Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2011-10-20 23:07:46

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Glenn from USA on 2011-10-20
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Everything! No, really, everything! The fit, the finish, the performance is flawless. For this price you should expect firearms quality and Air Arms delivers it. I've put several thousand pellets done range and I've had no problems. Find the pellet your TX200 likes and you'll find that hitting the target at 50yds is common.

Things I would have changed: Although I like the clean lines and the look of the 11mm dove tail it really is no match for a weaver rail.

What others should know: The recoil is substantial enough to move your scope. I bought the Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, and the Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope with R/G, 1" Tube. I've set-up an outdoor range with dove decoys at 35, 50, 75 and 100yds. I don't have any trouble hitting the 50 and 75yrd birds free-hand. This is a testament to the quality of the TX200 and NOT my shooting ability.

Weihrauch HW90 Breakbarrel Air Rifle

Weihrauch HW90 Breakbarrel Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2011-10-22 23:24:54

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Glenn from USA on 2011-10-22
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.343 ratings

Things I liked: This rifle is "solid as a rock" built with quality materials and fashioned with old world workmanship. It yearns to be taken on the hunt and is certainly capable of delivering the prey. This is not a target rifle, it is a HUNTING rifle. I chronographed all of the .22cal 18 grain pellets Pyramyd Air had to offer. The highest standard deviation was a 4 and the lowest was a 2. This is a testament to the outstanding quality of the Theoben “gas ram system” used in this rifle. I mounted the Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope with R/G, 1" Tube using the Leapers Accushot 1-Pc mount. This combination has proven to be deadly to 12 doves at 35yds., 4 at 50yds and 1 at 75yds.

Things I would have changed: I would like the switch for returning the trigger to safe moved. It's just to easy to hit by accident.

What others should know: The cocking force of this rifle requires alot of strength. I need to use both hands - that's right - both hands. This is not the rifle I would choose for a day of target shooting. It is my rifle of choice when I'm hunting.

H&N Baracuda Green .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Domed, Lead-Free, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Green .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Domed, Lead-Free, 200ct
Review entered on 2011-10-30 15:25:52

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Glenn from USA on 2011-10-30
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: We've all heard the expression "Results May Vary" and that is most certainly true when it comes to using pellets. After trying more than a dozen .22 caliber pellets - THIS IS THE ONE! At 16yds I hit 12 out of 12 1/4" black dots right in the center. At 39.5yds I hit 9 out 12 black dots right in the center. I also hit the remaining black dots but not in the center. Yes, I was using a bench rest. I'm not good enough to get results like this free hand.

Things I would have changed: Nothing! Nothing! Nothing! I hope H&N is paying attention. This is the perfect pellet for "MY" TX200.

What others should know: I chronograph all the pellets I use and then chart them on "ChairGun". This pellet traveled more than 120fps faster than all the others I tried. This brought my TX200 to 18ft lbs of energy. I was pleased when I found them to be Accurate as well.

Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2012-05-07 13:53:37

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Glenn from USA on 2012-05-07
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.52 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I've owned the TX200 for more than a year and during this time I’ve fired at least 400 pellets a month. I love the quality, the accuracy and the enjoyment that shooting it brings me. It’s a pleasure knowing that if I do my part the TX200 will deliver every time. I haven't written a review because every kind word, every accolade has already been written. Most recently I’ve been in Pueblo, Colorado and the only place to shoot legally is at an indoor range. When I asked if the range was open to air rifles, the man replied with a grin; “you mean a pellet gun?” So, for the past month every Wednesday night between 7 and 9 you can find me and my TX200 at the range. During this time other shooters have taken notice and they’ve commented on the quality and accuracy of the TX200. Then last night one of the range masters looked at the TX200 and said; “That’s not a pellet gun, it’s an air rifle.” After hearing his comment, I knew it was time to write my review. Until recently, I did all of my shooting in the fields of Lexington, Tennessee. I set up dove and duck decoys, spinners, walking targets and bottles at 25yds, 35yds, 50yds, and 75yds. Although, some of these targets presented a challenge for me, the TX200 handled them with ease. When my neighbor’s lawn was assaulted by an armadillo, he came to me and asked if I could solve the problem with my air rifle. Two months later the opportunity presented itself and I dispatched the armadillo with a head shot at just under 20yds.

Things I would have changed: The rubber stopper between the cocking lever and the barrel. Mine wore out and I replaced it with the rubber grip from a large barrel ball point pen.

What others should know: If you haven't tried the H&N Baracuda Green, .22cal, 12.65gr you’re not getting the most out of your TX200. I’m shooting the NRA small bore rifle target (A-36) and every shoot is a 10. Up to 25yds there's no such thing as a 1/2" or 1/4" center-to-center spread for a 5 shot group, every shot follows the one before it and the hole simply gets a little bigger. Whether I’m hunting game or shooting targets, the TX200 has never let me down.

H&N Baracuda .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-03-16 15:53:30

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Glenn from USA on 2013-03-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: H&N makes quality pellets. They're clean, undamaged and reasonably consistent in size and weight. The new pellet tins now have a screw-on top which protrudes slightly and an indented bottom which makes them ideal for stacking.

