Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: IZH 53M Air pistol

    IZH-Baikal IZH 53M Air pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-04-24 10:23:45

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By tempest from USA on 2012-04-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy,with solid dependable build quality. I find the grip very comfortable. Simple rugged design reminds me of the Webley Premier I had when I was young. Power level well suited for indoor use.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:The sights have evolved over time, my version has the solid front sight and shoots to point of aim, even at close range in the garage (about20'). The drum that holds the rear sight blade can be moved, by loosening its set screw, into one of three positions for coarse adjustment in addition to the fine adjustments offered by the windage screw.

    Product: Air Venturi Bronco air rifle

    Air Venturi Bronco air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-05-09 12:17:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By tempest from USA on 2012-05-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Reminds me of the Beeman C-1 I had in the 80's, but much easier to cock and more fun to shoot. Lower velocity than the old C-1 is a plus for indoor barn or garage shooting. I like the blond stock since it should be easier to maintain as there is no stain to match if it should get scratched. Very solid and sturdy design and a nice natural pointer, makes a great short range rat shooter.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:Without doubt the best value I could find in an intermediate power spring gun, built to last.

    Product: Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun

    Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-06-23 20:48:02

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By tempest from USA on 2012-06-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like this BB gun better than the plastic stocked one I had as a kid, which I always wished had a wooden stock. At 15 feet it has proven quite accurate. I purchased this one for my daughter to shoot, since she got her mom to get me the fancy cased blued walnut stocked 125th anniversary gun from the daisy airgun museum for father's day. I have to work the action for her for now. The feed tube using a magnet seems more positive than the one I had as a kid. For a kid, the paint finish requires less attention that bluing.
    Things I would have changed:Had an issue with the rear sight and had to return first one sent out, but pyramyd's customer service is hands down the best anywhere. Had replacement to my door FAST, the customer service person was very good, I was impressed.
    What others should know:A nice bit of old time fun for my daughter and me, but I wish they would put out a version between this one and the fancy cased anniversary model, which is a very cool father's day gift but way more costly than I would've spent on myself. Perhaps having the gun stocked and assembled here but without the fancy box. Still, the standard gun is a fun shooter that should stand up to a lot of use without much special attention other that a little oil every couple of hundred shots.

    Product: Browning Buck Mark Air Pistol

    Browning Buck Mark Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-07-16 08:22:35

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By tempest from USA on 2012-07-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a really nice indoor short range target pistol. Well engineered. I am impressed by the use under the polymer shroud of a cast metal housing around the steel barrel, and the use of metal for all of the critical components. It should last quite a long time since it is under less stress than guns with a heavier spring. Easy to cock, accurate, quiet, nice sights (although you can mount optics on the weaver rail), wrap around grips and inexpensive.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:As a firearms training pistol, it requires the shooter to follow through with each shot, like the classic Walther LP 53 which had similar power (but was much harder to cock!). The trigger takes a bit of familiarization, but isn't bad at all for the price. Overall, it is a great value for short range target shooting/plinking.

    Product: Cometa Indian Air Pistol, Nickel

    Cometa Indian Air Pistol, Nickel Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-03-31 02:55:33

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By tempest from USA on 2013-03-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Rugged construction, fixed barrel, quite accurate when I do my part,with a nice smooth quiet firing cycle. Unique geared over lever cocking mechanism and nickel finish. Nice to have black sights on a nickel finished gun.
    What others should know:It took around 300 shots to settle down, but now shoots to point of aim at 33'. I was initially considering modifying the sights for adjusting elevation as it shot a bit low out of the box, but since it settled down it has shot very well centered groups with several different types of pellets. Very similar to my old Webley Premier in firing behavior, requires focus, a consistent grip and follow through for best results.

    Product: Webley Tempest Air Pistol

    Webley & Scott Ltd. Webley Tempest Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-06-04 22:54:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By tempest from USA on 2013-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very good reproduction of the air pistol I first learned to shoot. Good to have a fully functional replica of a classic design. As hard hitting and accurate as my original 1980's English version (which is still shooting well). Uses solid pins in the cocking linkages (the original Tempest used hollow pins which were prone to bending over time)
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. Very faithful to the original design. I needed to lube the mainspring very slightly for smoothness (as I have done on my original version every few years).
    What others should know:Webley air pistols were designed as training pistols and have backward recoil which takes practice to master. It is best to learn how to cock the pistol smoothly (not for young children). It will take a few hundred shots to wear in, just like the originals.

