Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-02-16 11:54:24

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2013-02-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I've only had my .22-caliber Dusk for a week-and-a-half, but so far I love everything but the trigger. and even that isn't all that bad. So many reviewers talk about "right out of the box" inaccuracy; "break-in time"; being so long; "dieseling and loud report prior to, and during break-in. CLEAN THE BORE before shooting the gun! and you'll find that all of the above will be reduced to almost zero. After a thorough bore cleaning, it took me three shots with H&N Field Target Trophy's, 14.66 gr. domes, to zero the scope, and three more shots to obliterate a dime-size bulls-eye at 60-feet. I've been shooting 1" hickory nuts off the tree I hung the target on, from my back door all week, and missing darned few. Love the Picatiny Rail scope mount, and the way the cross-bolts lock into the rail slots. I defy the scope to move.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger definitely leaves some to be desired if you wanna drive tacks, but making modifications—without spending nearly 40-bucks for a golden trigger is a no-brainer, if you have modest mechanical skills, no matter what the "experts" and snobs say. The scope is perfectly fine for the average plinker and fun-shooter, but I am going to upgrade to one with AO adjustment so I will have range-finding capability for hunting.
    What others should know:I read, but seldom pay any attention to overly negative reviews on anything, considering most to be verification of the saying: "It's usually best to remain silent, and have people think you are stupid, rather than speak up and remove all doubt." I've never written a review before, but after having read hundreds concerning this rifle, after reading the couple of overly derogatory comments on this site, then receiving mine, I just couldn't withhold. The bore must be cleaned "right out of the box". There was (preservative, I guess) the worst crap I've ever seen in a rifle bore, including the cosmolene my M-1 Garand had been packed in since 1945, when I cleaned it in 1958. It took me a couple of hours and many, many patches before one came out clean. Don't listen to one or two nay-sayers when hundreds of others are singing praises. C'mon. Anyone who claims to have paid over $200. for a gun that sells for $150., and less — wel-l-l-l, doesn't that tell you something/ This is a great gun for the average shooter, and a great platform piece for anyone wanting to tweak himself a tack-driver at a very modest price. I recommend it to anyone, except to those who suffer from "Mine Is Bigger Than Yours Syndrome" and simply must have Calvin Kline instead of Fruit of the Loom. They wouldn't be happy if the Dusk put every shot in the same hole, and only cost twenty-bucks.

    Product: Pellet Pen, Holds 15 .22-Cal Pellets, Green

    Air Venturi Pellet Pen, Holds 15 .22-Cal Pellets, Green
    Review entered on 2013-03-22 08:53:11

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2013-03-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's green.
    Things I would have changed:I can't say that I would change anything other than by adding a clip to keep the thing in your pocket. For those who are interested in gadgets I suppose it has it's place but, for my own interest I prefer to handle the pellet and insert them with my thumb. That gives me the ability to know that every pellet is seated the same as every other pellet. I would much rather have paid the few extra bucks for the H&N belt pellet carrier.
    What others should know:This is not much more than a re-contrived plastic ball-point pen body, and IMO is a bit high priced for all there is to it. There is no pocket retainer clip, so if you carry it in your shirt pocket, be prepared to pick it up off the ground every time you bend over.

    Product: Gamo Padded Rifle Case, 50"x11", Black & Red

    Gamo Padded Rifle Case, 50 inchx11 inch, Black & Red
    Review entered on 2013-03-22 09:04:06

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2013-03-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's quite attractive, and is nicely made
    Things I would have changed:I have several "Uncle Mike's" rifle cases (which were $6.00 less) that have semi-rigid plastic panels that surround the receiver/scope, giving a good bit of protection to those sensitive areas. It would be nice to have that added protection on this case.
    What others should know:My Nitro Venom Dusk resents being housed in a GAMO case. :-)

    Product: BSA Stealth Tactical 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/8 MOA, 1" Tube

    BSA Stealth Tactical 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/8 MOA, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2013-03-22 09:18:07

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2013-03-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:EVERYTHING! The fine reticle; the 1/8" MOA; the AO; the design; especially the iris-type lens covers. If I could afford it I would put one of these on every rifle I own. Not having to deal with flip-up covers, or the sling-shot cups that I always leave somewhere in the woods is great.
    Things I would have changed:Not a single thing.
    What others should know:You do need to be a bit careful with the lens cover closures. They are somewhat delecate, and you don't ant to be poking them with your finger or sharp sticks, but then, you should always be careful with your optics, shouldn't you?

