Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo

    Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-07-09 18:18:18

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2012-07-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great gun period. It's made of lighter, less expensive wood than my other guns. But the stock is nicely finished. The sights are fiber optic which function great, but feel cheap when you're adjusting them because they're plastic. The finishing/blueing of the barrel and metal parts is average and somewhat spotty on the Optimus, but that only affects how it looks, not it's performance. In my opinion, the trigger is heavy, but not obnoxiously so. It breaks clean, but with more effort to get it there. I had some difficulty getting pellets to seat all of the way down. I tried several brands, and most would leave a little bit of the skirt sticking out. This would results in some slight deformation of the skirt when the barrel was closed. I strongly believe this was the cause a few “fliers”. Not surprising, but Crosman Premiers seat the best. Not counting the fliers, accuracy was very good. It has so much power that I was shattering the pellets on my steel backstop at 50ft rather than just turning them into a pancake like my other guns shooting around 700 FPS.
    Things I would have changed:Make it so more pellet brands seat all the way down in the barrel easier so the skirts aren’t deformed slightly when the barrel is closed. Make the sights out of metal, though that may be hard to do at this price point. Make the safety automatically engage when cocked. Pyramid's web site claims that the Optimus has an automatic safety. I take that to mean that it engages every time the gun is cocked. That was not the case with mine. I called Crosman customer service and was told the Optimus has a manual safety. So, instead of me needing to return this gun as defective, Pyramyd just needs to correct their product description/specifications.
    What others should know:Super value for the money. The scope is only average, but for $15 more than the gun by itself, the combo is well worth it. You're going to spend 3 times this price on a different gun before you start to notice a big difference in performance.

    Product: Benjamin 397

    Benjamin 397 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-08-02 10:39:57

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2012-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well built workhorse of a gun. Solid all wood and metal construction. Carbine size is great for maneuverability and keeps weight down so it's easy to shoot accurately from a standing freehand position. My springers are very particular about what they shoot well, but not this gun. This gun will shoot any pellet you put in it with decent accuracy. You can feed garbage through it and not be far off center. Trigger is not perfect, but a little above average for a gun in this price range. Just a fun all around daily shooter.
    Things I would have changed:The sights are solid but not very good compared with other guns in this price range. It just has a fixed black blade and a notch with elevation adjustment but no windage adjustment. The major negative about this gun is the pumping effort. You only need 4 pumps to get about 75% of the max velocity which is plenty for target shooting. But, 4 is quite a workout and gets exponentially more difficult on pumps 5-8. My 14 yr old son has trouble pumping it 4 times after firing more than a dozen shots.
    What others should know:I got the Williams peep sight, and it's well made and easy to install. However, at its lowest adjustment it still shoots high at 50ft. A little mental adjustment on my part and accuracy is much better than with the open sights. But, not sure why a sight made specifically for this gun doesn't work properly with it.

    Product: Gamo .177 Pellet Sampler Pack

    Gamo .177 Pellet Sampler Pack
    Review entered on 2012-08-02 10:51:42

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2012-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The price for quantity is fantastic. Where else are you going to get 1000 pellets for $12?
    Things I would have changed:The quality of the pellets isn't very good. Lots of visible mold lines, some lead tags at the seams, and the occasional deformed pellet.
    What others should know:Give these to the kids to pump through their cheaper guns.

    Product: RWS Hobby .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Hobby .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-08-02 11:27:56

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2012-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The pellets visually appeared consistent and well-formed. Despite looks, I had a flier once out of every 8-10 shots. I imagine the light weight and high power might have had something to do with it. Heavier pellets perform better in my RWS 34.
    Things I would have changed:The lid on the tin pops off very easily. I would like to see it changed to a screw top.
    What others should know:We had a difficult time getting these to seat well in my son's Crosman Optimus. No matter how hard we pushed, a little of the skirt would stick out and get crushed/deformed when closing the barrel.

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-08-02 11:39:57

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2012-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Perfectly formed super high quality pellets. The best accuracy and performance in my RWS 34.
    Things I would have changed:The lid on the tin pops off very easily. I would like to see it changed to a screw top.

    Product: Diana RWS 34 Striker Combo, TO6 Trigger

    Diana RWS 34 Striker Combo, TO6 Trigger Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-08-02 14:54:25

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2012-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This has to be the best springer you can get for under $225 (for just the gun). The trigger is the best I’ve ever seen on a pellet gun. The quality is phenomenal and accuracy is crazy good. It’s build like a tank and takes a good amount of effort to cock.
    Things I would have changed:I would have liked to have seen the trigger guard and front sight made out of metal rather than plastic. This gun is heavy, very heavy. A standing freehand shot is difficult due to the weight and a longer shooting session becomes a challenge after a while without support. I guess that’s the price you pay for nice hardwood, a heavy barrel and a chamber built to last.
    What others should know:This gun likes heavier pellets. I had the best luck with RWS Meisterkugeln. Anything lighter than 8 grains like RWS Hobby and you end up with looser spreads and some fliers now and then.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top