Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Crosman Destroyer .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Pointed, 250ct

    Crosman Destroyer .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Pointed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2007-09-19 11:17:57

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2007-09-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Expansion is positive at impact speeds around 600 FPS and explosive at impact speeds around 900 FPS or higher. I shot some overripe tomatoes on the vine and they blew to teeny bits on impact. Wadcutters only made cracks appear around the entry hole on the tomatoes. Pest control with a Beeman R9 on English Sparrows was quite impressive. There was a quite loud CRACK on impact with the chest of the sparrows and there was a very large exit wound on all subjects.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy was OK, but less than what I generally get with most other pellets. It was on par with "plinking" pellet accuracy. For example, on a 10M air rifle target, I was able to hold the 6 ring with my R7 and R9 off the bench. These rifles will regularly shoot 10's or at least 9's off the bench with preferred pellets. If you can't get super-fine accuracy, it's going to limit your maximum usable range.
    What others should know:The pellets seem quite loose in all airguns I tried. I tried several rifles from the Beeman R series, a Benjamin/Sheridan Sterling, as well as a few different Crosman models. The pellet simply fell into the breech on all guns. Expansion is limited to the ring around the point of the pellet. Max diameter of the pellet is a function of the height of the ring. Fold the ring out flat, that's as wide as the pellet is going to get. At higher impact speeds, the ring strips off leaving what amounts to a pointed pellet with a reduced head diameter.

    Product: Benjamin 392 pump air rifle

    Benjamin 392 pump air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2007-10-17 11:42:05

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2007-10-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Light, short, and potent. It's one of the least expensive +12 FPE rifles you'll find. Quite accurate. I own several Benjamin and Sheridan rifles from the current Crosman manufacture as well as the prior Racine, WI Ben/Sher plant. They're iconic rifles that should be in any collection and are wonderful hunting, pest control, and plinking tools. The ability to vary power by pumping is quite nice. 2 pumps is enough for bouncing cans around the back yard.
    Things I would have changed:I wish Crosman would go back to walnut for the stocks rather than the generic "hardwood" that they are stocking the Benjamin's with these days. FIX THE TRIGGER!!! There is an aftermarket sear that makes the factory trigger a dream. The factory trigger is like trying to haul two cinder blocks past each other with your index finger. Dump the factory rear sight the instant you buy this rifle. Install the Williams peep or scope the rifle, but don't rely on the factory rear sight.
    What others should know:Pumping does get rather labored past 6 pumps. You get 12-13 FPE out of only 8 pumps, but those are rather stiff pumps, especially at the end. Not for very young or very slight shooters.

    Product: Daisy 1938 Red Ryder BB gun

    Daisy 1938 Red Ryder BB gun Air rifle
    Review entered on 2008-03-31 08:06:14

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2008-03-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:What's not to like about one of, if not THE most iconic airgun in the world? It has a real wood stock. It's quiet. It is a great trainer for a beginning shooter and it's a great nostalga/trip down memory lane piece for an older shooter.
    Things I would have changed:The plastic cocking lever and the side door loading port. I much prefer the older front loading design where the muzzle is rotated to the side for loading.
    What others should know:It's a plinker BB gun. If you want to break balloons and bounce beer cans around the yard, this is the gun for you. It's not for hunting, it's not for precision marksmanship, it's for fun. Also, don't forget that BB's ricochet like crazy off any decently hard surface. Be aware of what's BEHIND you as well as what's in front of you and wear your eye protection (like you should any time you shoot),

    Product: Crosman Silver Eagle Pellets .177 Cal, 4.8 Grains, Hollowpoint, Lead-Free, 250ct

    Crosman Silver Eagle Pellets .177 Cal, 4.8 Grains, Hollowpoint, Lead-Free, 250ct
    Review entered on 2008-04-08 07:44:48

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2008-04-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Not much. They look neato, but that's about it.
    Things I would have changed:They're too light for 12 FPE or more rifles unless you like hearing the supersonic CRACK of the sound barrier being broken. Really spoils the idea of airguns being quiet. Accuracy was so-so for lower powered guns. I didn't accuracy test the more powerful rifles because of the noise. EXPENSIVE! at $10 for 250 pellets
    What others should know:I tested expansion in water. Even when shot from a TX200 that generally runs 16-17 FPE with heavier pellets, they didn't expand. They didn't expand from the lower powered R9 (12-14 FPE) and other than the rifling marks, looked unfired when fired into water from the R7 (6 FPE). The whole point in a hollow point pellet is for it to EXPAND to transfer energy and damage more tissue. At least in water, these won't expand even at supersonic impact speeds. The Crosman Destroyer however, expanded like gangbusters at moderate impact speeds.

