Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-07-10 23:40:10

    Overall rating:5 5.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

    Accuracy:5 5.0

      By Chrystal from USA on 2009-07-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, build, and finish, as so many others have said.
    Things I would have changed:I don't know that I would make this gun lighter, since obviously the type and amount of materials used are what makes it so accurate and beautiful, but be forwarned, it is beastly heavy! If you've read any number of reviews, you already know this, but let me say it again... this gun is a tank. Well balanced and easy to shoot, but very, very heavy.
    What others should know:I have a Leapers 6-24x56 scope on the way (probably too big for this gun and will make loading more difficult, but I couldn't resist). However, right now my TX is fitted with a plain old CenterPoint 3-9x40. Even with an inferior scope, I've been picking off sparrows at 50 yards with Beeman Crow Magnums. If you've ever shot Crow Mags, you know that they are hollow points and become unstable after around 30 yards. So the fact that I'm getting sparrow-sized groups with them at nearly double that distance is a testament to this gun's accuracy. I won't ramble on and on about all the great reasons to buy this gun. If you're considering paying $560 (or more) for an air rifle, it is probably because that gun has already earned itself a reputation. I seriously never thought I'd spend so much on an air rifle, and at the same time, I seriously have never regretted this purchase. Pyramyd Air has been great every step of the way... don't even think about buying from anywhere else! :) Go ahead - price compare... you won't find sweeter prices or better service.

    Product: Beeman Crow Magnum .177 Cal, 8.80 Grains, Hollowpoint, 300ct

    Beeman Crow Magnum .177 Cal, 8.80 Grains, Hollowpoint, 300ct
    Review entered on 2009-07-11 14:36:20

    Overall rating:5 5.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5 5.0

      By Chrystal from USA on 2009-07-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    11 rating
     
    Things I liked:Exceptionally well matched in size and weight, and very clean in appearance (no casting ridges or burrs). Every round fits snug in the breach. Leaves little to no residue on my fingers or in the gun. Grouping is great under 30 yards. The angular head punches pretty clean holes through paper, so next to match pellets, this would be my pick for target shooting and sighting in. Expansion is crazy good... quite often, recovered pellets have doubled in diameter.
    Things I would have changed:The lid, as so many hundreds of other people have mentioned with Beeman pellets. But I transfer them to a carrying pouch or different tin anyway, so it's not really a huge deal.
    What others should know:These can be a little trickier to load than round/pointed/diabolo shaped pellets, especially in low light conditions when you're going primarily by feel. In my experience, the range for best accuracy is limited to just over 30 yards... after that they start to become progressively unstable in flight. Even so, I've had little problem taking out birds as far away as 50 yards. Anything over that and it's a toss-up. These are one of my favorite pellets for my TX200 for hunting, plinking, and target shooting. I've heard other people say the skirts are too soft, but I've never gotten a bad tin yet. This is probably because Pyramyd Air packs them so well for shipment. Take advantage of PA's "buy 3 get one free" deal and you won't find a better price anywhere!

    Product: Plano Gun Guard 300S Soft Rifle Case, Hunter Green

    Plano Gun Guard 300S Soft Rifle Case, Hunter Green
    Review entered on 2009-07-17 12:45:16

    Overall rating:5 5.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

      By Chrystal from USA on 2009-07-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is really a great case for the price. Nice thick padding, heavy duty double zippers with pull tabs, very soft interior. Even the Plano logo is high quality stitching. Very complementary colors.
    Things I would have changed:I agree that the side pocket would be more functional if it was split into two smaller pockets, as another reviewer said. I think I might also add a rubberized bottom. The lower black strip is made of nylon... it's kind of hard to tell from the picture.
    What others should know:I bought this case because I needed something that could fit my TX200 MkIII with a Leapers 6-24x56 scope. It just fits, due to the higher profile that extends out a little further than on other cases. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. I had a Winchester case previously that I paid twice as much for, and it was nowhere near as nice as this one.

