Date: 28/9/2016 6:20
0

Customer Reviews by Lynn from USA

Diana RWS 460 Magnum

Diana RWS 460 Magnum Air rifle
Review entered on 2012-12-09 01:25:52

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2012-12-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Very high build quality, great looking rifle, extreme power/velocity in 177 cal, superb accuracy right out of the box, very impressive. T06 trigger is spectacular, and a HUGE part of this rifle's excellent performance.

Things I would have changed: Some people don't like the front sight.

What others should know: Once you shoot the 460 magnum, you will understand just how good it is. With very little practice, you will be getting tiny groups at 30 yards. Also, the T06 trigger is so good, you will not even believe it, until you try it. Truly fantastic! I would say it's nearly a 'hair trigger' so be prepared for that. Further, there is no "springy" sound when firing the rifle (many cheaper springers make that noise, but not this one). All you hear is a "crack" when fired; it sounds a lot like a .22 long rifle, but a bit quieter. Overall, I am very impressed with the quality of this rifle, the outstanding power and velocity, and the ease of taking surgically accurate, hard-hitting shots even at longer ranges.

Benjamin Cylindrical .20 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Pointed, 500ct

Benjamin Cylindrical .20 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Pointed, 500ct
Review entered on 2012-12-24 01:02:45

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2012-12-24
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.02 ratings

Things I liked: Excellent weight, these hit very hard without slowing down the velocity too much. Accuracy at 40 yards is decent, and you can easily use this pellet for squirrel or rabbit hunting within that range.

Things I would have changed: Nothing. I used to shoot the old Sheridan brand cylindrical pellets, many years ago, and those were good to about 25 yards before flying wildly off target. This new style shape is a huge improvement and extends your effective range about ten yards at least (when shot from a old '79 Silver Streak).

What others should know: I have never tried these in a modern air rifle. I am basing my review entirely on their performance when shot from my 1979 C series Sheridan Silver Streak pneumatic. Overall, I give these pellets an excellent rating--Accuracy, Velocity, and Uniformity of shape, all very good to excellent.

Diana RWS 350 Magnum Striker Combo. 177, TO5

Diana RWS 350 Magnum Striker Combo. 177, TO5 Air rifle
Review entered on 2012-12-26 00:59:39

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2012-12-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: High-end build quality, superb accuracy, and very high power.

Things I would have changed: I prefer the T06 trigger, but, the T05 is still worlds better than most others I've tried.

What others should know: This rifle is huge: Very long, and it is also very heavy. The feel is typical German design; meaning, this thing is very heavy and bulky, but at the same time, it shoots like a dream, as smooth and pleasurable as fine chocolate. Brilliant! The Germans expect the owner to adapt to this rifle, not complain about it's weight and size, because, you will be greatly rewarded for your efforts due to it's extra fine trigger pull, superb accuracy, and blazing power. I love German engineering, it is so 'in your face', but at the same time they pay great attention to fine, smooth details. An example on this rifle is the tapered breech, which allows pellets to nearly 'fall' into loading position, smooth as silk! All mechanical actions of this rifle are super smooth and easy. Housing all of these fine workings is a huge, heavy rifle body. Like I said, very German! Built like a tank, I can easily see this gun lasting basically forever. Highly recommended, and I can tell you this much; once you shoot one, you will understand just how great it is. These RWS rifles are in another league entirely, compared with the junk you can buy at wal-mart.

Crosman 2100B Air Rifle

Crosman 2100B Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-01-02 03:19:50

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2013-01-02
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Things I liked: 1) Extremely accurate with Crosman Premier hollow points, with groupings of 1/8" to 1/4" at 10 meter range. Tight groups continue out to around 25 yards, and that is very, very good considering the price of this rifle. 2) Good quality for the price; this model has been known to last 15 years or more, without repair under average use. This means this model is a great choice for scoping, and owning for a fairly long time before needing replacements seals. 3) Excellent air chamber design (same concept as Benjamin and Sheridan air chamber designs). Efficient, and very reliable.

Things I would have changed: Pumping action is tougher than some other pneumatics, similar to Benjamin 397. Not a complaint though, I have become accustomed to the extra effort. Plastic stock is ultra-cheap, hollow, and too light. I suggest drilling a hole in the butt plate, and filling the stock with some type of acrylic or other polymer to add weight and a stable feel to the stock. Considering the effort required to cock the hammer/ open the bolt fully, I think Crosman should replace the plastic bolt with some type of sturdy metal bolt handle. It's fine in cold weather, as the plastic is stiff, but in warm weather, it is softer, and flexes too much. I should note: Cocking effort is reduced greatly once the rifle is broken-in (about 500 shots or so).

