Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-08-26 22:59:59

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-08-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Seems that this is a solidly made piece and well finished. Shoots with authority judging by the fragmentation of the Crosman Hollow points in my bullet trap. It seems like this is a rifle that can be worked with and made more precise with time.
    Things I would have changed:A little more attention to the flashing on the synthetic stock. Some raw edges left from the induction molding.
    What others should know:Scope had to be really adjusted for elevation. Likely a barrel droop problem. Hope I don't run out of adjustment before reaching synergy of points of aim and impact!

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-09-04 23:05:14

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-09-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Picatinny Rail is a "final solution" for scope creep. The Center Point scope, as supplied is functional and picks up the redlight of the Center Point light/laser Combo. The weight of the rifle is somewhat daunting but helps to damp the firing cycle by inertia. It does lead one to find a "supported" Artillery Hold, that is, something to rest the fore hand against to steady the piece. The black synthetic stock seems well designed. The fit and finish belie a Chinese manufacture (the Chinese are certainly capable of high quality work - one gets what one pays for).
    Things I would have changed:The trigger! Crosman ought to work a deal with Charlie (Da Tuna) to retro fit these things. I'm normally able to adapt to different triggers, but this one is really a challenge! I wonder if a simple roller would help here at the contact point? A bit more attention to the flashings on the injection molded stock would be appreciated. There were a few raw edges left from the molder.
    What others should know:An excellent introduction to a magnum level air rifle for the newbie and a worthy piece for the experienced shooter. I hope to dispatch some pesky marauding racoons with this "stealth rifle" who believe they can winter over in my attic. They are in for a nasty surprise. The Nitro Venom appears to have sufficient power to back up the implication of the red light dot on the forehead of those masked raiders (it shot right through the first side of a heavy galvanized garbage can. This rifle, despite the trigger, is worth the investment. Obtain one!

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-09-10 21:53:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-09-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power and smooth operation are evident. After thorough cleaning of bore, and lubing of the air chamber, the CNVD became a better shooter. Has a serious case of "barrel droop" that necessitated a scope shim, after that, it zeroed in. Weight of th epiece tends to buffer the recoils.
    Things I would have changed:Adjustable scope mount for barrel droop a/o windage of the break barrel. Barrels should be cleaned and then lubed in China before shipment. More champher of the breech to make pellet insertion easier. The trigger is horrible. Long pull and coarse in action. Tends to have one pull of POA due to the lengh and resistance of the trigger.
    What others should know:This piece takes a coule of hundred shots to break in and a thorough cleaning to get the rust and crud out of the barrel. Scope can be a problem to get adjusted. Lots of power and fairly good build ~ actually excellent for the money expended.

    Product: CenterPoint Universal Laser/Flashlight Kit

    CenterPoint Universal Laser/Flashlight Kit
    Review entered on 2012-09-10 21:57:11

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-09-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Seem s well machined save for a slight inaccuracy in the mounting screw holes that was easily fixed.
    Things I would have changed:The laser needs a bit more sophistication in its adjustment. Also, it would seem logical that the laser should be directly over the scope so its beam is in at least the vertical plane of the scope. Then, elevation would be the usual only adjust necessary to compensate for distance.
    What others should know:Seems to be a good value for the money, all things concerned. The "free" Red Filter was a nice suprise and seems to work well with the scope to amplify the light from the red filtered light.

