Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Smith & Wesson 586, 4-inch Barrel

    Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson 586, 4-inch Barrel Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-08-02 10:27:43

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:A pretty good representation of an "L" frame Smith & Wesson. Very little plastic in this one, in fact it feels heavier than the real thing. While far from match-accurate, it's still more than acceptably so. Fallen leaves in my back yard tremble in fear at any likely range. Personally, I found the 6 inch barrel not to my liking, while the 4 inch seems about right...but that's just me. Absolutely do not believe anybody that says this has a trigger-pull or an action like the real thing...it doesn't. Out of the box it's rather rough and very notchy when the lockwork engages. But to be realistic, neither you nor I should expect that in something that costs a small fraction of the real thing. Is it acceptable? Yes, better than acceptable in fact. Does it improve with use? Yes, remarkably so. Is it good for practice? Yes, and a whole lot less expensive than launching .38 Specials down range. I'd recommend it for those who can't own or afford or have neighbors that object to recreational firearms usage in the back yard.
    Things I would have changed:I'd like a 3 inch barrel option, re-engineer the butt to make it shorter, 3-dot or outlined sights, and fix the damn accessory magazine problem.
    What others should know:Upon reading the past reviews, there is a persistant complaint that this revolver jams. The problem clearly stems from the poor quality of the accessory magazines which are manufactured somehow differently than the two that come with the gun. While the original two are fine and work quite well, the holes in the accessory mags are too big, and the pellets fall out either in your pocket, while being handled, or in the gun itself, which will cause a jam when the cylinder tries to rotate. Bad, bad, bad. Until this issue is addressed, I'd strongly advise against buying the accessory 3-pack of magazines. If you insist on using the accessory ones, you'll need to know the (unpublished) technique to unjam your revolver is to take your .177 cleaning rod and GENTLY tap the offending pellet (which is hanging out the front of your magazine half-way into the barrel) back into the magazine and then you can open the cylinder and remove the problem. This seems to be a lot quicker than the published technique of removing the barrel, which will be your fall-back technique. I have an order in for a selection of different diameter pellets to salvage the 3-pack mag issue and I'll amend this review later on.

    Product: Smith & Wesson Cylinder Magazine, 10rds, 3ct

    Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson Cylinder  Magazine, 10rds, 3ct
    Review entered on 2013-08-02 10:38:30

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Matching finish to revolver, made of actual metal, rotating revolver action seems to work well, but...see below.
    Things I would have changed:Make available in silver finish. AND, See below.
    What others should know:Absolutely unsuable. Holes in cylinder too big to hold pellets in place. Result: Pellets fall out in pocket, while being handled, and worst of all, in gun itself, thereby jamming the gun and requiring disassembly of gun to clear the jam. This is a known problem going back several years (see prior reviews)and is long overdue for correction. Get on it, Pyramid. I have on order several different pellet sizes to see if the problem can be salvaged by the user, but this should not be necessary, Pyramid.

    Product: Smith & Wesson 6" Barrel, .177 Cal., Matte Black, Fits S&W 586 CO2 Revolver

    Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson 6 inch Barrel, .177 Cal., Matte Black, Fits S&W 586 CO2 Revolver
    Review entered on 2013-08-23 11:14:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-08-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I ordered the 4" barrel version of the revolver with this 6" as a possible alternate. I give the 6" barrel 5 star rating as it is very well made and exactly as represented in the description. The matte black finish matches the gun perfectly.
    Things I would have changed:Make a 3" or 2 1/2" barrel available. The L-frame Smith & Wesson remains in common usage and these air pistols are often used as trainers or practice pieces by their owners as they replicate the size and weight of the real firearms. A notable feature of the L-frame is that its size & weight is virtually identical to a Colt Python equipped with a similar barrel length. Both 2 1/2 " (common) and 3" (not so common) barrels have been available from both makers for decades. Wouldn't it be nice if the owner of say, a short barreled Colt or Smith, be able to practice without launching (expensive) .38 specials down range?
    What others should know:Several things to know...upon receipt, the barrel actually on the gun was so tight as to be unremovable. A bit of a quandary, it was as there was nothing to grip or add leverage and the Vice-Grip option would have drastically marred the barrel. The solution was to wrap the barrel with a number of rubber bands, thereby giving a more gripable surface. After the initial problem, there have been no repeats of this issue. While the longer barrel does add a bit of velocity, the accuracy shows no noticeable improvement, at least not for me. I was a little surprised at this as one would think the longer sight base would add more accuracy, but no. Perhaps as the revolver wears in and smoothes out there might be an improvement. Do take the time to match your sight picture to the other barrel by selecting the appropriate blade width from the extra sight blades you got with the gun. Umarex makes no mention of this in the directions so you have to figure it out for yourself but do note the extra blades are of different widths and since the barrel length is now different, the apparent sight picture will also be different. In terms of handling, balance and looks, I personally prefer the shorter barrel, but these are issues solely up to you. As they say, boxers, briefs or bras, your personal opinion is the only one that counts.

