Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Radians Disposable Foam Earplugs, 25 Pairs, NRR 32

    Radians Disposable Foam Earplugs, 25 Pairs, NRR 32
    Review entered on 2011-11-22 01:34:14

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:These plugs are the best disposable hearing protection devices I have ever used. They are very easy to configure, insert and remove. They are so comfortable in use that I often forget that I am wearing them after I have left the range until someone tries to speak to me. When that happens, I see lips moving, hear nothing that is being said, and remember to take them out. Although I had experience with many different plug types in the service, I have never found any others which provide hearing protection equal to the Radians product.
    Things I would have changed:None.
    What others should know:New shooters, please take hearing protection seriously. While my residual hearing is still reasonably good, I have had 30+ years of tinnitus (ringing in the ears) as a result of unprotected range firing from my early days in the service, before hearing protection was commonly provided. Do yourself a favor: wear hearing protection when you shoot; AND TURN DOWN YOUR STEREOS AND MP3 PLAYERS.

    Product: Beeman Quick Cleaning Pellets .177 Cal, 100ct

    Beeman Quick Cleaning Pellets .177 Cal, 100ct
    Review entered on 2011-11-22 01:47:48

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:These pellets are useful in performing quick barrel cleanings. They are very absorbant. I have found that one or two pellets loaded with bore cleaner, followed by one dry pellet, followed by one oiled pellet work well in cleaning the Beeman P 17 I bought them for.
    Things I would have changed:Their completely cylindrical shape makes insertion of the pellet into the breech more difficult than reasonably necessary. A truncated conical shape at one end of the pellet would help.
    What others should know:At five meters, these cleaning pellets are capable of penetrating a mylar covered one inch foam board. Discharge them safely.

    Product: Crosman Pellet Loader, Holds 16 .177 Cal Pellets

    Crosman Pellet Loader, Holds 16 .177 Cal Pellets
    Review entered on 2011-11-22 01:58:44

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Holds and dispenses pellets as designed to do. Bought for use with a Beeman P 17 after reading a suggestion in a review of that pistol. Space restrictions in the breech of the P 17 are such that I did not find the pellet loader useful for that airgun. I can imagine that it would be useful with a break-barrel airgun, but do not yet have one available to confirm that.
    Things I would have changed:A transparent tube would be useful if made of material sufficiently hard to resist abrading.
    What others should know:Compact enough for a shirt pocket when unloaded; but not when pellets are on board.

    Product: Birchwood Casey Gun and Reel Silicone Cloth

    Birchwood Casey Gun and Reel Silicone Cloth
    Review entered on 2011-11-22 02:01:14

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:A large silicone cloth at a reasonable price. Useful for cleaning the metal components of firearms, as well as airguns.

    Product: Plano Protector Pistol Case - Single

    Plano Protector Pistol Case - Single
    Review entered on 2011-11-22 02:12:42

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This case has plenty of room to accommodate a Beeman P17 (large frame) air pistol and accessories. At present, mine contains the pistol, box of cleaning pellets, tube of bore cleaner, pellet loader, tin of 500 pellets, silicone cloth and ear plugs.
    Things I would have changed:Increase the rigidity and possibly the thickness of the shell of the case. Provide two more integral lock hasps, one at each front corner of the case.

    Product: Beeman .177 Cal, 8.53 Grains, Pointed, 500ct

    Beeman .177 Cal, 8.53 Grains, Pointed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-11 17:13:45

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-12-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Less than a penny each, they are very economical for high volume use. Very uniform in size and shape to eye and touch, though I do not have a micrometer for fine assessment or a balance for weight assessment. Very rare skirt distortion. Fit snugly in breach of the P17, and coating seems to ease loading. They group well when fired from a rest at 5m.
    Things I would have changed:I would not use them exclusively due to foreign source manufacture.
    What others should know:Bought for ease of loading a Beeman P17 bought at the same time, based upon user recommendations of pointed pellets for that pistol. Loading was substantially easier than for wadcutter pellets (but not substantially easier than for dome pellets) in the limited breach space of the P17. Used for retraining with 10m air pistol targets scaled down to a 5m distance. I have since ordered another tin, and would recommend them for consideration by other P17 users.