    Product: Beeman 1024 Takedown Rifle, Scope, Rings & Case

    Beeman 1024 Takedown Rifle, Scope, Rings & Case Air rifle
    Review entered on 2008-04-18 07:17:18

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2008-04-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's a good starter gun. My father has this rifle and I have 3 Marksman 1790 rifles. This gun is essentially a dolled up Marksman 1790 Biathalon rifle. It's suprisingly accurate for something this inexpensive. Cocking effort is very low, so a young beginner could easily cock the rifle themselves.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is so-so, but I guess what should you expect from a spring piston rifle that retails for well less than $100.
    What others should know:It's actually rather loud, but not from the muzzle. The action makes a heck of a buzz and clank and twang on firing. It's on par with a tuned R9 in terms of volume on firing, but not in sound quality. Keep in mind that the velocity is on par with a .177 CO2 pistol. This is no powerhouse, but not every rifle has to be a powerhouse.

    Product: Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro

    Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro Air rifle
    Review entered on 2008-06-05 14:22:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2008-06-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy with preferred pellets is wonderful. Off a bench, scoped, with proper rests, this rifle will group all 5 shots from a clip into a slightly out of round hole. It doesn't cloverleaf, it bugholes. For not using the Lothar Walther barrels, they still managed to turn out a silly accurate rifle. Pump action is smooth and easy. Indexing of the clip was positive for me from the first time I shot this rifle. It's a quiet gun as well.
    Things I would have changed:Dump the factory "fiber optic" sights right away. They are the worst feature on the entire rifle. I purchased the Avanti target sights and am quite happy with them, but also often use a scope equipped rifle (I own two of these airguns). Add a few spacers to the buttstock unless you like a short length of pull. Seek out online the directions to modify your trigger so it is lighter and crisper. From the factory, it's similar to the 22x, 22SG, 880, or other pump up "powerline" models.
    What others should know:Daisy says it's a small game gun. A .177, 8 grain pellet at 475-500 FPS isn't much of a small game gun. You may be able to smite sparrows from short range birdfeeders, but don't count on this rifle knocking squirrels out of the tops of oaks. It's a great plinker, trainer, and fun rifle to practice with in the basement. It's easily worth the price.

    Product: Walther PPK/S Black BB gun

    Walther PPK/S Black BB gun Air gun
    Review entered on 2008-10-06 12:16:30

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2008-10-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The design, weight, and basic function of this replica are great. The blow back action is realistic and reminds me of a .22 LR firearm. It's a great trainer for someone showing a new shooter how to handle a semi-auto pistol. It's quite gas frugal. I've gotten well over 100 shots per powerlet on a regular basis. Finally, it's incredibly fun.
    Things I would have changed:Some provision to adjust the sights would be nice. Mine shoots horizontally centered, but about 3" high at 10 meters. In a perfect world, the safety would be slide mounted like in the real PPK/S rather than a frame mounted safety and the CO2 knob would be significantly lower profile or removed completely and replaced with a different piercing system. The plastic magazines are a bit wobbly. It would be nice to have some metal magazines available.
    What others should know:The primary reason to own this pistol is to have fun. It's not a target gun. You can bounce a beverage can around the yard like crazy and chase close in bugs in the garden or stuff like that. It's not a target gun. It's not a hunting gun. It is however a superlative plinking gun. Rapid fire will cool the gun (as will rapid fire with ANY CO2 gun) and will drop velocity and slide function. Keeping the pace of shooting down, pausing between magazines for a minute or so, and stuff like that will greatly increase the the reliablity of slide function and keep velocities higher. If you blaze through a few mags and the gun stops cycling, let it sit for 5-10 minutes and then try again. It will likely have warmed up enough to cycle again.

    Product: Beeman RX-2 Air Rifle, No Sights

    Beeman RX-2 Air Rifle, No Sights Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-04-16 12:45:26

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2009-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.54 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's pretty. Seriously, it's a good looking airgun. Install a nice muzzle cover in place of the front globe sight and it's very slick looking. Accuracy is excellent, excellent, excellent. I have the .22 caliber rifle and it runs 20 FPE with a variety of midweight pellets. It's a potent hunting gun. The firing cycle with the gas ram is very slick. I own several "tuned" spring piston rifles and they come close to, but do not equal the smooth, fast, completely zero vibration *THOCK* you feel on firing this rifle. No buzz, no twang, none of that. A solid thump and the shot is on the way.
    Things I would have changed:Not much. I got mine several years ago before the price went up to where it is now. Closing on $800 is a significant amount of money for an airgun for most people. Add good bases, rings, and a scope that will standup to the recoil jolt of this rifle and you are looking at well over $1000. Not that that's bad, but it's creeping out of the affordability range of many people, especially for a gun that's designed almost exclusively for hunting.
    What others should know:Cocking effort is hard. This rifle is heavy and LONG and thick. I have dedicated benchrest style centerfire varmint rifles that weigh less than this rifle complete with scope and base.