    Product: H&N Field Target Sampler Pack, .177 Cal, Baracuda Match & Field Target Trophy Pellets, Domed (6 Head Sizes), 240ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Field Target Sampler Pack, .177 Cal, Baracuda Match & Field Target Trophy Pellets, Domed (6 Head Sizes), 240ct
    Review entered on 2013-10-29 16:23:03

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Exactly as described, work very well, much better packaging than previously. Only thing wrong, there should be more of each type of pellet. There's not really enough to give much of a trial. I don't mind paying some more for this package, but give me enough pellets for a fair trial. That said, unlike some others, when they say the pellets are, say, 4.52mm, they really are 4.52mm. Gold star for that.
    Things I would have changed:as above.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Test Sampler, .177 Cal, Round Nose & Pointed, 4 Pellet Types, 400ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Test Sampler, .177 Cal, Round Nose & Pointed, 4 Pellet Types, 400ct
    Review entered on 2013-10-29 16:38:55

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They're reasonably good quality, but...not really good enough for me.
    Things I would have changed:These a purchased for test purposes to pick the best weight and diameter of a series of pellets. Guess what? Although clearly labeled 4.50mm and 4.52mm, none of them are even 4.50mm. Very disappointing as these were purchased to see if Umarex cylinder magazines (for say Smith & Wesson Revolvers) could manage to not drop pellets into your pocket or onto the bench while trying to appraise accuracy. Answer: They can't. What a waste of money. To be fair, this is just as much a problem with the after-market Umarex revolver-magazines as the pellets themselves. The Umarex magazines that come with the revolver seem to work just fine. However, the aftermarket ones (I would guess) are manufactured with worn-out tooling and have oversized and inconsistant bores. Not acceptable. They do seem to be good enough for my 1954 Winchester break-barrel plinker though...mini-Coke can at 10 feet...but that's about it. Big thumbs down on this product.
    What others should know:Don't buy this product.

    Product: RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2013-10-29 16:47:18

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent product. Using my (now quite ancient) Tau Brno Pistol, I can pretty much stack one of these on top of another at any reasonable range. In an odd way, it's sort of discouraging to have a pistol/pellet combination that shoots better than you do.
    Things I would have changed:not a thing, a wad-cutter is what it is.
    What others should know:Approach with caution anything using a rotary magazine. This would NOT be a pellet problem, but rather a magazine problem. In other words, I might select a round-nosed pellet, rather than a wad-cutter. (Sure do like those clean paper holes from wadcutters, though.

    Product: Crosman 12 Gram CO2, 40 Cartridges

    Crosman 12 Gram CO2, 40 Cartridges
    Review entered on 2013-10-29 16:54:45

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:These are good.
    Things I would have changed:Perhaps a larger package short of the zillionaire quantity.
    What others should know:Without being too much a shill for Pyramid air, get an appropriate amount of the Pellgun oil. It actually does seem to have positive effect on things. Kind of pretty, too.