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-09-19 22:07:52

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-09-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fit and finish seemed very well done for a Chinese manufacture; not all Chinese stuff is poorly done! There were only a couple of plastic flashings that were not properly trimmed away. Stock seemed well designed, and, as others have commented, it is designed for the Artillery Hold. The rifle does like to dance about in the firing cycle and it is well to allow it its lead. The Picatinny mount system was a solution to my usual problem with keeping a scope in place on a magnum springer. The Center Point light and laser mounted up well and compliment the rifle and its purpose as a nocternal racoon eliminator. It is adult size and the length of pull is about perfect for me. It is hefty and not for weaklings. It does well with the shooter having a bit of support when in battery.
    Things I would have changed:The first and most commonly noted in reviews is the trigger. While I adapt to all kinds of triggers, this one is particularly long and coarse. I would not be opposed to Crosman doing a recall on that trigger! After the year's warrantee runs its course, I'll probably upgrade to a Charlie Da Tuna GT-III as most folks recommend. The scope mount, while secure on the Picatinny Rail, would be better with an elevation compensation capacity. The bane of all break barrels was present in my Nitro Venom Dusk; I ran out of elevation adjustment and had to shim the rear scope mount. It may be my particular rifle, but the breech could stand a bit of champher to expedite pellet insertion. This is particularly desirable for a night season rifle when one can't see the breech clearly. The Crosman Premier Hollow Points are tight to the breech in the light and require a Beman Pellset for accuracy. Slight champher of the breech can do much the same thing.
    What others should know:Crosman has a winner here; quality at a very reasonable price. One will want to thoroughly CLEAN the barrel after a couple of hundred break in shots. Lots of rust and crud came out of mine at its first thorough cleaning. After the cleaning session, indeed, the rifle became smoother and the pellets inserted a little easier. The other observation is that this rifle is HEFTY. One really has to want to lift this rifle and use it. The weak either need not apply or need to find a muscular friend to hold it for one!

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2012-09-21 22:20:24

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-09-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:An extremely durable and heavy duty product. I've owned one for at least twenty years or so. Worst thing about it is loss of powder coating on the inside of the trap due to pellet impact. W-D 40 every once in a while keeps the rust at bay. I will NEVER shot through this will my pellet pistols or rifles.
    Things I would have changed:A larger target opening would be nice, but not critical. Offical NRA targets won't allow for shooting all ten bulls. One has to turn the target up-side-down to shoot the last row of three. No big deal. The main thing is that this STOPS all the pellets thrown at it. However, DO NOT shoot steel BBs into this trap as it will not prevent bounce back or that Irish guy Rick O'Shays!
    What others should know:This something that most normal people only buy ONE of in a life time. It is well worth every penny. Keep the paint on the outside and spray some W-D 40 on the inside periodically, and your grandchildren will be shooting pellets into it after you are only a family picture on the wall! It is an economical investment.

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-10-21 18:06:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-10-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well made and heavy gas spring magnum rifle. Pic Rail seems to solve the problem of scope creep on a magnum springer. Nice Crosman package with the Centerpoint laser and spotlight. Generally, well fitted parts with only a few plastic molding flashings to be removed.
    Things I would have changed:Manufacturer should add a slight bit of champher to the breech. Pellet insertion is a bit tight using Crosman Premier Hollow Points. I also removed lots of debris and rust at the first thorough barrel scrubbing. The above mentioned pellet insertion was improved by that, but the barrel comes from China with lots of crud in it. The primary issue for improvement is the oft-mentioned trigger issue. An upgrade trigger package would be a welcome issue from Crosman. Most commentators opt for a GTIII replacement. The trigger pull is long and coarse, and does not seem to improve with use. After the year's warrantee is over, I'll replace the trigger.
    What others should know:This is a very hard-hitting pest eliminator. It lacks the smoothness of my RWS M-36, but, to be fair, it is about a third, or so, of the cost! This does demonstrate that the Chinese industry has the capability to do very good work. I am pleased with this piece. I also expect that some neighborhood racoons will be permanently displeased with it when we meet...

    Product: J-B Non-Embedding Bore Cleaning Compound

    Brownells J-B Non-Embedding Bore Cleaning Compound
    Review entered on 2012-11-16 21:57:23

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-11-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Seemed to work as advertized. Shined up a Crosman Nitro Venom .22 barrel that was in need of some help.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. Worked as advertized with a nylon bore brush and 30 strokes.
    What others should know:I think one uses this sparingly as it is an abrasive dspite being a cushioned one. It is still able to wear away the bore; it's just a trade off between wearing away the bad stuff and losing some molecules of the barrel. Don't over do this...

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-11-16 22:06:42

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-11-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice pellets for the price. Seem to be uniformly sized, unlike some other brands I've used.
    Things I would have changed:Noted some raw edging on the bored hole making the domed pellet an hollow point. Just a minor observation.
    What others should know:A pretty hard pellet. I haven't done any expansion testing of them, to date, in my clay block, but I doubt they'll be expanding much. They do hit very hard from my Crosman Nitro Venom.