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-04-18 16:26:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2013-04-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good looking gun; looks like a gun; feels like a gun; no cheap plastic look or feel here; great weight and balance; excellent sights (rear finely adjustable, fiber-optic front and rear); I'd be happy if this trigger were on all my guns; extreeeeemely accurate and consistent shooter. I bought three of these: one for my wife, one for myself, and one for visitors. After I tuned in the sights, and lubed the piston seal, I can consistently shoot 1" hickory nuts off a tree fifty-feet from my back door. I hung a plastic Easter egg by a length of fishing line from that same tree. My wife hit it six out of six shots, and started bragging, so I said "That's nothing, watch this.", and I shot the string off just below the branch. If I had seen this gun, and had a chance to handle and shoot it before I had known anything about it, I wouldn't have balked a heartbeat to have given double the price for it.
    Things I would have changed:It is a bit difficult to insert pellets at first, but in a very short time I was loading without looking or even thinking about it. It seems that everybody wants everything to be easy these days. Heck when something is too easy the fun goes out of it.
    What others should know:This is not a woosies gun. It takes a bit of muscle—and technique—to cock it. My wife couldn't cock it until I showed her how I had figured to do it, and now she can cock hers by herself. I push down on the upper with my open palm until I can catch the frame with my fingers, then squeeze till it latches shut. You build up some muscle pretty quick, then it's easy. Oh yeah, don't let your thumb or free fingers—or any other sensitive body parts—get between the frame and the upper as you close them together since, as the piston reaches the end of the stroke, the upper slams very hard into lock. I'm not being a wise-guy here, but I highly recommend you—especially ladies—don't hold the P17 against your—ummmm—chest while cocking it. I still have a blood-blister on the fleshy bit below my thumb from the first time I cocked mine two-weeks ago. You should check for burrs around the air-intake hole at the bottom of the cylinder, and grease the piston and breach seal before shooting it. Other than that, this is one gem of a target pistol. Also, I can attest that gray squirrels go down, and don't get back up with head-shots at 40-50 feet. ;-)

    Product: H&N Baracuda Match .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Match .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-01-14 10:17:10

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2014-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:When shooting these, my Nitro Venom Dusk thinks it's a $3,000. PCP competition rifle. I've several top brand pellets in various weights, but these, in 5.53 diameter will punch single-hole 5-shot groups, at 25-yds., all day.
    Things I would have changed:Well, it would be nice if they were free, but then, if wishes were horses beggars would ride, wouldn't they?
    What others should know:Don't expect any pellet to perform this well from any Chinese gun right out of the box. They don't know about deburring, and I believe they lubricate with a mixture of crude oil and old varnish. Deburr, polish, and lubricate all the moving parts, and CLEAN the bore, then try these pellets. You'll be pleased.

    Product: Dan Wesson 8" CO2 BB Revolver, Black

    Dan Wesson 8 inch CO2 BB Revolver, Black Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-01-14 11:19:43

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2014-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Love the look, size and weight of this beast. It definitely looks and feels like a real firearm. It's great fun to shoot, and I believe there is fine accuracy lurking beneath the surface, however... read on:
    Things I would have changed:The barrel-to-frame hook-up is not good. Actually it is quite bad. With the frame of my gun in a vise, there is over an 1/8" of horizontal travel at the muzzle, and a good 3/32" of vertical travel. There is also excessive wobble at the gate-hinge, and between the cylinder and cylinder-pivot-rod. With that much slop in the barrel-to-frame attachment any degree of consistent accuracy is out of the question, and the combination of loose gate-hinge and cylinder-pivot is certainly robbing the gun of velocity, power, and is wasting CO2. I'm sure that I will be able to correct these deficiencies with some shimming and refitting, but with all the attention to the aesthetic detail, there is no excuse for allowing such shabby attention to be given to mechanics which so affect the power, efficiency, and accuracy of a gun retailing at $119.00. Also: Come out with some bullets that look like, uh... bullets. The piece itself is a dead ringer for a real firearm — look, weight... everything. The shell cases are brass, they look like shell cases. The bullets are cheesy looking plastic, the color of... well... CHEESY LOOKING PLASTIC. They spoil the whole vision.
    What others should know:This is a beautiful piece, and if you are looking for a showcase gun, go for it. But, if you are looking for a shooter, expect to have some work to do to get this one up to its full potential—which I definitely believe is there.

    Product: UTG New Gen 80mm Add-On SWAT Wheel, For AccuShot SWAT Scopes

    UTG New Gen 80mm Add-On SWAT Wheel, For AccuShot SWAT Scopes
    Review entered on 2014-01-21 09:47:06

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2014-01-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good fit and finish; sturdy and solid; looks totally cool on my AR.
    Things I would have changed:Three set-screws instead of two would make for a more stable attachment to the AO knob. A little wider outer rim for adding your own yardage markers would be nice, but that's available elsewhere if you really need it and want to pay the price.
    What others should know:Unless you've got fingers of iron, if you order the scope - which is excellent - order the SWAT Wheel. The AO knob is TIGHT, and tough to turn, at least when new. In my opinion, this is a good thing: when set, it stays put. The wheel makes it smooth and easy to manipulate.