    Product: Smith & Wesson Cylinder Magazine, 10rds, 3ct

    Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson Cylinder  Magazine, 10rds, 3ct
    Review entered on 2013-10-29 18:16:33

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:An Adendum to my previous review. The problem, you may recall was that the after-market cylinder/magazines for the Smith & Wesson revolver were unable to hold pellets actually in the magazine and would drop them here & there, in one's pocket or just while generally handling them. Unacceptable, of course. I might also mention, anything successfully launched from one of these mags was hideously inaccurate.
    Things I would have changed:As promised, I ordered the JSB TEST MATCH DIABLO "Carefully Selected" airgun pellets that boasted pellets in varying weights (irrelevent) and varying diameters. The idea being, if the after-market cylinder/magazines were bored oversize, then oversized pellets would solve the problem. Before we proceed, I should emphasize the two magazines included with the gun functioned just fine, but... I will not bore you with a long and boring list of numbers, but rather cut directly to the chase. (Thank you, your appreciation for that is appreciated.)
    What others should know:The what you should know part. None of the cylinder/magazines are bored with any notable consistency. Even the two(barely workable) original magazines are barely acceptable. (Bad) Clearly the issue is factory tooling that is just about worn out. The after-market mags, however, are being manufactured on tooling that IS WORN OUT! Having just enough experience in this line of work to recognize the problem, I say to Umerex, "Hey, get on it! This is not a big expensive fix, in fact a minor tooling deal, more a maintenance problem. FIX IT!" To Pyramid Air, I remind you that, as a major retailer, you have considerable power to put pressure on a misbehaving wholesaler. This is actually the precise unwillingness to deal with a very minor problem that undo's a major wholesaler's credibility and effectively torpedo's an otherwise effective and efficient operation. The history of industrial manufacture is rife with examples of "for want of a nail" lack of rational investment of minor money resulted in multi-million dollar losses. If you don't believe it, Google "Chevy Vega." It's the tale of corporate supidity that'll scare the socks off you. Really, for the want of a very few bucks (like about $5.00 per unit,) a million dollars plus was squandered by a major corporation. THE (at least) intermediate FIX: H & N makes a series of pellets sized at 4.52mm that seems to work well (enough) in the aftermarket magazines. As a bonus, they seem to be reasonably accurate

    Product: Smith & Wesson 586, 4-inch Barrel

    Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson 586, 4-inch Barrel Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-10-29 20:05:59

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Still an excellent value, particularly for those with a "Real" Smith & Wesson "K" or "J" frame, or perhaps a Colt Python or Cobra. Great practice piece and a hooping lot less expensive that practice with powder.

    Product: Stoeger Airguns Cleaning Rope, .22 Cal

    Stoeger Arms Stoeger Airguns Cleaning Rope, .22 Cal
    Review entered on 2013-11-18 11:23:22

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-11-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Works very well and recommended, both in .22 and .177, but...
    Things I would have changed:As has been noted by other users, the brass weight is a bit too long for some chambers. I'd rather not have to chop 1/8 or 1/4 inch off the end and have to chuck it into the drill and taper the end with sandpaper or a file to make it work as well as it should. (Yes, you may consider this directions on how to fix this item.)
    What others should know:Despite the necessary modification as noted, I still recommend this product.

    Product: UTG 1-4x24 CQB Rifle Scope, Illuminated Floating Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/2 MOA, 30mm Tube, Low Max Strength Lever Lock Weaver Rings

    UTG 1-4x24 CQB Rifle Scope, Illuminated Floating Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/2 MOA, 30mm Tube, Low Max Strength Lever Lock Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2013-11-22 20:55:27

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is.really quite the nice piece of work. Price, at least in the realm of firearms, is so far beyond reasonable as to be almost suspect. Honestly, I was not expecting anything like the quality this item exhibits. Optical quality, while not precisely up to E Leitz or Zeiss standards, is considerably in excess of this price point...and unlike the E Leitz item, does not include a "K" in the price statement. (You know, as in "$2.5k" or "$3.1K ). In no way is this some fourth-world POS.
    Things I would have changed:My only criticism would be that it's somewhat bigger and heavier for a 1 to 4x scope than I expected. This is far from a deal breaker, nor even a negative comment, as I interpret this as being simply more robust than anticipated. Also, it's in proper proportion to the pretty hefty Air Arms Pro Sport that it now lives on.
    What others should know:Actually, there is one other criticism that possibly might be a bit more serious though I would not reduce my rating because of it. Even at the lowest illumination setting, the red/green reticule is too bright. I've not yet safari-ed to the great darkness of our bordering regional park (Shush...don't tell) to hunt the vicious black gopher of legend, but it would appear the scope could use at least 2 or 3 lower settings. Perhaps a comment worth forwarding to the maker, as well as a future upgrade.

