Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-03-13 20:32:48

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2012-03-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Price, good trigger, accuracy
    Things I would have changed:Lifespan...should last a wee bit longer than 20 days. Also the hole in the middle of the trigger for the set screw has sharp edges and interfers with making a smooth squeeze
    What others should know:I bought this gun knowing about the problems others have had but the fixes looked simple enough so for the price I didn't think I could go wrong. Unfortunately what broke on mine is not something that can be replaced without cannibalizing another P17. The roll pin issue has been addressed with captured pins (tiny e clips)and I did not experience the leakage others have, even after purposely leaving it cocked overnight. I may have gotten lucky but my example shot extremely well, regardless of pellet type. Offhand at 25' I was able to put 18 rounds (cheapo destroyers) into one ragged hole roughly 3/8" ctc and frankly I am not normally much of a marksman. The trigger was a bit gritty but let off was predictable and, until it broke, I was pleasantly surprised at how good a trigger on a $36 gun could be. Cocking does take a bit of effort-my wife couldn't do it-but I didn't find it overly difficult. Mine lasted exactly 184 rounds. On round 185 it cocked as usual but wouldn't fire, and upon removing the grip it looks like the part that actuates the valve had broken in half. The entire trigger mechanism is made from thin-ish stamped steel of unknown quality, and if replacement parts had been available I would have simply repaired it...it shoots THAT well!

    Product: Crosman Premier Super Match .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

    Crosman Premier Super Match .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-06-09 12:45:30

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2012-06-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.6666700839996343 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They're shiny. Great for shooting at larger prey, like sperm whales or barns. (As long as the barn doesn't move)
    Things I would have changed:Paint them flourescent orange so the wife can find the fliers. There'll be plenty
    What others should know:In Crosman parlance "Super" means "Flier." Maybe I just got a bad batch but my experience is nothing like the other reviewers'. I haven't bothered to weigh them but as for uniformity....well, they're uniformly distorted/bent/oddly sized! I've had much better luck with Crosman's plain old wadcutters you can find everywhere. There are a couple of pluses though: First, there's enough lead dust you could easily mold a few dozen more rounds, which, if the wife DOES find most of the fliers, means a virtually unlimited supply of ammo. Second, if you like surprises you will absolutely love these pellets-Stick one in the breach, pull that trigger and, whether your eyes are opened or closed, the POI will be a surprise every time!

    Product: Daisy Cleaning Kit, .177" caliber

    Daisy Cleaning Kit, .177 inch caliber
    Review entered on 2012-06-09 14:34:35

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2012-06-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:4pc rod allows use on pistols and long guns
    Things I would have changed:handle, sharp edges on the patch end
    What others should know:This kit works fine and fits .177 barrels properly. My only nit, and it's a minor thing, is that the handle does not spin as it does on fire arms cleaning rods. You may have to change your grip when cleaning a longish rifle barrel. Also the oil included does contain petroleum distillates so keep it away from seals.

    Product: Crosman 2240

    Crosman 2240 Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-06-09 14:57:52

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2012-06-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Powerful and accurate. Fits well in my smallish hands and has a nice heft to it.
    Things I would have changed:Sights, plastic barrel band and breech, packing/shipping. I'd really like the option to ship via the USPS....it would save everyone a few bucks, its considerably faster, and they don't beat the snot out of packages like UPS and Fedex.
    What others should know:These come packaged in a clampak molded to fit the outline of the gun. Mine was packed bolt handle down in the bottom of the box, (nothing underneath) with the usual 4 tins of pellets and a few other goodies on top. By the time the gorillas at Fedex got done throwing it around the bolt handle had worn through the bottom of the box and the front sight had fallen off. The gun itself has performed flawlessly and outshoots my big dollar P3. Huge value for the dollar and highly recommended, even if you don't plan to tinker with it.

    Product: Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump

    Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-07-12 19:47:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2012-07-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lightweight, accurate and powerful. I'll never go back to springers!
    Things I would have changed:Hmmm, maybe send Salma Hayek with it to pump it up?
    What others should know:PA went above and beyond with their 10 for 10, chronographing all shots from 2000 psi down to 1k, giving me a better idea of what the gun is capable of as opposed to just 10 rounds. The pellets used were H&N Sport but type and weight weren't listed, so I started with H&N Field Trophy Targets. 11 shots and 4 full turns had elevation in the bull, the next 10 rounds grouped 3/4" edge-to-edge @ 50'!! I'm very pleased with this gun and expect even better accuracy once I find the ammo it likes.

