Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Crosman Vantage Breakbarrel Air Rifle

    Crosman Vantage Breakbarrel Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-03-07 19:57:35

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-03-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I bought this gun in .177 on sale for $99.00 to take care of some pests around the house but at $99.00 I was VERY apprehensive about the accuracy and quality after all under a hundred dollar gun, how good could it be? I unboxed the rifle and man did it ever look good. Stock is nice looking and barrel and body have nice color. Fiber optic sights are fantastic - The rear has two knobs for making elevation and windage adjustments and when making the adjustments the positive click feed back is nice. This rifle was very to sight in and with the proper hold this is a little tack diver with Crossman premiums. The 1200 has impressive power adequate for small pests. I would not hesitate to purchase this rifle especially if you are on a tight budget. With all this said, I must admit this is my first springer and only my second air rifle, but I shoot a lot of .22LR and 9mm and trained by my Uncle Sam to shoot .223, 7.62 and I really must say I like this weapon the best. It has a fairly quite report so I can shoot it in my back yard within the city limits with no problems with the neighbors. I have a friend who is a NYS Trooper and I got confirmation before shooting. So check with your local law enforcement before purchasing..... and always have proper back stop in place.
    Things I would have changed:I do have a couple complaints with the rifle after putting about 300 or 400 pellets down range. As I find fault with this rifle we need to remember the price tag. 1. The rear sight ramp assembly is made of plastic and feels very cheap BUT I must say it gets the job done. Curious though about how long this assembly will last with field use. I’m already looking for a replacement. 2. The front sight assembly is also plastic and there is no protection around the front fiber optic cylinder and it looks like it could be easily broken in half if hit just right. Some makers have placed a slotted cage around the front sight post, the slots are sufficient to let in ambient light while preventing direct contact on the green sight bar if dropped or swung against something. 3. The trigger is pretty bad. I do know there are some first stage adjustments that can be done I haven’t attempted this yet. I’ve dropped Charlie Da Tuna an email to see if the GRT III is compatible with the Vantage 1200 considering a 5minute install Ill likely go this route. I may also fabricate a front sigh cover.
    What others should know:Nice looking low cost serious airgun this is not a toy. While I am a proponent of getting children exposed to shooting a a very early age, this is an adults gun and children under 16 need close supervision.

    Product: Crosman Vantage Breakbarrel Air Rifle

    Crosman Vantage Breakbarrel Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-03-24 18:58:10

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-03-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.3333301544189453 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I've been shooting for years but this is my first springer. This Is one great rifle especially taking into account the price. I was impressed by the quality. Nice wood stock, rubber but pad, and the fiber-optic sites are fantastic. I wish the housings were metal however the adjustments are positive and click nicely into place and function as intended. Cocking effort is not bad and gets easier with use. The 1200 is very accurate if held correctly. It comes with a scope but I prefer to shoot this rifle using iron sights. This rifle hits hard and has more than enough power for shooting 50 yards out. I've enjoyed shooting it so much, I am considering building an all season pellet range in the back yard. I've also just ordered the GRTIII trigger upgrade from Charlie. I feel the pull on the stock trigger is too long. Not horrible but if it can be changed why not. I'm hooked on springers! so much so, I just ordered the Diana RWS 5G Magnum P5 pistol they have here. Hope to have a similar experience.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to see metal rear sight housing and some type of metal "Globe" around the front fiber-optic sight would prevent potential damage to the delicate green sight rod. lastly a better stock trigger but again for the price these are very minor items and no deal breaker. I highly reccomend this rifle.
    What others should know:This is a full size rifle that is very powerful it is not a toy and needs to be used with the proper respect and only by younger folks under close adult supervision.

    Product: Diana RWS 5G Magnum P5

    Diana RWS 5G Magnum P5 Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-04-22 15:07:22

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-04-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:From opening the box to putting the first few pellets down range all I can say is amazing! The 5G has a combination of good looks, quality construction and let’s not forget accuracy all at a hard to believe price. Rear sight assembly is a fine example of German engineering with fine "micro-detents" that give you positive feedback while adjusting. I found it rather easy to cock although others found this an issue. The weight and balance are good and the accuracy is excellent once I adjusted the rear sight to compensate for an off-center front sight post. Groups of an inch or under at 25 – 30 feet shooting Crosman Hollow Points. It is more accurate than I am.
    Things I would have changed:Most of the items were merely annoying and not function limiting. first I found the trigger adjustment challenging and I still don’t have the feel I like. There is a set screw that holds and releases an adjustable slotted collar (Pull Length) which contains another adjustment screw recessed inside that collar (Pull Weight). I can't stop the movement of the recessed screw whenever the collar is turned. If you need to tweak the pull length you’ll likely move the Pull Weight screw as well. Input from other users who found it “easy” to adjust would be helpful. The left side location of the safety is not easily accessible when on target and ready to shoot. The front sight post is mounted to a long plastic tube and held in place with two set screws, mine came from the factory loose and upon first break of the barrel caused it to twist off center. I also have a thing against some stamped parts like the hollow trigger. I would prefer a machined or even molded trigger. I imagine this helps to keep the cost down.
    What others should know:For a pistol under $200.00 it far exceeded my expectations. An amazing value. I would make the purchase again in a heartbeat.