What others should know: Rifle is a truly great inexpensive choice for target practice and plinking. This thing is incredibly accurate, so much so, as to be very surprising. Frequent oiling is necessary on the pump cup to maintain decent velocities. Manual says 250 shots, but I recommend oiling about every 30 shots or so, whenever the pump cup looks dry. Consistently high velocities around 650 fps require frequent oiling. Not a complaint, this is just how it is. This rifle is great for mounting a scope. I prefer the $50 dollar Center Point brand .22 rimfire scope, because it works so well, and will embarrass friends at the 10 meter range with much more expensive air rifles, since it's accuracy is so incredibly good (with pellets). Shooting BB's is a waste of time for target practice, but, they are great for taking out rats, and snakes, at close range. Some people don't know this, but you can repeatedly open and close the breech to load multiple BB's into the breech, providing an effective 'scatter-gun' effect at close range for taking out rats, snakes, or whatever. Also, you can muzzle load a wadding, such as a felt cleaning pellet, then follow up with No. 8 lead bird shot, for a great 'rat shot' load, or simply as a 'stinger' to run off unwanted pests. Being a pneumatic, you can be creative and play around with various types of loads, airgun darts, or whatever you can fit in the barrel. Some people build arrows from small diameter wooden dowels, for launching out of the rifle.

Umarex XBG CO2 Pistol

Umarex XBG CO2 Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2013-02-17 00:32:55

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Lynn from USA on 2013-02-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Things I liked: Superb value, very low cost. Quality is excellent for the price. Accuracy is also excellent (for a BB pistol) regardless of price. Over a hundred shots per C02, means it is very economical to shoot. Plastic construction is high quality, and feels just like a real firearm that is built of ABS plastic. Very nice looking details, very tough and solid construction. Lightweight, perfectly balanced in the hand. Feels great to hold and shoot. Also, very, very fun to shoot and practice with.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is long, a bit heavy, BUT, smooth. Trigger breaks predictably, so it's easy to get accurate shots off. No real complaints about the gun overall, especially considering how inexpensive it is.

What others should know: Umarex USA offers only quality products, and even their economical models such as this one, still retain very high quality builds and top quality design. It feels tight. Actions such as the C02 loading, and magazine construction and loading procedure feel very smooth, tight, and solid. I am still impressed with the low cost of this gun considering it's performance and quality feel. Also, accuracy is incredibly good for a 4" barrel firing BB's. You get a superb practice weapon here for a ridiculously low price. Highly recommended on the 'cheap'.

Umarex XBG CO2 Pistol

Umarex XBG CO2 Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2013-02-19 23:45:15

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2013-02-19
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Things I liked: Excellent value. A quality product at a super low price. I like the feel of it, this pistol fits my hand perfectly, and feels solid and sturdy. Fit and finish are top notch. Accuracy is EXCELLENT for a BB gun, I shoot soda cans at 15 yards easily hitting them. This pistol is economical with the CO2, easily getting over 100 shots, even on a cool day. Power is also very impressive for a BB pistol. I like this gun a LOT ! It is super fun to shoot, and I bet Umarex is selling a large number of this model. Also, you can mount a laser sight on the bottom rail, adding to the fun of shooting this gun. A simply great combination of low-cost, quality, and fun.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is raspy at first, but will smooth out after a few hundred shots. Then it's much better. I can't really think of anything else to change on it, because this model really is a great practice weapon and backyard plinker. Tons of fun, and super cheap to shoot all afternoon.

What others should know: This pistol does not have active slide action, but that's ok, it's so much fun to shoot that it doesn't matter. But, it does have a drop out magazine, like a real gun, so it's fun to drop the mag, load it up, and click it back in, like a real gun. The action of the magazine slide is smooth as silk, with a positive 'click' engagement. Very good stuff, very fun to shoot. The black plastic construction is really high end stuff, I think it's ABS, very tough material, with a nice, solid feel, just like a real firearm constructed of synthetic material. Feels the same as the real thing.