    Product: Crosman NightStalker Kit

    Crosman NightStalker Kit Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-06-10 22:35:09

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2009-06-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's a great plinker. Handy and accurate (enough) and really quite novel in operation. Points good and get decent gas economy with the AirSource 88 gram thingies.
    Things I would have changed:When this was introduced, we were lead to believe that the rifle would be semi-automatic in function and be darn close to the next Crosman 600. A Crosman 600 it ain't. Make it a TRUE semi-auto rather than simply a self cocking rifle. Some way to bulk fill the rifle would be nice as well. AirSource bottles are pretty spendy. Would it kill ya to make a .22 version with ballistics comparable to the 2250?? That would be completely awesome.
    What others should know:It's a self cocking Crosman 1077 essentially. The trigger pull is lighter because you aren't having to yank back the striker each time you pull the trigger, but you are still rotating the cylinder as you pull the trigger, and you can sure feel that in trigger drag as well as in added weight of pull and length of travel. Accuracy is 3/4" to 1" CTC or so at 10M with good pellets. You can bounce empty cans around the yard all day with this thing. Get extra mags and one of the mag loaders if you are planning on using this rifle. You will burn through pellets like crazy and that's a good thing.

    Product: Beeman R7 Air Rifle, No Sights

    Beeman R7 Air Rifle, No Sights Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-06-16 09:09:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2009-06-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the return to the older style stock that covers the cocking linkage and barrel breech block. I think it just looks nicer that way. The R7 is fun, light, easy to cock, quiet, and very accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing much at all. My R7 has been tuned. That's like adding a cherry to the top of an already delicious sundae. It eliminates the very slight twang from the action. It's pretty much the best lower powered sporter spring rifle out there.
    What others should know:It's expensive when compared to other sporter styled spring piston guns, but it's worth the money. It's no powerhouse, but it's a super-accurate plinker and informal target gun. It's enough rifle for small pest control, but I'd seriously think about stepping up to the R9 if you are interested in a hunting gun rather than a plinking gun.

    Product: Gamo Red Fire .177 Cal, 7.80 Grains, Pointed, 150ct

    Gamo Red Fire .177 Cal, 7.80 Grains, Pointed, 150ct
    Review entered on 2009-06-22 11:47:03

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2009-06-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:These appear to be very well made pellets. Essentially no flashing or scrap bits of lead in the tin and nice crisp seam lines in the sides. They expand to a complete mushroom when fired into water from a 12 FPE rifle. The expansion really seems to start (again, in water) at impact speeds above 700 FPS. Below that, there is minimal expansion. Accuracy was decent, on par with typical hunting pellets but a bit less than a match grade dome or wadcutter in the rifles I tested.
    Things I would have changed:For what they are, they are pretty good. They are rather expensive at more or less 5 cents a pellet. The price per tin isn't all that different from normal pellets, but there's only 150 pellets in a tin rather than the typical 500.
    What others should know:They seem to be pretty close to a copy of the JSB Predator pellet. The Predator has a point with a straight tail filling the HP cavity. These pellets have a double ended cone in the cavity. The point at the front is a mirror image of the point at the back of the tip. The base cavity looks very similar to the base cavities used in the Crosman pellet lineup. I went so far as to section a Gamo Red Fire and a series of Crosman pellets and the base cavity looks identical. I wonder if Gamo bought the same swaging machines that Crosman did so many years ago when they switched from the old "flying ashcan" style pellet to the new design.

    Product: Daisy Avanti Champion 499

    Daisy Avanti Champion 499 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-04-05 10:57:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2010-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very accurate and quite quiet. A far better trigger than I had expected. Not a match quality 10m rifle trigger, but way beyond a Daisy Red Ryder trigger.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice if the buttstock came pre-setup for length adjustment. A series of spacers would be an excellent add-on so it could be sized for adults as well as children without tools and carpentry.
    What others should know:It's designed specifically for the 5 meter BB gun competition, but it's a fine plinker or youth trainer as well. I was impressed by the accuracy. I ordered the Daisy 5899 reciever mounted sight as an upgrade, and then found out that the 499 CAME WITH that reciever sight in the factory 499 package. The image shows a cheaper rear sight and the 5899 is shown as an "upgrade" accessory (which is why I bought it). I wouldn't have bought the extra sight if I'd known that the gun came with it! Goodie for me. I have a few extra airguns where I can use the extra sight.

