Product: Walther CP88, Blued, 4 inch barrel, CO2 pistol

Walther CP88, Blued, 4 inch barrel, CO2 pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2014-02-07 08:01:31

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Accuracy:4.0 4.0

  By David from USA on 2014-02-07
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating
 
Things I liked:I really like the feel of this air gun which I was hoping would be much like my Ruger P95. The double action trigger is reasonably smooth and is good training for accuracy. It should make shooting a "real" pistol in single action that much easier. This pistol has been a lot of fun shooting targets and soda cans at 7-15 yards and can be shot in doors when the weather is not so nice. I had never given much thought to getting one of these, but to be able to shoot 100 rounds for less than $3.00 and have the feel of a real pistol (less the bang and some recoil), it has turned out to be a great decision. The semi-automatic action works flawlessly.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:I usually get 96 to 104 shots per 12 gram CO2. of course the last 8 or so are a bit weak but they still knock over a soda can. Buy extra 8 round magazines.

Product: RWS Hobby .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

RWS Hobby .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
Review entered on 2014-02-24 08:11:44

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:4.0 4.0

  By David from USA on 2014-02-24
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Of all the paper target-type pellets I have used to date, these are the most consistent for loading in an eight round cylinder used in semi-automatic pistols. Others I have used have had a number of pellets that were too small and would not stay in the cylinder.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:Very acceptable accuracy and they very rarely hang-up in an eight round semi-auto cylinder.

Product: Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
Review entered on 2014-02-25 08:23:05

Overall rating:3.0 3.0

Value for money:3.0 3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

  By David from USA on 2014-02-25
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:I purchased these to shoot from a semi-automatic pistol with an 8 round rotary magazine. For this use they are not so good. After 40 or so shots they begin to hang. Possibly because the pellet is pretty big and the side surface area is greater, there is more friction holding them in place as the CO2 charge is diminishing.
Things I would have changed:A good number of these pellets did not meet specification and would easily slide out of the rotary magazine.
What others should know:I think I will stick with lighter (7-8 grain) wad cutters for the semi-automatic pistol.

Product: RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
Review entered on 2014-03-17 08:54:59

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

  By David from USA on 2014-03-17
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:I am using these in the 8 shot rotary magazines in the semi-automatic CP88 pistol and these work flawlessly. The manufacturing tolerances are spot on as I have yet to find one that binds or is too loose for the magazine. I can not say the same for other manufacturer's pellets. The price is right too.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:Using lighter pellets, 7-8 grains, seem to work best in this type of pistol.

Product: Crosman 12 Gram CO2, 40 Cartridges

Crosman 12 Gram CO2, 40 Cartridges
Review entered on 2014-03-17 09:04:16

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By David from USA on 2014-03-17
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:The 40 pack is a good value. Once you get into this air gun stuff, you know your going to use a lot of these so you may as well get a bunch of them.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:As per the instructions that came with the pistol, I place one drop of pellgun oil on the cylinder before insertion and the gun's performance has been very good. I get close to 100+ shots per cylinder shooting a 7.5 grain pellet.

Product: Walther CP88, Blued, 4 inch barrel, CO2 pistol

Walther CP88, Blued, 4 inch barrel, CO2 pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2014-05-20 15:48:26

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Accuracy:4.0 4.0

  By David from USA on 2014-05-20
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:I purchased my first CP88 in January and put close to 8500 pellets through it (and approximately 85 12 gram co2 cylinders)until one of the cylinders jammed in the grip/cylinder head. I tried a number of methods to dislodge the cylinder to no avail. Sent it back to Pyramid for repairs and they wound up sending me a new one in its place. Thank You! What great customer service. Since shooting the replacement, I have found two additional cylinders that have not seated properly on the first try so I removed them but was able to use them successfully in a Walther CP99. This pistol's cylinder head may be a bit more finicky than others. I still like the eight and trigger pull of this model over the CP99, although each is fun to shoot.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:I have been using Crossman 12 gram cylinders but may consider another brand if I continue to have cylinder sticking problems. It is hard to believe that I was able to shoot through 85 cylinders without a hitch with the first CP88.

Product: JSB Diabolo Exact .20 Cal, 13.73 Grains, Domed, 500ct

JSB Diabolo Exact .20 Cal, 13.73 Grains, Domed, 500ct
Review entered on 2015-01-19 09:53:21

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

  By David from USA on 2015-01-19
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating
 
Things I liked:These pellets are clean and free from lead residue. Visual inspection proves them to look extremely uniform with no seams in evidence. They have also proven to be very accurate when shot from my Benjamin Sheridan Blue Streak.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:Slightly more expensive than another brand of .20 cal, but I believe they are well worth the extra $.

Product: Umarex Fuel Air Rifle

Umarex Fuel Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-04-06 15:23:09

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Accuracy:4.0 4.0

  By David from USA on 2015-04-06
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:This rifle is a blast to shoot. The cocking effort is easy enough, it is amazingly quiet and will come close to putting a 14 grain pellet through a rough sawn 2x4. The open sights work very well, but I really enjoy the 3x9 AO scope that came with it. Certainly it is not the highest quality scope available, but for the price of the whole package you can't beat it. The scope mount on the receiver is nice and solid. The rifle is pretty heavy, but that is part of its charm. You know you have something in your hands. I like the recoil too as it lets you know that you a slinging that pellet out there with some velocity.
Things I would have changed:Nothing.
What others should know:The yardage marks on the adjustable objective did not match the actual target focus distance. The reviews have stated that you should keep a firm hold when shooting this rifle for better accuracy. I agree. As long as I am doing my part, quarter dollar size groups at 25 yards can be done. Most of my shooting is at 2"x2" steel swingers which is a lot of fun. It really knocks them around.

Product: Pellet Pen With Pellet Seater, Loads & Seats .22 Cal Pellets

Pellet Pen With Pellet Seater, Loads & Seats .22 Cal Pellets
Review entered on 2015-06-08 10:38:53

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:4.0 4.0

  By David from USA on 2015-06-08
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:The pen holds sixteen 14.+ grain pellets and the cap keeps the black feeder slide from inadvertently coming out and dumping the pellets. The adjustable black pellet set works well.
Things I would have changed:Sometimes the adjustable black pellet set looses the desired depth setting. I may try a little pipe dope or something of that nature to keep it from unscrewing.
What others should know:I only bought one of these with the purchase of my Umarex Fuel. I bought two more later. Buy more than one.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top