What others should know: In my search for "the-one" pellet that gives me the best accuracy, I measure, chronograph and calculate. This methodology works well and I highly recommend it. The following information is based on 12 shots with the Weihrauch HW90. Numbers have been rounded and the average is based on the sum of the velocity of the total number of shots. Test No.:030113, Location: Indoor, Temperature: 73º, Humidity: 40%, Elevation: 183ft, Ballistic Coefficient: 0.0330, Head Diameter: 5.50 – 5.53, Skirt Diameter: 5.63 - 5.71, Pellet Length: 8.48 – 8.79, High Velocity (fps): 695, Low Velocity (fps): 656, *Average Velocity (fps): 684, Extreme Spread (fps): 39, Average Deviation (fps): 10, Standard Deviation (fps): 12, High Energy (ft-lbs): 23, Low Energy (ft-lbs): 20.

H&N Baracuda Power, .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Power, .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-03-16 17:09:58

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

3.0 3.0

By Glenn from USA on 2013-03-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.02 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: H&N makes quality pellets. They're clean, undamaged and reasonably consistent in size and weight. The new pellet tins now have a screw-on top which protrudes slightly and an indented bottom which makes them ideal for stacking. If you're looking to avoid exposure to lead you may want to consider these pellets.

What others should know: In my search for "the-one" pellet that gives me the best accuracy, I measure, chronograph and calculate. This methodology works well and I highly recommend it. The following information is based on 12 shots with the Weihrauch HW90. Numbers have been rounded and the average is based on the sum of the velocity of the total number of shots. The numbers don't lie and although these pellets are pretty they did not perform well in my HW90. I attained greater velocity and energy with the lead Baracuda pellet. Test No.: 021513, Location: Indoor, Temperature: 73º,Humidity: 39%, Elevation: 183ft, Ballistic Coefficient: 0.0330, Head Diameter: 5.49–5.56, Skirt Diamter: 5.55-5.74, Pellet Length: 8.42–8.75, High Velocity (fps): 622, Low Velocity (fps): 559, *Average Velocity (fps): 595, Extreme Spread (fps): 27, Average Deviation (fps): 16, Standard Deviation (fps): 21, High Energy (ft-lbs): 18, Low Energy (ft-lbs): 15.

H&N Baracuda Hunter, .22 Cal, 18.21 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter, .22 Cal, 18.21 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-03-16 19:19:28

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Glenn from USA on 2013-03-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: H&N makes quality pellets. They're clean, undamaged and reasonably consistent in size and weight. The new pellet tins now have a screw-on top which protrudes slightly and an indented bottom which makes them ideal for stacking.

What others should know: In my search for "the-one" pellet that gives me the best accuracy, I measure, chronograph and calculate. This methodology works well and I highly recommend it. The following information is based on 12 shots with the Weihrauch HW90. Numbers have been rounded and the average is based on the sum of the velocity of the total number of shots. Test No.:030113-BH, Location:Indoor, Temperature: 72º, Humidity: 42%, Ballistic Coefficient: 0.0265, Head Diameter: 5.49 – 5.51, Skirt Diameter: 5.69-5.73, Pellet Length: 7.46 – 7.65, High Velocity (fps): 783, Low Velocity (fps): 733, *Average Velocity (fps):761, Extreme Spread (fps):50, Average Deviation (fps):17, Standard Deviation (fps):19, High Energy (ft-lbs):25, Low Energy (ft-lbs):22.

H&N Excite Coppa-Spitzkugel, .22 Cal, 16.05 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Excite Coppa-Spitzkugel, .22 Cal, 16.05 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-03-16 20:01:23

2.0 2.0

1.0 1.0

3.0 3.0

By Glenn from USA on 2013-03-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: H&N makes quality pellets. They're clean, undamaged and reasonably consistent in size and weight. The new pellet tins now have a screw-on top which protrudes slightly and an indented bottom which makes them ideal for stacking. If you want to avoid your exposure to lead these pellets might be what you're looking for.

What others should know: In my search for "the-one" pellet that gives me the best accuracy, I measure, chronograph and calculate. This methodology works well and I highly recommend it. The following information is based on 12 shots with the Weihrauch HW90. Numbers have been rounded and the average is based on the sum of the velocity of the total number of shots. These pellets sure are pretty but their performance in my HW90 is very poor. With an extreme spread of 147 and a standard deviation of 42 these are the worst performing pellets that I've ever tested in my HW90. Location: Indoor, Temperature: 72º, Humidity: 41%, Elevation: 183ft, Ballistic Coeficient: 0.0265, Head Diameter: 5.50–5.53, Skirt Diameter:5.70, Pellet Length:8.58–8.71, High Velocity (fps):692, Low Velocity (fps):545, *Average Velocity (fps):636, Extreme Spread (fps):147, Average Deviation (fps):34, Standard Deviation (fps):42, High Energy (ft-lbs):17, Low Energy (ft-lbs):11.