    Product: RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Supermag .177 Cal, 9.3 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-08 23:38:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2012-12-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A consistent and heavy weight wad cutter that is idea for buffering any magnum spring piston powerplant. I use the Supermags in my Beeman P-1 exclusively, and also use them in my RWS M-36. Both of these pieces have heavy duty powerplants that need the buffering of a heavy pellet - in my opinion. The Supermag provides this in a wad cutter, and keeps the rounds form going supersonic.
    Things I would have changed:I have to size each tin as they are uniformly too large for the breeches of both my P-1 and M-36. Indeed, without being pell-sized, the compression is such as to blow out the O Ring seal of the P-1. I would like to see a couple of sizes (diameter) in the Supermags. As provided, they just are too tight for my two main .177 pieces.
    What others should know:Despite my issues with the pellet diameter, the Supermag is a superior pellet in terms of mass and uniformity. My pell-sizer makes these consistent shooters. They are clean and do not leave one with lead-soiled fingers. They are probably NOT appropriate for less than magnum powered pieces.

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-01-13 10:02:47

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-01-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have found these to be consistent in size, clean and exacting in fit in my Nitro Venom Dusk in .22 Cal. All the skirts have been UNdamaged and little debris in the screw top can (a nice feature as it prevents a "pellet-lanch" that can happen with a non-screw top container).
    Things I would have changed:I have noticed that the hollowpoint hole can often have a rough edge at the lip (not a noticeable problem). The lead formulation makes for a very HARD pellet that limits, if not precludes, expansion at the velocity produced by the Nitro Venom Dusk. That hardness also likely contributes to uniformity in size, so it is likely a tradeoff.
    What others should know:Very consistent shooter as judged from paper target results. They go where they are aimed and have consistent and breech seating. The hardness and shape has resulted in some "bounce offs" from some well-developed squirrels. I could hear the thump from a delivered hit, which seemed to annoy the target rodent, but did NOT put it down. Switching to some Spitzerpoint and softer lead pellets had the desired rodent elimination effect. Perhaps these would be fatal to softer hide vermin, like marauding rabbits in the garden. Time, and season's change, will bear this out. Overall, a good general pellet, but I have some reservations about them for pest control with tougher hide vermin.

    Product: Kruger NRA 5 Meter BB Gun Target, 14"x12", 100ct

    Kruger NRA 5 Meter BB Gun Target, 14 inchx12 inch, 100ct
    Review entered on 2013-01-25 20:24:34

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-01-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well and crisply printed on heavy weight paper.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, the targets are well and aptly done
    What others should know:Scoring is easy even for BBs due to the thickness of the paper allowing a more wadcutter-like hole.

    Product: Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun

    Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-02-07 23:22:44

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Replication of a Daisy classic, the Model 25. Always wanted one but had to wait until I was 65 to FINALLY purchase one. As a boy, the parents would not have any BB or other guns in the house.
    Things I would have changed:Enlarge rear peep diameter and put reference marks on sight windage slide to assist in calibrating adjustments. Front post is simple folded steel and needs to be re-designed into a solid post. Needs power upgrade, too.
    What others should know:This piece is a toy. It lacks punch and there is, in my 25, a slight wiggle between barrel and action that likely affects accuracy. Unlike other reviewers' results, my 25 is very inconsistent and keeping it in a standard NRA 25' target is difficult. Perhaps it is the copper BB's? Some reviewers suggest that the zinc coated are more accurate.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-04-20 23:51:11

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-04-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Price is nice for this level of power in a pistol. Seems to be solidly constructed. Is ambidextrous with good gripping edges. Nice balance - better than the Browing 800 Mag.
    Things I would have changed:Rear sight needs more accomodation for the potential of barrel droop. Cocking handle/tool fits very tightly on the barrel - perhaps a bit too tightly. The trigger has a very hard pull. The Chinese need to work on improving trigger feel and function, it seems. The trigger seems to lag behind the build quality of the pistol.
    What others should know:This review is written after approxmiately 60 shots. Scrubbed out the barrel before first rounds with nylon brush and JB Bore Paste followed by felt cleaning pellets. Shoots low so far. Crosman notes inaccuracy for approximately 250 rounds. Will have to keep shooting to see if the pistol levels out and the droop can be compensated with the rear sight and any potentil velocity increase with break in. After cocking and pellet insertion, the barrel needs to be smartly brought back to battery to thoroughly compress the breech seal. This does seem to help compensate somewhat for the initial barrel droop.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-04-22 20:50:34