Smith & Wesson 686, 6-inch Revolver

Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson 686, 6-inch Revolver Air gun
Review entered on 2016-01-10 18:57:43

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2016-01-10
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Top of the line build quality. Perfect weight and balance. Trigger pull is very nice, and double action pull is super smooth. Extremely accurate.

Things I would have changed: Match the color of the cylinder to the rest of the gun. And offer wooden grips as an option. Otherwise it is perfect.

What others should know: Excellent, top notch replica, great for practicing target shooting.

H&N Rundkugel, .177, 4.50mm Dia., 7.70 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Rundkugel, .177, 4.50mm Dia., 7.70 Grains, Round Ball, 500ct
Review entered on 2016-02-08 17:14:29

3.0 3.0

1.0 1.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2016-02-08
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Easy to load, very uniform in size and shape. Also, hard hitting and excellent penetration.

Things I would have changed: Price is a little too high.

What others should know: These are not very accurate compared to regular pellets. Poor groupings on targets. These do not work in guns with bb magazines, such as the crosman 2100; they are to big and will not feed into the breech. For my use, these are not worth buying again.

Winchester 77XS Multi-Pump Air Rifle

Winchester 77XS Multi-Pump Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-02-12 00:06:53

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2016-02-12
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Under $100 dollars, including a decent scope. Multi pump, variable power, and zero recoil, no special hold required to be accurate. Simply aim and shoot, hold it however you want. And use any scope you want, does not require a special airgun scope like the springers do. Also very accurate with pellets, and very good power, definitely enough to take down small pest animals such as starlings, pidgeons, squirrels, rats, and snakes. There are very few air rifles at this price point that can do as much as this rifle can. This is an all weather airgun, no worries about getting wood wet or scratched, or blued steel rusted, as there are none of these materials on this rifle. The plastics are solid and of a tough compound. Internals are of the old daisy 880 design and that is well proven over the past 40 years. Also parts are available and easy to do a rebuild if necessary. No special tools needed. Cheap gun? Yes. But it does what it was designed to do.

Things I would have changed: A metal pump handle would be nice, but the plastic one works fine and does not flex, and pumping it is very easy and won't wear you out. Also the pellet loading port is a pain, it takes practice to load.

What others should know: This rifle is MUCH easier to shoot accurately than a break barrel springer. However, it is more difficult to load a pellet. Overall I would say this is a very good value for what you get , and it looks pretty cool too.

Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun

Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-02-15 08:52:51

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Lynn from USA on 2016-02-15
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Excellent BB gun. Shoots as expected for a standard bb gun, and very fun. I like the pump action a lot, it's very easy to cock while still shouldered for rapid repeat shots. The accuracy is good for what it is, I'm getting 1" groups at 6 yards, and around 2" grips at 10 yards, which is good enough for knocking down pop cans and other small objects. Fun to shoot targets too, great practice. I use a 6 yard range for that.

Things I would have changed: I removed the rear sight and drilled the peep site larger, then moved it forward to barrel, just in front of the receiver joint. Centered and re-tacked the sight assembly in place. Much easier to use in that position. Added a butt pad to increase pull to shoulder. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Once broken in, trigger improves greatly.

What others should know: Great for target practicing at short range and plinking cans and whatever else. Power is pretty good for this type of bb gun. Requires a few hundred shots for break-in, then the trigger will improve greatly. Also accuracy will improve. Keep it oiled and the piston won't wear out as fast. Overall this is an excellent product.

Daisy 880 Multi-Pump

Daisy 880 Multi-Pump Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-03-14 22:00:36

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2016-03-14
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Very inexpensive. Definitely the best pellet rifle for the price. Build quality is excellent, power is very good, and accuracy is surprising with pellets. This rifle is perfect for small pest control and target practice and plinking. Balance, feel, and length of pull are just about perfect. No complaints, it feels very natural to handle and shoot, excellent design. Once again, quality for the price is very impressive.

Things I would have changed: The receiver and pump arm should be made of metal, like the older ones. But, the plastics ARE of a high quality, it's certainly not cheap junk.

What others should know: I love the fact that this may be the ONLY air rifle that will accept, and feed, round lead balls from the BB magazine. They are true .177 Caliber so they do engage the rifling, and accuracy is good. Being able to use this rifle as a 50 shot repeater with round lead balls is a HUGE advantage to me when hunting pests. This rifle will accept any scope, does not require a scope specific to air rifles because there is zero recoil. I use a center point scope 3 to 9 power, and accuracy is amazing to 35 yards.

Navigation