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-05-22 13:52:21

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-05-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The price! The amount of service info available on the net. Easy to disassemble and reassemble without extra parts left. Fun little gun! Not for everyone though. Cocking effort while avoiding ANY contact with the rear sight assembly. from the factory the elevation adjustment moves with the slightest touch or after as few as 12 pellets you can watch your shots go higher and higher but I LOVE the Gun.
    Things I would have changed:Things I Fixed/Changed: 1. Drift pins will drift from use - Fixed added (4) 4-40 3/16" set screws 1b. Piston Rod Pin was loose and drifted to a point case would hump when closed. Fixed - Centered pin and tightened set screw I may use LocTite if this happens again. 2. Gun WILL leak fast Hiss after light use (mine at 100 shots) Most common cause - Partial Fix -Tightened nut in valve assemmbly with LocTite Blue. 3. Slow leak head a fizzle sound- Fixed disassembeld the entire pistol found a brass "swirley" from brass valvebody threads cross thhreaded and stripped during assy was blocking the valve from closing completely. Cleaned out the valve and assembled using teflon tape. 4. While cylender was open an piston out checked O-Rings and cleaned heavy greasy Gunk from the cylinder tube, Piston, Valve Assy. lightly greasd seals and oiled gun via intake port. checked for rough edges on any surface O-Rings com in contact with. 5. To-Do need to polish the barrel breach to smooth breach seal seat 6. To-Do need to prevent rear sight elev adj from moving during normal use WARNING - DO NOT OVER TIGHTEN GRIP SCWEWS - can cause a fail to fire on the first pull but may fire on subsequent pulls.
    What others should know:This is a great value if you don't mind working on air guns. If you do not or can not work on small to medium mechanical things. This is NOT the gu for you. However if you enjoy it once complete you'll have a decent little shooter for only $35.00 + minimal parts that is fairly accurate and the confidence that you can fix most issues down the road. Only time will tell how reliable she'll be. I'll try too check in and comment every once in a while.... Bill

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2010-05-22 14:01:34

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-05-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.04 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's a steel box It stops .177 Pellets effectively at 1000fps it has a target clip It's black
    Things I would have changed:Provide and extra clip especially for the price. Sighting in I always seem to shho the cli some how. Make it taller to accomodate standard trgets. Add some sound dampening to the outside rear wall.
    What others should know:Lead splatter will pepper your targets from behind given enough velocity. I do think it's one of the best small traps on the market but it's a steal box with an angled rear wall like the big boys. I think they can either add more value or lower the price a bit.

    Product: IZH 53M Air pistol

    IZH-Baikal IZH 53M Air pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-06-08 19:56:35

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-06-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Extremely affordable performance. Rear sight adjustments - Excellent little pistol fun to shoot good for plinking or 10m minor issues (See Change) 1000 pellets later still going strong. Exceptional value for the $$. Highly recommend to anyone that likes springers. I also have the 46m which is another sweet product from our Russian brethren. Highly recommend both!
    Things I would have changed:Rear notch too wide for my taste. Shoots high even with 1911 hold. Drilled a 4-40 and tapped for a set screw in the front sight behind the pivot point and then took of about 4mm off the bottom of the front sight back end now I can adjust the front sight height as needed added a little Loctite and Viola! - Trigger adjustment screw needed to be straightened and re-tightened to make contact with the trigger. Having owned German springers, I found one particularly annoying aspect, once fully broken open barrel swings free, doesn't lock open.... drives me crazy but such a fun pistol I can live with it.
    What others should know:Love this pistol. Have owned other German pistols and while granted the fit and finish is not quite as good, the performance is great considering the price. This pistol hits hard I'd like to see the chrono results. ALSO hold sensitive. If you've never shot a springer and wondering if you'll like it this is a great little pistol to start with or as a 2nd, or 3rd or 4th. Pyramyd Air your customer service is great Thanks Sandra!

    Product: Browning 800 Express

    Browning 800 Express Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-07-09 22:49:56

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-07-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:.177 Excellent power more than my German "Magnum". Consistent and accurate. Rear sight assembly is metal with W&E locking adjustments. Automatic safety. Good fit and finish somewhere between the Russians and the Germans. Excellent value for the money. No major issues to date with over 1000 rounds down range. Not as hold sensitive as some spring pistols. Anti-recoil system seems to contribute to it's tolerance of different holds. I haven't found the need for a 1911A1 hold and also groups well from a bench rest unlike my Baikal - 53m (Another great value) which has MUCH less power yet seems to have much more recoil and is very hold sensitive. If you want power and accuracy in a springer pistol this is it.
    Things I would have changed:Add an adjustable trigger for length and weight! Lighten and move safety more to the rear. Why is it that any pistol I've owned with this type of compensator front sight assembly quickly loosens and moves from the factory? Loctite is a must. last needs larger grips. All minor issues that do not detract from the pistols intentions, Power and Accuracy.
    What others should know:This pistol is heavy and to me has an odd balance that I have become use to. Also cocking effort is high without assist handle, I can do it, but it takes effort. Added a TruGlow red dot and now I absolutely love it.

