Date: 6/12/2016 12:42
0

Customer Reviews by James from USA

Gamo PT-85 CO2 Pistol

Gamo PT-85 CO2 Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2012-02-21 21:54:33

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By James from USA on 2012-02-21
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: Very solid feel with substantial weight and balance. Easy to load clip which clicks firmly into place and drops out at the touch of the button. Mechanics very smooth. Easy to load CO2. Good two stage feel to trigger in S/A and smoother than most in D/A. Accurate with 1.00" groups at 7 meters S/A 2.00" groups at 10 meters S/A.

Things I would have changed: Rear sight needs to be adjustable to really dial this pistol in. You must cover target with front sight (combat sights?)as it comes out of the box. Include a second magazine with pistol.

What others should know: Safety is on right side making a bit difficult for right handed shooters and spring safety release really requires two hands. Very solid pistol for the price. Makes practicing between visits to the range lots of fun.

Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun

Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun Air rifle
Review entered on 2012-07-27 03:58:27

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By James from USA on 2012-07-27
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: This one is a classic! I restocked the gun in oak so that the length of pull fit an adult shooter, disassembled it to polish the burrs, lubricated with moly lube, polished the barrel to a high shine opened the peep with a dremel and used daisy zinc bb's. Wow! This gun is incredibly accurate. It shoots nickel sized groups consistently from bench at 21 ft. and takes down aluminum pop cans easily at 50 ft. The action is silky smooth and the take down feature means it;s very portable. Good trigger for a cheap bb gun and enough fps for reasonable inside or backyard targets and plinking. Love the engraving. I used emory paper to remove the paint from the receiver which highlights the engraving (paint stays in the lines) and gives the gun an antiqued look. Great value. Tons of fun!

Things I would have changed: The peep sight needs to opened a bit to be useful and although powerful enough for most shooting, it could use a stronger spring. I didn't chrony the gun but would guess it to be around 300 fps. Could use another 100 fps. The stock is too short for adult shooters. Suggest lengthening a bit or offering an adult and youth model. Include a take down sized case and screw driver.

What others should know: You must remove the small screw on the left side of the receiver in addition to the takedown bolt when breaking the gun down. Also you must depress trigger when sliding the front section out of the receiver and when putting it back together. The zinc bbs seem to group better and hit harder compared to copper. Buy two of these things because your spouse, kids or friends are going to want to shoot too.

Colt SAA CO2 Pellet Revolver, Nickel

Colt SAA CO2 Pellet Revolver, Nickel Air gun
Review entered on 2016-09-26 21:18:13

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

1.0 1.0

By James from USA on 2016-09-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Fit and finish were excellent. The revolver has the size and heft that feels very close to a powder burning Peacemaker. The trigger is excellent and the lock -up was tight and precise. The CO2 cylinder seats easily and the wrench in the grip works great.

Things I would have changed: I replaced the black grips with imitation ivory which I ordered directly from Umarex. I prefer the look of nickel and ivory and would have liked that as an option. The issue with this revolver is the accuracy. The best group I could shoot with the pistol "out of the box" was about 2.5 inches at a measured 5 meters from a bench rest. Not the best, but the real issue was that the group was 3.5 inches high and 1.75 inches left of the point of aim. After extensive work with files and emery paper, I was able to shrink the group to dime size at 0,5 inches above the point of aim at 5 meters. This is too nice a revolver to be so far off the mark in terms of accuracy "out of the box". The fact that with work it will consistently hold dime sized groups indicates that the extra care in manufacturing to line the sights up correctly is worth doing.

What others should know: I purchased a Western Justice holster and gun belt along with the revolver and have been very pleased with the gun leather. This is a high quality pistol and well worth the price and would be perfect if the thing would shoot accurately out of the box.

Daisy Match Grade Avanti Champion 499

Daisy Match Grade Avanti Champion 499 Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-11-06 07:54:44

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By James from USA on 2016-11-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Fit and finish is very good. The aperture sight mounted easily and although made from polymer material, is very serviceable and works well. The forearm has a cavity for adding extra weight to personalize the balance of the gun which is a nice feature. The accuracy is everything the advertising says it is. This is an excellent gun for anyone seeking a target rifle for use in smaller spaces and indoors. It's quiet, economical and very very accurate.

Things I would have changed: I think the gun was designed primarily with younger shooters in mind, but its so well made and accurate, that shooters of any age will enjoy ii. Seniors and adults who enjoy target shooting would not be disappointed with this gun. As a result, offering an adjustable stock length such as is found on the Daisy / Avanti 853 would be a welcomed change. The length of pull "as is" is just a bit short for most adult shooters. I extended the length of mine with a recoil pad but would have paid a little more for a system with extension inserts.

What others should know: I was skeptical about the performance of this gun when I bought it. I was wrong. This is a different animal from the Red Ryder type air gun.This is really a very decent target gun purpose built for shooting at 5 meters and it does that job very effectively. It is perfect for those shooting indoors at modest ranges and did not disappoint.This gun is excellent value for the money and lots of fun.

Daisy Match Grade Avanti Precision Diopter Sight

Daisy Match Grade Avanti Precision Diopter Sight
Review entered on 2016-11-11 08:20:58

4.0 4.0

3.0 3.0

By James from USA on 2016-11-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Mounts easily and is well made from metal and polymer. Positive feeling "clicks" and allows for fine adjustment to really pin point settings.

Things I would have changed: Maybe offer a set of screw-in peep sight disks with various sized openings.

What others should know: I mounted this on a Daisy / Avanti 853 10 meter rifle and it works great. Easy to mount at the correct eye relief for me and remains solidly in place. W&E knobs easy to operate with firm pressure and everything "stays put".

Navigation