    Product: Air Arms Pro-Sport

    Air Arms Pro-Sport Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-12-02 21:35:15

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:In my lucky, lucky life, I've owned a number of very pretty objects, but as pertains to rifles, a brass framed .50 Hawken, and (up to now) a Mannlicher stocked Ruger International have led the pack for pure scuptureal beauty. But at the very, very least, this one ties for the lead. Damn! This thing is pretty! Turns out, everything you've read in the reviews is true. (Not necessarily in any particular order;) It's beautiful, quiet, very accurate, heavy, all the good and bad springerisms (finicky about hold,) supurb quality everywhere, underlever cocking is hefty but if you're generally upright & walking around otherwise, unless you're a total weeine, nothing you can't handle...and you pretty quickly get the cocking knack, excellent trigger, needs little if any tune or change out of the box. At this point, I still haven't had the time to really wring this one out, so stay tuned. Did I mention this is really pretty? Finally, to a potential buyer; The first thing you do is check-out Pyramid's "Refurb, Open Box, Used, Etc" department. You may be astonished at what you find there. I saved well over $100 on the absolutley beautiful walnut stock option (that I really wanted but was trying to talk myself out of.) Life is short, don't fool around, get what you want. The last thing you do before you push the "buy now" button, go for the "10 for 10" deal. Aside having an actual human making sure the thing works, you get something that verifys, within a very few feet, Tom's Blog test.
    Things I would have changed:Not a lot to the object at question, really, but I still fancy iron sights of some sort or another and wish they be more available. Williams seems to be able to provide the rear, but the front sight seems to be a little more problematic. Also, perhaps some sort of viable sling. It's been pointed out that something as purely pretty as this likely shouldn't be subjected to a slung carry in the woods. Maybe so, but I'd still like the option. (Does one want to force Audrey Hepburn to thrash around in the forest? Food for thought.}
    What others should know: I used up a lot of brain-cells and about six-months of examination, stat-comparison, and obsesive-compulsive behavior on selection here. (Josh Ungier has his MD, the Eye Surgeon, I have my MD the OTG Psychiatrist, who's considering a book on me. Some say we're a perfect match.) Your next question is what were the other contenders? Gaylord's TX200, and Air Arms Biathilon. The various contemplated but rejected items are another story for another day, but a lot had to do with not only performance, but esthetics, and what the future may hold for anyone that owns something that can launch a [projectile] of some kind. Be it made of lead, plastic, a pea or a potatoe, sooner or later, somebody is going to try and take it away. I'm thinking at least air (so far) is free and I can stock up on a lot of pellets. Back to the point, after the initial "Wow, this walnut stock is really pretty," comes, upon picking it up, "Wow, this is really heavy!" The other reviews were right. But here's the funny thing, to a military vet and\or a long-time shooter, the next thought is,"...but this feels somehow familier." To cut to the chase, I hauled my Dad's Garand out of the safe, an lo & behold, ProSport steel & walnut stock and scope, vs Garand steel & walnut stock is an almost perfect within a few ounces, wood & Steel match. Who'd have thought? If I can handle an Garand, an M60 or an M14 at 19, we can still do this now. And it'll be a lot quieter.

    Product: Air Arms Pro Sport Air Rifle Stock, Walnut, Right-Hand Cheekpiece

    Air Arms Pro Sport Air Rifle Stock, Walnut,  Right-Hand Cheekpiece
    Review entered on 2013-12-08 20:29:27

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2013-12-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Just happpened to run across this. I've got the Pro Sport myself and Air Arms uses likely the nicest walnut that I've ever seen on any air\firearm in my memeory.
    Things I would have changed:Not a darn thing.
    What others should know:If you're thinking about upgrading from the already supurb quality of the Air Arms Beech stock; Quit fooling around. Get it. This is an item you'll contemplate far into old age and if you have worthy heirs, they will too.

