Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-04-07 20:50:14

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2013-04-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It has a synthetic stock, and feels like a solid rifle. I like the piston technology because it does make for a quiet shooting pellet rifle. My previous experience is with a spring powered winchester pellet rifle that eventually broke on me that was loud, but accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy, I can't emphasize this enough. Overall design with how it cocks. Personally I expect a trigger to not be so great on a product in this price range, but it is pretty terrible to be blunt.
    What others should know:I wanted to break this rifle in to get the shot grouping tighter, so I reached about the 200 shot mark, and I experienced a defect. The bracket that connects the barrel and spring, basically what I would call the hinge (for lack of a better term, I'm not an air rifle expert by any means) that allows you to cock the piston became bent and cracked the stock. After that I couldn't use it. I shipped it back on my own dime via FedEx. Huge mistake since it cost me $100 because it was pellet rifle. I got the second one, and I just can't get this thing to be somewhat consistent at 15-20 yards. I'm not impressed by this rifle at all. I'm pretty sure the same defect is about to happen to me since that same hinge is bent slightly. It's only a matter of time, so I'm looking for a new pellet rifle. Buy definitely beware...

    Product: Stoeger Arms X20S Suppressor Air Rifle

    Stoeger Arms X20S Suppressor Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-07-18 11:36:08

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle surprised me the most with it's accuracy in .22 at 30 yards. I made minor adjustments to the scope out of box, and I held noteworthy groups spreading to about an inch and a quarter at 30 yards with JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 cal 15.89 grains.
    Things I would have changed:I would prefer a MIL-STD picatinny rail on top instead of the dovetail. I didn't love the trigger, but it is manageable. This rifle is A LOT sweeter with a GRT III installed. I installed one, and I won't be looking back. Keep in mind I held 1 inch groups @ 30 yards with the stock trigger. I installed the GRT III trigger after the 500 shot mark.
    What others should know:I was really surprised by the stock optics. I didn't keep that scope on the rifle with my current setup because I wanted magnification. I felt like it offered enough clarity for me, and the illumination in low light is a great feature where I observed a bright illuminated reticle when I used it. From reading other reviews I thought I was going to get stuck with a completely useless optic, in my opinion those reviews are a bit too critical for what it is. I would use these optics on another rifle in a heartbeat. When I installed a UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT I experienced significant barrel droop. I purchased a UTG Drooper Scope Rail 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, and I still could not adjust the scope enough to compensate for droop. I eventually shimmed the scope (using UTG packaging recommended by Pyramyd Air), and I was able to get the scope to adjust for where the rifle was shooting. In hindsight perhaps I should have went with something in the 3-12 magnification range.

    Product: Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Predator International Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2014-07-18 11:44:20

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fast shooting, good penetration
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy
    What others should know:I can't bring myself to shoot enough of these pellets because the accuracy and consistency I experienced while shooting with my Stoeger X20S was deplorable. When I say deplorable I mean 6"-12" groups at various ranges of 10-30 yards. They also seemed to leave behind a coating or trail in the barrel, as when I went to shoot JSB ammo my zero was off until I shot 20-40 rounds, and I would be back where I was. I wish they worked great, they don't. I can't recommend these to anyone if they plan to use it with a rifle like the one I used.

    Product: UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift

    UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift
    Review entered on 2014-07-18 12:38:13

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Length of the Adapter Four Set Screws Stop pin Once this thing is set, it feels rock solid.
    Things I would have changed:Perhaps UTG could offer an adapter that allows for more compensation of droop? Perhaps a selection guide for matching adapters with specific scopes?
    What others should know:This adapter worked well enough to drastically improve the amount of droop; however, it didn't completely solve the issue. I ended up shimming the scope to allow for enough elevation. Before I shimmed the scope I was at maximum elevation adjustment, and my shots were still roughly 8"-12" low. Once I cut a couple pieces of UTG's thick clear plastic packaging (recommended by Pyramyd Air Tech Support) to fit between my rear scope ring and scope I was able to obtain proper elevation adjustment. My current setup: Stoeger X20S UTG Drooper Scope Rail 11mm to Weaver Adapter UTG 30mm Max Strength Rings, Low, Picatinny, Twist-Lock Base UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope ("shimmed") Keep in mind that this was my personal experience, and it may not happen with your scope and rifle setup. I don't have enough resources to confirm otherwise.

