Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-07-24 14:00:00

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-07-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I gave it a 5 star for accuracy, but, because of the brutal weather we've been having, I haven't fired a lot of shots. My impression, however, is that it is going to make me a better shot. The recoil is minimal for a springer. With that caveat, here's my opinion: 1. It's beautiful. The bluing, the walnut, the shape and the checkering are all first class. 2. It's heavy. With scope, it weighs in at 10.2 lbs on my bathroom scale. For comparison, my Gamo Silent Stalker weighs 7.8 lbs with scope and my Remington 700 weighs 7.2 lbs without scope. This probably contributes to its accuracy. It's stable even shooting standing, without support. If you do a lot of walking while hunting, you definitely want a sling. 3. It's smooth. The underlever cocking is very easy and the trigger is crisp and predictable. 4. It's quiet. At least in 22 caliber, there isn't the supersonic crack that annoys the neighbors.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, really. The walnut is very dark and, in retrospect, I might have preferred the beech, but that's nit-picking.
    What others should know:The folks at Pyramyd Air have a lot of knowledge that they're willing to share so take advantage of it (Thanks, Dan the Man). Get the 10 for 10 setup. My scope was mounted and zeroed perfectly out of the box.

    Product: Hawke Sport Optics Airmax EV 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope, Map 6 Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

    Hawke Sport Optics Airmax EV 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope, Map 6 Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2012-07-24 14:06:23

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2012-07-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The sight picture is sharp and clear, even on the edges. I like the reticle.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. It's a good scope for the money.
    What others should know:Download the "Chairgun" app from Hawke. It's a little difficult to understand at first, but there are a lot of demonstrations on YouTube which make it clear.

    Product: Plano Single Scoped Rifle Case + Installation, 51.5"

    Plano Single Scoped Rifle Case + Installation, 51.5 inch
    Review entered on 2012-07-24 14:18:13

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2012-07-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Installation was great and well worth the money (includes checking out the gun, mounting and zeroing the scope). The case, however, is just adequate. It serves the purpose of protecting the rifle, but everything is plastic and would not survive hard usage.
    Things I would have changed:For my purposes the case is OK, but if I were traveling a lot with my rifle, I would check out a more rugged case (Pyramyd has several)

    Product: Air Arms S510 Xtra FAC Sidelever PCP Air Rifle

    Air Arms S510 Xtra FAC Sidelever PCP Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-04-25 12:49:09

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-04-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a beautiful gun, with fine craftmanship in every detail. The accuracy is outstanding, just as it came out of the box. I tried AA field pellets and JSB Jumbo Express Pellets, just because they were convenient and both were equally accurate at 30 and 40 yards. This rifle, like other AA guns I've shot, is not at all pellet fussy. The rifle is well balanced and feels good when shooting standing.
    Things I would have changed:I'm not a fan of the AA fill connection but it works OK. A plain quick-connect (as on Benjamin) would be simpler. I would also prefer to load the magazine from the right side (see below). While the cheek rise seems to fit me pretty well, it would be great to have an adjustible cheek piece.
    What others should know:I also have an AA S510 carbine with the Poplar stock. While it's attractive, the poplar is a softwood and is easily dinged. The walnut stock is far superior and doesn't seem any heavier. You cannot use a Hawke Sidewinder scope with the 4" side wheel on AA rifles because it interferes with the magazine. The 2" side wheel is OK.

    Product: Air Arms S410/S510 Magazine, .177 Cal, 10 Rds

    Air Arms S410/S510 Magazine, .177 Cal, 10 Rds
    Review entered on 2013-04-25 12:59:13

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By James from USA on 2013-04-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's very simple and effective.
    Things I would have changed:There should be some sort of color code to distinguish pellet size. If you have several mags in 0.177, 0.22, and 0.25, they all look exactly alike at a glance. The price is unjustified for such a simple piece of equipment.
    What others should know:There is no positive stop when the magazine is empty. It is easy to accidentally fire a blank.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top