    Product: Daisy Avanti Champion 499

    Daisy Avanti Champion 499 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-01-14 23:31:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I finally decided to heed Tom & Edith (because they know a lot) and ordered the 499B. Turns out they were right and it's a lot of fun, plus you don't have to completely rearrange the basement just to pop a few off while taking a break from "computer-work-at-home" land. (Put the terriers away first and don't forget the safety glasses.) From the prior reviews, there was some uncertainty on a few points; The cocking lever IS now made of metal, and I was happy to find the included adjustable target sight was also more metal than plastic. It has been reviewed as "plasticky" and I was worried it might be too delicate to take out...wherever "out" might be. But while it does have a fair amount of plastic to it, the actual metal mounting seems to be adequately durable. I do wish they had included the original "L" shaped peep sight just in case I did want to take it to the field. The enclosed (but not mounted, thank goodness) stamped-tin medallion is kind of laughable, but I save things like that to glue onto my car to confuse meter-maids. Oh, and by the way, yes, it's really, really accurate. Every bit as good as they say and a better shot than I am, and a really good trainer for basic rifle technique. Tom and Edith are right.
    Things I would have changed:After I wring it out some more, I'll try update this review, but the trigger still remains plastic and I'd rather they go all the way and replace this 2-cent plastic part with a ten-cent metal one. A previous review mentioned the wooden forearm being a bit too thick, which is true and thusly is spreading the sheet-metal "receiver" farther apart than it should be. In my opinion, while these problems should decidedly be corrected, they aren't serious enough to lower my rating. While I understand the 499B was designed for youth (smaller) shooters, I'd like to see butt extensions for adults and/or some sort of non-skid butt-pad to keep it from sliding off the shoulder or across the floor, should you lean it up someplace. Minor problems, But please, Daisy/Avanti, do correct them.
    What others should know:This is the kind of item that really addresses any obsessive-compulsive tendencies you may have. Don't even consider using anything else than the plated Avanti BBs. This is not a Copperhead friendly piece. A single 1040 count Avanti package of BBs is not enough...go for at least their "4 for 3" deal. I'm surprised at how fast I'm going through the single pack I got. By the way, the polished silver BBs are like little tracers (with a rainbow trajectory) going down range if you happen to take it to the backyard and combine sunlight with say, 30 meters instead of 5 or 10. Puts a different and more challenging meaning on the "Artillery Hold" concept. And really, don't forget the terriers AND the glasses. Them BBs really do come back quick, quick, quick.

    Product: Air Venturi Safety Glasses, Clear Anti-Fog Lenses, Adjustable

    Air Venturi Safety Glasses, Clear Anti-Fog Lenses, Adjustable
    Review entered on 2014-02-27 12:32:25

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-02-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Price is right, light &easy, no excuse not to use them.
    Things I would have changed:A bit delicate RE: light scratching when thrown naked into a range bag (as all the poly lensed are.) Use at least a plastic bag/sandwich bag type thing to keep the lenses clear & sharp.
    What others should know:Especially them steel BB's come right back at you quick, quick, quick. Out of ten thousand launched, you only need one for an eye-poke. Life time issue of eye-balls is limited to two each. Use the glasses...every time.

    Product: Airgun Hobbyist Magazine, Jan/Feb/Mar 2014 Issue

    Airgun Hobbyist Magazine, Jan/Feb/Mar 2014 Issue
    Review entered on 2014-02-27 21:33:01

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-02-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Not bad, but...
    Things I would have changed:Alternate content
    What others should know:Frankly, there wasn't too much that wasn't already available at pyramyd air

    Product: Pellet Pen and Pellet Seater, Loads & Seats .177 Pellets

    Pellet Pen and Pellet Seater, Loads & Seats .177 Pellets
    Review entered on 2014-02-27 22:02:29

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-02-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I can see how this would be useful in the field, hunting and such, but... Make it out of metal so it could survive hip-pocket-sitting scenarios.
    Things I would have changed:Desperately would need to be made of metal for field use. While the transparent plastic serves an adequate purpose in the safe and sane environment of the target range, the survivability in the field would be less than a chipmunk at a coyote convention. But honestly, in the world of the target range, loading a few pellets into this is more trouble than just hauling the little things out of the tin, and loading them into the piece one by one. Loose the whole lanyard impedimentia, please. That's why they invented shirt pockets But...
    What others should know:Oddly enough, the pellet-seating widget works almost okay, particularly when trying to seat a pellet square into a biased breech barrel such as a Webley Tempest. Would still like to see metal here, though. What really needs be done is someone to sit down and do some serious R&D type thought to bring a potentially good product to the reality of a good product.