    Product: DRULOV DU-10

    Drulov DRULOV DU-10 Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-04-16 11:18:29

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2010-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's a true semi-auto with a very good trigger. Handling is nice and it's easy to mount a red dot with the factory provided rail. Accuracy is very good as well. I got mine because I saw one for sale (relatively) cheap and wanted to see how it compared to the Aeron B-96 I already owned. I use both of these pistols for NRA bullseye practice as well as just plain fun.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice if the gun came with a US paintball threaded bulk fill endcap as well as a standard US threaded and designed paintball style bulk bottle rather than the European threaded version. Adapters are available for little $$ and make filling this pistol with bulk CO2 much easier with standard sized paintball bottles.
    What others should know:It has an excellent trigger, but it's not a 10M match trigger. It's a very, very good sport trigger or something similar to a target rimfire or centerfire trigger. It's a slightly "squishy" feeling trigger, but you have to concentrate to feel it. They aren't kidding when they say you need properly sized pellets to work in this pistol. If your pellet skirt is too large, the unique magazine style will cause the gun to fire more than one pellet at a time. This may sound neato, but you'll just get two pellets hitting the target far lower than you had planned as well as with much less velocity than you wanted. As it is, the pistol is provided with a pellet sizer. I suggest you use it as it's easy to feed pellets through and it eliminates "doubling" on shots. Accuracy is excellent, but again not up to 10M match standards. Cloverleafed groups for the entire magazine off a rest at 10M is possble. One hole, not with this gun. Then again, it's supposed to be a semi-auto trainer and in that role, it excells. Also, it's a heck of a plinker and all around fun gun to shoot. Seeing as there are precious few TRUE semi-auto airguns (a gun that both advances the next round and recocks the action with the trigger only serving to release the striker), this one is a gem.

    Product: H&K MP5 K-PDW CO2 BB Gun

    Heckler & Koch H&K MP5 K-PDW CO2 BB Gun Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-08-30 20:17:08

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2010-08-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Looks great. Nice weight. Overall, it's simply pretty cool as a dimensionally accurate plinker. Beats the heck out of beer can at 10M. I have not shot it at paper for groups yet.
    Things I would have changed:Would it have killed you to make a true blowback action with a cocking lever that works? You already make the PPK which is a true semi-auto. With all that action space in the MP5, I would have thought you could have hidden auto-cocking and feeding pieces-parts. It was possible in the teeny compact pistol styled PPK. A scope mount and extra magazines would be great. So far, ya can't find extra mags and have to make due with airsoft scope mounts. Loading the magazine and CO2 is awfully fiddly. Umarex sacrificed ease of loading for realistic looks. I can live with that. It looks great.
    What others should know:Mine's rather jammy with Crosman Copperhead BB's. I have yet to try Daisy Quicksilver or other BB's and am NOT going to waste my spendy Avanti shot on this plinker. Had it not jammed and had the action actually "worked" rather than being cosmetic, it would be a 6 out of 5.

    Product: Umarex SA177 BB Gun Repeater

    Umarex SA177 BB Gun Repeater Air gun
    Review entered on 2011-03-15 15:12:07

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2011-03-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The fact that the magazine base hides the piercing lever. I also like that the CO2 loads through the backstrap rather than pulling off a grip panel. A nice, heavyweight magazine rather than the flappy plastic mag on the PPK. I like the lock back mag follower as well as the speed load hole in the back of the mag rather than having to feed the BB's on one at a time from the top of the mag.
    Things I would have changed:Umarex showed that they can make a true semi-auto blowback pistol with the PPK. The slide reciprocates and recocks the hammer after each shot on the PPK. On the SA17, it's a double action only pistol where you're recocking the striker with your finger at each trigger pull. The PPK has a last shot hold-open that actually does something. The action on the slide If the slide is locked back on the PPK, you can't fire the pistol. On the SA177, it's for cosmetics only.
    What others should know:It's beer can accurate at 21 feet. That's pretty much what you should expect from a pistol like this. It's not going to win a 10M match, but it's not supposed to. It's a can bouncer and that's just fine. Also, the sights on my pistol actually correspond to the point of impact at 21 feet. My PPK is off by about 3" at that range. I picked mine up for $50 out the door. It's a handful of fun for fifty bucks.