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-04-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great value for the money and a fairly well made piece by the Chinese. NO flashings exposed on the plastic and the metal is all nicely blued. Very, very smooth firing cycle due to the Nitro Piston power plant. Reduces, if not eliminates twangy vibrations. Fits the hand well.
    Things I would have changed:Lower the front sight height. I had to change out the elevation screw on the rear sight to bring the up to the target. Indeed, lower the whole open sight system to be closer to the centerline of the bore; the height just adds error. The cocking assist handle needs to be redesigned so it can be used without it clicking onn as if to stay. I would prefer it be more like the Browning 800 Mag by Hatsan. That cocking assist is precisely that, not a barrel extension.
    What others should know:If you purchase this piece, go right to your local hardware supplier and get a longer 5mm machine screw and a small coil spring. The pistol needs more elevation but also a back up spring to support the spring blade that is the body for the rear sight.

    Product: H&N Excite Plinking Pellets, .177 Cal, 7.48 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Excite Plinking Pellets, .177 Cal, 7.48 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-06-07 20:10:55

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-06-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very clean and uniform wad cutter pellet. Lives up to the standard of H&N as a foremost pellet manufacturer.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. A really good economy pellet.
    What others should know:This is a pellet well worth the price. Well fit my new Benjamin Trail Nitro Pistol whereas the Crosman wadcutters were too lose in the breech. The better seal resulted in better patterns at POI.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-06-10 22:16:30

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-06-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Gas spring firing cycle is exceeding smooth. Again, fit and finish of the piece are very good.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger system needs to be re-engineered. It is simply horrible and vastly too heavy. Even lubricating the trigger has not helped. The front sight is entirely WRONG and too high.
    What others should know:Scribe a line on the front sight parallel to the barrel and then grind off the front sight by degrees until the rear sight becomes operable. I took off at least 3/8 inch and I now have a pistol that no longer shoots low. It no longer has fiber optic front sight but it now matches POA and POI.

    Product: H&N Excite Econ Pellets, .177 Cal, 7.48 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Excite Econ Pellets, .177 Cal, 7.48 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-06-10 22:23:01

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-06-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Clean, consistent, uniform and stable in flight.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing at all, these are excellent economy shooters! H&N is simply superb.
    What others should know:Don't buy anything less for a cheap plinker and paper puncher. These out perform many of my more expensive pellets, and I intend to purchase several tins as they will likely become my everyday shooter.

    Product: MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Rest, for Rifles & Pistols

    MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Rest, for Rifles & Pistols
    Review entered on 2013-06-23 21:01:06

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-06-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Reasonably priced and well crafted shooting rest. Adaptable for long guns as well as pistols.
    Things I would have changed:Offer a gel pad option for the contact points so as to accommodate springer airgun power plants, i.e., allow for airgun vibration.
    What others should know:A good tool to assist in doing maintenance as well as zeroing in one's air guns.

    Product: H&N Rabbit Magnum II .177 Cal, 15.74 Grains, Cylindrical with Round Nose, Solid, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Rabbit Magnum II .177 Cal, 15.74 Grains, Cylindrical with Round Nose, Solid, 200ct
    Review entered on 2013-08-09 21:58:58

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-08-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:A truly heavy pellet for varmints in .177. Single round fired into heavy modeling clay showed deep channel but virtually no expansion with Beeman P-1 pistol. Travel in clay was nearly 2".
    Things I would have changed:These things need to come with a pellet sizer (a rare commodity these days). I happen to have a Gilles sizer and reworked a tin of these that were given to me by a friend who could not get these to work on in a Benjamin XL Nitro Piston rifle. My friend didn't have a sizer.
    What others should know:I note that the disappointed reviewers all sought to size these large diameter pellets using some form of pellet seat tool. One actually needs a sizer to fit these to the breech properly. Good luck finding a sizer these days!