    Product: UTG Full-Size Model 36 Picatinny Rail Set, 3pc

    UTG Full-Size Model 36 Picatinny Rail Set, 3pc
    Review entered on 2014-02-27 23:03:41

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-02-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Certainly well made. Since my plan is to slice one or more of these down for some nefarious project or another, (perhaps potato or watermelon launching) it will be nice to know whatever failures are to be had, they'll not be found here.
    Things I would have changed:Perhaps one or two additional mounting holes... Perhaps at least a piece or two even shorter for some of the aforementioned nefarious home workshop projects. (Actually, the real plan is to mount a red-dot sight on a fairly ancient single-shot, low-velocity, .177 air pistol,...so please don't be reporting me to Homeland Security, okay?)
    What others should know:I'll check back in when I know more (and when I'm released from custody.) Really, they're very good quality.

    Product: Weaver Modular Level System, Magnetic

    Weaver Modular Level System, Magnetic
    Review entered on 2014-03-09 16:37:48

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Seems to work well, whatever issues have to do with the scope mounts rather than this item. In other words, these make alignment easy, the mounts, upon tightening, make maintaining the alignment much more difficult. Obviously, not Weavers fault.
    Things I would have changed:I'd use bigger/more powerful magnets, perhaps different shapes.
    What others should know:This is a cranky, pissy procedure no matter what equipment you're using to do it or what you're using it on. The Weaver product seems to work, at the very least, as good as, or better than anything else. Choosing this item appealed to me because the mountings allowed alternate applications. (The world is full of objects that require leveling, but not necessarily scope mounts. Think refrigerator, pumps, misc artillery, certain concrete projects, safes, etc.) (Thought for the day: Artillery's first requirement is "LEVEL." Anything less is just throwing rocks at the blue-painted picts.

    Product: Avanti Precision Ground Shot .177 Cal, 5.1 Grains, Steel BBs, 1050ct

    Daisy Avanti Precision Ground Shot .177 Cal, 5.1 Grains, Steel BBs, 1050ct
    Review entered on 2014-03-09 16:53:13

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clearly the best for the 499B application.
    Things I would have changed:Perhaps try an even larger variation to see if the tighter fit may still improve the accuracy.
    What others should know:Don't bother with the other copper plated, nor smaller variations of bb's. This is the one. Just for a perspective; Cheap WIN .308 currently runs about a dollar A SHOT! High quality is almost double that. Please don't be complaining about Avanti costing so much...$5+ buckaroos for 1000 plus, ain't so bad.

    Product: ATK Weaver Gunsmith 36-Pc Tool Kit

    ATK Weaver Gunsmith 36-Pc Tool Kit
    Review entered on 2014-03-19 13:05:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-03-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good quality tool/bits, attractive and pretty well thought out.
    Things I would have changed:My only real criticism is that a number of the bits are duplicate sized. Why? The only reason I can think of is the metal of the bits is too hard/brittle and prone to breakage. But I've rarely found that to be a problem with any screwdriver or set that I've ever had, and the apparent good quality here would certainly not apply to this one. So why? I'd rather have a wider variety of bits, say more phillips type, coin-curved (for battery compartments,) sight adjustment sizes and such.
    What others should know:My friend looking over my shoulder as I write this asked how may air-guns have battery compartments and I observed very few but I reminded him many scopes are illuminated these days and with the economy being what it is, I don't always have a US quarter or a Japanese ten-yen coin in my pocket.