    Product: Leapers Accushot SWAT Sidewheel For Range Estimation, 100 mm

    Leapers Accushot SWAT Sidewheel For Range Estimation, 100 mm
    Review entered on 2009-12-15 03:35:40

    Overall rating:5 5.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

      By Chrystal from USA on 2009-12-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I cannot imagine having to dial in parallax adjustments without this! Large enough to add your own labels. Haven't tried the 80mm wheel, but this one is perfect on my TX200. Even using high mounts, it's large enough that my thumb can just reach it from shooting position without having to adjust my grip on the forearm.
    Things I would have changed:As others have said, I wish the outside edge had more texture to it. Against the pad of my thumb, there sometimes isn't quite enough friction to turn the wheel without adding more pressure than is really comfortable. I might end up scoring the outside edge of the scalloped rim with a file or hacksaw blade to rough it up a bit. Even so, this side wheel is attractive, highly functional, and durable.
    What others should know:On my Leapers 6-24x56, the side wheel obscures the little reference dot for the AO turret. Also, the zero for the AO turret and the zero for the side wheel are about 1/16" off. I think the rubber insert inside the side wheel (grips the turret knob) is rotated just slightly, but it's glued in place. I was able to fix the first problem and compensate for the second by putting a little scratch in the scope mount. Now I have - from shooting position – both a visible and accurate reference for the yardage indicators. This might be a little hard to visualize, so I added a "customer image" that you can check out.

    Product: Leapers Accushot 6-24x56AO SWAT Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/8 MOA, 30mm Tube

    Leapers Accushot 6-24x56AO SWAT Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/8 MOA, 30mm Tube
    Review entered on 2009-12-15 05:25:39

    Overall rating:4 4.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

      By Chrystal from USA on 2009-12-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    41 rating
     
    Things I liked:Clear, bright optics. Very durable. Quality sunshade. Nice zero-resetting feature. Big and long... turns any gun into a sniper rifle. The huge objective lens provides for a nice large field of view, even at higher levels of magnification. Eye relief is adequate through the entire range.
    Things I would have changed:The magnification adjustment is a little stiff, although I know the seals make it that way. I know plenty of others will disagree, but I wish the illuminated reticle had an auto-off feature. Leapers must have known I would frequently forget to turn it off because they included a spare battery. Since the illumination is really only useful/visible at dusk/dawn, a 1-hour auto-off would be perfect. The dusk/dawn window simply doesn’t last that long, and by the time the illumination shut off, it would either be too dark to shoot or light enough that you didn't need it anymore. I think I would make the AO turret a little stiffer. I read somewhere that it was too stiff, but this scope is really designed to be used with a side wheel anyway. When my TX200 fires, even though the recoil is low for a springer, the wheel tends to rotate out of focus. I have to dial in the parallax every two or three shots. The flip-up scope caps are a little cheap feeling, but they serve their purpose and haven't broken yet. The turret clicks could be a little more defined. I can hear them more than feel them. People say they're vastly improved over the 5th generation scopes, so either I got a Friday/Monday model or the 5th gen ones really sucked. I had a lower quality CenterPoint scope that had much more positive clicks than this one. I'd probably have chosen 1/4 MOA over 1/8 MOA if the option was available. Fortunately this thing holds a zero, so there's not a lot of adjusting necessary once it is sighted in.
    What others should know:Although I critiqued this scope pretty fiercely, I really like it and would definitely recommend it. As with another reviewer, I was torn between the 6-24x and the 8-32x, and I also decided on this one based on reviews. No buyer's remorse here. Shooting without a rest and under 40 yards, I usually keep it around 16x anyway for a steadier sight picture. As for the full-range clarity, the view is definitely more volatile at full magnification: it is more sensitive to glare in bright light, eye strain is harsher in low light, and the eye relief at 24x is fairly tight. However, those properties are typical of all high-power scopes. On the 3-9x CenterPoint I mentioned earlier, the clarity was pretty noticeably degraded over 7x. On this scope, the image remains clear throughout its entire range. In case it wasn't already obvious, most guns will need high rings (unless you have a high rail setup like the Talon). I would actually recommend two-piece rings on this one for more mounting flexibility. I personally like staying slightly behind the eye-relief zone so there's a little ring of black around the sight picture (as a second form of parallax correction). With a one-piece mount, I couldn't move this scope forward enough to get comfortable, even using the front scope stop. Overall, I’m really happy with this purchase.

