Date: 23/8/2017 3:26
0

Customer Reviews by Paul from USA

Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle

Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-02-21 18:28:36

5.0 5.0

3.0 3.0

4.0 4.0

By Paul from USA on 2013-02-21
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Very quiet, decent on the power and seriously accurate!

Things I would have changed: Magically have the gun re-fill itself. Pumping kinda sucks, a bottle would be nice.

What others should know: Bone stock (no tuning, except a Leapers 3-9X40). I ran 7 Mags through it on one charge (start 2800 Psi - 1000 Psi end) with Crosman Premier HP pellets. Accuracy started to suffer in the upper sixties but still not bad. High of 868 fps and low of 688 fps. Crony data showed that the factory tune has the hammer a little light as it took almost 3 mags to peak out on fps.

 

Benjamin 397

Benjamin 397 Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-04-13 23:49:06

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Paul from USA on 2013-04-13
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Oh my! Amazing rifle. Wasn't expecting much from an old school design. But add the Williams sight and this thing gives my marauder a run in accuracy at 25 yds. It seems to like the crosman brown box 10.5 domed the best.

Things I would have changed: Toss the blade rear sight. Seriously? How could you sell a gun this nice with no windage adjustment? Trigger needs a little work, but can be easily made tolerable. A little on the loud side. Should have bought the .22, wasn't expecting this to be so much fun to shoot. Almost zero room for modification. Pumping takes some effort.

What others should know: Think of it as analog vs. digital. Very mechanical feel as opposed to the on/off feel of a Pcp. There's a little finesse needed in getting this thing to shoot well. But when you get it, the planets align. Get the peep sight, seriously just order the sight along with the gun. Otherwise you'll just have to wait another week to shoot well.

Benjamin 392 pump air rifle

Benjamin 392 pump air rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-12-28 18:24:17

3.0 3.0

3.0 3.0

3.0 3.0

By Paul from USA on 2013-12-28
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Fun old design shoots well after lots of effort.

Things I would have changed: Crosman needs to step it up on the QC. I've got a 397, HB22 and a 392. None were straight (front sight canted and barrel to pump tube weld off center) and all had lots of paint in the barrel. Rifling doesn't cut as deep into the pellets as I'd like. Cut the stock further back for better leverage on the pump. I'd really like to see an update to this design pumpers are cool.

What others should know: Paint in the barrel is horrible! It's a very hard paint that will cause fouling and ruin accuracy. I chased this problem for months before realizing that I'd missed a spot about an inch before the crown. Acetone and a q-tip will get it with some effort. I re-crowned it with a brass pan head screw, valve lapping compound then polished with rouge. The blade sight works OK but the Williams 64 will make it perform. Best accuracy pellets for me were Crosman HPs and JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr.

Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle

Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2017-01-13 18:46:07

4.0 4.0

3.0 3.0

5.0 5.0

By Paul from USA on 2017-01-13
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: .177- This is my third Marauder and second gen 2. It likes the 10.5 Crosman brown box domes (what doesn't). 10/10 aspirin at 25yds. My factory tune is @ 960fps with 10.5 domes, and 1050 with the 7.9s. Curve is almost perfect with this tune. I may slow it down just it hair to get 50 shots. I get 40-45 shots (3000 psi fill) when the velocity starts to fall off. Shape of the stock is comfortable and not as bulky as the gen 1.

Things I would have changed: Stock finish is not as nice as the gen 1. Mine had a few blemishes that were filled/touched-up with wood filler. Detail on the the fore end of the previous model was nice but is not present on this one. Air reservoir finish is rough and snags my cotton cleaning rag. Build quality not as nice as the 1st gen, sad because it's a really nice design and deserves a quality appearance.

What others should know: UTG 4-16x44 (SCP3-U416AOIEW) scope has 1/4" clearance over barrel shroud with medium rings. All of my Marauders suffer from a moisture issue causing corrosion around the aluminum gauge boss inside the air tube--trapped moisture will ultimately corrode around the o-rings and leak. This is drastically aggravated by use of a manual pump. Marauders are fun to shoot but can get expensive to operate, as PCPs are best paired with a reliable, dry, air source... a good 97 Cu Ft fiber bottle is around $800 fully setup but totally worth if if you have a source for 4k air nearby.

 
Navigation