    Product: Hatsan Model 135 Air Rifle

    Hatsan Model 135 Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-11-01 21:20:07

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-11-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Hatsan's worksmanship is on par with my faithful Model 36 from RWS. The machining is first rate and the rifle shoots quite as it is advertised in .25 cal (averaging in the low 720s out of the carton); it resoundingly rings my steel plate Champion Bullet Trap. The Quattro Trigger came nicely adjusted right out of the box. The adjustable length of pull (by provided spacers) and the rubber shock absorbing pad are nice and functional approaches to the intensity of the recoil of this springer.
    Things I would have changed:While the rear fiber optic sight seems precise and well made, the funky guards (to protect the optic during cocking) on the sight are confusing to me with progressive lens eyewear. There are too many things "sticking up" in the sight picture out front! A modified "globe" front would be preferable to both protect the little fiber optic tube while cocking this massively powered springer AND provide a clearer sight picture. Hatsan is proceeding to bring its Vortex air spring into the USA. Hatsan current makes a number of these in different configurations to fit its models. There is an air spring for the 135, and I'd like the smoothness of the firing cycle by a pneumatic power plant.
    What others should know:This rifle is not for the timid or the weak of upper body strength. Of course, the weight/mass of the rifle buffers the recoil, but it is a load to hold up. It does also damp the nystagmus/shake of the POA just due to its inertia, and that's a good thing. This rifle is also not for the weak as this springer is my only break barrel that I cock using TWO hands and arms! One has to WANT to cock this rifle, or it won't get done. This is the "elephant gun" of air guns (at least among springers). If I am seeking to punch paper for an afternoon, I'll grab the RWS M-36, but if a marauding raccoon, rabbit, or other garden pest decides to call, I'll reach for the M-136! The buyer, in the case of this air arm, must know his or her shooting preference and goal. If one is shoot cheaply, look for smaller calibers. Rounds for this air rifle cost at least 3.4 cents apiece; .177 pellets are smaller, and therefore cheaper. However, if stopping pests is your goal, or hunting appropriate game, this is THE choice at a reasonable price (well below PCPs). Incidentally, this rifle came with a provided scope stop, three length-of-pull spacers, and an Allen-type wrench for the stop. Additionally, Hatsan provided a small Allen for adjustment of the trigger.

    Product: H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
    Review entered on 2013-11-04 09:52:33

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-11-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clean, uniformly manufactured domed, almost pointed, H&N pellets. As usual, for H&N, there is a high level of quality in these projectiles. No blackened fingers from handling them for loading - a real plus. H&N has an interrupted screw can lid. This is a huge positive for preventing "accidental discharge" of pellets all over the ground; better than a simple press fit can, and should be industry standard (in my opinion).
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. These really do the work that they are designed to do and for slightly over 3 cents per round.
    What others should know:These are very heavy pellets. If your airgun is of lesser power, you might want a bit lighter round.

    Product: Leapers UTG 3-9x40 AO True Hunter Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

    Leapers UTG 3-9x40 AO True Hunter Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2013-11-16 22:50:05

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-11-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:CRISP, CLEAR images. Adjustability is found for diopters/eye characteristics, Objective focus and, of course Elevation and Windage. Like the lock down EW dials. Have not fired up the illuminated reticle yet, but has 36 colors possible with quick access to red or green.
    Things I would have changed:The mounts are the high see-throughs, but the bell of the objective lens is so large that one can see through the mounts to the flare of the backside of the objective lens. Need to be higher or forget the see through function. Perhaps, also someone needs to make a precise and reasonably priced adjustable mounts for EW so that the scope can have maximum range of adjustability?
    What others should know:Shock resistant, excellent glass, great reputation, and a genuinely great buy.

    Product: MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Table

    MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Table
    Review entered on 2013-12-04 23:26:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-12-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Enough stability to build Christmas Wreathes upon it, but, more importantly, steady enough for basement range shooting. Used a buddy's table and rest this summer and made the decision to buy a Case-Guard adjustable rife/pistol rest and this table. A good decision.
    Things I would have changed:Really, nothing. As pointed out by other reviewers, adding more mass/stability would decrease the portability of the thing.
    What others should know:This is a good, portable shooting table for less than true bench shooting precision. However, that is just fine for virtually all of the airgunners I know. It is stable enough to sight in an air gun with reasonable precision. It is also reasonably priced, to boot!