    Product: Benjamin HB22

    Benjamin HB22 Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-06-28 11:01:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By tempest from USA on 2013-06-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Brass steel and wood construction, American made, easy to use and maintain. It is smaller and lighter and more durable than many more modern looking pistols of similar power. Variable power is a plus when noise is an issue. Price has stayed about the same over time, when adjusted for inflation.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, a nearly perfect example of form following function.
    What others should know:I originally purchased this air pistol after wondering how it could possibly still be around without much change for so many years. Once I started using it, the Benjamin demonstrated itself as a great value. I have owned many air pistols over the years but the Benjamin has been the best long term performer right out of the box. I shoot better groups more consistently with this pistol than with nearly any of the other air pistols I have used.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-07-07 11:33:04

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By tempest from USA on 2013-07-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Interesting application of a nitro piston in an air pistol. After modification of the front sight, reasonably accurate. The action gets smooth fairly quickly with use. Fairly quiet for its power level. Should make a good adult utility pistol around the farm or similar applications.
    Things I would have changed:The front sight needs to be lower as others have pointed out. There were two areas of bluing that had been touched up at the factory. Beyond that, it seems to be a simple durable large air pistol at low cost. I am puzzled at the use of the Benjamin name rather than just Crosman on these. I have long considered Benjamin to be a step up in materials (wood and brass)from Crosman's more utilitarian models (plastic and castings).
    What others should know:Most of the things that I would have issues with on this design are also benefits. It is large (the cocking aid should be considered a permanent fixture)and heavy (same weight and about 7" shorter than a Crosman 1377 with a shoulder stock mounted) but the weight helps cancel out much of the recoil, which aids accuracy. The ponderous size allows for good leverage in cocking. The trigger pull is long but gets smoother with use, feels almost like a smooth DA revolver.There are smaller/lighter guns at this power level, but not at this price point--with the exception of the already mentioned Crosman 1377/1322 (of which everyone should own an example).

    Product: Crosman .177-Cal Steel Breech Kit, Fits 1377, 1740, 1760 & PC77 Air Guns

    Crosman .177-Cal Steel Breech Kit, Fits 1377, 1740, 1760 & PC77 Air Guns
    Review entered on 2013-07-17 17:28:54

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By tempest from USA on 2013-07-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Best money spent on an accessory. Makes the 1377 much more solid in feel. Allows for many sight options.
    What others should know:The screw in the boltway on most 1377/1322s is actually a torx T-5. The allen wrench included in the kit for this tiny but important screw works after a fashion but can slip easily, giving the impression that the screw head has stripped when it hasn't. This is not a problem if a T-5 torx driver is used (they are better fasteners in experience, but the wrenches are not as widely distributed).

    Product: Crosman LPA MIM Rear Sight, For Crosman Guns with a Steel Breech

    Crosman LPA MIM Rear Sight, For Crosman Guns with a Steel Breech
    Review entered on 2013-12-08 11:47:25

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By tempest from USA on 2013-12-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Ease of installation on steel breech. Can be centered so that the reference marks can be used to re-center accurately after making temporary adjustments for wind.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:When using with shoulder stock, it is best to black out the white dots with a drop of flat black paint on each dot. The white dots tend to distort the location of the top of the sight when moved so close to the eye. This is generally not an issue when used as a pistol without the shoulder stock.

    Product: Daisy Avanti 717 Triumph Match

    Daisy Avanti 717 Triumph Match Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-12-13 22:45:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By tempest from USA on 2014-12-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Still made in the USA, pleasant shooting accurate air pistol. Nice adjustable trigger and sights. Quiet, recoil free, easy to use and reliable. Surprisingly long lived with minimal maintenance. Perfect for indoor practice.
    Things I would have changed:The changes that I wanted back in the day were made by Daisy already!
    What others should know:The Daisy 717 pistol has been around for a long time for good reason. Always a great value for the money spent, I had one back in the early 80's that I gave to a friend (who still uses it BTW). I never really found another air pistol to be so user friendly, so I purchased a new one. A pleasant surprise! Unlike so many products, this one has been improved over the years, now with an adjustable trigger made of metal (the 80's version was non adjustable and plastic). I am also pleased that the grips are now darker brown.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top