    Product: Browning Buck Mark Air Pistol

    Browning Buck Mark Air Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-06-22 12:34:40

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2012-06-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I knew it was supposed to be a Buckmark as soon as I saw the picture. It's a decent replica. It's also QUIET. It's quieter than my Daisy 717 or 747. It's quieter than my clunker Marksman 1010. It goes *phut* on firing. Accuracy seems decent. Able to regularly hit milk jug caps at 10M after sighting in. The Weaver rail makes mounting a red dot a snap. I put a cheap red dot on the gun first thing and started shooting after sighting in.
    Things I would have changed:I hate automatic safeties. The trigger is a bit heavy and gritty, but it's not the worst airgun trigger in the world. Note the velocity, this is no powerhouse airgun. Midweight lead pellets will sling out at the blistering speed of the mid 200 FPS range.
    What others should know:I wonder how it will hold up to repeated use. I've shot 2-300 pellets through the pistol so far and noted that the barrel when open has a bit of play. Not like it wobbles from side to side, but it's wiggly. I wonder if it will get more wiggly later. Overall,it's a fun easy to cock plinker.

    Product: Gamo Rocker Pellet Trap Resets with "center" shot!

    Gamo Rocker Pellet Trap Resets with  inchcenter inch shot!
    Review entered on 2013-03-08 13:14:10

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2013-03-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Fun and easy to use. Targets are challenging enough to not be "easy" but not so difficult to hit to make you frustrated. Auto-reset is a nice hands-free feature.
    Things I would have changed:As has been stated, you can't pound the heck out of this thing. It's more for plinking grade airguns. I don't like to hit it with more than 8 FPE or so. It tends to spray out lead fragments into the surrounding area even with the lower powered impacts, so have it somewhere you can easily clean up. Would be nice to have interchangeable or different paddles available (silhouette targets, etc.)
    What others should know:Reasonably LOUD. Pellets hit with a solid CLANK! on impact.

    Product: Gamo Bone Collector Bull Whisper IGT Air Rifle

    Gamo Bone Collector Bull Whisper IGT Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-05-28 09:01:48

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2013-05-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Reasonably quiet for the power level. Decent accuracy so far with my minimal testing. Getting overlapping cloverleaf groups at 10 meters. Cocking cycle is smooth and not terribly heavy.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is so-so. Not the worst sporting trigger I've ever shot, but it's no Rekord for sure. Trigger is one long pull with minimal stacking and no really defined "break", you just keep pulling until it goes off. Man, is there a lot of plastic on this thing. I knew that going in, but we're getting to the price point where I'd like to see at least a steel shroud on the barrel rather than the plastic.
    What others should know:Mine came with so much lean to the left that I ran out of horizontal adjustment in the scope to compensate. I swapped out the scope with a Hawke scope and an adjustable base. After getting on target, it seems to shoot fine.

    Product: BSA GRT Lightning XL SE Air Rifle

    BSA GRT Lightning XL SE Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-04-11 14:08:29

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jonpaul from USA on 2014-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's a handsome looking rifle. It's also quite compact and easy to handle. It points and mounts to the shoulder very well. Accuracy is great and the trigger, while less refined than a Rekord trigger on HW rifles is still a nice trigger. Mine is in .22 caliber and gets right around 14 FPE. Like almost all gas ram/nitro piston rifles, the firing cycle is a solid *thump* rather than a buzzy twang like in a springer.
    Things I would have changed:Not much. I'm "eh" with the idea of the engraved GRT on the buttstock. I could do without it, but it's not so obtrusive to be awful. I haven't measured the cocking effort, but it seems to be very stiff and heavy for a 14 FPE rifle. Took the muzzle cover off and it’s different from the one on my Lightning XL spring piston. That rifle has a male threaded section that screws into the moderator on the front of the rifle. The moderator is empty (hollow, no baffles). The new rifle has a female threaded end cap with what appears to be a screwed in baffle set. The muzzle report on both sounded awfully similar in terms of volume when fired inside.
    What others should know:I have the spring piston Lightning XL as well as the gas ram Lightning XL GRT (this rifle). I like 14~ish FPE .22 rifles for light hunting and pest control. It's always felt like a sweet spot to me. This is among the nicest 14 FPE rifles I've encountered. I really liked my spring piston Lightning XL and thought "man, the only thing that would make this rifle better is if it were a gas ram". Now I have both and I was right.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top