Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Beeman Field Target Special .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    Beeman Field Target Special .22 Cal, 14.66 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-05-15 01:48:23

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Arvin from USA on 2010-05-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The pellets are very clean and consistency between pellets is superb. This pellet is always in the top 3 for accuracy and consistency in all 3 calibers I shoot - .177, .20, and .22 - in my experience. The other two being Crosman Premier's (boxed) and JSB Exacts. The lead is soft which is both good and bad. The good side is that since the lead is soft, pellet deformation/mushrooming is greater than harder pellets which helps to deliver more shock to the quarry. The bad is that they can be more prone to having the skirts bent if the tin is bumped around too much.
    Things I would have changed:Quantity of 500 vs 200 would be nice, otherwise the original H&N version - Field Target Trophy can be had for $3.00 more.
    What others should know:I prefer the Beeman Field Target Specials re-badged packaging because the Beeman labels are color coded - blue for .177; yellow for .20; green for .22; and red for .25 - which makes it easier for me to I.D. the tin quickly when I'm shooting multiple calibers in a session. I just picked up a Weihrauch HW50S in .22 caliber with approximyately 50 shots through it using the Beeman FTS' and Benjamin Discovery Hollowpoints (14.3gr). I've gotten 3/8" CTC, 5 shot groups at 25 yards. I managed to pull of 3/8" groups with the Benji HP's also, but the quality and size consistency is nowhere near that of the Beeman FTS'.

    Product: Benjamin Discovery .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    Benjamin Discovery .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-05-15 02:01:47

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Arvin from USA on 2010-05-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:5 shot groups at 25 yards yield .375" - .625" CTC accuracy in my brand new Weihrauch HW50s. Great bargain @ $9.50 for 500 pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Pellets are pretty dirty with lube/dust? which makes my fingertips turn a smudgy dark gray after handling only 10 or so. Consistency between pellets could be improved.
    What others should know:As a previous reviewer mentioned, consistency isn't that great and found that there were 3 different sizes. I didn't separate them as the previous reviewer did, but did notice that the fit in my HW50s' breach went from not too tight but just right, to a bit looser but still requiring slight pressure to insert fully into the breach, to loose where the pellet would drop right into the breach without applying any pressure. Even though there was size inconsistency, it didn't seem to affect accuracy. I'm sure this may translate into flyers and bigger groups past 35yds, but for my intended usage 20-35yds, they seem to be sufficient. My original intent for purchasing these was to use a cheaper pellet to break in my HW50s. The fact that it shoots pretty well is a bonus.

    Product: Benjamin Cylindrical .20 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Pointed, 500ct

    Benjamin Cylindrical .20 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Pointed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-05-15 16:25:29

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Arvin from USA on 2010-05-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets are pretty accurate, getting .375" CTC 5 shot groups @ 25yds with my Beeman R7 .20 cal. The Benjamin Cylindrical pellets are a good bargain @ $12.59 for 500 pellets. Quality is not as high as Beeman FTS and JSB Exacts, but overall quality is OK. The Benjamin Cylindrical pellets fit a little loose requiring light pressure to get them seated. The great ballistic coefficient retains the energy downrange which gives it good knockdown power.
    Things I would have changed:These pellets are made of hard lead. I would like a version/option with a lighter weight and softer lead. The pellets were quite dirty, leaving my fingers a dark gray film after only handling 10.
    What others should know:I bought these to break in my Beeman R7 and wasn't expecting the good accuracy that I achieved. I usually stick to Beeman/H&N, RWS, Crosman Premiers (brown boxed) and JSB's as their quality control is excellent. I did some phone book and 3/4" plywood penetration tests @ 10 and 25 yards with my R7 .20 cal and found that the Benjamin Cylindrical pellets retained their shape with little deformation in comparison to the Beeman FTS. The FTS' mushroomed perfectly to half size and to the size of a flat button. I prefer softer lead as it is my belief that softer lead aids in transferring more shock to the target, as oppose to penetrating. If great penetration is what you're after then these would be good at that. Final note, using the Benjamin Cylindrical pellet beyond 35 yards with the R7 .20 cal gets loopy, but so would be the case with any heavy pellet in a light powered air rifle. Even though I'm getting good accuracy with these, I think I'm pushing the limits of my R7. I think these are better suited for medium to high powered rifles in the likes of the Beeman R9, R1, RX-2, HW97K, Weihrauch HW77 and PCP's.

    Product: Beeman Field Target Specials .20 Cal, 11.42 Grains, Domed, 200ct

    Beeman Field Target Specials .20 Cal, 11.42 Grains, Domed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-05-18 05:07:25

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Arvin from USA on 2010-05-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Beeman FTS pellets are very clean and fit the breach perfectly - medium light pressure used to seat the pellet in the breach. Excellent quality and consistency in size and shape. Shoots very accurate out of my brand new Beeman R7 .20 right out of the box - consistent .375" CTC 5 shot group @ 25 yards. My best grouping so far was .3125" (also 5 shot group 25yds). I've only had 2 session with the R7, altogether I have around 50 shots through it. The Beeman FTS pellets are made of softer lead which yields greater pellet expansion and more shock to the quarry in comparison to harder domed pellets such as the Crosman Premiers (boxed and tinned), Crosman Premier Hollow Points, and Benjamin Discovery Hollowpoints.
    Things I would have changed:Make quantities of 500 pellets per tin available.
    What others should know:You can get the same pellet without Beeman's markup - H&N Field Target Trophy .20 Cal, 11.42 Grains in 500 pellet quantity. If you didn't already know Haendler and Natermann makes Beeman pellets, just like how Beeman imports and re-badges Weihrauch and Theoben air rifles. I like that Beeman categorizes their calibers in the tins by color - blue for .177; yellow for .20; green for .22; and red for .25. This makes it easier to quickly I.D. the calibers in my ammo box. I plan on buying the H&N Target Trophies and re-use the Beeman FTS tin for quick I.D. convenience. Beeman FTS shoot accurately in all my air rifles - Beeman R9 .177, Remington NPSS .177, Beeman R7 .20, and Weihrauch HW50S .22, and will always be in my top 3 go to pellet selection.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top