Crosman Doomsday Bug Out Air Rifle Kit 2289

Crosman Doomsday Bug Out Air Rifle Kit Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-07-26 19:08:20

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By JON from USA on 2013-07-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I like ANY permutation of the 13xx line, and this is no exception, sturdy,easy to mod, powerful,accurate great new forearm, takes down and assembles well..I have had none of the "shaky stock" syndrome that some reviewers have mentioned.

Things I would have changed: Ummm, nothing really, it is at a fair price, and the backpack and other geegaws are cheap, but they work and can easily be upgraded --- especially the first aid kit and backpack. You probably have an old bookbag or laptop case laying around - use that to store the rifle and stock, either will give better protection to the sights and thinner parts of the stock casting, Add a couple of pellet pouches with your favorite pellets in 'em, add some military surplus hardware to the first aid, a couple of cliff bars and transfer whatever gear that is likely to get dragged through the mud to the Crosman pack and you're off to the races.

What others should know: In our headlong dash to buy expensive PCP gear, we often forget that virtually any springer or multi-pump gun can be modded for very reasonable money to exact humane kills on some pretty tough medium game, especially if we quit overlooking .20, .25 and .30 --- yes .30, PCP only at the moment, but, who knows. I myself will gladly leap into PCP when: the power goes up, the price goes down and somebody comes up with a 20 or 28 Gauge PCP shotgun, even a muzzleloading light steel shot trap gun.

Benjamin Trail NP2 Air Rifle Combo

Benjamin Trail NP2 Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-03-29 12:28:06

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By JON from USA on 2015-03-29
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Very well made air rifle. All adjustments, manufacture and appointments for utility or delectation (especially the sling swivels-which should be made at least available on all air rifles) are worth the price of a Savage 308/30-06/243 with scope at Wal-Mart. I am enjoying the little air rifle, in particular the pleasantly surprising accuracy with all of the many brands, configurations and weights of pellets I have run through it. Accurate, strikes the game with an excellent firm hand, all with virtually no recoil whatever! Well done Benjamin!

Things I would have changed: The barrel could use a little more length and less shroud. More length might make it come - at least in the same neighborhood as the advertised velocities and a small shroud would make cocking it just as comfy, and with a few holes drilled in it-quieter as well. Aside from more velocity and recoil dampener/noise reduction system, I can find no real fault with this handy little kit rifle, in fact, since I have owned it I never leave camp without it or my Martin 50Lb recurve bow!

What others should know: My rifle has no provision for an automatic (therefore, anti-beartrap) safety, the safety must be engaged manually. I do not see any problem with the setup, but as auto-safeties have become the norm, I thought it might do some good to mention it.

Benjamin Trail NP2 Air Rifle Combo

Benjamin Trail NP2 Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-05-21 17:20:23

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By JON from USA on 2015-05-21
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
2.01 rating

Things I liked: I really like that it comes with a sling, more accurately, that you can put a non-universal sling on it at all-which is unusual for an air rifle. It has adequate power, it's reliable (so far, it hasn't been out long enough for me to have given it hard use for ten years) and it is very accurate. All in all I am very satisfied with it, the scope is good quality as is the overall quality of the rifle, fit and finish, stock work etc. and it isn't as heavy as advertised. The ultra-modern poly pistol grip stock with partial wrap around non-slip recoil pad fits me very nicely and the geometry of the stock gently encourages me to hold the rifle correctly regardless of body position. It seems to be a well made, accurate and sturdy small game rifle that I will use in my bug-out equipment. I'm relying completely on air guns and archery for survival purposes due to ammunition related issues and the fact that I live in too wet a climate to rely, long term, on black powder, besides, I like air guns.

Things I would have changed: I think a 19' barrel would increase velocity without adding noticeable weight. It would also be nice if the barrel shroud were made from aluminum instead of plastic and suppressed noise, as it is, it just adds length to help ease cocking the gun without adding to power, accuracy or noise reduction

Skenco Black Max Lead-Free Pellets, .25 Cal, 32.40 Grains, Domed 50ct

Skenco Black Max Lead-Free Pellets, .25 Cal, 32.40 Grains, Domed 50ct
Review entered on 2015-06-19 13:50:39

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By JON from USA on 2015-06-19
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: THE LOOK OF THE PELLET IS CERTAINLY AUTHORITATIVE AND THE LENGTH OF THE PELLET SEEMS TO ADD STABILITY DURING A LONG SHOT. FOR SUCH A HEAVY PELLET, FIRED FROM A SPRINGER, IT HAD A VERY FLAT TRAJECTORY. PENETRATION IS FIERCE, I SHOT THROUGH 2 1" PINE 1 X 3'S OUT OF A WALTHER TALON MAGNUM. NO DEFORMATION.

Things I would have changed: I THINK IT IS BECAUSE OF THE POLYMER, BUT MY (SPRINGER IS QUITE POWERFUL AND ALWAYS SMOKES (NOT DIESELS) AFTER A SHOT NO MATTER HOW DRY THE BORE), THESE PELLETS TEND TO MAKE THE BORE DIRTY AFTER EACH SHOT. ALTHOUGH, THE FOULING DOES NOT SEEM TO EFFECT ACCURACY, WHICH LEADS ME TO THE POLYMER HYPOTHESIS. THEY ARE PRICEY AS ARE ALL POLYMER PELLETS, SO EITHER PLASTIC IS MORE EXPENSIVE THAN LEAD OR THE POLYMER TECHNOLOGY IS HIGH QUALITY - I CAN'T KNOW WHICH.

What others should know: NICE LITTLE PACKAGE, SCREW TOP AND WON'T OPEN UP IF YOU STICK IT IN YOUR POCKET BEFORE A DAY N THE WOODS. BE SURE OF YOUR BACKSTOP, BECAUSE THESE PELLETS WILL DEFLECT!

H&N Excite Dynamic Pellets, .22 Cal, 12.85 Grains, Domed, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Excite Dynamic Pellets, .22 Cal, 12.85 Grains, Domed, 200ct
Review entered on 2015-07-11 21:41:28

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By JON from USA on 2015-07-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Very much like the Logun Penetrator pellets that are no longer available. Remarkable penetration and stability, I'm not sure if they are non-lead alloy, but every single pellet was perfect-no shipping deformation at all. I got them to see if I could get a clean hole all the way thru a 1" pine board with my modded Crosman 22xx's - I bought some 9.x grain H+N alloy pellets with the same goal in mind for the 22xx pistols and Backpacker, the grain Diabolos did not but the cylindrical excites did with 17 to 23 pumps on both 12 and 24" barrels. They give very stable and consistent flight and accuracy and are heavy enough to extend the effective killing range on my magnum .22's out to (so far) 85-ish yards on larger game like Turkey, Sage Hens, Pheasant and the huge rabbits we get out here. In all 4 guns I have tested them in so far they have produced NO 5-shot group at 10 meters larger than .30".

Things I would have changed: The old Logun pellets only came in 16 and 20 grain in .22, and my magnum springers loved them both so a larger variety of weights would be ideal; Also .177, .25 and .30 pellets of this type would open up a world of long range hunting for folks who just won't pay 4 time as much for an air rifle than a good quality centerfire rifle with scope included.

What others should know: As I mentioned earlier, great on big birds like turkey, who tend to be too wary to get very close to and whose feathers tend to flatten out and act like Kevlar.

Navigation