Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-07-25 16:16:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Arpad from USA on 2014-07-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The overall feel,fiber optic sights, automatic "safety-on", smooth trigger action and out-of-the-box accuracy. I'm no great shot, but my first round from 20 feet was within 3/4 in from target dead center. Not being tied to a co2 cartridge is great! Partially cocking the gun without loading a pellet and dry firing is great for learning trigger feel.
    Things I would have changed:As others have said, pellet loading and cocking effort can be hard. I solved the pellet loading problem using a section of soda straw, insert the pellet in the end, align with the breech and press home with a thin wooden dowel. The manufacturer could develop its idea further. The hard cocking turned out to be an advantage. Since I gas using it to teach my grandson range safety and marksmanship, the break in the action while I cocked it gave me extra time for "words of shooting wisdom".
    What others should know:To get such accuracy at this price is teriffic. If you look, there is enough good advice in cyberspace (pyramyd and youtube) to anticipate and overcome problems. The smile on my grandson's face the first time he came within a nickel of dead center was worth a million. This P17 is a super gun both for shooting instruction and my own plinking pleasure.

    Product: Taurus PT 24/7 Spring airsoft pistol

    KWC Taurus PT 24/7 Spring airsoft pistol Airsoft gun
    Review entered on 2014-07-29 20:34:42

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Arpad from USA on 2014-07-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The gun looks and feels fine. It just wasn't what I had hoped for, see below.
    Things I would have changed:The bb feeding was not good. Sometimes it would feed two, other times hang up. Whatever the rated muzzle velocity is, the drag on the bb as it flies through the air slows it very, very fast, see below.
    What others should know:I wanted something to help teach my grandson about marksmanship & range procedures. The rated muzzle velocity and the "safer" characteristics of the projectile persuaded me to try it. The gun was troublesome to operate, the projectiles were slow, you could see them arc off course, and the gun did not seem to be accurate. (I was getting better accuracy results with a 30 plus year old .177 Marksman repeater- which is no great shakes). Anyway, I returned it, Pyramid was super to work with. I wound up getting a Beeman P17 which may be a bit large but is accurate and has a decent trigger pull so we have gotten started with the range and marksmanship training. It's going well, my grandson is enjoying it. My point is, the airsoft stuff (or at least this Taurus) is not up to any realistic range and marksmanship instruction. It's more like a toy, OK for war games where distance and accuracy are not real factors.

    Product: IZH 60 Air Rifle

    IZH-Baikal IZH 60 Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-09-28 14:50:15

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Arpad from USA on 2014-09-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is one solid looking and feeling air gun. Operation is smooth and it fits well to hand and shoulder. It seems very accurate but my old eyes don't focus quit right so I can't really evaluate accuracy properly. My grandson liked the "looks cool" factor but the weight and lack of a safety was a bit more than we felt comfortable at this stage of his training.
    Things I would have changed:The gun is what it is and I wouldn't try to change Russian manufacturing anyway, but perhaps Pyramyd could offer a package that includes a red dot sight and/or an inexpensive scope (with the right mount) which could help us older folks acquire and/or see the target better than the sights that come with the gun. (Yes, seniors like to shoot, too).
    What others should know:I bought this as part of teaching my young grandson range safety and shooting. We started with a Red Rider followed by a daisy Grizzly, which is a great trainer. The IZH 60 was a bit too big a next step. At first I was going to exchange it for a lighter gun with a safety, and Pyramyd was very gracious about it, but in the end I couldn't part with, kept it for myself and ordered a mid-level multi pump gun with scope for him (from Pyramyd of course). Pyramyd's information base is awesome and is really helpful in working out what to get.

    Product: Umarex NXG APX Air Rifle Combo

    Umarex NXG APX Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-10-18 20:36:42

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Arpad from USA on 2014-10-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good overall feel, nice sights, rubbery stock cheek rest and shoulder pad, ramp to ease pellet loading, ease of unloading unused BBs, automatic "safety-on" with pump, "window" that permits you to see the next BB, built-in rail for scope, multi pump feature, and 4 x15 scope included (but see below). The trigger feel is very smooth and reliable and accuracy is very good even with BBs. All in all, a pretty terrific air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:The cocking effort was really hard at first, is now easier but is still stiffer than like. The pumping at first was real hard too but became easier with a dose of pellgun oil. When a BB is chambered there in no "satisfying click" to mark end of cycle (unlike with my grandson's Grizzly). I'm still making up my mind about the interlock that prevents pressurization without cocking and the size of the front fiber optic sight. These are really nit-picks but because it is such a nice rifle and it's a new product it's worth mentioning for future growth. The stock is just a tad bigger than I wanted for my grandson at this stage but he'll grow into it. As for the scope, see below.
    What others should know:The 4 by 15 scope turned out to be quite nice but it needed some work. At first I had an awful time sighting it in. In frustration I pulled off the vertical & horizontal adjusting mechanism. Turns out the inner optics tube is spring loaded up and to the right and the adjusting screws press it down and to the left, but the ends of the adjusting screws were very irregular so you couldn't rely on the sight adjustments especially in smaller increments. I lapped the ends flat with a diamond stone followed by a leather strop & reassembled. This made a big difference, making sighting adjustments more predictable and now I'm very happy with it. I've had the rifle for less then a month so I can't say about long term durability but this really seems to be a worthwhile product and a good next step from the Grizzly in my grandson's training.

    Product: Tech Force TF90 Red Dot Sight, 3 MOA, Rheostat, 11mm & Weaver Mounts

    Tech Force TF90 Red Dot Sight, 3 MOA, Rheostat, 11mm & Weaver Mounts
    Review entered on 2014-10-18 21:10:45

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Arpad from USA on 2014-10-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Once I got it working it was fabulous. With my IZH 60 at thirty plus feet with support from a friendly tree I was able to put three consecutive pellets in less than the diameter of a dime the first day (and I'm not that good a shot). The red dot is really useful in aiming and the rheostat to adjust its brightness is a good feature. The elevation and traverse adjusting knobs have little clicks which really help in making small adjustments. (Comparing this with a 4 by 15 scope I was working on in the same timeframe, there are light years of difference). This thing is responsive to very tiny adjustments. So far, it seems to have held its settings between "on & off" cycles. The flexibility for either 11 mm or Weaver mounts is really great, wish others would follow suit.
    Things I would have changed:There really should be some instructions with this thing. The battery cap screw threads were damaged and can be used only partly (since I'm a fair weather shooter and the thing is locked up the rest of the time, I decided I could live with it). The rheostat knob feels rough on turning and when I got it the laser was "on". The latter two almost convinced me to send it back but I decided to fight for it and boy was it worth it. The size is huge and it gets in the way when loading pellets and the screws provided with the 11mm mounts were too short, (fortunately the ones from the Weaver rails were longer), so I could get it mounted. These things should be addressed. Still, it's a super concept though it has some rough edges.
    What others should know:Understanding all the negatives, don't walk, run to get one while they last (they are now 19 bucks!). For a senior shooter who needs a little sight advantage the laser dot is fantastic. It's letting me explore the accuracy of the IZH 60 much more fairly than its iron sights ever could.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top