Air Arms Diablo Field Heavy .22 Cal, 5.52mm, 18 Grains, Round Nose, 250ct

Air Arms Diablo Field Heavy .22 Cal, 5.52mm, 18 Grains, Round Nose, 250ct
Review entered on 2013-04-06 21:04:29

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Glenn from USA on 2013-04-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: These pellets were clean, undamaged and consistent in size and weight.

Things I would have changed: Package in a screw top pellet tin that is designed for stacking.

What others should know: What others should know:In my search for "the-one" pellet that gives me the best accuracy, I measure, chronograph and calculate. This methodology works well and I highly recommend it. The following information is based on 12 shots with the Weihrauch HW90. Numbers have been rounded and the average is based on the sum of the velocity of the total number of shots. Test No.:032113-FH, Location: Indoor, Temperature: 74º, Humidity: 34%, Elevation: 183ft, Ballistic Coefficient: 0.0330, Head Diameter: 5.47 – 5.49, Skirt Diameter: 5.66 - 5.76, Pellet Length: 7.73 – 7.77, High Velocity (fps): 707, Low Velocity (fps): 697, *Average Velocity (fps): 702, Extreme Spread (fps): 10, Average Deviation (fps): 2, Standard Deviation (fps): 3, High Energy (ft-lbs): 20, Low Energy (ft-lbs): 19. With a Standard Deviation of 3 I expected these pellets to test well at the range and they did exactly that. I sighted in at 18yds using the NRA A-36 rifle target and all shots (24) were 7-10.

H&N Baracuda Green .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Domed, Lead-Free, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Green .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Domed, Lead-Free, 200ct
Review entered on 2015-01-14 12:43:58

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Glenn from USA on 2015-01-14
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: These pellets were clean, undamaged and very consistent in head diameter, skirt diameter, skirt length and weight. The tins have screw-on tops and are designed for stacking.

Things I would have changed: These pellets are available in both 12.65 and 12.5 grains. My last order was filled with the 12.5 grain which did affect accuracy. Pyramyd Air should list these pellets as two different items according to their weight. Thanks

What others should know: Concerning the price, tin is a commodity and its' value has been rising for more than a year. Its listed as 1 of the 5 metals most likely to disappear by 2055. Its Hard to believe but more than 600,000,000 lbs are mined each year and that is why we are paying "through the nose" as they say. The following test results are based on a group of 12 shots using my Air Arms TX200 MkIII. Numbers have been rounded and the average is based on the sum of the velocity of the total number of shots. Test No.:122714-BG, Location: Indoor, Temperature: 73, Humidity: 26%, Elevation: 148ft, Ballistic Coefficient: 0.0265, Head Diameter: 5.5, Skirt Diameter: 5.75, Pellet Length: 8.38, High Velocity (fps): 879, Low Velocity (fps): 869, *Average Velocity (fps): 874, Extreme Spread (fps): 10, Average Deviation (fps): 3, Standard Deviation (fps): 3, High Energy (ft-lbs): 22, Low Energy (ft-lbs): 21. I sighted in at 20yds using the NRA A-36 rifle target and all shots (24) were 10.

Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-06-06 02:21:04

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Glenn from USA on 2015-06-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I've owned two of the .22 caliber TX200 MkIII. Unfortunately, the first air rifle was stolen in Phoenix. I purchased both of them from Pyramyd Air and I received excellent service both times. The TX200 MkIII is a beautiful "bit-of-kit" as the British would say. The stock and the bluing are exquisite and the trigger is second-to-none. Unlike less expensive air rifles that I've owned, the TX200 MkIII performs consistently well and is therefore very predictable. I know exactly what to expect at different ranges and in very diverse conditions. It's a pleasure knowing that if I do my part, the TX200 MkIII will reward me with exceptional accuracy.

Things I would have changed: There is a soft rubber stopper on the bottom side of the barrel shroud which prevents the cocking arm from impacting the barrel shroud and wearing away the bluing. This soft rubber stopper will fail. Fortunately, there are two grooves milled into the cocking arm and they are perfect for holding o-rings which will solve this problem.

What others should know: If you live in a dry climate, the stock will shrink. I experienced this with both of my TX200 MkIII. The first stock shrank in Pueblo, Co during the summer and the 2nd stock shrank in Maine during the winter. Both times the air was exceedingly dry for a period of months. This did not present any long term problems. The TX200 MkIII is a heavy air rifle as both the cocking mechanism and barrel shroud are made of steel. Including the scope, my TX200 is weighing in at just over 11 pounds. Since 2011 I've had the opportunity to hunt and take Armadillo, Chipmunk, Grey Fox, Possum, Porcupine, Prairie Dog, Raccoon, Rabbit, Rat, Skunk, Squirrel, Turkey and a Plethora of birds. All this was done with head shots using the H&N Baracuda Green Pellets. I've developed reasonable expectations and a good understanding of the limitations of my TX200 MkIII. The TX200 MkIII is not a "magic" air rifle but it is a beautiful "bit-of-kit".

Navigation