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 625ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 625ct
    Review entered on 2014-04-11 10:11:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:As I own only a single .22 cal (vintage) air pistol, I can't say my review is comprehensive. But I can say the packaging from the factory is more than adequate, the obvious care Pyramyd takes in packing for shipping is truly admirable, and I particularly like that the underside of the box has the die lot stamped. Pellets are clean, well formed and I've found few...actually no...malformed or distorted pellets so far. While I suppose one could acquire cheaper pellets, my rationale is basic scientific method of eliminating as many variables as possible while I rebuild a (somewhere between) 60 and 70 year old Webley "Premier" pistol. Aside from the obvious appropriate naming (Premiers for the "Premier", yuk, yuk, yuk,) I've found the cardboard box .177 version of these to be quite consistent and at least as well made and packaged as these in .22.
    Things I would have changed:Include the business about consistency from a box-o-pellets-from-the-same-die in the description/specifications page as this is information far from common or even obvious to the average newbie. (Or even one who fancies knowledge and experience. Sophistication, too. Don't ask how I know this last:)
    What others should know:Save those blue rubber-bands your produce from the grocery store comes with. They're just the right size for keeping your cardboard box from spilling pellets here and there. Use two. If you have the urge to decant pellets from the cardboard to those empty 250/500/breath-mint tins (that are too good to throw away but you still haven't figured out a real use for them yet,) don't forget to make a note (on or in the tin) with the information about what's really in there. Name, weight, die-lot, and like that. You think you'll remember, but you won't. That's the sole reason writing and reading was invented all those years ago. ("What the heck is in this amphora, anyway?") :) Take advantage of the "4 for 3" deal. Do it.

    Product: Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct

    Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed, 1250ct
    Review entered on 2014-04-11 15:05:24

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Works very well in my growing air gun collection. No problems with rifle or pistol. ProSport particularly seems to like them. Clean, and the few damaged pellets appear to get that way from the factory (as opposed to Pyramyd's pretty-darn-good shipping packaging.) My over the shoulder editor asks me why I think that...It's because when I pick through the cardboard box looking for potential fliers, the very, very few that I find are always all by their lonely self. It's like dueling SUV's on the freeway...one can't prang one without marking up another close by and I'm not seeing that here. Anyway, it may be possible to find an individual pellet better for a particular air arm and application, but these seem very close to being able to be stacked one a-top t-other with not only the ProSport but just about anything else I try it in. I continue to resist the obsessive-compulsive behavior that would make me research ALL the pellets from ALL the makers...so far. Like Tom:)
    Things I would have changed:As I said in my review for the .22 cal version of the cardboard-box Premier pellets, add the information on same-die per-box manufacture consistency to the description/specification pages so that the newbies (and the just plain ignorant like me) know just why they should buy this product. And don't forget to flog the genuinely good deal of the "4 for 3."
    What others should know:A pair of crossed blue rubber bands, you know, like you get from the produce department at the grocery store, will solve the cardboard box spillage issue better than repeated tape dispensing. If you feel the need to decant from the cardboard box to the empty pellet tins you've not been able to figure a use for so far, don't forget to note either on or in the tin, exactly what the heck is in there, including the die-lot on the bottom of the cardboard box. (You think you'll remember...but you won't :)

    Product: Daisy Red Ryder BB Gun Sleeve, 40" Long, Wraparound Handle

    Daisy Red Ryder BB Gun Sleeve, 40 inch Long, Wraparound Handle
    Review entered on 2014-04-14 21:42:39

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By 103David from USA on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Price is certainly right, quality more than adequate, although could be easily be a bit better at little or no increase in cost. But still a great value.
    Things I would have changed:The edging is single stitched and while that's...barely...okay for the Red Ryder or 499B, I'd like to see this usable for transporting a something like an M1 carbine, or a Trapper 1894 Carbine innocuously to the range. In other words, double-stitching the seams would greatly extend the life span of this item.
    What others should know:Pay a great deal of attention to the length of your intended air/fire arm, meaning, don't just guess, get the tape measure out. There ain't no stretchiness in this and when it says 40" in length, that doesn't mean 40 and 11/16th of an inch. Daisy clearly has no intent to use this for anything with either a scope or a banana magazine in place, so please try not to insult anyone's intelligence with queries.concerning fixed bayonets, grenade launchers, or such.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top