    Product: Crosman 1377C / PC77

    Crosman 1377C / PC77 Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-07-28 21:15:35

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-07-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A close friend pulled me aside and told me he got a 1377c. I figured I'd look around the net and see if I could learn a little about this Pistol. WOW this is perhaps the pistol with the most after market parts and upgrades going. I love that. I ran out and picked one up. After pumping it 10 time and shooting it once, I really do like it even though it's multi pump . It's light and despite it's long barrel and pump handle it has a nice balanced feel. It is also very easy to pump, much easier than I remember as a kid. This pistol has a wonderfully thin body when sighting down the barrel. The cocking handle / bolt assembly is very attractive and functional. It comes with an "adjustable" rear sight which amounts to loosening a screw on the top of the barrel and manually pivoting the whole sight assembly left and right for windage. This has a slight affect on the elevation "adjustment" which again you loosen a small screw on th rear of the sight assembly and slide the blade up and down. The rear blade can be flipped 180 degrees to use the other end as a peep sight. It has a nice manual safety that's easily disengaged. All in all a pleasant surprise with good power.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is horrid but with a little work and a new #4 spring and nylon guide and a front spring to take out the slack it's now decent. The rear sight assembly cheap and crude. It is a pain to sight in and I have managed to partially strip the blade screw an easy upgrade though. The pump handle makes a annoying clap, clap, clap as you pump it. I cut and fit foam weather stripping and filled the handle and added a very thin rubber pad to the under side of the barrel. It's pretty quiet now.
    What others should know:If you don't mind 10 pumps a shot, or perhaps 3 for indoor shooting, price, power, good accuracy and available upgrades make for a winning combination as a beginners pistol or a starting platform for your own creation. I have rough cut maple ready to replace the plastic grips and pump and a short steel breach kit, Williams rear sight and custom trigger are on deck.

    Product: UTG 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Vertical Scope Stop Pin

    UTG 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Vertical Scope Stop Pin
    Review entered on 2010-08-28 21:15:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-08-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Extremely Affordable! Easy and fairly low (Height)conversion from Dovetail to Weaver. Scope stop included. Finely bought one for my Browning 800 - for my Red-Dot that shook the daylights out of every thin else I used. (Must be the anti-recoil system). Plan on buying a couple more to have on hand at this price.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe - Better instructions for the newbee.
    What others should know:People have accused these of being junk, I disagree especially at this price point. I've made my own out of Al stock. I'll pay the 10 Bucks! Don't force these types of light metals (Aluminum) etc used finesse, Drill a scope stop hole, and use thread locker. Add additional tightening screws (40 cents each) (Drill the new hole tap it and add the new screw). If these instructions make no sense, Buy the the $50.00 one.... :)

    Product: Browning 800 Express

    Browning 800 Express Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-11-28 01:03:21

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-11-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:UPDATE - I've been using this pistol for at least 6-8 months. It has become one of my favorite pistols despite it's several flaws that all have been noted in these reviews. I thought prospective buyers would like to know how it holds up under less than casual and careful use. I shoot a lot. It is not uncommon for me to go through a tin or even two tins of pellets in a week. The Browning has held up very well considering the amount and type of use. I'm not saying I abuse the pistol but I don't handle it with the same amount of care as my Baikal 46 M. Still love it. It is one of my favorite pistols.
    Things I would have changed:Just - Exactly what has been listed: Rear sight elevation travel. Front suppressor locking Scope stop
    What others should know:About two weeks ago the pistol started scattering with the same pellets. I thought I may have gotten a bad batch. I tried a known good tin (H&N Final Match) still shots would not group. Changed the red dot out from a TruGlow to a Center Point still no good. I was starting to wonder if I lost my piston seal when I noticed the front suppressor was loose again and instead of the usual re-tightening and putting on a fresh shot of thread locker, I pulled the set screws and I found the suppressor had another 1/2 - 3/4 of a turn before it was tight (I'm assuming against the barrel?) and this placed the front sight post off vertical by 180-270 degrees. I unscrewed the suppressor and removed it. The pistol started grouping better than ever??? (The barrel doesn't seem to have much of a crown either.) I don't have a clue how or why just stating the facts. Perhaps an Air gun Guru out there can offer some Insight. One BIG plus, without the suppressor and that sight post digging into your hand, the Browning is MUCH easier to cock if you don't have that dang extension lever with you. I don't use it anymore! (need to stress you'll need to have good upper body strength.) I may simply have the barrel cut and crowned and the suppressor cut down?
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top