    Product: MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Table

    MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Table
    Review entered on 2013-12-09 22:28:45

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-12-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:An extremely reasonably priced table designed for the shooter - other than intense bench shooting. The key word is "portable," here. It provides a fine shooting platform for assisted shooting. It will work very well with my Case-Gard shooting rest. It performed extremely well, in point of fact as a Christmas Wreath construction table! That was my first use of the thing, and the tapered end was VERY handy for wreath construction. Ergo, it's multi use!
    Things I would have changed:About the only thing I noticed about the thing was the potential need for better table leg "feet." We'll see how well the supplied feet last.
    What others should know:For sight calibration and casual shooting, other than intense bench shooting competition, this should meet nearly all shooter's needs. I would definitely NOT use this table to stand on or heavily load it. It's not designed to support extreme weights given the thermoplastic top sans any high density particle board substrate.

    Product: Hawke Sport Optics Bubble Level, Fits 9-11mm Dovetails

    Hawke Sport Optics Bubble Level, Fits 9-11mm Dovetails
    Review entered on 2013-12-17 17:38:20

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2013-12-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Compact, aluminum bodied spirit level is simple and foolproof if manufactured carefully. Mine was. Gives a clear view of whether or not one's rifle is canted off vertical when shooting (thus having affect on windage).
    Things I would have changed:Perhaps a slightly larger fixing screw, and knurled as well?
    What others should know:Many reviewers noted that this great for set up of one's rifle optics, but is probably best left off in the field as one more thing to potentially snag and lose off of one's weapon. Also, it is likely not going to be something that one would "consult" when lining up a shot on a varmint in the field. The key to this working for a shooter, however, is beyond the potential of the level. Even if it is perfectly machined, it depends on the rifle manufacturer to have properly aligned the scope rail to the compression tube or the barrel for this to truly level/plumb the piece. The level lacks any ability to adjust for manufacturer's misalignment of the scope rail to the piece. To have designed it so, would have made the piece bulky and expensive. Use common sense when utilizing the level!

    Product: Hatsan Model 135 Air Rifle

    Hatsan Model 135 Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-02-12 23:30:30

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By lance from USA on 2014-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fit and finish are of good quality. All fittings seem tight. Adjustable length of pull is a good thing with three supplied (but unnecessary) butt shims. Supplied allens for trigger adjustments as well as scope stops.
    Things I would have changed:Front sight is plastic and distracting when working with the supplied iron sights. Would prefer a globe or tunnel front sight to the "W" profile.
    What others should know:I have put 850 rounds through the pieces and can not get the UTG/Leapers 3x9 40mm AO scope to group POA and POI. 31.05 grain H&N Baracudas seem slightly better than 24.5 grain Air Arms Diabolo Fields. The beast will do a group of a couple or four pellets and then scatter another six in a five to six inch total group. It is maddening. Once can leave a shooting session closing in on a grouping, but pick up the rifle for the next session and the POI and POA have, somehow, moved about. This makes no sense. It is extremely hold sensitive, and I have been practicing the artillery hold and working on trigger pull and eye blink. It gets closer but will not group. I'm running out of ideas and patience. I own an RWS M-36 in .177 that is the exact opposite of this rifle. It groups with a peep sight better than this thing with a higher power scope. Ideas, anyone?

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .22 Cal, 14.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .22 Cal, 14.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct
    Review entered on 2014-04-11 19:25:18

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2014-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clean and uniform, usual RWS quality and consistency.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to see these offered in a 500 count container.
    What others should know:Best seated in rifling with a pellet seat tool. That engraves the rifling into the skirt and saves energy for velocity. Very accurate in flight.

    Product: Diana RWS 36

    Diana RWS 36 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-04-18 09:55:58

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2014-04-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle, which I have owned since the mid to late 80's (don't remember when I purchased it!), has been, for me, the "gold standard" of air gunning. It's continued accuracy amazes and astounds, and is, because of its considerable consistency and accuracy THE standard by which I gauge all other air rifles. With a micrometer peep, globe front sight (with changeable inserts), and a muzzle weight, it STILL out shoots all my subsequent air guns. It has dispatched many a noxious critter as well as shredding paper targets. It has gone through one mainspring and a couple of breech seals.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing at all. It is, compared to newer magnums, light, hard hitting and consistently accurate.
    What others should know:Unfortunately, it is no longer made. If this had a nitro/gas piston, it would be the ultimate air rifle, in my opinion. After all these years, it is still a pleasure to use and so naturally comes to point that it is almost cheating to use this against any other air gun.

