Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-09-21 13:09:23

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By chuck from USA on 2012-09-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This review is not a long term assessment of the Crosman Nitro Venom as I have had it for less than two weeks. However, I have shot a good quantity of pellets through it and can give a reasonable judgment of it. First the things I like. The rifle is well made and the stock is really nice. I find the balance of the gun is very good and the nitro chamber gives a very smooth cocking and accurate firing. I love the mounting for the scope.Accuracy at 20yds is excellent and it seems to like most good quality pellets with a preference for Crosman Premier 14.3g Ultra Magnum. The scope is on the wrong class of rifle, it should be for the BB class.
    Things I would have changed:There are a couple of things that I am not happy with and these are: (1) The breach lock does not always take place when closing the rifle, it will get as far as the plunger and then fail to push it back in, if you close the barrel again it seems to overcome the resistance and closes OK. This has happened to me on a number of times and I have oiled the plunger but it has not made any difference. All of my other rifles have a large ball bearing type plunger and they have a very reassuring sound and positive feeling when closing. This rifle does not do either. I note that the plunger is not a ball bearing type but a spring loaded metal catch. I would return it for this problem but do not want to lose all the work that I have put into getting the rifle to this stage of perfection. (2) This rifle does not have a automatic safety which in my view is a big NONO.(3) Just put metal sights on the rifle and forget the scope. If your sales are mostly with kids by all means sell them a package with a low cost scope, but the type of gun you are selling is to a more mature and knowledgeable group, so please leave it to us to choose the scope and put the savings into metal sights and or safety lock or trigger
    What others should know:Finaly, please clean the barrel a number of times with a good cleaner, forget the felt pellets and work the barrel with a rod. You will love this rifle, it's a keeper.

    Product: UTG Bipod, SWAT/Combat Profile, Adjustable Height, Steel Feet

    UTG Bipod, SWAT/Combat Profile,
Adjustable Height, Steel Feet
    Review entered on 2013-04-26 23:26:22

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By chuck from USA on 2013-04-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have just bought two of these bipods and could not be more pleased with my purchase, they are very sturdy and well made.They fit good and do not take up a great deal of space.
    Things I would have changed:I would like a little more range in height and may be a couple of heavy foam stick-on pads for the feet.But I am very happy with what I have got.
    What others should know:P.A. has the best price on about everything to do with airguns, you can look else were but you will not get the service you get with P.A.

    Product: Leapers 30mm Rings, High, Weaver Mount, See-Thru

    UTG Leapers 30mm Rings, High, Weaver Mount, See-Thru
    Review entered on 2013-06-15 13:55:57

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By chuck from USA on 2013-06-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:solid and well made.
    Things I would have changed:I am not a fan of big nuts on my rifle and would pref are a single Alan key type fastener.
    What others should know:If you are using these rings on a PCP rifle remember to place the rings with the locking bolt heads facing left, if you load from the right, otherwise you will not be able to see the breach for the bolt heads.

    Product: Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-19 23:46:06

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By chuck from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Umarex Octane 0.22 is one fine air rifle. Well made, substantial, accurate, and very powerful. I stand five six and weigh 165lbs, and will be 83 in one month, and can say this is one of the easiest magnum rifles to cock that I have in my collection. To gage the power of this and all my other rifles, I use a collection of saved soup cans. This rifle will penetrate through four cans and nearly into a fifth, that's eight layers of corrugated metal. I was firing the following pellets at a distance of 20ft and they all had about the same penetration. Beeman Crow Magnum Hollow Point. 18.21gr. Beeman Kodiak Extra Heavy. 21.14gr. H&N Baracuda. 21.14gr. JSB Match Diabolo Jumbo Heavy. 18.13gr. Polymag. 22.16gr. and finally Crosman Premier Hollow Point. 14.3gr. which did not quite make it through the fourth can. The sights are dead on out of the box with the Crosman 14.3gr and shoots about 3 inches low with the heavier pellets at this distance. I found the trigger acceptable and will see how it works in as I use it. There is virtually no movement of the barrel when firing.
    Things I would have changed:The safety is one thing I have issue with. It does not feel as smooth as the rest of the gun and is a little awkward to operate.I would also prefer an enclosed front site as this one stands up just begging to be hit. Also carry swivels would be a godsend as this is one heavy piece of equipment.
    What others should know: At this time I am not sure if I want to add weight and put a scope on or not, as I am impressed with the accuracy unscoped regardless of which pellets I use. The problem with all the manufactures of air rifles is that they provide the modern colored sites. What they should be providing is an enclosed pinhead front site and a V rear site for accuracy. This colored stuff covers too much of the target, especially when you are firing at a distance. This is just my opinion on sites and not a criticism of this rifle which will be a real winner with the right scope. All in all, this is one fine rifle, and I am very impressed with it, and looking forward when I can test it out at long distance and may be with a scope. I own a PCP, a couple of springers and another compressed gas gun, and this one is easily the best of the bunch. Congratulations Umarex, you have a winner and I'm glad I got mine before the rush starts and the price goes up. Hurry up guys, get one you won't be disappointed.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top