    Product: Stoeger Arms ATAC Soft Rifle Case, 48"

    Stoeger Arms ATAC Soft Rifle Case, 48 inch
    Review entered on 2014-07-18 13:00:20

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well padded Textured Rubber sections on the outside towards the barrel Smooth Zipper
    Things I would have changed:The side pocket wall is really thin, and isn't sturdy.
    What others should know:I think the only thing to note about this is the side pocket is kind of a joke. Overall I like this case though, and I think that is a minor complaint. Everything else on this case is great for a soft case, but they chose to go with a pocket that holds extra items, but it isn't padded. On the plus side the pocket is really big, and it can hold several large items. Just don't expect any protection for what is in there.

    Product: UTG 30mm Max Strength Rings, Low, Weaver/Picatinny, Twist-Lock Base

    UTG 30mm Max Strength Rings, Low, Weaver/Picatinny, Twist-Lock Base
    Review entered on 2014-07-18 13:16:58

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Black Sturdy Twist-lock Allen wrench included Extra set screws included
    Things I would have changed:I would prefer that there not be adhesive lined inside the rings.
    What others should know:I have several scope rings from UTG, and I feel like the twist-lock base model is the easiest to use, and they're exceptionally sturdy. You have enough space to fit your allen wrench completely through the twist knob to give you more leverage to shore up the rings to your rifle or base. The adhesive on the inside is functional, but I've had to adjust my scope an excessive amount for barrel droop, and the adhesive leaves kind of a mucky sheen behind once the scope is moved. Compared to other Leapers models in 30mm: 30mm Rings, High 3/8" Dovetail 30mm Rings, Medium, 3/8" Dovetail 30mm See-thru Rings I preferred the twist-lock base to work with the most.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal, 15.89 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2014-07-18 13:27:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy Consistency The Packaging
    Things I would have changed:Price
    What others should know:I really enjoyed shooting an entire tin of these pellets. The pellets seem very consistent in form and quality. They're also very consistent in accuracy and consistency through a Stoeger X20S. If I had to be critical I would want a little more velocity, but that is easily solved by going with a different grain type. I haven't shot enough of the 13.43 grain type yet to make a fair comparison to these though. In this case the price is slightly high compared to what I'm used to paying for other tins of .177, but I will not complain about the performance. In the end the price is fair enough I think. I've never experienced such a well made tin that closed securely, and had nice foam on the inside. This attention to detail will keep me buying more of JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo.

    Product: UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT AccuShot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

    UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT AccuShot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2014-07-18 14:02:06

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Magnification range Plethora of illumination colors Clarity (for the price) Detailed user manual Dust caps included
    Things I would have changed:PLETHORA of illumination colors User Manual - not entirely model specific Dust caps - they wiggle around and don't stay in place all the time
    What others should know:Overall I'm pretty conflicted in the purchase of this scope. I neither love it, nor hate it. Combine that outlook with a majorly annoying experience in barrel droop, and having a heck of a time getting a consistent grouping with a shimmed scope. I'm trying to find reasons not to sell it. I put this on a Stoeger X20S. It was a very accurate rifle with stock optics. I feel like I have way too much scope for the rifle. Adjusting higher magnification to get acceptable clarity at shorter ranges just doesn't happen the way I would like it to. If I had another UTG Leapers Scope in a lower power to compare it to I could be more fair, and maybe realistic. I can't say I'd recommend another person to purchase it. Aside from my criticisms, I want to experiment with a quiet .22 caliber pellet rifle at longer ranges, and this scope will help me do that. I hope.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top