    Product: Crosman Vigilante CO2 Revolver

    Crosman Vigilante CO2 Revolver  Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-01-21 10:55:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2014-01-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Nice feel in the hand; great, and consistent shooter; I get a good 70-80 shots from one CO2 cartridge at around 70-degree ambient temperature in my indoor range.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe a little softer spring under the barrel-to-frame latch. I practically need to stand on the release button in order to open the gun for reloading.
    What others should know: Buy a couple extra packs of pellet-clips, many cans of pellets, and get the 40-unit boxes of CO2 cartridges, 'cause this is a really fun gun to shoot. Take a fine file and deburr the barrel-frame latch, and slightly round off the top corners of the latch, itself. The latch is steel, and the latch retainer is part of the barrel assembly which is plastic. If not deburred, the sharp steel chews pretty hard into the plastic, and may eventually allow a loose hook-up between barrel and frame. If I had had one of these when I was a kid, my home county would have sunken from the weight of expended pellets. Like I said... this is a FUN to shoot gun.:-)

    Product: Beretta 90-TWO CO2 BB Pistol

    Beretta 90-TWO CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-01-31 12:45:03

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2014-01-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Quite frankly, I screwed up big-time when I ordered this pistol. I had been looking at the Px4, trying to make up my mind, reading reviews, chuckling as I wondered if the folks who were raving about how the blow-back action was identical to the "recoil" of the actual firearm, had ever actually fired an "actual" firearm. At the same time, I was working on some other stuff, when my neighbor called wanting some help with something. When I got back to my desk, although I don't like blowback - gas hog -, CO2 guns, for obvious reasons I figured I'd give it a go, even with a few of the other conditions reported by some reviewers. Instead of doing a search for Px4, I went to the CO2/handguns from the home page; scrolled absentmindedly while doing another task. I looked... a- ha, there it is... Send to cart... Paid... Submit Order... A few days later, delivery, I opened the box, and had a "What the @#$% is this?" moment. So, that being said, What do I like? Well, it's black. I like black guns. It looks kinda like it's firearm inspiration, if you don't look too close. Some of it is metal. I like metal. Single action trigger is pretty good. I like the BB mag/CO2 cartridge unit, it functioned flawlessly, although the spring retractor is very hard to get your finger on. The slide racking/cocking feature is sort of nice. It has a barrel, which is a n ice feature for a gun. It would be even nicer if there was some degree of relationship between it and the sights. That, I could really like
    Things I would have changed:First, I would shoot the guy who designed/assembled the barrel/barrel outer sleeve assembly at the muzzle, and hire someone who understood that the projectile is intended to exit the barrel without impacting some foreign object within the first millimeter or so of its free-flight. My first shots hit about two-feet lower than, and 1-1/2 feet to the left of POA at seven-meters. To keep my shots somewhere in the vicinity of the center of my 3'x3' target area, I had to aim dangerously into the air off the upper right corner of the target. Before reloading, I looked things over and found that bore wasn't aligned with the plastic doo-dad (layman-language for "piece of crap that shouldn't be there." This kind of condition is DANGEROUS, and could certainly propel "You'll shoot your eye out." into a ricochet reality, especially when shooting steel BBs with a concrete basement wall behind your target. This same condition was mentioned by at least one reviewer of the Px4, which was one of the reasons I had hesitated purchasing that gun. I would hope that PA look into this before someone gets one that deflects BBs into an adjoining room.
    What others should know:If you want a gun to look at, this really isn't a bad looking replica. If you've never handled any kind of firearm before, and you just want to familiarize yourself with basic gun handling techniques, this is okay: it has a trigger; a stock; a safety (although it's on the wrong side, (and is terribly difficult to operate).: BUT: Before you shoot it, I suggest you go to Pyramyd Air's Air Gun Academy and watch ALL the videos, then, get somebody who knows what they're doing, to look the gun over before you even think about loading it. Also: DON'T listen to anybody who says, "Oh it's a great gun to use to train for Concealed Carry.? it isn't! No air gun is! You train for Concealed Carry WITH THE GUN YOU ARE GOING TO CARRY! I certainly don't want some fool around me, carrying a loaded firearm, who's claim to fame is that he trained with a 34-dollar BB gun. If you can't afford the ammo to train with, get a baseball bat instead, not a BB gun. Their even cheaper to fire, and you don't have to be too well trained to swing one. Now, if you want a BB upgun that looks like a gun, feels like a gun, and shoots pretty darned good right out of the box (ummm, cheesy blister pack)save up a few dollars more and get a Dan Wesson BB Revolver.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top