    Product: Crosman 1077 air rifle

    Crosman 1077 air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-08-06 21:55:25

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2012-08-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Stealthy black repeater, lightweight and accurate at short distances
    Things I would have changed:More power, more shots per cart, but most importantly the sights are awful!
    What others should know:Would someone PLEASE change the ink ribbon on the PA chrony? My seat-of-the-pants guesstimate would put speed at somewhere around 75+ fps less than advertised. There's enough power to be accurate at 50', but at 30 yards the poi drops by 6 inches. You can't compensate for this by adjusting elevation, and that's my biggest gripe with this gun-The top of the front sight measures 16.5mm from the top of the barrel, while the rear sight at it's highest goes to 17mm. Also, the front sight is WAY too wide for the skinny rear notch, so you're not centering the whole blade but only the porky green fiber. I bought the gun for my daughter primarily because of it's light weight, so I really don't want to add a pound of scope to it. I'm hoping I can find a pellet that naturally shoots high until I can figure out what to do about the sights. Lastly, this gun only gets 30-35 shots at full power and then the poi drops rapidly. Maybe our 95+ degree heat has something to do with that.

    Product: NcStar 1x40mm LED Red Dot/Laser Sight, 1 MOA, Integral Quick-Release Weaver/Picatinny Mount

    NcStar 1x40mm LED Red Dot/Laser Sight, 1 MOA, Integral Quick-Release Weaver/Picatinny Mount
    Review entered on 2012-08-15 22:04:20

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2012-08-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Pyramyd's great return policy
    Things I would have changed:Whatever it was in my brain that thought buying one of these was a good idea.
    What others should know:I wanted an inexpensive dot sight to mount on a M4-177 and really liked the integral laser design. The dot was all over the place with the slightest of head movements. Pyramyd quickly replaced it, but the second unit would not retain windage or elevation adjustments. Apparently it's possible to get one that functions correctly, as the previous reviews have shown, but I wasn't that lucky. By the way, I use the term 'dot' loosely..On both sights it was more of a splotch, although it did get a bit more round on higher settings. I've since mounted an old Tasco I had lying around and all is right with the world again.

    Product: Walther PPK/S Black BB gun

    Walther PPK/S Black BB gun Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-03-22 19:44:54

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2013-03-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very very similar to the real thing, except the trigger-which is actually better! Brings out your inner Bond.
    Things I would have changed:Make the mags steel, or at least use pot metal-they are extremely thin plastic right where it counts. After under 200 rds I've already had one split apart. Also, loading to max capacity results in many double feeds, but stopping at 10 works flawlessly. Not a huge fan of the big knob sticking out the bottom either.
    What others should know:Not much to say that hasn't already been covered, but someone previously asked if the slide stayed open after the last shot-it does.

    Product: Legends Parabellum P.08 CO2 Pistol

    Legends Parabellum P.08 CO2 Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-05-16 23:36:02

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2013-05-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Luger-iffic without the price tag!
    Things I would have changed:One of the worst triggers I've ever experienced. It starts out hard at 8 lbs and gets progressively harder throughout the loooooong pull, stacking to a figure over what my gauge will measure. (12lbs)
    What others should know:This particular Umarex replica is made in Taiwan and build quality is good. The finish is just black paint and scratches easily. Those with shorter fingers/smaller hands may have some difficulty with accuracy as that thin-appearing grip is actually quite wide. The sites are thin (front) and shallow (rear) and a bit difficult for my old eyes to see, but work fine. Elevation at 7 yards was dead on, windage off by 1/4". Hopefully the trigger will lighten up after some usage. The mag can be filled to max capacity without jamming or double feeds, and I was able to get 80ish full power shots out of a cartridge @ 50 deg with some rapid fire. If spare mags aren't too pricey, this gun is a great value.

    Product: Uzi CO2 BB Submachine Gun

    KWC Uzi CO2 BB Submachine Gun Air gun
    Review entered on 2014-01-08 20:21:25

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2014-01-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:After awhile, the way the stock vibrates against my cheek leaves a red mark that makes me look like Mel Gibson in Braveheart. Chicks dig that.
    Things I would have changed:Drop the (mostly unnoticeable) blowback in favor of better fuel consumption. This thing uses more gas than a 3-wheeled Edsel dragging a dead ox uphill.
    What others should know:This really is a great gun deserving of all the positive reviews. Accurate for a smoothbore, (entire mag into 1/2" @ 10m) light-ish, predictable trigger, chronies pretty close to advertised velocity. (326fps indoors @ 65f) Is it worth every penny? If you get it on sale, heck yeah!!

    Product: Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle

    Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2014-07-12 12:32:14

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2014-07-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The built in rail is great. Other than that, not much.
    Things I would have changed:Awful trigger. Awful finish. Awful quality control. Crosman needs to give those poor Chinese a break and put some Americans to work.
    What others should know:I've had the gun about a year now but have waited to review it so I could be as fair as possible. At first I attributed the horrible accuracy to the lousy trigger, so in went a tuna trigger. Still threw pellets all over the place. All screws are loctited and do not back out, the barrel is sparkly clean, and the Center Point that came with it is holding zero-still, the best group I can manage is 2" at 35 FEET. (H&N FTT) Power is nowhere near the advertised spec-Hobbys @ 11.9gr average 716fps. Based on other reviews I'd guess mine is a lemon, built by the same 3-fingered drunk who carved the stock. A junior high school kid could do better in shop class. And while the milk-chocolate color is pretty, the runs, drips, and uneven application suggest monkeys throwing...well, you know what. They could have at least scraped the excess glue off at the butt plate!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top