Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact .20 Cal, 13.73 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact .20 Cal, 13.73 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-08-29 11:59:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Rex from USA on 2012-08-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I'm shooting these through my .20 cal Beeman hw97k Blue. Compared to the H&N spitzkugels and barracudas, and benjamin cylindricals, these JSBs shoot the tightest groups by far, to the point that I use the H&Ns only for very short range shots (8-15 yds)at cowbirds and chipmunks, for which those pellets are fine. Anything beyond that range, and for gratifying target shooting, I need these. I'm also glad these come in the 500 ct tin because it's hard to stop shooting once I've started.
    Things I would have changed:High shipping cost. Next time I buy a rifle from PA I'll get several tins of these to take advantage of the shipping. I would also prefer a screw lid like the Benj. cylindricals come in.
    What others should know:Pellet accuracy is very gun-specific. A friend of mine ordered the .20 cal Sheridan rifle and I asked her to order an extra tin of these JSBs for me. I spent an afternoon sighting in her scope and testing pellets between her gun and mine, and hers shot the Benjamin cylindricals in a 1 inch group at 20 yds, but splattered these JSBs all over the county. My Beeman flang the Benj cyls with a carelessness only slightly less flagrant than her gun's treatment of the JSBs. But my gun puts these JSBs consistently within .5 inch at 25 yds (a flyer or botched shot now and then), and I am 12 for 13 at 30-35 yd chipmunk head shots. Rushed that 13th... So I traded her my tin of Benjamins and we're both happier.

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2012-10-10 21:20:07

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Rex from USA on 2012-10-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is heavily built and I'll never wear it out with my air rifles.
    Things I would have changed:I wish it had a handle on top for quick one-hand pick up and moving.
    What others should know:Some have complained it rings loudly when the pellet hits it. I muffled mine by leaving it in its box. Just pull it out enough to stuff the front with wadded paper and/or old rags, trim the top front of the box to accommodate the clip, then push the trap back in and stuff the top with more rags. Clip the target right to the front surface of the box. I've put about 300 rounds through the front and it still supports the targets fine. When it is too chewed up I'll probably reinforce with duct tape. It is WAY quieter now.

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2012-12-03 23:19:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Rex from USA on 2012-12-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It has a generous front surface area, an 8x11 sheet of paper fits well. The metal is a heavy enough gauge that I don't worry at all about wearing it out with a .20 cal hw97k.
    Things I would have changed:Design-wise, nothing. It's a bit pricey, but it will never require replacing, unless the clip gives out.
    What others should know:Some have mentioned the loud noise it makes when a pellet hits it. I put it back in its box, after stuffing the front/inside with crumpled packing paper and old rags, cut a notch in the top front of the box to accommodate the clip, stuffed the space behind the slanted back with more paper and rags, then closed the box lid. The target lays up flat against the front of the box, and I shoot right through both. Its MUCH quieter now, and when the front is all shot up; duct tape. 500 rounds later I'm just starting to think I need to replace the now-shredded paper, as there is a path back to the metal letting some sound back out.

    Product: RWS Superdome .177 Cal, 8.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    RWS Superdome .177 Cal, 8.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2014-05-30 15:32:02

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Rex from USA on 2014-05-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I shoot a Beeman HW97K .20 and an old BSA Meteor .22 and in those the corresponding JSB exact pellets are by far the best ammo, but in my HW30 .177 these Superdomes come out of nowhere and consistently group slightly better than the JSB and H&N pellets I've tried.
    Things I would have changed:n/a
    What others should know:Fortunately one of our local hardware stores with a small gun shop stocks these from time to time, otherwise I wouldn't have come across them. Definitely give them a try in your .177. It may turn out to be the right pellet for your gun.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top