Crosman Premier .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

Crosman Premier .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
Review entered on 2009-11-10 13:28:58

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2009-11-10
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I have tested more than 15 pellets in my Gamo CFX including JSB, and regular domed premiers from the box. These pellets are the most accurate round time after time. They shoot hard with more than 14 Ft lbs. or about 900 FPS. They are also pretty cheap and expand pretty well. Very consistent.

Things I would have changed: A bit dirty on the fingers

Leapers 3-12X44 AO SWAT Compact Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

UTG Leapers 3-12X44 AO SWAT Compact Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
Review entered on 2011-11-02 12:49:48

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2011-11-02
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Compact, clear optics, locking turrets, zero reset, MILDot, Sidewheel focus, Dustcovers, simple illuminated reticle.

Things I would have changed: Top turret (eleveation) clicks are a bit soft/ambiguous. Dots are true but spaced close together, maybe too much so for airgun work. I may need to get used to it a bit more.

What others should know: It's a true MILDot, but at 10x only not at 12x. Optics are great. Feels well built, great features. Fits my Marauder, but does not allow the unit to come to the rear enough to be comfortable, will change to a full size unit (same one). Not the scopes fault. Great scope.

Birchwood Casey Portable Shooting Range, Steel Frame + 39 Shoot-N-C Targets

Birchwood Casey Portable Shooting Range, Steel Frame + 39 Shoot-N-C Targets
Review entered on 2011-11-18 20:13:22

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2011-11-18
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Weather proof and very tough plastic backing board, heavy metal construction, simple, works

Things I would have changed: Could be a bit higher. The metal frame must be pried apart to insert the backing, it's ridiculously tight. Wish they had a smaller version, I need about 4 or them.

What others should know: This thing has absorbed hundreds of .22 airgun rounds, about 500 so far. I'd guess it's good for another 500 before it starts to fail... not bad. The steel is heavy duty and it's easy to step on it to push it into the ground. Nice overall. Also, it's large, I put 2 eight and a half by eleven inch paper printed targets side by side on it. Comes with a bunch of stick on targets.

Crosman Airgun Ammo Pouch, Holds 500 Pellets

Crosman Airgun Ammo Pouch, Holds 500 Pellets
Review entered on 2013-12-18 12:31:28

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2013-12-18
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Lightweight, Belt loop. Durability: while it's not leather, it should hold up pretty well. I like that it's lightweight, but I don't expect it to last forever. It's cheap enough that I'm OK with that.

Things I would have changed: I broke the stitches off the velcro, cut most of it out and put in 2 magnets (small powerful R.E ones). Works so much easier and is quicker to use. Closes securely. I left a small amount (3/8") at each end of the velcro to allow a super tight close when I press real hard. Normally though, just the magnet glued in the middle under the fabric is all that's holding it.

What others should know: Just the velcro will close it very firmly and make opening it a bit of a chore. I reduced radically the amount of velcro. Product is worth $5... maybe even get 2 and when a friend becomes interested in the sport, you can give it as a gift.

Hawke Optics 6-24x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

Hawke Sport Optics Hawke Optics 6-24x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
Review entered on 2014-06-27 23:15:32

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2014-06-27
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Lightweight, very very clear and sharp. Mildot reticle is a bit cluttered but useful with 1/2 dots. Great glass all the way to 24X ! The range markings on the sidewheel are actually accurate ! Lens covers are clear and it's shootable with the far one on (objective) and the near one is quick to flip up.

Things I would have changed: Turrets, I would prefer taller ones that would accept a tape but that's a personal preference. Lens covers don't fold all the way back to flat, which means they stick up like almost every other cover, which means it won't last long. Ocular / Eyepiece lens does not have a stop to secure it and keep it from moving. Turrets are not resettable to zero.

What others should know: This is the clearest scope I've owned and it stays sharp all the way to 24X. It is equal to my Mueller and better than my AEON, Hawke Sidewinder 8-32x56, and my Hawke 6.5-20. I bought it because it's light and spring rated. Great glass and it passed my "box" test, although the clicks aren't as well defined as a sidewinder or my Mueller. Great simple scope, especially so as it's springer rated.

Walther LGU Air Rifle

Walther LGU Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-06-17 01:13:29

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By John from USA on 2015-06-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Fine quality, higher than average. Nice bluing (near AA quality) and a very nice stock for Beech. Action is smooth, shot cycle is short, sharp and just a bit of buzz. Much smoother than most untuned springers I've shot. The gun is as smooth as my AA Prosport. Nice high comb on the stock and the fore-stock is pleasingly slim. Large loading port makes inserting the round simple and quick. Deep and sharp laser checkering on the stock. Cocking is butter smooth and not too difficult (I'm 49). Nice automatic safety and it's located in a great spot. Feels solid in your hands and has good balance. Accuracy is very, very good and again equal to my Prosport which I rate at far above average. It will do .20-30" at 25 yards for most 5 shot groups. Seem a bit less hold sensitive than my Prosport. The gun is quiet for a springer, the quietest full power .177 springer I've shot.

Things I would have changed: The trigger is heavy and the second stage is a bit long. I've adjusted it down quite a bit, and it's OK but it's no AA Prosport. I may have more adjustement to go, so will have to hold my final opinion. Don't care for the bear trap safety, it adds another step in cocking but then you do get used to it. The rubber Orings on the cocking lever are not my idea of high end. That's about it.

What others should know: This is a GREAT air rifle. If it were a bit cheaper it'd be the best deal in springers. It is near the equal to the AA Prosport in build and is equal in accuracy. Likes JSB 7.87 grains. Shoots them at 880 to 890fps or so. The gun diesels right off the bat and continues to do so for quite a while (100 to 200 shots) but settles in. The barrel was dirty when the gun arrived and I ran a few patches through it, but it's still dieseling. I don't expect it to be in top form until I get 700-900 rounds through it. If I can get the trigger adjusted a bit more it will be sweet.

Navigation