Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Crosman Vantage Air Rifle With Nitro Piston

    Crosman Vantage Air Rifle With Nitro Piston Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-08-04 09:42:13

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Robert R. from USA on 2012-08-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The rifle has a nice look and feel. It is quiet, powerful and accurate. I got best accuracy with RWS Superpoint Extra pellets (8.2gr), with 1/2" penetration into 3/4" pine plywood at 23 yards. Love the nitro piston.
    Things I would have changed:The scope rings are a problem. The little "pawl" that holds the rings to the groove don't match, front and rear. That makes the front twist about 1/4" to the left of where the the rear lines up. I machined a front pawl to match the rear, and they lined up nicely. After that, the problem was parallax error with the scope itself. It is adjusted for parallax at 15 yards, and I'm shooting at 23 yards and 32 yards, so there was a lot of error.
    What others should know:I was able to get decent groups at lower magnifications by using the "ghost" of the front sight to get the same eye to scope alignment each shot, but I shouldn't have to do that. After two weeks of frustration, I replaced the scope with a Bushnell 4-12x40 scope, on clearance at Wally World for $28. It has an adjustable objective lens, to eliminate parallax error.

    Product: RWS Superpoint Extra .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Pointed, 500ct

    RWS Superpoint Extra .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Pointed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2014-05-15 18:37:40

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Robert R. from USA on 2014-05-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are very well made, and very consistently made.
    Things I would have changed:Things I would change? Make the head diameter larger. I shot 1/2" groups at 23 yards with Meisterkugeln, but SuperPoints shot a 6" group, with an all over spread. I fired one of each into a water filled bucket, and the MK had taken rifling marks head and skirt, but the SP only had rifling marks on the skirt. So, for a Benjamin Titan NP in .177", these are a no go. They penetrate great, but if it misses the target it does no good. On the other hand, MK's are very accurate, but they lack penetration. Can any of you recommend a better pointed pellet for the Titan? These are great, except that they aren't accurate in my rifle.
    What others should know:They really are as well made as any RWS product, but the heads are too small (in my rifle).

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP2 Air Rifle, Scope, Wood Stock

    Benjamin Trail NP2 Air Rifle, Scope, Wood Stock Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-05-24 22:04:04

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Robert R. from USA on 2014-05-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Best feature, the trigger is as advertised. Out of the box, there's about 1/8" very soft take-up, then a distinct stop, and a very clean break at around 1.5 - 2 pounds (guesstimated). It's very consistent, too. I haven't shot another .22 air rifle, so I can't judge the noise, but it's no louder than my Benjamin Titan NP in .177, and maybe just a bit quieter. The Picatinny rail is nice. My scope bolted right up and held solid. Fittings for a shoulder sling! I have slings on every other rifle I own, since they free up both hands. Most excellent.
    Things I would have changed:It's a heavy rifle, but I'm not sure that's a bad thing, considering the shoulder strap fittings. It feels a lot like my M-1 Garand in the way it handles, but the CG is more to the rear. I'm not sure about its accuracy at this point, having just gotten it. The first two dozen rounds were in groups that all touched each other, at 23 yards, then they started to spread, but after about a hundred rounds, it's grouping less than an inch, with RWS Meisterkugeln. Shooting RWS Superpoint, not so much, with groups around two inches, going from high left to low right. Is there a break-in period?
    What others should know:I'm glad I bought this rifle, I think that it will make every shot a single-shot clean kill (squirrels). I hope this information helps everyone who reads it. Note: If you post a review, _please_ tell us what pellets worked for you, since that makes a huge difference in how an air rifle shoots. Example: I'm still trying to find a pointed pellet for my .177 Titan that will shoot straight. Meisterkugeln is accurate, but too little penetration.

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .22 Cal, 14.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .22 Cal, 14.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct
    Review entered on 2014-06-29 10:02:19

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Robert R. from USA on 2014-06-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This pellet gives me the best accuracy in my Benjamin Trail NP2.
    Things I would have changed:A screw on lid would be nice.
    What others should know:Domed pellets of similar weight all hit high and to the left of this pellet.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top