    Product: Hatsan Model 25 Supercharger Vortex Air Pistol

    Hatsan Model 25 Supercharger Vortex Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-07-09 21:05:58

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2014-07-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Received my M-25, Vortex powered, pistol today and sent 30 rounds down range in my basement near 10M range. Within 30 shots, I was able to stay in the black on the 10M rifle bulls that I routinely use for both pistol and rifle practice. This pistol is now capable of single hole groups and is extremely smooth in its firing cycle and the trigger is first-rate. My only negative is the stiffness of the break barrel action, particularly the locking cam - but this will loosen with time and use. This Hatsan has an adjustable front sight which is a very welcome addition. It can compensate for barrel droop. It is much better "down front" than its cousin, my Browning 800 Mag that lacks this feature. While I paid the premium for the rubber L hand grips, they are very comfortable, seem well molded and fit up perfectly on the pistol chassis.
    Things I would have changed:Not much to quibble with. The dampening mechanism results in a slight perceptible movement in the piece, but it is not significant. Maybe slightly BIGGER phototubes/dots on the rear sight?
    What others should know:This thing is BIG, especially with the cocking assist screwed on (that is very nicely given additional friction by virtue of an "O" ring). It requires a good deal of force to cock; like my M-135 .25 rifle, you have to want to cock this thing - weaklings need not apply. It would be nice if Hatsan came with ambi-grips. Fortunately, PA sold the L hand grips at a savings over the Hatsan website and I purchased this pistol and the grips. They are a nice rubber and provide some grip and comfort. Well done, Hatsan, well done.

    Product: Hatsan Model 25 Left-Hand Grips

    Hatsan Model 25 Left-Hand Grips
    Review entered on 2014-07-26 08:36:52

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2014-07-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Comfortable and resilient rubber product that exactly fits the Vortex M-25 pistol frame. Well molded checkering for a secure grip.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing with the grips themselves. I would, however, market the Vortex Supercharger with ambidextrous grips and sell a Left or Right grip as a single piece accessory. As a "leftie," I am used to, but somewhat resent, having to pay an upcharge to convert a right-handed piece to left. If the pistol was ambidextrous, then it would be fair to all to purchase the singular replacement thumb rest grip.
    What others should know:To make the Vortex Supercharge ambidextrous, one needs to purchase this grip set, or, of course, to make the pistol left-handed.

    Product: Hatsan Model 25 Supercharger Vortex Air Pistol

    Hatsan Model 25 Supercharger Vortex Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-07-26 08:50:29

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2014-07-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A very well made pistol with excellent fit and finish. The bluing is deep and the metal parts well finished. The rubber grips are well formed and fit the chassis exactly. A very nice feature is the adjustable front sight. This allows for compensation for any barrel droop or rise. The barrel extension with ventilation (air stripping?) is extremely needed in order to cock this thing. A nice feature is an O Ring to seal the extension to the threaded barrel and add a little bit of friction to help it stay tight.
    Things I would have changed:The configuration of the front "blade." The optical tubing is round in cross-section and it is held in place by a round, molded "strap" (which is actually a singular molded piece with a hole for the optical tubing. I would form the optical tubing NOT as a circle (again, in cross section) but as a triangle with the apex up. The chassis, then, of the front "blade" would taper to the apex so that it would describe an arrow point. The purpose of this proposed change is to make the point of aim more precise. The round optical tube in the round fitting makes determination of the point of aim on a black bullseye very difficult.
    What others should know:The Vortex Supercharger is very, very consistent and accurate save for the somewhat difficult front sight picture. The slight "wiggle" in the piece is irrelevant to its consistent accuracy. It is Magnitudes better than its competition from the Benjamin Trail gas ram pistol; indeed, THIS pistol is the one to purchase!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top