so well, I built two more. Disco upper, 2250 lower.) It worked well for charging my discoveries for about 4yrs, until I decided to tune them "up". Charging them to 2300-2400psi, it didn't take long for the pump to fail. So I began the tribulations others have described. Finally, I considered that my time would be better spent shooting, than poopn with that pump, so I bought another one. Whoops. It was definitely new, but it didn't work well at all, straight out of the box. By then I had researched these pumps online, and the conclusion I reached, was that if I couldn't fix it myself, it wasn't going to get fixed. So, I bought a Hill pump. The Hill got me going again.(And is a higher quality machine.) In the meantime, the ~$400 I've got into these pumps has motivated me to continue to work on getting a reasonable service life out of them. Having studied them to where I understand how they accumulate and transport a charge, and having studied the operational theory for the teflon packing ring that accompanies the piston ring, I see that there is an engineering error in these pumps. The engineer that drew the plans for these pumps, was familiar with the Fluid Dynamics of Hydraulics(liquids), but not the Fluid Dynamics of Gases, which is a more rarefied atmosphere of Fluid Dynamics.(So to speak) The teflon packing ring is the indicator. In Theory, that packing ring should be above/upstream of the
    Things I would have changed:piston o-ring, even though the split in the ring represents a defect in the seal. And if these pumps were transporting liquids, it would probably work well enough. But, the density and viscosity of water(liquids), is so-o much higher than the density and viscosity of gases, that the split in the teflon ring represents a significant breach in the seal. And the pump won't work with that ring in the position where it should theoretically be located. In order for the o-ring itself to make the seal, at the pressures the pump is capable of, the tolerance between the piston head and the cylinder walls must be at minimum, so that the o-ring is not extruded into the gap between the piston head and the cylinder wall by the pressure. That extrusion effect is why these pumps require significantly greater force beyond ~2500psi, because the ring is forming a wedge between the piston head and the cylinder walls, which is what that teflon split-ring was intended to prevent. With a 90durometer Viton o-ring on the piston head, these pumps will charge discoveries in good order. Going near or above 2500psi, will greatly reduce service life. If you want to charge to 3000psi, get a Hill. The Hill pump doesn't have a teflon ring, because the Hill pump, doesn't Need one. The piston diameter on the Hill pump is smaller than on these pumps, which provides a greater mechanical advantage. It takes a few more strokes with the Hill, but the Hill will produce 3000psi with ease. I use it on my Marauder.
    What others should know:I bought another Hill pump for my son, to go with the .25synrod I gave him for xmas. I also taught him how these pumps operate, so that the Hill pumps will probably be giving service long after I am gone. What else would I tell you? If you have one of these pumps, I feel your pain. The Treatment I recommend, is the Hill Pump. Accept No Substitutes.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top