    Product: Predator Polymag .177 Cal, 8.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Predator International Predator Polymag .177 Cal, 8.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-01-04 20:39:09

    Overall rating:3 3.0

    Value for money:2 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2 2.0

      By Chrystal from USA on 2010-01-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    41 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great expansion.
    Things I would have changed:Manufacture to more exact tolerances and increase the head diameter by 0.001". Reconfigure how the polymer tip attaches to the head to allow for a higher BC (less drag). Lower the cost substantially.
    What others should know:Shot from my TX200 MKIII: Low FPS = 890.53, High FPS = 912.06, Avg FPS = 899.39, Extreme Spread = 21.53, Ballistics Coefficient = 0.131, 10-Shot Group @20 yards = 0.485. Average dimensions from a 10-pellet sample: Length = 0.345, Head Dia = 0.176, Skirt Dia = 0.183. I really wanted to love this ammo, but I'm afraid if fell a little short of my expectations. The pellets are very long at over 1/3 of an inch, so don't expect them to fit in most clips. I’m not sure why they call the tips something vague like “polymer.” Maybe “nylon” wouldn’t sound as mysterious, but that’s essentially what they are. The cone-shaped tips have a little stem that recesses into a hole within the hollow point head. I had thought the lead might actually wrap around and cover part of the tip, but it doesn’t. The dimensional tolerances – both between pellets and across individual pellets – were disappointing. For instance, in my sample of 10 pellets, the lengths ranged from 0.342 to 0.350 and the skirt diameters ranged from 0.179 to 0.185. Interestingly enough, the heads were uniformly 0.176 in diameter across all samples. The fit was a little loose in my TX200’s breach, and I think that element – along with the inconsistent dimensions – probably affected their accuracy. I was most interested to see how the polymer tips would perform, so I shot one group with the tips on and another group with tips off. The result of the tips on group is above, so here are the tips off results: 10-Shot Group = 0.495, Low = 890.92, High = 912.68, Avg. = 900.08, ES = 21.76. I don’t have a scale so I couldn’t calculate BC with the tips off. In my tests, the polymer tips seemed to have almost no affect on either accuracy or velocity. On most of the pellets I recovered, the tips were either sheared off or pushed back into the pellet body. In some non-scientific penetration and expansion tests, they performed very similarly to Beeman Crow magnums. Max expansion was around 0.220” (same as Crow Mags, although Predators didn’t produce as uniform a “mushroom”) and max penetration was around 10% deeper than the Crow Mags. The waist is a little longer on the Predators, but other than that, they are very similar in appearance, barring the tip. On or off, the tip doesn’t substantially affect velocity or accuracy over a 20 yard distance (at 15 yards, the average velocities for tip on and tip off were still within 4 FPS of each other). However, the tips did help with penetration, and on average, penetration was 15% deeper with tips on. While I only tested out to 20 yards, I expect these to have similar range limitations to other hollow points. Since I’m not really looking for more penetration, and these cost more, I think I will stick with Crow Magnums for most of my close-medium range hunting needs.

    Product: Shooters Ridge Monkey Bag Gun Rest

    Shooters Ridge Monkey Bag Gun Rest
    Review entered on 2010-05-06 14:46:25

    Overall rating:5 5.0

    Value for money:5 5.0

      By Chrystal from USA on 2010-05-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    51 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very well made. Quite stable on fences, where I take a lot of my hunting shots. Very versatile, as indicated by the "closer look" pictures.
    Things I would have changed:It's a little smaller than I expected. The picture isn't misleaing, I was just hoping for around 8" of rest height in the rolled-up position. This tops out at around 5".
    What others should know:Surprisingly, it comes pre-filled with sand. I would have thought it would be shipped empty to save money, but this was a welcome feature. It has fill tabs on each section that are loosely sewn shut, so if you want to empty it and use another media, like rice, you can.
    Over
    ammo packs sold