    Product: Crosman Field Hunting .177 Cal, 7.4 Grains, Pointed, 500ct

    Crosman Field Hunting .177 Cal, 7.4 Grains, Pointed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-11 17:44:54

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-12-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good size and shape uniformity, though more variance than Beeman 8.53 gr pointed pellets. Sphero-conoidal profile of the head of the pellet made it easier to load than more conical pointed pellets. Grouped well when fired from rest at 5m. Economical, though less so than the Beeman pointed pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Although most pellets fit snugly in the breach of the P17, the overall variance ran from loose to tight. Improve size and shape uniformity to equal foreign source manufactured pellets of comparable cost.
    What others should know:Bought for ease of loading a Beeman P17 bought at the same time, based upon user recommendations of pointed pellets for that pistol. Loading was substantially easier than for wadcutter pellets (but not substantially easier than for dome pellets) in the limited breach space of the P17. Used for retraining with 10m air pistol targets scaled down to a 5m distance. I intend to order another tin, and would recommend them for consideration by other P17 users.

    Product: Air Arms Field Heavy .177 Cal, 4.5mm, 10.34 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    Air Arms Field Heavy .177 Cal, 4.5mm, 10.34 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-11 17:57:37

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2011-12-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Excellent size and shape uniformity,. Rounded profile of the head of the pellet made it easy to load. Grouped well when fired from rested P17 at 5m.
    Things I would have changed:Offer a similar shape pellet in a 12 to 13 gr weight for high velocity air rifles.
    What others should know:Bought for ease of loading a Beeman P17 bought at the same time, based upon user recommendations of pointed or round nosed pellets for that pistol. Loading was substantially easier than for wadcutter pellets, and somewhat easier than for pointed pellets in the limited breach space of the P17. Used for retraining with 10m air pistol targets scaled down to a 5m distance. Also used for initial sighting-in of a Ruger Air Magnum bought after the P17, with which they also work very well. I intend to order more, and would recommend them for consideration by other P17 and Ruger Air Magnum users.

    Product: Beeman .177 Cal, 7.7 Grains, Wadcutter, Coated, 500ct

    Beeman .177 Cal, 7.7 Grains, Wadcutter, Coated, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-03-11 16:53:37

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-03-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The 500 pellet tins are convenient in size and weight for the quantity contained, fitting easily with the pistol case with the Beeman P17 for which I bought them. To the limits of my testing equipment (eyes, fingertips, observation of fit in chambers) these pellets are very uniform in size and shape. They fit snugly within the chamber of the P17. Within the limits of my marksmanship, they are capable of producing tight, consistent groups. They have become my default choice of pellet for the P17, producing tighter groups and higher scores on 10m scaled targets than the more expensive Crosman Competition Wadcutters which had been my previous default choice. To my 10m scaled experience with the P17, they are significantly superior to the slightly more expensive Daisy Precision Max wadcutters, and the equal of the more expensive RWS Diabalo Basics. While it may be possible to buy equally good pellets so inexpensively, I have yet to find such an opportunity. Purchasing ahead for a year's use, and taking advantage of PA's excellent 4 tins for the price of 3, I was recently able to buy 6,000 pellets (12 tins) for less than $47 (including $8 shipping,) less than 8/10 of a penny per pellet.
    Things I would have changed:While the 500 pellet tins are convenient, I would prefer a more robust tin with a screw on lid, such as some Crosman pellets are sold in. In the meantime, an elastic band around the tin keeps it closed. It would also be convenient to be able to buy them in bulk containers of one or two thousand.
    What others should know:The chamber fit being snug and the space for loading within the P17 breach being limited, I have experimented with oiling the pellets lightly. This does ease loading and has not affected the performance of the pellets negatively. About five drops of the Air Venturi MP5 oil to half a tin of pellets (close the tin and roll it about gently for at least a minute to distribute the oil) has yielded good results.

    Product: Daisy Max Speed .177 Cal, 9.1 Grains, Round Nose, 100ct

    Daisy Max Speed .177 Cal, 9.1 Grains, Round Nose, 100ct
    Review entered on 2012-12-01 17:02:28

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very inexpensive wadcutter pellets of about 7.5 grains weight. Reasonably good finish, short skirts, few deformations.
    Things I would have changed:Unfortunately, there is significant size variance. In the Beeman P17, Benjamin Trail and Ruger Blackhawk in which I have used them, few fit snugly, most fit loosely and some fall straight through the barrel from the breech in the course of loading.
    What others should know:Grouping is much coarser and fliers much more frequent than with Beeman coated, Crosman competition and RWS Basic wadcutters. The flight of some of these Daisies is downright erratic. While the price was right, the quality was not there for 10m target shooting. Might be okay for plinking large items such as plastic bottles. I have relegated them to break-in shooting for new airguns, for which purpose they get the job done and are cheaper than the other pellets mentioned above. Not recommended except for break-in shooting.

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top