Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: BKL 1" Rings, 14mm Dovetail, Double Strap, Matte Black

    BKL 1 inch Rings, 14mm Dovetail, Double Strap, Matte Black
    Review entered on 2013-07-13 10:10:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By John from USA on 2013-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fit a bit tight, but just fine on BSA's MaxiRail.
    Things I would have changed:Kind of pricey but it should last forever. Would be nice if someone else offered this size so competition may drive the price down by $10.

    Product: Williams Diopter Sight

    Air Venturi Williams Diopter Sight
    Review entered on 2013-07-13 10:25:40

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2013-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice quality and price. A bit tricky to make fine adjustments as you have to loosen up the set screw (L to R), make the change and retighten. I will add a .050" aperture as I prefer a smaller sight picture like on older match guns (for about $10).
    Things I would have changed:Make a bit more L to R adjustment. Offer high and low versions of this model. Offer a choice of which aperture to be shipped with this: Williams makes a number of them (which would be a nice idea for P.A. to carry, hint, hint).
    What others should know:Affixed mine to a new HW(insert or model here) but due this being a "high mount" it's just a bit too tall for the sight to accurately be used. May work better on a model that allows the front ramp to be raised or lowered. To install: remove sight rail, screw the dovetails snug using the tiny allen wrench, tighten the sight using the "vertical" screw which then sets it into place.

    Product: Walther LGV Challenger Ultra Air Rifle

    Walther LGV Challenger Ultra Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-11-15 08:58:29

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2013-11-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:RE: .22 (which has 12FPE) Accuracy. Literal one-holer at 15 yds. Haven't been out further, yet. Weight of polymer stock is appreciably lighter (but still hefty) than wood versions. Adore the barrel lock which should assure consistent lock-up. Trigger is very nice and light but might need some adjusting with a screwdriver or the included allen wrench. Doesn't seem particularly pellet sensitive. Pellet heads go in with a light, snug, feeling rather than either falling in or needing to be forced. I haven't found it to be very hold sensitive, either. I've shot straight off a bag (around its balance point) as well as "artillery" with close results
    Things I would have changed:I'd love a blued muzzle break instead of painted. I wish they offered options, such as a muzzle break with no sights (easier cocking leverage). Would be nice if sights were offered in different styles such as hooded with different inserts like Weihrauch. My pref is for aperture sights over tru-glo (which probably work better in some applications) Would like to see availability of their Tuning Trigger and which is still overseas, but not here in the States
    What others should know:Short barrel so cocking isn't as light as some. Not troubling, just not the effort of an R7. There may be a slight buzz from the spring but not a strong twang like most rifles. Sure it is a smoother shot cycle than the higher power versions in .177 but why isn't the larger caliber available in that higher power? I think to 25 yards, you're hard to beat the LGV .22, but the trajectory will arc fairly hard after that, so know your mil-dots!

    Product: BSA Scorpion SE PCP Air Rifle, Synthetic Stock

    BSA Scorpion SE PCP Air Rifle, Synthetic Stock Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-06-15 14:24:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2014-06-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Using .177 CPH's, Exacts and Exact Heavies, I get about 17.5-18 FPE which makes around 875 FPS with the heavy pellets; slightly less than advertised, but who cares as long as they're accurate. Great value in the price range. Size: makes my springers look pretty big. All readings were using pellets straight from the box, non sorted. Who knows where they'd be if it took that extra step? 42 of 43 shots ranged from 855-884 FPS with CPH's from roughly 205-115 Bar (how can anyone tell what the real pressures are until you refill) which is what the factory states (42 shots in 177). 36 of 37 from 861-884 from 185-125 Bar. 26 of 27 from 865-884 from 185-135 Bar. A second string produced only 879 FPS with an even tighter spread, 32 of 34 shots with a 13 FPS max spread! Both wood and synthetic stocks are nice. Syn has studs installed. Very nice trigger after adjusting it. Breaks very cleanly (although I have not tried to bring the weight down to a feather weight level).
    Things I would have changed:I'd like to see a manometer that has more range specific to the sweet spot of its pressure so it would be easier to read. Now there are hash marks every 50 Bar and they're pretty small so you can't get much of an idea are you at 115 or 135 for instance. For US and other higher power countries, it'd be nice to keep up with the Jones' and allow an easy way to change its power settings to tweak for different pellets, etc. Other makers are now offering some barrels that come with a permanent shroud to tame the sound, BSA could probably do it (or at least offer a model with it) as well. Mags price would be nicer in the $40 range...how about making us a deal if you buy a spare along with the rifle??? Never a bad idea if everyone used a proprietary foster fill fitting. I had to add a $10 adapter which the Pyramyd rep reminded me about (major bummer had I got the gun and couldn't immediately fill it).
    What others should know:I have had an occasional hammer strike not open the valve. Rarity. When it happened, I pulled the bolt back to recock it and removed the magazine to prevent double loading and shoot the pellet, then on the next cocking I reinstalled the mag (once I didn't and at 50 yards the two pellets still printed closely). Also, just make sure you are fully and firmly pulling the bolt back in one firm move to prevent any double loading. If you hesitate and go back and forth, you'll might have an issue. My advice is not to fill beyond 205 or 210 Bar even though they say you can go to 232. I had over 70 shots, but the curve was too large. So somewhere close to 190-130 is likely the sweet spot for .177 Maybe +/-10 Bar if you want shot count (40-50) over the tightest groups (28-32) Different calibers will likely differ. Pretty nice for a non regulated model. Really hard to justify adding a Huntsman while this seems to do its job, then again, it's only money, right?
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top